You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The average rent in Dublin is now €1,289 - in Waterford it's €601

The average rent nationwide is now €888, up €69 from the lowest point in 2011.

Rent

Click here to view a larger version.

RENT IN IRELAND is rising rapidly, with the capital hardest hit.

Rents in Dublin were up 14 per cent in the first quarter of 2014, compared to the same time last year.

Overall, rents are up 9 per cent higher than this time last year.

Rents rose in every county outside Connacht and Ulster, with the biggest annual increase of 14 per cent coming in Dublin city centre.

The average rent nationwide is now €888, up €69 from the lowest point in 2011.

Rents rose in all city centres, with Cork and Galway cities both experiencing a six per cent rise. Limerick and Waterford rose by five and one per cent, respectively.

Rents in Dublin’s neighbours also saw rises, with Wicklow and Kildare both up by 9 per cent.

Outside of the cities, rents rose by an average of 4 per cent, whilst the number of properties available for rent is now under 4,000 – down from 11,000 two years ago.

Commenting on the report, Ronan Lyons, economist at TCD and author of the Daft Report, said that the report showed just how bad housing in Dublin was becoming.

“This latest Daft.ie Report shows that the housing crisis in Dublin is getting worse. The solution is not capping rents, which will limit the supply of new homes, but rather addressing the underlying problems, in particular streamlining the cost of land and of regulation.”

Daft.ie is part of the Distilled Media Group. Journal Media Ltd has shareholders – Brian and Eamonn Fallon – in common with Distilled Media Group.

Read: Is this the solution to Ireland’s social housing problems?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    May 12th 2014, 6:37 AM

Making it virtually impossible for one to save up for a mortgage ! Living with Mammy & Daddy at grandmas house will become the norm !

Mute Massimo Osti
    Favourite Massimo Osti
    May 12th 2014, 7:37 AM

Herself and I did it for 5 years!!

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    May 12th 2014, 8:43 AM

This is true! How much are banks looking for now in deposits? The old 10% or more?

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    May 12th 2014, 9:37 AM

I bought my house in 1995 for the equivalent of €68k. That was about 2.5x Salary. By the same metric a decent 3-bed Semi in Dublin should be about €120k today. I know interest rates are an important factor but never the less anything over 2.5 to 3 times salary means servitude for the people involved. Until we sort out the cost of putting a roof over our heads, this country will remain in the doldrums.

Mute Malachy Donaldson
    Favourite Malachy Donaldson
    May 18th 2014, 12:52 PM

Until we take the burden of debt off the people in Ireland….having to pay 42% of the European Banking Crisis we as a Nation won’t get our heads above Water….http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/42-of-europes-banking-crisis-paid-by-ireland-219703.html

Mute Frainc Ó Broin
    Favourite Frainc Ó Broin
    May 12th 2014, 7:30 AM

Rent goes up, pay goes down and water charges on the way!

Mute Martin Jordan
    Favourite Martin Jordan
    May 12th 2014, 6:21 AM

Newsflash …. no one can buy so people are renting …. back to bed for me … zzzz

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    May 12th 2014, 7:09 AM

Banks only give credit out when houses are expensive.

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    May 12th 2014, 7:40 AM

Far better quality of life in Waterford too, shorter commutes, 15 minutes to the beach & 20 minutes to the Comeragh mountains & it’s the capital of the Sunny South-East, great place to live if you have a decent job.

Mute James Greene
    Favourite James Greene
    May 12th 2014, 7:55 AM

I live pretty close to Dublin city centre. My commute to work is less than 5 minutes. I can get to a beach in 10 minutes (bull island) and can get to the Wicklow mountains in about 30 minutes.

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    May 12th 2014, 8:34 AM

…. but you pay double for it & Bull island is full of scangers if it’s anyway sunny, you wouldn’t get that in Dunmore East or Wiodstown.

Mute Figo murphy
    Favourite Figo murphy
    May 12th 2014, 8:53 AM

Or Tramore :))))))))))

Mute Ciara O Connor
    Favourite Ciara O Connor
    May 12th 2014, 9:26 AM

If you have a decent job ………

d
    Mute d
    Favourite d
    May 12th 2014, 11:51 AM

Cant agree with you about waterford mate. For a start too many criminal/dirtbag types. (not directed at you so dont take offence). The nightlife is not great, the cork road is a shocking eyesore , not to mention the far side of the quay. Wexford is a much nicer spot in nearly every respect ( bar employment probably). An im not originally from south east.

d
    Mute d
    Favourite d
    May 12th 2014, 11:55 AM

Woodstows manky though. Curracloe mate. Thats a beach. None of your filthy black sand sh1t.

Luke
    Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    May 12th 2014, 12:02 PM

cool story bro

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    May 12th 2014, 6:59 PM

I live in Waterford and there is absolutely nothing to do. So I genuinely have no idea what part of Waterford you are from. And Kilkenny now deserve the title of capital because there is actually a pulse in Kilkenny.

Mute Ronan O Connor(MUFC)
    Favourite Ronan O Connor(MUFC)
    May 12th 2014, 6:23 AM

Waterford has been hit the hardest in the country with job losses and Dublin the least so there’s your answer .

Mute Grace Curran
    Favourite Grace Curran
    May 12th 2014, 8:47 AM

Yeah but for people who are working wages in dublin aren’t higher that those outside of it.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 12th 2014, 11:32 AM

Wages in and outside Dublin aren’t that different for most people certainly nothing that would match the 8k per annum in rent extra that this survey implies.

Certainly nothing that can meet the steep rent costs and child care costs.

I’m an accountant, my girlfriend is a teacher. 2 good jobs.

Between rent and everything in Dublin it is very hard to save for a deposit. We are going to move in with the parents for 2 years and save like mad.

What if you don’t have that option?

Mute Cathal Leonard
    Favourite Cathal Leonard
    May 12th 2014, 6:45 AM

This on top of being taxed to death, with stealth tax after stealth tax. While private investors buy up all around us, and we pay off the likes of the Anglo bond holders. Apologies for the rant but there is nothing going on but the rent….Can they tell me where does it come from ?

Mute Siobhan
    Favourite Siobhan
    May 12th 2014, 7:57 AM

What’s the worst thing about this is that utilities and rent are rising and absolutely no sign of wage increases on the horizon for most!

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    May 12th 2014, 7:35 AM

The infrastructure in this country is a disgrace, expensive and unreliable, therefore if you don’t live in the city you need a car. If you happen to be married with kids possibility you will need 2 cars. That is the reality of the situation is the government does not care it wants your money and it wants it all.

Mute John king
    Favourite John king
    May 12th 2014, 8:15 AM

How about moving the pyjama brigade and people in long-term social housing to ghost estates around the country to free up space in Dublin for decent citizens.

Mute Ciaran Harford
    Favourite Ciaran Harford
    May 12th 2014, 8:43 AM

Then you’re going to have a load of small ghettos instead of fewer large ones. Social housing definitely needs to be looked at as it’s tying up some of the most expensive land in the country. You can’t move it to places with no nearby facilities.

Mute Gamasello Nohto
    Favourite Gamasello Nohto
    May 12th 2014, 9:22 PM

Good idea! People who are in employment need to stay in the City instead of wasting hours for commuting.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    May 12th 2014, 8:19 AM

Media spin pumps rent hikes and landlords respond. Job well done.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    May 12th 2014, 9:25 AM

Exactly, many see this and go, wow, I’m missing a chance to make more money here. A couple of friends of mine were told by their landlord in Dublin that he was upping the rent after 4 years, so they couldn’t justify paying more money for the same house, so they moved.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    May 12th 2014, 9:33 AM

Yer man, rents static where I live and days after various headlines citing rent rises, landlord called to raise the rent. When I asked him why he said ‘haven’t you heard, rents in Dublin are going up’.
    Had to remind him we weren’t in Dublin! No matter he said, it’s gonna happen anyway.

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    May 12th 2014, 6:49 AM

No everyone can afford to live in the fast paced exciting urban areas. Though it’s desirable convenient and chic. It’s just not possible. The main reason is demand… Demand makes the rental prices rise. As a result people who want places to live…. Then need to move out of the city. This also means that our government and city planners really have to practice long term planning.

A good model for our government and city planners to look at is Berlin. Very few houses exist in the urban area…. Their urban area is filed with high rise 2 and 3 bedroom apartments near trains and trams. Yes…. Their militarised police are out in force on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights…. But it’s a small price to pay for safety.

Mute Johnny Eutah
    Favourite Johnny Eutah
    May 12th 2014, 7:49 AM

True, high density are easier to accommodate with public transport / amenities. Dublin is based on the Los Angeles model of very low rise and spread out. We’re getting 9-14 and acre where we should be getting 50-60. No forward planning and very car reliant

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    May 12th 2014, 8:37 AM

@Johnny… I agree…. It appears that our model is similar to LAs. Sadly. .. LAs urban model doesn’t work for the working poor and the disenfranchised. The only people it works for is wealthy. It is unfortunate that a full scale urban plan hasn’t developed in Dublin.

One would argue… That one did exist during the Celtic Tiger. However, the one during the urban during that period was based on greed of a few people without true consideration for all parts of the population.

A proper urban build plan considers the natural resources, the different populations living in the area, the required necessities (shops, public transportation), historic preservation and open spaces and pull it all together over a 10 to 30 year period. Furthermore, planners leave enough flexibility in the plans to include new technological advancements.

Could you see this type of thinking and planning going on in Ireland?

Mute Johnny Eutah
    Favourite Johnny Eutah
    May 12th 2014, 8:57 AM

Happening here!, our planners attitude is do now think later. The LA model does not work. Dublin is small and theoretically shouldn’t be difficult to service. An example of how bad it is, to travel from Sandyford to tallaght in a car 10mins, luas.. Green into town and red back out. Stupid

The people want good public transport hence why prices are solid along the luas. We should invest in decent infrastructure and demand will follow, the more infrastructure, the more demand will spread out and thus spreading the cost of accom and social inclusion. Libraries shops etc will then be put into the local area plans.

Hopefully one day Marlon

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    May 12th 2014, 2:26 PM

Johnny English…. In some ways…. Dublin is a sad joke…. In that Dublin once had an incredible tram line. When the bus system came into being…. This should have fortified transit into Dublin and out. But the Brains of Dublin….. Decided that the trams were passé… And ripped up the tracks.

Go figure….

One day Johnny…. But do you think this day will come to pass in our life times?

Mute Johnny Eutah
    Favourite Johnny Eutah
    May 12th 2014, 2:43 PM

I wouldn’t bet a Dublin months rent on it…

Mute James Brown
    Favourite James Brown
    May 12th 2014, 7:43 AM

Urban regeneration is the quickest way to address this problem, in conjunction with building new homes for a long term fix. The amount of under utilised properties in Dublin city is huge. For example, many retail properties (ground floor) have unused space over head on the 1st, 2nd, 3rd floors. If all that unused space was converted & used for residential it could be made available very quickly while providing accommodation where it’s actually needed. Government need to incentivise this type of development & remove potential blockers such as retail companies holding leases over entire properties when they only need / use the ground floor. A scheme that benefits both landlord & tenant would be needed.

Mute Shane Gavin
    Favourite Shane Gavin
    May 12th 2014, 9:13 AM

Having moved from my hometown of Waterford to Dublin so I can work this is quite sad. If I could get a job in Waterford I’d have stayed there.

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Favourite Giovanni Giusti
    May 12th 2014, 6:55 PM

Yeah, there’s a reason why rents are cheaper in Waterford

Mute Anthony Mulcahy
    Favourite Anthony Mulcahy
    May 13th 2014, 4:26 AM

Giovanni…. These are the worst kind of comments on these sites…. Ones with no backbone…. Pure dribble…. Back in your pram now please or back up your statement

Mute Olive Yew
    Favourite Olive Yew
    May 12th 2014, 6:30 AM

We should build more houses!! Was that the solution in yesterday’s article for the housing crisis? And let us not forgot the suggesstions telling families to “move from Dublin ” to solve the issue, not thinking of whether other places have the schools, hospitals and other amenity’s needed for all these homeless and almost homeless families.

Mute Jimbo Murphy
    Favourite Jimbo Murphy
    May 12th 2014, 6:43 AM

Olive I can let you know that yes there are schools and amenities outside Dublin.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    May 12th 2014, 8:14 AM

I heard there is a school in Cork, Limerick have a hospital and Galway have an amenity. Jesus. Actual face palm there Olive.

Mute Ian McG
    Favourite Ian McG
    May 12th 2014, 8:36 AM

@Jimbo/Ronan: Come on.. I’m sure ye know exactly what she meant. There’s no point in moving families out of Dublin into estates where the nearest town in 5/10 miles away and the kids need to get the Bus Eireann bus to the next town over, and the closest Dunnes/Tesco is maybe 20/30 mins away etc

That’s all doable if you can afford to run a car (or two more likely).. not so much if you can’t!

Facts are that our town planning generaly is extremely poor, but especially once you go outside Dublin

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    May 12th 2014, 8:54 AM

Ian, nobody is suggesting that we move families into the middle of nowhere. Many working families had to move out of the city during the bubble, they had to adapt to their reality.
    Many tenants, myself included also had to make this decision.
    Yet when it’s proposed as an option for people who want the state to pay their rent it’s completely unacceptable?
    The option open to them now is to wait 10 years to be housed, all the while rents are rising, how will they find work and be able to pay these rents?
    The simple fact is they won’t, not if working people are struggling to do it.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 12th 2014, 11:42 AM

It has to be a big priority to re-balance economic and demographic growth around the country.

Even one trying to rent, buy and live in greater Dublin is going to kill our competitiveness.

This is the rent level in an economic crisis, what if there is a sustained upturn, what will it be in 3 years time.

How can small companies afford the salary to pay 1300 a month in rent for their employers, how can they go to other business and keep them open.

Dublin is strangling itself economically.

Mute Olive Yew
    Favourite Olive Yew
    May 12th 2014, 3:21 PM

Hah I did laugh out loud when I saw the comments you are responding too. There are already issues with child places in Dublin.

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    May 12th 2014, 7:18 AM

Cynically speaking, it’s Daft!

Mute Denise Mc Shannon
    Favourite Denise Mc Shannon
    May 12th 2014, 8:32 AM

Why is the solution not capping rents? No surprise there, pandering to greedy landlords yet again

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    May 12th 2014, 8:56 AM

Denise, the rents are capped for rent allowance and tenants top up. So what do you do?

Mute Gamasello Nohto
    Favourite Gamasello Nohto
    May 12th 2014, 9:24 PM

Supplying more houses might be the solution.

Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    May 12th 2014, 6:52 AM

EU & UN policies on sustainable living which our Govt., has signed us up to and in cases like this slave to want people and families off the land , and out of the countryside , living in higher density housing located on public transport systems , and if your doubtful take the time to have a flick through UN agenda on sustainable living for the 21st century , also the dept. of the environments obligation to sustainable living …….. The local planning offices have made it almost impossible 2 get planning permission for a house even if u own or your parents own substantial land outside the main cities .,… Life outside the cities is slowly but surely being killed off …..This is one of the more sinister sides of green brigade that politicians won’t dare address and how on earth anybody from the country incl., politicians haven’t been up in arms raises some serious questions …. But big businesses like Kennedy Wilson etc., interpret UN objectives very well hence they’ve bought up every apartment block incl., previously unliveable 1s as long as there city located … Life outside the cities is slowly being strangled to death by policies on sustainable living with of course the connivance or ignorance of our own govt., for all the giving out we do about the former Soviet Union , we better brace ourselves for looking more them all the time :):)

Mute Harry byrne
    Favourite Harry byrne
    May 12th 2014, 8:22 AM

Somethings gotta Give….

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    May 12th 2014, 11:44 AM

But €1,289 and €601 for what – a bedsit, a detached 4-bed house…? This is a useless comparison! Does anyone have any idea of what the average rents per square metre are?

Mute Kevin Gill
    Favourite Kevin Gill
    May 13th 2014, 12:18 PM

Am I the only one in the country, who can see that the rental market prices are being pushed up artificially ? That this is the latest property bubble only this one is very easily burst.
    How is it that in a country where people are already crippled with unemployment, huge public sector pay cuts and levies, debts, rises or a plateaux in the cost of living at pre recession rates, and with utilities now going to include water and are already overpriced. How Can these rents be sustainable? My gut is telling me that they aren’t and that the amount of people who can afford such rents are limited. I think it’s to try and entice investors in to property speculation again and then history will repeat itself over again.
    I’m not an economist but if a high precentage of the population are unemployed, another high precentage of people are struggling with mortgage arrears and the we have upwards of 35,000 people emigrating each year and god knows how many left with poor credit or low income, should rents not be dropping instead of rising ? I think that this country has learned nothing from the past 7 years

Mute gary banner
    Favourite gary banner
    May 12th 2014, 6:57 AM

EU & UN policies on sustainable living which our Govt., has signed us up to and in cases like this slave to want people and families off the land , and out of the countryside , living in higher density housing located on public transport systems , and if your doubtful take the time to have a flick through UN agenda on sustainable living for the 21st century , also the dept. of the environments obligation to sustainable living …….. The local planning offices have made it almost impossible 2 get planning permission for a house even if u own or your parents own substantial land outside the main cities .,… Life outside the cities is slowly but surely being killed off …..This is one of the more sinister sides of green brigade that politicians won’t dare address and how on earth anybody from the country incl., politicians haven’t been up in arms raises some serious questions …. But big businesses like Kennedy Wilson etc., interpret UN objectives very well hence they’ve bought up every apartment block incl., previously unliveable 1s as long as there city located … Life outside the cities is slowly being strangled to death by policies on sustainable living with of course the connivance or ignorance of our own govt., for all the giving out we do about the former Soviet Union , we better brace ourselves for looking more likes them all the time :):) well on the face of it we definitely will :)

Mute Mary Ellen Breen
    Favourite Mary Ellen Breen
    May 13th 2014, 12:03 AM

Drives me mad when people say there is nothing to do in Waterford. There are things on every week if you bothered to take notice. Don’t know what you’d do if you lived in a village out the back arse of nowhere.

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    May 12th 2014, 6:57 PM

It’s simplw. Absolutely no one in the world wants to live in Waterford. In fact African migrants have went home after experiencing Waterford. The reason they gave was there was more to do in the dezert than Waterford.