You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Inside the Dóchas Centre for women in Mountjoy. Midas productions

Irish prisons need to have a better plan for released inmates

A new prisons report is concerned with homelessness and re-offending among new releases.

HOMELESSNESS IS THE grim prospect awaiting some inmates after they have served their time in Ireland’s largest women’s prison.

The Prison Visiting Committee’s Report for 2015, published yesterday, has highlighted an ongoing concern for what happens to prisoners once they are released back into society.

The report for the Dóchas centre, the women’s facility housed on the grounds of Mountjoy prison in Dublin, flags a number of problems that remain since the committee’s last visit. These include overcrowding (120 prisoners in a facility equipped for 105), drug use and the jailing of mothers with young infants.

The fate of these women post-release is also troubling. The report draws attention to:

the lack of protected/sheltered accommodation for some women on release from the Centre, homelessness, the lack of a ‘one-stop’ shop providing information on supports and services and the absence of a streamlined delivery of these supports when they leave the Centre, and the difficulty in accessing addiction or counselling services on release.

New policy to tackle homelessness

This, the report continues, is “not an exhaustive list” and in their summary of all prisons, reveals that a new pre-release planning policy is being worked up for the Irish Prison Service and should be published shortly.

The idea is to tackle the homelessness risk to newly-released prisoners and improve conditions that may increase the risk of recidivism.

Another initiative noted in the report is a pilot programme of “positive family support interventions” including a parenting programme being run in Limerick Prison with a view to rolling this out to other prisons in 2016 and 2017.

The full report, which can be viewed here, praises improvements in several prisons including the completion of the “modern, bright and spacious” new Cork Prison, and high level of training and education available in Loughan House.

However, the “seriously under-staffed” medical services available in Midlands Prison are of huge concern as is the mental health of prisoners in the crowded environment of Mountjoy.

Drug abuse in Wheatfield Prison was singled out:

Drug-free landings are on offer to prisoners who wish to avail, but drugs still end up on these landings… Under no circumstances should prisoners that have not been cleared for these landings end up here.

And Cloverhill had a number of issues highlighted, including the complete lack of a psychologist in the prison – “an urgent need” – as well as shortages in night nursing cover, in the Education Unit, and serious assaults happening in the yard of the prison.

This last complaint was attributed in part to staff using so-called ‘yard hubs’ in which to shelter. However, these have had the effect of reducing staff visibility. The result, says the report, is that “serious assaults have occurred, and with the lack of officer presence in the yards this will continue to happen”.

There is also a sad reflection of serious crime in the outside world in this description of the “substantial increase” in prisoners looking for protection once they enter the prison:

The alarming growth of protection is a consequential reflection of the gang culture in society. As we highlighted previously external gang feud affiliations do not stop at the gate of the prison when people are committed to prison.

Hostage situation at Cloverhill may have been attempt to make claim against State>

Over 100 young Irish adults spend 23 hours a day in a cell like this>

The families behind Ireland’s 240 unsolved gangland murders>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 28 comments
28 Comments
    Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Jun 24th 2016, 11:28 PM

Oh yeah sure heaven forbid these people take responsibility for themselves. Do gooder s aslemble!!!

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Jun 24th 2016, 11:52 PM

It’s nothing to do with taking responsibility it’s to do with reintegration to prevent them reoffending.

Mute Peter keogh
    Favourite Peter keogh
    Jun 24th 2016, 11:59 PM

It’s a bit much that if we payed for someone to get clean while locked up to put them into a hostel that’s riddled with smackheads and temptation the minute there released they don’t stand a chance of staying clean

Mute Fluffer TheCanary
    Favourite Fluffer TheCanary
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:17 AM

Peter perhaps if you spent some time incarcerated you might not have such dismissive attitude

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:50 AM

It’s as if they don’t have free will, Peter.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jun 25th 2016, 1:52 AM

God there’s no end to these cases where the taxpayer is expected to finance free housing – while decent hardworking couples cannot afford a home.

Mute Ruth Colbert
    Favourite Ruth Colbert
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:43 AM

Couldn’t agree more !
    Why are they in prison in the first place? Because they’re from the ‘social’ class that don’t work, they take from society,
    never have the ambition to support themselves.
    Why would it be different when they get out of prison ? Getting released from prison & not having somewhere to go is not the issue, it’s the lifestyle they choose that is in the first place that is !

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Jun 24th 2016, 11:34 PM

A lot of blame directed toward staff…thats wrong..most prison staff get along fine with most prisoners and will and do help prisoners with advice etc…we saw that on the Dochas series on RTE recently.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jun 25th 2016, 1:54 AM

Was there a plan for their victims?

Mute Fluffer TheCanary
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:25 AM

that really depends on the nature of the offence

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Jun 24th 2016, 11:43 PM

The hubs were installed so one officer could supervise a hundred prisoners in other words to save money but they make it sound like its the officers fault.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:31 AM

I’ve a plan don’t release them

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:01 AM

Jeez one would think these “poor vulnerable ” prisoners were an endangered species on reading that….there are many thousands of law abiding and contributing citizens in this state who have nobody lobbying and advocating for THEIR rights….many of these offending criminals are recidivists including the lady on the journal recently with 234 convictions!!!!

Mute Fluffer TheCanary
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:21 AM

there are thousands of organisations representing or advocating for law abiding people’s rights

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jun 24th 2016, 11:53 PM

If their families don’t want them why should society pay?

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:45 AM

What’s your solution to prevent reoffence? Society pays if they keep going back to prison.

Mute Fluffer TheCanary
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:26 AM

you might not be fully appreciating the societal benefits of rehabilitation

Mute Enuff Said
    Favourite Enuff Said
    Jun 24th 2016, 11:48 PM

A better plan for released prisoners would probably be to lock them back up again straight away. Save some time and petrol.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Jun 25th 2016, 1:31 AM

Lock them up in privately run prisons in eastern europe, no suspensions.

Mute PG
    Favourite PG
    Jun 25th 2016, 4:38 AM

I have heard it all now (Prisoners can avail of a drugs free landing) shouldn’t all the landings be drug free?
    Sure these women need there heroine in the morning watching Jeremy Kyle and there Extasy in the evening watching there soaps.
    And then there is the men’s side of the prison I know of lads that went to prison not a pick on them they spend all day in the gym eating steroids like there where smarties come out looking like they went to a body building camp for a few years.
    And then there is the use of computers in the evening you know these animals can still use Facebook in prison to keep in touch with the out side it helps with there behaviour been able to socialise with family and friend it’s monitored but still it’s prison.
    And then they have game consoles is it right that they can play grand theft auto while been looked up for robbing cars and assaulting people and murder great way to rehabilitate prisoners.
    Ireland’s prisons are to soft on these animals I have a pain in my face listening to how hard it is and the conditions in side for them are really.

Mute Fluffer TheCanary
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:19 AM

have you spent time inside? watching it on the box in your sitting room does’t count by the way.

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:06 AM

You need an aftercare system or you’re just setting them up for a fall. We used to design and impliment them for young offenders until cutbacks. Insane approach when you consider how expensive it is to fight recidivism through incarceration.

Jun 24th 2016, 11:44 PM

A free house, smartphone and car should be the minimum provided upon release!

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:26 AM

A 3 strikes system might be a quick form of education for them a great comfort for their victims. Bleeding hearts never seem to out out a message to the criminals that they will face over crowding and a lack of “drug free landings” ( that still has me shaking my head in disbelief) and homeless when you get out so stop robbing old people. What a joke our society is becoming.

Mute derogers
    Favourite derogers
    Jun 24th 2016, 11:48 PM

To the headline… “Why???”

Mute John Tobin
    Favourite John Tobin
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:21 AM

It’s wonderful to read all the well meaning comments following the Article on the Visiting Committee report into conditions at the prisons. The visiting committee is a government appointed group. They are at best well meaning and fullfill a role within the system. A lot of these criminals are very comfortable with the fact that they are coming straight back to Jail. They can’t survive outside they have 90% of their needs provided for in prison. It’s their way of life. I have no issue with the best medical care been given to all inmates. Why not?. It’s very important to remember that the living conditions of use the Inmate is the workplace of the officer. The thing that gets to me is hearing the Minister and the Garda Commissioner talking about getting these visious drug lords and killers off the streets and into jail, as they strip resources from the prison system daily weekly monthly and yearly. You never hear the Minister mention the prison service or should I say Staff when she refers to getting these people off the street. She and her officials are quite prepared to remove all digitnaty and morale from the dedicated staff serving the country and it’s people’s. One won’t see a civilian in charge of the Irish Army or the Garda. Different rule for the prison.

Mute Ger Moloney
    Favourite Ger Moloney
    Jun 26th 2016, 1:13 AM

Well said john

Mute garb yakob
    Favourite garb yakob
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:07 AM

They should run education programmes inside, even the best intending excons find it v hard to reintegrate. Think it’s better that prisons are overcrowded and reduced sentencing for serious offenders is the knock on and low level convicts are stuck in crime cycle? Seems stupid that society expects them to just get on fine after being out. Prison time should be geared towards not getting people to reoffend. Turn those prison costs into tax paying citizens. Not sure why people want to write cons off so quickly at their own expense.

Mute garb yakob
    Favourite garb yakob
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:10 AM

Don’t get me wrong, everyone hates a criminal, but giving them nothing but jail and spite costs society a lot more in the long run

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:39 AM

I agree garb…and they DO run education programmes inside but there is no compulsion to attend and many of the cons gave up school in 4th class….and i know their parenting or lack thereof is to blame but the system currently allows years of offending before incarceration and we all know that at 14-15 years of age behaviours/attitudes are pretty much solidified.

Mute Denice Joy ✌️
    Favourite Denice Joy ✌️
    Jun 25th 2016, 9:24 AM

Ruth, How is it possible to choose another lifestyle if you’re homeless and can’t get a job due to incarceration?. Nobody has any input into the class they’re born into. Also having an affective aftercare programme for prisoners would reduce the risk of reoffending which would save us a lot of money as we wouldn’t have to lock up as many people!

Mute Jeffre Tomred
    Favourite Jeffre Tomred
    Jun 26th 2016, 2:04 AM

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS….It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about last week ..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I’m rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get $2,000 daily and now i have $10,000… Everyday I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (cindytedder767@yahoo.com) Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That’s the simple testimony of how my life changed for good…Love you all …the email address again is (cindytedder767@yahoo.com)