You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
A council worker clears the streets yesterday after Tuesday night's riots. Peter Morrison/AP/Press Association Images
Belfast
Rory McIlroy 'saddened' by renewed violence in Belfast
With tensions remaining high in the city last night, the US Open champion has said: “Northern Ireland deserves peace.”
9.12am, 23 Jun 2011
GOLF CHAMPION RORY McIlroy has said he is “saddened” by scenes of sectarian violence in east Belfast this week.
Speaking on his homecoming to Northern Ireland, the US Open winner told UTV: “To see what’s happened over the past couple of nights is very sad. I know 99.9 per cent of the community doesn’t want to see what’s been going on and I think everyone just wants to live in peace. Northern Ireland is a great country and I think it deserves that.”
Last night was the first without violence since the weekend in Belfast’s Lower Newtownards Road and Short Strand areas, although tensions remain high. Crowds gathered in the area and PSNI riot officers were deployed, but did not go into action. Both loyalist and republican community leaders were on the streets attempting to defuse tensions, while the North’s First Minister Peter Robinson and Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness have appointed a senior official to liaise with the communities, the BBC reports.
On both Monday and Tuesday nights hundreds of loyalist and republican youths gathered at the flashpoint area, some hurling fireworks and petrol bombs. There was also gunfire and three people, including Press Association photographer Niall Carson, received bullet wounds.
The PSNI have said the violence was orchestrated by elements in the UVF, though it’s thought Carson was wounded by gunfire from dissident republicans. A 22-year-old man was arrested yesterday for questioning in relation to dissident republican activity.
The Irish Times reports that sources believe the riots were organised by a UVF leader in east Belfast, nicknamed “the Beast from the East”, who organised around 100 supporters to attack the nationalist Short Strand enclave on Monday night. Loyalist sources told the Belfast Telegraph he was a “loose cannon”, adding: “He is out of favour at the minute with the UVF in the rest of the city.
“They can’t control him. He has been brought up to the Shankill Road and told to wind his neck in, but he’s not prepared to toe the line.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Good. Too many leeches on the system for too long. These are the people giving the real job seekers a terrible name. The people who didn’t take up the offers of training or employment deserve the cut, because they’re obviously not looking work, or even to get out of their beds.
Leeches what would you know about it how long are you working ??gota brand new job and everyone else is a drain on your wages..well that’s the way it has always been in case you didn’t know .People working their whole lifes put on the dole an a young fella coming on here calling them leeches cop on yourself boy.Come back to us when you’ve put 15yrs plus into the country paying tax.
Brend, I’ve been working in my job for nearly 7yrs now, so don’t think you can talk down to me about working. I got a job straight out of school, lost it 6 months after that. Then I was unemployed for a year, and in that year I didn’t go on the dole, job seekers or anything like it. I spent almost every day of that time looking for jobs and courses far and wide. Eventually I got a course in fas and got a job straight from that course. That’s the job I’m still in now for 7yrs. I’ve been through the struggle without assistance and I made it, and then I see people on these benefits for all their lives and I think I’m entitled to my opinion on the subject. So why don’t you think before you speak (especially down) to people.
they should be cut to zero. i know one idiot who was in my year in school, goes around bragging about being on the dole since we finished (2001), and never worked a day in all that time. the system is a joke
The majority of jobseekers are honest people looking for work and would take a job they were offered, it’s these layabouts who give them a bad name. Good on the government for taking a stand against leeches.
I’ve been unemployed for thirteen years due to mental health (agoraphobia). I have seen some dreadful customers at the Jobcentre and overhear them talking about getting a crisis loan for more alcohol. I hope people who are abusing the system get what they deserve!
I just got a job yesterday! So no more JSA for me. :)
You know a system is messed up when you hear the line ” I can’t wait to get my dole cuz then I can get my xBox”. Just shows how badly the system is run.
A modicum of sense from government for once. A brave move indeed, as the fashionable, slacktivist left will lose their minds over this (don’t take this as a slight to the true left, who are sound, this is aimed at the “pop culture liberal”, who doesn’t have a clue). Those who refuse to play by the rules, and even go as far as cheating, don’t deserve to play the game anymore. If it works in sport, why not in life?
well they need to tackle people on dissability who are well capable of working i know a bundle of these guys who their is absouloutely nothing wrong with them and its beyond me how a doctor certifies these guys. something needs to be done about this.
A sad state of affairs in Ireland when the notion of naming and shaming what is, essentially, a thief, receives a thumbs down. I’m with Damocles on this issue. If you know someone is defrauding the state, and therefore stealing from people who ACTUALLY need the money, then you’re just as guilty and lowlife as them if you refuse to alert the authorities.
While I do not doubt that there are many defrauding disability benefits, it is also quite dangerous to assume about people’s disabilities.
If you do know for a fact that these people are defrauding the system – as in, you have it from the horses mouth, then I agree with the sentiments above, you should report them.
On the other hand, if you are merely looking at them and are unable to see their disability, then that is a dangerous assumption. Some people have invisible disabilities, like Lupus, ME or personality disorders or mental health problems. Sometimes these people can seem perfectly healthy – but sadly this is never long term and that is why they are given disability allowance for life. For example, a person with bi polar disorder may be fine for months, but then become manic with psychosis and have to be hospitalised very quickly. This is a very unstable life and for that reason they are not required to work unless they wish to rehabilitate. Just because they have found a short space of equilibrium doesn’t necessarily mean that they have gotten better long term.
It’s about time but it’s a pity that it’s not a bigger cut!
With the amount of employer’s paying just minimum wage for, some people won’t work a 40 hour week just to get an extra €158, when they can do absolutely nothing for €188.
There is nothing to stop anyone not working from applying for any job that is out there, the real problem however is that there are very few jobs available. As for courses the funding is getting smaller and smaller every year . It seems to me that the rules are something like this “look I know your a plasterer but you could apply for a job as a brain surgeon , at least it shows your trying. An extreme example yes but it emphasises the fact that as long as he plays the game and looks like he is trying then he will be ok while ignoring the real problem and that is that there are a massive deficit in jobs. Look unemployed people generally want a job but this government has done nothing to create proper long term employment.
Or how about “I know you were a plasterer, but this bin man job pays well and will help keep you afloat, until something more suitable comes along”………..Lets not forget that in Ireland today there are others working 2 to 3 jobs a week, yet some can’t or won’t take up one job. Maybe they need to take up 3 to make it worth their while, but its a case of get busy living or get busy scrounging….the choice exists.
@ John Keegan- Agreed, setting up courses should not be about changing statistics, is someone turning up to a course that they’ve no interest in just to keep the vultures away any better than someone who is waiting for certain work oppurtunities to arise. Most people who have a trade or profession work hard to get it and they identify with it, develop what people have, wheres the good in distracting someone with a course that may intrude on their job searching.
@John, very good point.. Plus if you are 40+ in this country you are practically unemployable for insurance purposes. Also it needs to be noted we had one of the lowest unemployment rates in Europe during the boom. There is a bit of a myth out there that Irish people do not want to work,
People in this country need to wake up and see the bigger picture, a lot at the top end are not paying the share and laughing at the rest of us. As long as we are split in they will always win. tax dodgers should also see jail. Do anyone know any wealthy tax dodgers in jail lately . No I bet ya.
their is a major difference between on long term benifits and job seekers , the government is not targeting the real problems. Why should a person be paid for Never working or attending training courses ?. yet the recently unemployed who have been dumped onto the pile and claim their ENTITELMENT of job seekers allowance as paid into by themselves are vilified. small percent will abuse this system but not all . Target the real problem areas and compasion and help for those trying to get back to some sense of normality that comes with bringing home an earned wage to cover the bills. Its easy for us who have a job and dont face the worry of not meeting our payments.
Alan, the whole point is that genuine job seekers are not being vilified. Vilification is being reserved for people who say they are job seekers but fail to seek jobs.
Agreed, anyone can need assistance if they find themselves unemployed the real problem is those who never work or haven’t in years, we all know people who have never worked and have been claiming benefits for years.
i just find it always benifits the govt when they pit , private V public sector or employed V unemployed in this case. it blinds the public on the they have failed us on every level . but wait whats that the govt responds ” its not our fault its the last shower” News flash YOUR IN CHARGE NOW. so take the lips off Germanys arse and look after Ireland first.
be handy if there was actual real jobs to turn down rather than cheap labor for employers using the government jobs bridge so they don’t need to hire full time employees, while yes cutting people who refuse training and interviews is right lets call a spade a spade how degrading can it be for someone whos more than 2 years unemployed that keeps hearing and being told the same bunch of shite and bull from welfare and fas that oh yes sir do this course and you will get work…….and well we all know thats a joke. Then theres jobs bridge the greatest farce ever put together where an employer can hire a new slave sorry unemployed person for up to 9 months and the state pays for it…………Maybe people like Joan burton and minister for jobs should see there wages reduced every 6 months along with enda while they continue to leave 400,000+ people out of work, no more than weeding out benefit fraud this might make the lazy gits in power work harder
The money that is saved can be given to the TDs and Senators. Then if there is any left over we can give it to Fergus Finlay because he took a big pay cut.
i, like most people if not everyone, have no problem with people genuinely unemployed and looking for work but i cant stand people who just want to spend their whole life on the dole. For example I know a guy about my age (20) who went to youth reach to finish his leaving cert and admitted he only went for the money, then went on a fas course but didnt show up most the time and when he did he was always late and he has two kids that the two different mothers are claiming single parents, he has said he never wants to work and to be honest I dont think hes the only one like that, which is a shame because it seems to give everyone a bad name.
I know a person who had their dole reduced as above in the article.
It wasn’t that he didn’t want to do the training it was the fact he had no car (Lost it when he lost his job) , lived in rural ireland and no public transport could get him to the training on time.
Welfare said that wasn’t a good enough excuse as he could cycle the 10 mile to get there!
He could probably pick up a bike for €50 on done deal, or I’m sure a neighbour has one lying around that he could borrow……less of the excuses. This is his life, he needs to make more effort at it and I’m just basing that opinion on the lame excuses you have given here. So if you come back and tell me he has no legs, well then we may need to adapt his bike :).
a) one isn’t necessarily an invalid in their 50′s, but bringing you back to a point I made earlier it would have been helpful in the interest of understanding that you mentioned he was in his 50′s.
b) It would help him get in shape
c) If he got the bike before the dole was reduced then it wouldn’t have been reduced
d) Could he not have got a neighbour or a friend or family member to assist with getting into town?
e) Did he call citizens advice for info on subsidy for transport?
f) If he took the training and turned up late because poor public transport then I’m thinking he would have a pretty decent case for having his dole reinstated.
g) While my own experiences with SW is that they can sometimes be unhelpful with dissemination of knowledge, I have in general found them to be reasonable and sympathetic so I’m going to hazard a guess that theres more to this than you know or your informing us about. Either way if he has a legit case, there are avenues he can pursue if he’s not to lazy to do that too
Its about time something was done about these bums but the government need to step up there efforts to create new jobs for the thousands of unemployed, who want / need a job.
Real jobs. Maybe instead of the jobs bridge payments some kind of grant to Irish businesses to take on staff? I really don’t understand this chasing of the unemployed when there really are so few opportunities for them.
Being offered a Fás course or a Jobs bridge placement is not an opportunity for most unemployed. It’s a few that will really benefit from it and a waste of time for the rest.
Laura, if they want tax payers money, than as a tax payer, I’d rather them do ANY course than sit on their arse at home. I struggled my first year out of school and a gas course was ideal for giving me a routine. I wasn’t long getting work afterwards. They have a bad reputation but don’t be so quick to knock them
Laura, if they want tax payers money, than as a tax payer, I’d rather them do ANY course than sit on their arse at home. I struggled my first year out of school and a fas course was ideal for giving me a routine. I wasn’t long getting work afterwards. They have a bad reputation but don’t be so quick to knock them
Most of the unemployed were tax payers too, they paid tax so they and others could be protected if they lost their jobs. They paid in to the fund they have the right to take from it. And even if they never had a job for whatever reason they Still pay tax just in other forms.
Fás courses can be of some use but for most unemployed now they are not. These people already have skills or qualifications or experience and a bloody ECDL will not get them hired any sooner when there is little work going.
People should certainly not be pushed into courses that are unsuitable to their work background. Responsible people should be given time to choose the right way to upskill and thats what these courses should be about, upskilling and developing people in careers that suit them to help them get work and to attract good business’s into the country by having an up to date workforce on offer.
I agree with you , it is a divide and conquer routine that they have down to a tee at this stage. I call it Financial rape along with Paying property taxes through PAYE, Cutting new teachers wages, Bed closures in hospitals and job cuts ….
I think I’m with most when I say I equally dislike bankers, politicians, greedy corrupt business people, scroungers and I’m throwing in there estate agents (because they are getting away scott free, the parasites).
Very few Laura, remember not so long ago Ireland had one of the lowest unemployment rates in Europe and the World. The vast majority of Jobseekers had a job paying tax. Those at the top messed up. Its the ordinary people that suffer and pay the price. Not the government or banks.
Lets just force everyone on to jobs bridge!
Why do we care so much for the few claimants defrauding the state than the thousands being forced to work for less than the minimum wage?
Because as taxpaying full time worker, a percentage of my wages goes towards funding the people who choose not to work.
I’m a bit confused by your comment- “thousands being forced to work for less than the minimum wage?”- Why would an employee not report their employer for paying less than minimum wage? possibly because the employee is claiming benefits also?
In Jobsbridge people get standard Social Welfare payment plus €50 extra, so people would be working for less than minimum wage. Im not arguing the pros and cons here, Im just stating a fact.
@antoin- Thanks, I wasn’t sure if that’s what she meant.
In that case, i know there are a lot of employers taking advantage of jobseekers and that should definitely be looked into also. But if someone is actively looking for work and to earn extra money and experience that may help them move forward, then they should take it!
if they don’t take it, they would actually be getting almost €100 less than the Jobsbridge if the get hit with the penalty so it would be worth it then.
I am a manager of a supermarket, and I have a number of times been asked by job seekers to sign off their paperwork saying they were looking for a job,
They never even asked is there any jobs going? And If I ask where would you like to work in the store or how many hrs are you looking for, they would shrug their shoulders uninterested and just ask for the signature, which I would decline.
People need jobs that are at minimum 19 hours per week.
But hey if you have jobs please tell us all who you are and where your store is. Im sure if your telling the truth and you need workers you will be more than happy to tell us. Im sure togeather we can fill your vacancies..
HOLD ON A SECOND!!! I done a 4 years apprenticeship course to be a carpenter and now i have no work! how about you get me a job in construction rather than give me some 10 weeks computer course just to make it look like you’s are on top of things! There must be a serious amount of computer jobs on the go! Your insulting me with your “help” The whole thing is a farce!!! “COURSES” I’d rather be out doing community service.
Don’t you know you should be thankful they even bothered to offer you a course, who gives a shit that it doesn’t mean a thing and isn’t going to get you a job anyway.
Are you serious? your saying that as if i’m underprivileged…or i don’t deserve a job, very condescending! i should be grateful hahaha.
I’m not worthless, it’s not my fault this countries gone tits up!
I probably hand crafted the seat your sitting on now i have a right mind to pull it from under you!
Why don’t you start a small business making custom chairs? As the branding article has shown people are tending to buy a lot of crisps and soft drinks. They’ll end up as really big bloaters who’ll need to sit down frequently. But what can they sit on?
Could you, as a carpenter, craft a comfortable wooden go anywhere foldable seat with customised arse shaping?
@ Ben, following up on what Damocles said, why do’t you try a go at your own business? Now I’m not telling you what to do, but just in case you didn’t know. You cam receive full dole payments in your first year of business and depending whether you were on benefits or allowances, you can receive further payments of a lessor amounts for years 2 and 3. Check with citizens advice etc. it maybe something of interest to you. I went to a couple of exhibitions in last few years where bog oak chairs, tables and other furniture were on display and they were absolutely stunning. Commanded very high prices. Anyway best of luck to you.
@ Ben- So, there are no jobs in construction and you’re not willing to try anything else? Is this your point?
So if you didn’t receive benefits in this country, what would you be doing right now???
I bet you wouldn’t be turning down jobs or courses that are offered to you. Just because you done your 4 years as an apprentice, it doesn’t mean that that’s all you should do for the rest of your life.
are you going to wait around for construction to pick back up, if it ever does or are you going to broaden your mind look at other option??
Following up on Emerald’s follow up of my comment … The customised folding chair, not entirely serious (obviously) but I was watching that new Ramsay thing with my lovely wife the other night and there was an absolutely fantastic table made out of a slice of a large tree trunk, irregularly shaped, perfectly polished and we both loved it, but at this time in this market things like that still cost a bomb. So not just now.
But there are people who will pay for things like that, you can even sell them on eBay. People, particularly American people, will pay through the nose for hand crafted items by an Irish craftsman.
On top of that when things pick up and there are more jobs around who do you think is going to be more employable, someone who sat around on their arse when not wading through irrelevant courses through the recession or someone who went out and started a little cottage industry using his skills and training?
“how about you get me a job in construction rather than give me some 10 weeks computer course just to make it look like you’s are on top of things!”
The guy I share my office with is a computer guy, gets a job offer every couple of weeks via LinkedIn, and there are currently 20,000 vacancies in IT in this country. So if you’re offered a computer course it seems like the people at your dole office have their finger on the pulse when it comes to giving you training thats most likely to get you a job in the short term. So I don’t see your issue. You’re not owed a job as a carpenter just because you did an apprenticeship.
Ha ha ha ha ….. So the next time you want a carpenter , ask an IT worker ….. Your comment is hilarious . So when I need a plumber maybe I should ask the electrician….
I think you’re misreading me Eileen, when you’re an employer looking for a carpenter there seem to be plenty of them, two of my mates included, but if you’re a carpenter looking for a job, resklling doesn’t sould that hilarious to me?
@ Eileen- If the IT worker has served a 4 year apprentice, why not?
Your comments are ridiculous!
As Brendan said above, just because you have completed an apprentice in one trade, it doesn’t mean that you’re entitled to that career only for the rest of your life.
Emerald, just to correct you the BTWEA (Back to Work Enterprise Allowance) allows you to keep 100% dole for the 1st year, 75% for the second.
You are then cut off, if your business fails within these two years you are returned to benefits. If your business fails just after the 2 years then you are on your own. Jobseekers Allowance which is means tested can be applied for but is not guaranteed.
Starting your own business if you don’t have some savings is risky territory. It is a decision that should not be taken lightly, but should of course be considered :)
Ben there is no jobs in construction, don’t wait around for one. Do the computer course you might enjoy it. Look for a job doing something else. I used to work in construction and i now sell mobile phones and love it.
Apologies, It was a few years since I applied, and I thought then it was 3 years. I agree its not for everyone, but your right, it should be considered.
Good to see a crack down. But from the other point what reasons where there for not taking a training course.
For example, I know an ex painter, was offered a training course in welding??? Seems pointless and a waste of money. On the other hand they are probably offering out of work welders a painting course.
Firstly can we agree that the vast majority of people in Ireland want to work, and this debate should not be centred around the few who do not.
divide and conquer tactics at play here!!
secondly what alternatives have been looked at, Ok fine refuse job/interview slave-bridge you get cut, if offers are fair and relevant well then you should be cut. if you are caught cheating the system you should be SEVERELY cut until fines and amount you stole are paid back. what gets me here is no alternatives are up for debate, why are unemployed people not being encouraged to get involved in there community, via painting litter etc, or the question should be asked to the person “what skills do you have that benefit your community, if they step up and do say 10 – 15 hours a week they shouldn’t be cut,, the elephant in the room here is there are feck all jobs out there and will not be enough for all or a very long time, cutting 44 quid off 1250 people will do nothing to address this.
Also if you need to work 2 or 3 jobs to make ends meet,this is yet another example that wealth is not distributed fairly in Eire/World
I totally agree with what you say, however this debate was going to always focus on those that have been cut, and while some may be caught unfairly in the crossfire, there are usually avenues one can take to correct any mistake within the system.
Saying that though, some sort of a stick had to be applied, and while there is little in the way of a carrot (jobs), there was until recently no stick at all.
Regarding my comment on others working 2 to 3 jobs, I do not necessarily mean full time jobs, many are part time jobs, some work a mix and yes they may work up to 60hrs a week, but I also know plenty who work those hrs in one job. It is still the choice of the individual to do so.
Folks can sit around and complain about what the Government or others have not given them or they can go out and get enough work to pay they’re way and cut their cloth accordingly. Either way it makes life tough, but hopefully the latter will lead to something better eventually.
Actually, one of my friends who is on jobseekers has been offered some sort of community work (which they said they would try to keep relevant to her work experience) which she was glad to receive – she said to me had she been told that this existed when she first signed on she would have jumped at the opportunity, but she had to wait until she had been on the dole and feeling useless for over a year.
Maybe when people are signing on they should be let know that there are such opportunities to be availed of – even part time, until they find more long term work. It may help sort the scroungers from the genuine jobseekers.
It is disgraceful that recipients of unemployment assistance are forced into low paid jobs.Because you will get plenty of work, oh yes, but for very little money and zero working rights.
Motivation to do better?! People will only learn to take what they are given, as to ask for more, to demand your rights (Which you no longer have) means to loose the job and you can’t claim dole if you get the sack. It’s a damn good way to make people to fearful to look for better and under heel.
Its simple really, either rely on someone else to help you out or help yourself. I have respect for those who help themselves, and while things are tough there are plenty out there continuing to make things work for themselves. If they can do it, then there’s no reason others can’t and no one is saying its easy, but who ever said life was supposed to be easy. You have to earn a living even when you don’t have a job.
When will they target the “lone parents”I know there a genuine single parents out there, but there’s a hell of a lot who are living with their partners and claiming this and its our taxes that are paying for this payment
That’s a hard one to do. It’s not that it’s ever ok to lie about it, but enforcing this would require either a neighbour to tip them off or else a serious violation of your privacy. How would they know without surveillance of your home?
People on the dole long term wont have funds to start a business.
Cost of business is increasing and even big companies such as Target Express are now closing down.
Rents are too high.
If you do start a business that makes money the government come along and grab your cash off you to keep themselves and their mates in Croke Park living the high life.
If your business fails the government offer you no welfare support and your on your own.
@Real. Your an inspiration to no one and as Damocles says and I think its worth repeating “do nothing, try nothing, be nothing”.
I started started two businesses, both of which failed and I lost what little money I had, but do I regret it? Absolutely not. Were those failures contributory in securing my current job….absolutely. Have some belief in the theory of doing something is better than doing nothing
“Who in their right mind would start a business?”
Someone with a little entrepreneurial spirit
Like who?
To start something this small would require very little, we’re assuming Ben, who has just finished his apprenticeship, has his own tools, or maybe he has a friend who could lend him some. He can receive full dole payments in his first year of business and depending whether he was on benefits or allowances, he can receive further payments of a lesser amount for years 2 and 3.
Its all about borrowing with you. What if you cant borrow the tools?
Cost of business is increasing and even big companies such as Target Express are now closing down.”
Costs of small businesses, particularly cottage industries are small.
I suggest you wake up to reality.
“Rents are too high.”
What would he need to rent? Cottage industry.
What business is he setting up?
“If you do start a business that makes money the government come along and grab your cash off you to keep themselves and their mates in Croke Park living the high life.”
No, not really.
Yes really.
“If your business fails the government offer you no welfare support and your on your own.”
In this sort of scenario there would be some support, he can check with the Citizens Advice and do it carefully.
no their isn’t unless he has a family.
Your nothing but a troll, most likely paid by the government to come onto sites to divide the people. You have no idea of what is happening in Real Ireland.
hopefully one day soon you can join reality and collect your dole packet.
Wrong on all counts. Anybody who goes into business thinking like that would never be successful anyway.
Banks aren’t lending – Banks sometimes can’t afford to be seen to be lending to risky, small start up businesses. If they did with everyone that came to them with a plan, the public would up in arms about that as well.
Cost + rent too high – Most start up businesses are small to begin with, so as result costs are relatively small also.
Government support – True. They don’t make it easy.
I started a business when I was unemployed. It failed. Then I started another one, which also failed. I went through this twice more before I hit on the right idea. Banks wouldn’t lend me money either when I was trying to start out, so I saved my dole money and invested in myself and my idea.
I got lucky and gained part-time employment working for minimum wage in a shite job…saved every penny of it to put into my business idea. I even took advantage of where I live, and went picking berries, made jam and sold at farmers markets. Anything for an extra bit of income to save away.
Now I am self employed at age 25, making a decent living, and the future doesn’t look so bad. I have been running my business at home, which isn’t hard with what I do, and its just myself and one other person working here. Only recently I have been looking at getting an office, and the places I have looked at are very reasonable. One was just €100 per week.
The government don’t make life easy for you however. My first business was shut down by health and safety, not because there was anything wrong with the food I was selling, but because my dog had access to my home kitchen where I made the food I was selling. I was doing quite well with that business up until then. But you win some, you lose some.
At the end of the day, nobody should go into business if they can’t take the knocks and they expect someone will be there to save them when they fall. It isn’t an easy life, and it takes a while to get used to the long hours and stress. If you have the right mentality though you can suceed eventually.
Fair play to government my hole. The long term scroungers dont get these interviews. They target people who only joined and a lot of whom are looking for work.
what a pity the dole money is not handed directly to employers, who would give employment (full/part time)to job seekers. Employers would benefit from having extra workforce and those on the dole would have some dignity and be part of the work force.
terms & conditions would have to state that an employer could not reduce his/her existing workforce or their present rate of pay.
It would soon divide those who wanted to work as opposed to those looking for a free ride.
I don’t know who made the comment about the plasterer being offered a job as a bin man earlier but whoever did is in a state of unreality . I am absolutely certain that the chap whether he be a plasterer plumber or carpenter etc would jump at the chance to become a bin man if only there were enough jobs available, that’s the core issue here, there are no jobs! Or at the very least not enough, for every job advertised even as a bin man there are 50 people who apply for that job, you only have to look at halfords last week hundreds of people applied for a few jobs , wake up! We need proper bloody government !
I think that if people really believe that all people on the dole are leeches then why doesn’t the govt give us a grant to emigrate? I know lots of people on the dole highly educated and people who have lost their jobs. The only sectors growing as far as I know are IT and Pharmaceuticals. These are high tech industries, not everyone can work in that area so what options do people have really??
Of course there should be a system in place so that people do not take advantage of the system but is now the time to do it when jobs are few and far between?. Its just taking the safety net away and getting people stuck deeper in the poverty trap.
For anyone who disagrees try living on €188 a week out of your wages. This is a very expensive country people should not forget that.
If the govt gave me money to emigrate I would be gone in the morning and so would plenty of other young educated people who have no future in this country and it would be cheaper for them in the long run….
No one thinks or at least very few think that everyone on the dole are leeches. Only that those who do not make an effort to look for work or education should be penalised. It’s not good enough for people to say they are doing their best when getting money for nothing, they now need to prove they are doing at least something.
That,s the Irish way keep voting in corrupt puppets and when yere not happy attack the people getting 188 a week to live greed is glorified in this country i see the same ol names saying that’s great there cutting the dole whilst at the same time defending the Government that put us in an IMF programme will ye look at the employment percentage when there was work and look at it now are ye for real a few sroungers who never worked all of a sudden relates to the 15% of people who have 188a week to live on.For a country with a small population ive never came across such finger pointing and ignorance to what is a political problem not a people problem mind you all the social welfare haters hating on us for our extravagant lifestyles are the same people who were giving Bertie the thumbs up even though they knew he was corrupt.Ah coming out of the closet now with no shame berating people he put on the welfare .Time for a cup of cop-on .
When we were considered at full employment there were still 160,000 odd people still on unemployment benefit. While there may were a certain amount of floaters i.e. people between jobs, there were still a substantial amount of long term unemployed in that number, with no reason whatsoever to be unemployed. The country also was doing too well to even care whether these wasters worked or not. However time have changed, and I think we can all agree that there is sympathy for many who have found themselves in hard times and we all wish them well, but there is a core of wasters sucking on the states tit, who really need a good shoe up the arse. This is one way to do it, and this kind of stick should have been introduced long before now. There maybe some wrinkles to be ironed out but those genuinely seeking work should have little to worry about.
To be honest, Emerald, I’m always a bit skeptical about those figures, as they do tend to count full time carers as unemployed. It’s certainly hard to read into it without more of a breakdown.
I am on jobseekers, long term unemployed, finished my B.A in 2008, on average i apply for 2 jobs a week in Ireland and Uk sometimes Canada but can’t really afford cost of re location, i have done a few FAS courses to upskill. The number of job rejections i’ve had has been sould destroying, but its the attitude of people on this thread and the attutude of Department of Social protection civil servants towards people like me which just batters you in to the ground. I never thought I would be on social welfare and if the department had any course or job that they could offer me that I have no experience in I would gladly take it, that has not been the case, I save €50 each week out of my jobseekers, i don’t go to the pub, i don’t go on holidays. If I lose any more from my jobseekers my chances of employment abroad are over. “The dole” is an economic prison and reducing my payment further would just make any hope of escape next to impossible. I am NOT a sponger.
All the comments above prove how Irish people are a bunch of compliant fools. Attacking genuine unemployed people who only have enough £££ to pay for food and bills, thats whats really happening. Wait till budget 2013 you sad pathetic bunch of sheep. Your attacking the wrong people. When the bubble burst unemployment increased.
Fergal Waalshe – it is not the generation before you that shoulders the blame its the system which was set up after WWII,, understand the system and you can then point your finger of blame, if you think that will do you any good…..
capitalism and Democracy do not have to go hand in hand as i am sure you have been thought in school/college
Maybe if the government actually thought about projects that would initiate jobs then people would actually get up and look for work but as it stands the rich get richer and the poor are made poorer and have to suffer on…this country went down the toilet after the Celtic tiger years when Bertie ahern wasted over €10 BILLION on building motorways alone, yet now we are the one.s that have to pay the TROIKA €3.5 BILLION for what exactly?? We the people aren’t the ones who went and asked them for the loans and we certainly didn’t see that money so why the hell should we be the ones to pay it back. We have a load of money grabbing hypocrites running this country since 1997 and not once have they thought about the people all they are trying to do is please Germany . Why doesnt every single member of the government take a pay cut , ENDA Kenny did but that was of €14,000 yet 3 months later he raised it back up by €11,000 now I’m sorry but he gets €214,000 a year + expenses etc. for what???
punch I totally agree with you. There are many many services out there that are been cut and could do with volunteers. And the other thing is if there are jobs out there, yes at minimum wage. what’s stopping 17,18,19 &20 year olds taking the jobs. Because up to 24 I think you get about ?100 on the dole . See the other problem with county is the younger generation are the entitled generation. They think they deserve to have everything handed to them . For nothing. If they are lucky enough to get jobs then seriously,,, they don’t need to be starting off on a wage or salary of ?25000 or so on.
Completely disagree with you, we do need to start off on 25+ k a year. The so called entitled generation are going to have to clean up the bloody mess of the generations before us
Wonder what age you are?? Probably a baby boomer….reaped the sacrifices the generation before made and is now stealing it away from the clutches of its own offspring. I wouldn’t generalise if I didn’t hear this kinda crap on a regular basis.
I never thought I deserved anything other than what I have worked for, I never claimed what I had not earned. This is the same attitude most young people have. Do you really think most of the younger generation who are fecking off around the world, far away from family and friends, are doing it for the laugh and because they think they deserve things to be handed to them?? Grow up and cop on.
I’ll tell ya what we didn’t deserve. We didn’t deserve being saddled with paying off the debts of previous foolish generations.
I agree that the majority of job seekers must be honest folk. However, the requirement to continually SEEK a job and actively retrain is paramount – and downright common sense for the government to make it a stipulation. It’s a no-brainer.
I like your way of thinking Linda – and not just because your name is the same as mine : ) However, the follies of old Ireland come mind – we they folly?
Confidence question looms over Ceann Comhairle but government says Murphy faced down intimidation
Christina Finn
2 hrs ago
Saudi Arabia
Zelenskyy says Ukraine 'does not trust' Russia as US helps broker deal on 'use of force' in Black Sea
Updated
34 mins ago
trump administration
White House confirms Defence Secretary accidentally texted journalist US plans to strike Yemen
Updated
23 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say