You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Chris Radburn/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Ryanair: OFT 'wasting time' on probe

The airline has responded to the news that the UK’s Office of Fair Trading has resumed its probe into Ryanair’s minority stake in Aer Lingus.

RYANAIR HAS DESCRIBED a probe into its minority stake in Aer Lingus as a waste of time and resources.

The UK’S Office of Fair Trading has resumed its investigation into Ryanair’s minority stake in its rival Aer Lingus, which began almost a year ago.

At the time, Ryanair appealed to Britain’s Competition Appeals Tribunal with regard to the OFT being out of time in launching the investigation.

In July, the OFT said it welcomed a judgement from the Competition Appeal Tribunal that it could review the acquisition while appeals were ongoing in the European courts.

This judgement meant the investigation could resume.

Yesterday, Ryanair’s Stephen McNamara said:

We are surprised that the OFT continues to waste time and resources on a failed merger offer between two non UK companies, some five years after the offer was withdrawn, and some four years after the EU Commission prohibited the original offer but confirmed that Ryanair had neither de jure nor de facto control over Aer Lingus.
This OFT investigation sets a damaging precedent for future UK mergers, as it appears that the OFT now intends to second guess and become involved in mergers up to 9 years after the transaction, only once all EU appeals have been completed.  We believe that this investigation is out of time and we trust that the Court of Appeal will share our view and put an end to this unnecessary investigation.

The OFT said its aim was to review whether Ryanair’s stake in Aer Lingus damages competition.

The share of 29.82 per cent of Aer Lingus Group plc was completed in late 2006.

Read: UK authority probes Ryanair’s Aer Lingus stake>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Oct 11th 2018, 4:50 PM

What’s the difference between him and the other ministers? He got Caught…

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:27 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh:
    Another nepotistic unqualified and corrupt Fine Gael back slapper. Grabbed his fathers vacant seat and boarded the gravy train.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Oct 11th 2018, 4:51 PM

But Leo said everything was fine…..

Mute Genius 80s+
    Favourite Genius 80s+
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:53 PM

What was it about the multi millionaire Mr McCourt’s that made you want to meet him.Dennis

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:30 PM

@Genius 80s+: big brown envelopes I’m guessing

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:00 PM

Leo on the telly this morning stating he had full confidence in Naughten. Naughten in the Dail this afternoon stating on record that aleo told him last night to consider his position.

Whos telling the truth??

Mute Barry Harrington
    Favourite Barry Harrington
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:23 PM

@The Risen: not leo

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:25 PM

@Barry Harrington: Typo

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:01 PM

The people should owned these essential services. but no. FG/FF have to sell everything to their buddies or vulture funds.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:49 PM

@Sean Conway: you do realise there is no infrastructure to sell, that’s the problem, if it existed we’d have rural broadband?
    The tender is to build the infrastructure and then allow the builder to offset the cost by running it. Mustn’t be that lucrative a contract though if companies keep pulling out of the process

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:05 PM

It makes a mockery of the tender process if ministers are having secret meetings with service providers .

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:11 PM

@John Judd: The guardians of the state caught with their hands in the till again.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:14 PM
    Mute Kevin Moylan
    Favourite Kevin Moylan
    Oct 11th 2018, 7:16 PM

@Sean Conway:and its about time the gardai started charging these corrupt gombeens

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:00 PM

Dennis and ministers again. Yet Dennis will still get the contract. Just more naked corruption.
    Naughten is probably looking at a seat on the board.

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:26 PM

Leo has never put the public interest first – it has always been his party and himself before the people.

Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Oct 11th 2018, 4:50 PM

What’s the difference between him and the other ministers? He got Caught…

Mute Kieran Honan
    Favourite Kieran Honan
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:29 PM

I wonder what Noonan got away with?

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy

Getting involved with FG is the same as getting mixed up with the Donald, you will always lose out.

Mute mursim
    Favourite mursim
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:10 PM

Election time.

Mute Desmond Wisley
    Favourite Desmond Wisley
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:15 PM

So after Storm Callum comes Storm Denis am I right

Mute Adam Brennan
    Favourite Adam Brennan

Crying laughing emoji.

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Oct 11th 2018, 4:56 PM

WTF was he thinking? Maybe that he wouldn’t get caught.

Mute Gordon Larney
    Favourite Gordon Larney
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:01 PM

@Mark Waldron: emmm,, what’s in it for me???

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:06 PM

@Gordon Larney: For sure! That’s the politicians mantra isn’t it?

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:36 PM

Fine Gael – what a party that party is. Corruption is rife within its ranks & it doesn’t start & finish with Durrrrty Denis. They are the true entitlement Ireland. Nepotistic – cronyism- old politics – new socks !

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:46 PM

@Setrakian: it’s all those people on the dole fault eh Brinster. I’m just waiting for the deflection.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:04 PM

He was caught,the lot of them are dirty deceitful corrupt people.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:50 PM

@@mdmak33: and yet we vote them back in each time

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:19 PM

Our political system is in a shambles and full of incompetent members

Mute Conor Walsh
    Favourite Conor Walsh
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:28 PM

@Martin Brennan: corruption is not incompetence

Mute Brian harris
    Favourite Brian harris
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:11 PM

Worst Dail ever.

Oct 11th 2018, 5:15 PM

Political incompetence will destroy FF and FG. The irony is that if they sorted it out long ago, there would now be no issue.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:09 PM

Surely in any business if there’s only one bidder left you’ll try your best to keep them onboard. Is this really a big deal or what am I missing

Mute Mark Waldron
    Favourite Mark Waldron
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:19 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: Transparency is what you’re missing. It’s required by law when public funds are being awarded to private contractors.

Mute Glenn O'hAilpín
    Favourite Glenn O'hAilpín
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:36 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: is it the case that they saw that the business was heading in another direction and decided to pull out resources from a costly tender process? .. and perhaps had some info on Naughton’s ‘preferred’ choice on the service provision. Maybe it was even one of the other companies that blew the whistle so to speak to put all this in motion.

In any case the main point here is that political corruption is still alive and well in this country. Call an election so that we can fulfill our democratic duty and keep pretending like our governmental organizations are fit for purpose.

Mute Welk wrangler
    Favourite Welk wrangler
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:52 PM

Oh dear oh dear looks very crooked, lets see him try and wriggle out of this one.

Mute Vincent Sharpe
    Favourite Vincent Sharpe
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:58 PM

And the old refrain is “I Did Nothing Wrong”

Mute sinead foley-coleman
    Favourite sinead foley-coleman

Whoaaa……wasn’t FG tagline for the previous general election was that they wanted to end sleeveen type behaviour, jobs for the boys , they wanted transparency…….jeeze aren’t they doing a sterling job….. if you like that kinda thing….. roll on the next scandal …

Mute emer caffrey
    Favourite emer caffrey
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:42 PM

If that fanny fitz is given that Ministerial role, you can kiss the next election goodbye FG

Mute Artugal
    Favourite Artugal
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:54 PM

@emer caffrey: Leo still doesn’t understand why she had to go…. It isn’t just a few bad apples, it’s the entire orchard that’s tainted

Mute Mike O Brien
    Favourite Mike O Brien
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:20 PM

For a intelligent and experienced politician what was he thinking meeting with people in private and to just remember when the game was up.

Mute Conor Walsh
    Favourite Conor Walsh
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:21 PM

His needs to go back and resit his FETAC corruption certification. I thought all politicians had to have this to sit in the Dail?

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 11th 2018, 7:58 PM

There should be more consequences for incompetency. Tonight there are two different versions of when Varadkar found out about 4 extra private dinners. Leo said he found out this morning. Naughton said he told Leo about them in his midnight call. Both of them cannot be telling the truth. One of them must be lying. And then you have the Charleton Tribunal saying that Martin Callinan was not truthful to it in his testimony. Surely he was under oath? Why can he sail into the sunset with his big pension after all this? No wonder people’s faith in mainstream politics is shattered.

Mute Frank Leonard
    Favourite Frank Leonard
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:19 PM

He probally taught he was a bigger cute wh… than the rest of them and would get away with it

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Oct 11th 2018, 5:10 PM

just who stinks the most F/G or F/F,

Mute Socky Varadkar
    Favourite Socky Varadkar
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:38 PM

I had full confidence, but i have to consider the lower class reaction. Naughten was a huge success, but overconfident, he does not have my talents to be getting personally involved.. Those in the Dail thank him for his commitment, we hope no more politicians resign due to pressures from left wing or plebs.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Oct 11th 2018, 8:19 PM

Clear case of Lowryngitis, indefensible, only one cure, the axe.
    Someone please find out why an EU state cannot secure any interest in the project from any of the broadband infrastructure providers in the EU, why our own ESB, Eir, & others pulled out?
    Why also did not project slip away to have only a US speculative outfit fronting up a consortium of possibly undesirable background investors?
    Is it possible that the drop outs got a bad smell & that something rotten kept other competent providers off the pitch?
    There is a report in the archives somewhere that might help to unravel the issues.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon

He’s just come down with a case a Gonnerhea

Mute Peter O'Leary
    Favourite Peter O'Leary
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:27 PM

A good man, hope he bounces back soon.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Oct 11th 2018, 6:13 PM