You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Take a break and watch Saoirse Ronan teach Stephen Colbert how to speak with an Irish accent

The presenter also tried to pronounce some Irish names.

SAOIRSE RONAN ATTEMPTED to teach The Late Show presenter Stephen Colbert how to speak with an Irish accent last night.

He didn’t do great but he tried really hard.

The pair then went on to pronounce some Irish names with Siobhan, Caoimhe, Tadhg, Niamh and Oisin all getting a mention.

The Late Show with Stephen Colbert / YouTube

Read: Short film about Dublin doorman charts changes in the city over 60 years>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

71 Comments
    Mute Kevin Gibb
    Favourite Kevin Gibb
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:11 AM

She’s a great girl, rocking Hollywood, good on her I say !
    Charming in this interview IMHO

Mute Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Favourite Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:19 AM

Ocean is the worst butchering of my name I’ve heard.

Mute Niall Martin
    Favourite Niall Martin
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:25 AM

Could you be more Pacific?

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:24 PM

It’s probably done to p you off!

Mute Ally Sommer
    Favourite Ally Sommer
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:44 PM

Epic comment Niall – I can’t stop laughing

Mute Seán Ryan
    Favourite Seán Ryan
    Jan 13th 2016, 8:53 PM

Mine is seen instead of Sean, class

Mute Denise Daly
    Favourite Denise Daly
    Jan 14th 2016, 2:26 AM

Ha Niall I genuinely laughed out loud at that and I’m here stuck awake at 2.30àm!!!

Mute Keano
    Favourite Keano
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:08 PM

She was raised in Carlow, where on earth did she pick I that howeyeh accent from?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:57 PM

Both her parents are Dubs.

Mute Eoin Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Eoin Fitzpatrick
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:58 PM

Such prejudice against Dub accents… Anyway better than a bloody D4 Veaaauuuuuugue Williams accent nay? I think she speaks lovely our Saoirse.

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Favourite Elizabeth Davenport
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:19 PM

If you Google Paul Ronan – her dad – the results say he was born in Manchester UK.

Mute Helena Howard
    Favourite Helena Howard
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:48 PM

there is a happy medium though Colin Farrell was another Oirish actor who capitalised on his Dubleeness lol but now has managed to tone it down to more manageable intonations I mean he is from Castleknock which is not exactly hard core Dublin as it is quite a posh area maybe not Malahide, Howth or Dun Laoghaire.
    Nothing wrong with a Dublin accent by the way look at Imeda Mae
    :)

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:57 PM

He probably went to school in D15 Blanch probably,that would explain the accent.

Mute Terry O'Dowd
    Favourite Terry O'Dowd
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:36 PM

He went to Castleknock college. It’s a private school.
    They offer classes in fake Dublin accents.

Mute Darren Mc Cann
    Favourite Darren Mc Cann

I’d imagine they would struggle with your own name Cliodhna.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:32 AM

I always pronounced it cly-oh-na but it’s probably not right, what’s the English version for the name anyway.

Mute Richard Curtis
    Favourite Richard Curtis
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:09 PM

Clint

Mute Cliona McEnery
    Favourite Cliona McEnery
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:20 PM

Or the irish way is Clíona

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:26 AM

Fair play to her, she is such a lovely Lady & so friendly..

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:16 AM

His signs are missing the Fada’s

Mute Aiden Kelly
    Favourite Aiden Kelly

“Didn’t do great but tried hard”

That’s what allot of Irish Teachers say to their students.

Mute Syd
    Favourite Syd
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:03 AM

I’m getting sick of hearing about this girl now.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:04 AM

I hope she doesn’t read this. She’ll be devastated

Mute HOTBank
    Favourite HOTBank
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:14 AM

Do you think she gives a schitt what you think?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Declan Leonard
    Favourite Declan Leonard
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:18 AM

Nothing like a bit of auld irish begrudgerr……

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:19 AM

Well yeah, i think she’d appreciate me worrying about her

Mute HOTBank
    Favourite HOTBank
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:20 AM

Sorry Joe my comment was for Syd

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:21 AM

She’s doing us proud. Literally can’t think of any reason to begrudge her but us Irish will always find a way!

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:21 AM

I guessed that. Just havin’ a bitta craic :)

Mute For O'Duffy
    Favourite For O'Duffy
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:25 AM

Is she not a New Yorker?

Mute Dave Ringer
    Favourite Dave Ringer

No more than DeValera

Mute Wesley Dolan
    Favourite Wesley Dolan
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:15 PM

I don’t know how to break this to you but you don’t have hear about her if you don’t want to. And if you are really sick of her maybe you shouldn’t be commenting on articles about her online. Just a suggestion pal.

Mute Paul O'Flynn
    Favourite Paul O'Flynn
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:30 PM

A oils listen to her for hours. Brilliant personality

Mute Stephen Ward
    Favourite Stephen Ward
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:05 PM

Which accent did she use herself, her original Carlow accent or her new Dublin accent?

Mute David Breese
    Favourite David Breese
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:36 PM

Why should that matter?

Mute Josephine Sweeney
    Favourite Josephine Sweeney
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:37 PM

such an embarrassment she couldn’t speak Irish to him

Mute Tom Halpin
    Favourite Tom Halpin
    Jan 14th 2016, 9:04 AM

Feck the begrudgers as Brendan Behan would say

Mute Tom Halpin
    Favourite Tom Halpin
    Jan 14th 2016, 9:04 AM

Feck the begrudgers as Brendan Behan would say

Mute Francis Devenney
    Favourite Francis Devenney
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:18 PM

She didn’t do bad for a British Actress

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:15 PM

At least she speaks with her own accent.
    Most of the Dublin arts crowd seem to develop a fake upper class English accent.
    Ever heard John Banville lately?
    He sounds like an English Lord.
    Far from being an English Lord he was raised.

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:58 PM

By the way
    I regard “Doctor Copernicus” as one of the best novels I have ever read.
    I am a great fan of John Banville.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:04 PM

I love Nidge from Love/Hate’s real accent.

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:38 PM

“Speaking with her own accent”? I wouldn’t agree with that to be honest.

She grew up in an educated middle-class family in Carlow, not inner city Northside Dublin.

Mute Eoin Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Eoin Fitzpatrick
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:41 PM

Christ she has a very mild Dublin accent, she’s hardly a Fatima mansions native now is she? Bloody hell

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:13 AM

I read her very own words – interview with someone or other – that she never uses her own accent! I took it she meant in such situations. A reason for her apparently ever changing accentuation? Who knows!

Mute Rocky Jones
    Favourite Rocky Jones
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:39 PM

She was on the late late in 2011 and she had a Carlow accent. Same show 2015 she has a Dublin accent. I wish her all the best but I hate that. You would think she was a dub.

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:17 PM

Well so many want to be

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:22 PM

I read an article in which the writer opined that, in the accent stakes, she’s trying too hard to come across as ‘ordinary’. Mentioned Dublin accent too and I agree.

Mute Tom Halpin
    Favourite Tom Halpin
    Jan 14th 2016, 9:12 AM

On the Late Late, when she was 16, she had the same accent as her father, who btw called he Seersha.

It’s no surprise to me that an actress should have variations in her accent having moved around so much, especially one so young.
    We should be proud of her, not begrudging. A British actor of IRISH decent told me yesterday he thinks she’s wonderful and voted for her for a BAFTA.

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Jan 14th 2016, 11:29 AM

She was born in NY and her parents returned to Ireland – Carlow apparently – when she was three. There she stayed, I believe, until moving to London at age nineteen. So, that gave her sixteen years of exposure to Irish accents. Can hardly be described as ‘having moved around so much’ I’d say. In any case, the eyebrow raising was concerned with her Irish accent!

As for begrudgery, can’t say I’ve noticed any, either here on this discussion board or elsewhere.

Check Google for details of her day’s place of birth – says Manchester UK.

He may well be the product of Irish parents so would’ve been well exposed to the accent throughout his childhood/youth. Alternatively, he may well have grown up in Ireland, from a young age, if his family returned to their native land.

It’s highly possible she has an ‘ear for accents’ and the ability to slide effortlessly/unconsciously into use of same. When my daughter (born to an Irish mother and English father – annual visits to Ireland) was very young we noticed this trait in her and it amused us. Fast forward some years and she opted to study MFL at university – French and German – at which she was very competent. She was awarded a distinction in Spoken French alongside her degree.

Merely an illustration to demonstrate probabilities.

As for the pronunciation of her name I’ve always known it to be pronounced as ‘SEER – SHA’.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:28 PM

Whale oil beef hooked

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:29 AM

I’ve been lying awake at night lately pondering the correct way to pronounce her name.
    I daren’t utter it in public until I am 100% certain of being right.
    Can someone help me please.
    It’s wreaking havoc with my life.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips

Seersha

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:19 PM

She described it as saoirse like inertia. So it’s more like sursha.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:01 PM

My niece has the same name. ‘aoir’ in Irish makes an ‘eer’ sound. It’s pronounced ‘Seersha’ (or ‘Searsha’)

Mute Tom Halpin
    Favourite Tom Halpin
    Jan 14th 2016, 9:02 AM

Seersha is what her father called her on the Late Late when she was 16
    BTW they both spoke with very similar accents then. I’m from Dublin and I doubt there is any affectation in her accent.

Mute Mr. Rightside
    Favourite Mr. Rightside
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:15 AM

He’s done a terrible job with that show, viewership is way down and people are switching off in their droves.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Jan 13th 2016, 1:24 PM

In all fairness the show was tanking with Letterman, his also up again Fallon and Kimmel who rate very well.

Mute Séamus Longshanks
    Favourite Séamus Longshanks
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:19 PM

He sounds v bored in that interview

Mute Terry O'Dowd
    Favourite Terry O'Dowd
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:43 PM

What’s your point?

Mute Yanuary Dry
    Favourite Yanuary Dry
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:38 PM

She’s very annoying, the accent on her.. Howryaaa

Mute Rafer Janders
    Favourite Rafer Janders
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:23 PM

Girl doesn’t even know how to pronounce her own name

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:53 PM

Saoirse Ronan speaks with a mid Atlantic American D4 twang not an Irish accent.

Mute Noel Falkhall
    Favourite Noel Falkhall
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:59 PM

Deaf basta*d!

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    Jan 14th 2016, 7:39 AM

Mid Atlantic? So that’s how the inhabitants speak? What’s the population there?

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Jan 13th 2016, 12:09 PM

Syd !! U gota hell

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jan 13th 2016, 8:10 PM

The usual begorrah interview the like of Chris o dowdy does too

Mute Peter Connolly
    Favourite Peter Connolly
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:16 PM

Haha I’d wonder how they would pronounce your name Cliodhna ?

Mute John H Doherty
    Favourite John H Doherty
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:41 AM

Take a break from Saoirse Ronan maybe?..

Mute John H Doherty
    Favourite John H Doherty
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:39 AM

Take a break from Saoirse Ronan maybe?…