You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Commemorative stamps RTE

RTÉ to open archives to celebrate 50th anniversary

RTÉ launched TV50 yesterday to mark the year-long anniversary celebrations.

GAYBO’S FIRST BROADCAST? Mary Robinson on the Den? Footage from Italia 90? Which would you like to be able to watch again?

They may all be available soon as the National Broadcaster is to release more of its archived footage online for its 50th anniversary celebrations.

RTÉ will publish photos, video clips and TV50 Classics as part of TV50, a year-long celebration starting New Year’s Eve.

The comprehensive archives which provide a snapshot of Irish life will be made available from spring 2012.

Other events have been organised across the group to celebrate the golden birthday. Of course, there are the stamps as well.

Fifty years ago on New Year’s Eve President Eamon de Valera launched Telefís Éireann with these words:

Never before was there in the hands of men an instrument so powerful to influence the thoughts and actions of the multitude.”

That first evening included poetry readings by Siobhán McKenna and Mícheál MacLiammóir, a look back at the preparations for the television service, and an hour of music and song featuring Jimmy O’Dea and Maureen Potter.

Speaking at the launch of TV50, Director General Noel Curran said, “Television has served as both a window and mirror to an evolving nation; witnessing and chronicling huge change across five decades of Irish life. I hope that in that time we have served the viewing public well: that we have reflected their lives in a way that is nuanced and recognisable; that we have stimulated our conversation as a nation; that we have informed the populace in a way that has furthered our democratic rights and responsibilities; that we have promoted a sense of national identity. And that we have entertained and engaged along the way.”

Read more: “For me, it’s been a pleasure” Anne Doyle reads RTE news for the final time>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Mike Brady
    Favourite Mike Brady
    Oct 24th 2023, 12:26 AM

Swiftly removed after 3 weeks lol

Oct 24th 2023, 12:28 AM

@Mike Brady:
    Ehhhr…BnB???

Mute Richard Walsh
    Favourite Richard Walsh
    Oct 24th 2023, 8:29 AM

@: that’s a racist comment.

Mute Mike Brady
    Favourite Mike Brady
    Oct 24th 2023, 9:35 AM

If the Journal wasn’t full of anonymous bot chancers like yourself…

Mute Keith Collins
    Favourite Keith Collins
    Oct 24th 2023, 9:37 AM

@Richard Walsh: well to be fair @: is a racist

Oct 24th 2023, 1:12 PM

@Keith Collins: ?

Oct 24th 2023, 2:31 PM

Report for racsm

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Oct 24th 2023, 7:48 PM

@Mike Brady: “after a number of checks before listing”!

Mute Ger Byrne
    Favourite Ger Byrne
    Oct 24th 2023, 1:25 AM

I’m amazed at this error by Booking.com ! Makes me nervous re booking with them again !

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Oct 29th 2023, 7:48 AM

@Ger Byrne: If you book through Booking.com after you verify payment block them as they went back and took €50 extra from my account one month later..without my permission..they are seriously compromised

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Oct 24th 2023, 12:22 AM

Ive booked a room for December with me mistress. Very deflating news..

Mute Mise Freisin
    Favourite Mise Freisin
    Oct 24th 2023, 1:25 AM

@Paul Gorry: Take her up to Monto, and pump her with Gin

Oct 24th 2023, 9:05 AM

How dare you

Oct 24th 2023, 10:31 AM

@Paul Gorry: a brazzer more like

Mute Valerie J Mck
    Favourite Valerie J Mck
    Oct 24th 2023, 9:27 PM

@Mise Freisin: nice.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Oct 24th 2023, 5:53 AM

Can we just stay? Jesus, people are nuts.

Mute Michael o
    Favourite Michael o
    Oct 24th 2023, 7:12 AM

That’s why it’s always better to book direct. You often get a better price and definitely get a better service.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Oct 24th 2023, 7:52 PM

I once booked a BnB in Sligo for the weekend and the owner even collected me from the train station. Most people are sound.

Mute Valerie Lowth
    Favourite Valerie Lowth
    Oct 24th 2023, 12:33 AM

Sounds like an angry ex

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 24th 2023, 8:33 PM

@Valerie Lowth: Certainly seems like someone with a grudge, rather than a financial scam when they didn’t take payment in advance.

Mute Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Favourite Anna Carr (Morrigan_Dubh)
    Oct 24th 2023, 12:47 AM

That’s unbelievable. The stuff of nightmares

Mute HurdyGurdyMan
    Favourite HurdyGurdyMan
    Oct 24th 2023, 4:26 AM

Booking.Comical :)

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Oct 24th 2023, 1:58 AM

I just don’t know what to do anymore.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Oct 24th 2023, 8:23 AM

cowboys absolute cowboys Ted!

Mute Bruno
    Favourite Bruno
    Oct 24th 2023, 8:56 AM

@Tom Newell:
    Shoddy, shoddy, shoddy

Mute Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh
    Favourite Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh
    Oct 24th 2023, 1:53 PM

someone booked a listed 2 star for an anniversary. presumably the last anniversary they’ll be enjoying together

Mute Clau O'Riordan
    Favourite Clau O'Riordan
    Oct 24th 2023, 12:40 PM

To do what in kinnegad, 7:20 is the last food is served in the pub, doesn’t have restaurants open. Nothing to do in kinnegad

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Oct 24th 2023, 7:36 PM

It’s normal enough to break the journey to Galway in Kinnegad? I know loads of people who don’t like driving long distances, or after dark.
    Mind you, whoever set up that elaborate a false booking account should maybe move to a busier town instead of annoying the residents.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Oct 24th 2023, 1:31 PM

We had a somewhat similar problem (but not as bad!) here when a local large BnB put my Eircode on their website instead of their own
    We had no idea and a family turned up at the door wanting to stay the night. A lot of confusion and angry words later they left.

Mute Laura Farrell
    Favourite Laura Farrell
    Oct 24th 2023, 5:06 PM

@P.J. Nolan: A poor woman turned up at my parents with their address looking for “AirBnb”. I gave her the directions of the garda station and told her she had been scammed.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Oct 24th 2023, 7:39 PM

@Laura Farrell: I saw the same happen in Dublin city centre the other day – an unlucky couple had booked an Air BnB online that didn’t exist. Just what you need after a long day’s travel. Their taxi driver said it’s happening every week now.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Oct 24th 2023, 8:32 PM

@Laura Farrell:
    Indeed, these people had travelled from the north to the south east. I can understand why they weren’t happy but nothing I could do about it.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 24th 2023, 8:35 PM

@F Fitzgerald: Another reason to ban the pox that is AirBnB.

Oct 24th 2023, 5:29 AM

I tell ye if these knocked on me door asking to stay I’d show them both barrels and arsenal full of feckin lead

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Oct 24th 2023, 6:56 AM

@: Sure you would.

Oct 24th 2023, 9:06 AM

@Ajax Penumbra: then I’ll look for you Mr tough guy.

Oct 24th 2023, 10:55 AM

You spelled balls and ars@ wrong

Oct 24th 2023, 2:47 PM

It’s our anniversary. Can we stay at your two bedroom, remote home anyway? We don’t mind sharing the toilet bowl

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Oct 24th 2023, 8:02 PM

If you can find the “quadruple room”, go for it! There’s another 11 people you’ll be sharing with.