You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Derek Dignam/Twitter.com

Seán Ó Fearghaíl has been re-elected Ceann Comhairle of Dáil Éireann

Ó Feargháil received 130 votes with Independent TD Denis Naughten receiving 28 votes.

FIANNA FÁIL TD Seán Ó Feargháil has been re-elected Ceann Comhairle of Dáil Éireann.

The Kildare South TD – who first took up the role in 2016 – defeated Independent TD Denis Naughten in a vote today. 

Ó Feargháil received 130 votes with Naughten receiving 28 votes.  

The Ceann Comhairle is the chair of the Dáil and is expected to observe strict impartiality and keep order in the house.

Whoever is elected to the role is automatically re-elected to the next Dáil.

Ó Feargháil was Ceann Comhairle of the 32nd Dáil and was the first to be elected by secret ballot in 2016. Previously, the government of the day would simply choose who would take up the role. 

He was the first Fianna Fáil Ceann Comhairle to be elected since Seámus Kirk who held the post in the 30th Dáil between 2009 and 2011.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments
    Mute Jack Delaney
    Favourite Jack Delaney
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:04 AM

I often wonder if politicans have some sort of disfunction that goes with the job and they feel compelled to lie and exaggerate? €21 billion of EU money is literally peanuts in the circumstance and is about as much a stimulant to the EU wide economy as an anadin would be to a heroin addict. The guy then gets on his feet to announce that this paultry sum, like the loaves and fishes miracle, becomes €300+ billion if the private and banking sector invests and lends into the economies of europe on the back of this €21 billion.
    What a load of rubbish. Tommy Cooper dping his three card trick would have more credibility.
    Someone needs to give this fool a lesson in basic economics. The thing that either stimulates or slows an economy most is…….TAXES! The austerity policy of taxing the ass off citizens is killing investement and growth. Ask the Japanese who have first hand knowledge of how this works.

Nov 26th 2014, 12:26 PM

In fairness Jack I’d guess that Kevin Cardiff was doing the sums for Mr Juncker so you can expect the figures to drift a little bit….

Mute Jack Delaney
    Favourite Jack Delaney
    Nov 26th 2014, 12:30 PM

Kerry, you are probably right! I forgot about that idiot. Didn’t he miscalculate part of our debt before being rewarded for his incompetance by being promoted by this government? The entire mess is shocking.

Nov 26th 2014, 12:35 PM

He did Jack. He was only out by €3.6 billion chicken feed really. Joining the EU has given him room to expand his sums.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Nov 26th 2014, 1:17 PM

Coddler is being strangely quiet.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Nov 26th 2014, 1:42 PM

“The austerity policy of taxing the ass off citizens is killing investement and growth. Ask the Japanese who have first hand knowledge of how this works.”

So does that mean you would have preferred larger cuts in public spending Jack? Or would you have preferred we borrow more cash indefinitely so as not to have to increase taxes or cut spending?

I’m just curious.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:23 AM

“The money is chicken feed and it won’t do anything to kick-start growth,” said Professor Charles Wyplosz, from Geneva University. “It is unbelievable they are doing this rather than real fiscal expansion. The private sector will just take governments to the cleaners.

“This is really an excuse to pretend they are they doing something while the austerity is still going on. It will take too long to work and there will be a big fight over the projects as every country tries to get a share of the cake.”

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:34 AM

No one in Europe is willing to commit to a substantial prog. of investment, even though the economic depression/long recession has one on longer than the one in 30′s.

It is now economically structural in most of Europe.

Germany, Holland, Finland etc will not agree to Eurobonds, even though that is what is needed in a currency zone.

No one wants to are to fiscal transfers from richer areas to poorer ones, even though that is a bedrock of every single currency zone and sound state in the world.

Germany refuses to even stimulate domestic demand at home, to improve infrastructure at home, never mind supporting meaningful stimulus in wider Eurozone.

No one in Europe is willing to agree or allow even barest steps towards solving this crisis.

Time to wrap up the Euro.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:21 PM

315 billion is chicken feed he says . That 6 times what Ireland spends on its public services in a yr . It’s half of what the UK spends on its public services for a population of 70 million people .

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:34 PM

It is chicken feed given the scale of the crisis and the size of the Eurozone.

Mute Fergus Flanagan
    Favourite Fergus Flanagan
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:59 PM

Tommy, read the article. It’s 21 Billion. Juncker has projected that if private companies invest/spend it right it would provide 315Bn worth of value in years to come.

So 315 Bn is pure fantasy speculation. 21 Bn is the actual figure. And how many countries are in the EU?
    Hmmm so if we can divide that by 28, or 18 if you go by EMU countries. Doesn’t leave much really, although it would cover our water bill for a year ;)

I’ve over simplified it to bits, but basically reiterating the fact that is it works out at a square 750mil per country in the EU or 1.166 Bil per EMU nation when split evenly

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:56 AM

I’m a cyclist and I love going for a walk in the country, but I can’t see walkways and greenways kickstarting the European economy, beyond a small local tourist boost.

Putting money into R&D and infrastructural improvements that reduce costs of transport and energy would probably be more effective.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:08 AM

Wasn’t there some group in Ireland a few tears back with a major project to the island self sufficient in energy production using hydro electric / wind wave electricity generating amazeballs thing ? Sounds ideal for funding , would be great never to import any energy again , self sufficient to power all electric cars and homes on the island and turn into a self sufficient green i
    Powered island would be big but worth while

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:37 AM

Build a generating station in Belmullet !

Mute Gord millar
    Favourite Gord millar
    Nov 26th 2014, 12:42 PM

That sounds like communist talk?

Mute One Human Being
    Favourite One Human Being
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:51 PM

Gord it could be national socialism which was one of the ism’s that the Fine Gael party is based on. But sure that’s very off topic altogether. Anyway if we do get our hands on some money the wind/hydro project isn’t a bad investment IMO. Especially for future energy issues which are in the lack of oil in the pipeline.

Mute Joe O'Reilly
    Favourite Joe O'Reilly
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:37 PM

@Dave Hammond That’s Spirit of Ireland: http://www.energyco-ops.ie/services/spirit-of-ireland/

Not sure where they’re at these days.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:35 AM

Gee how did they get so rich – charging us 9,000 a head and only paying a few hundred themselves maybe …Bye bye Europe you’ve had enough cheap fish dinners -

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:38 AM

Cameron was right. This guy is dangerous.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:44 AM

This is actually positive direction stuff, the problem is that it is not many multiples of this, it will be years before any benefit hits.

315bn over a few years is nothing to a crisis riddled and stagnating economic block of 14 trillion a year economy.

Mute Rocky Raccoon
    Favourite Rocky Raccoon
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:45 AM

Cameron is just as dangerous.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:30 PM

Rock – how so?

Mute Rocky Raccoon
    Favourite Rocky Raccoon
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:06 PM

He’s only interested in building an economy that’s predicated on increasing the wealth of the rich. Himself and Boris spend the majority of their time satisfying the needs of the big corporations instead of looking after the needs and interests of the general population. I live in London and the distribution of wealth here is disgusting.
    I’m no fan of Juncker but to quote Cameron is like quoting Sepp Blatter in a discussion on anti corruption.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:32 AM

The last time Xmas came early was with James Bond in
    The world is not enough …..

Mute Mercurial Manchester
    Favourite Mercurial Manchester
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:25 AM

Unlike Bond however, Santa only comes one a year when he empties his sack under my tree :)

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 26th 2014, 12:22 PM

Forty years in and it needs a kickstrart – that just about sums it up !

Mute One Human Being
    Favourite One Human Being
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:22 PM

It’s the magic money that was down the back of the European collectives sofa’s. Little did we know €315 billion was hidden away oh that sneaky scamp Jean Claude juncker. Very clever so we can magic up money now but five years ago they got the people to pay up.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:36 PM

Propping up the failed entity monster joke called EU.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:24 AM

Bring on the broadband, badly needed at this stage.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:09 AM

Why the thumbs down? In my view totally national, reliable broadband is the single biggest kick-start to the economy we could ever have

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:14 AM

It is incredible that people red thumb that.

Good Broadband nationally is now the same as having Electricity or a modern road network.

A country is going nowhere without it.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:16 AM

Seanie we’re an island – we aint going anywhere anyways …

Mute MUFC
    Favourite MUFC
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:11 AM

pulled it outta nowhere. it’s all a fugazi.. they’ll just keep creating more and more ‘wealth’ but all the money stays in that top .5% . fu*ked up world we live it!!

Mute jon-boy55
    Favourite jon-boy55
    Nov 26th 2014, 1:02 PM

Spot on MUFC, they are not creating anything. Today what the EU did was guarantee the markets that it would pay back 21 thousand million in imaginary monopoly money at some time in the future. And guess who is gona have to pay that back? The shareholders in this fraudulent company called the European investment bank i.e. us, the citizens of Europe. You couldn’t design a better pyramid scheme if you had 100 years to plan it!

Mute MUFC
    Favourite MUFC
    Nov 26th 2014, 2:23 PM

so true John Boy. Wealth is so horrifically unevenly distributed it’s demoralizing at times…

Mute DeclanFlynn
    Favourite DeclanFlynn
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:06 PM

Funny, Ireland needs money the European Commission demands we call it a Bailout and call in the IMF. The rest of Europe (i.e. France and Germany) needs money the European Commission calls it an investment.

Mute Bondage Informer
    Favourite Bondage Informer
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:27 AM

Investment = Privitisation.
    Those bankers hiding behind their wealth fund entities plunder nations for their true valuable assets.

The handing over of valuable assets from the trust of a nations citizens to corporate wealth management agencies for their banker clients.

Profit becomes the primary objective, service is not important.
    Privitisation is fomented by encouraging grossly unrealistic union demands to collapse a public body.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 26th 2014, 12:23 PM

CORRECT !

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Nov 26th 2014, 2:08 PM

Loans to improve infrastructure are not privitisation.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:55 PM

NTR …We all know how religiously they mind their pennies …

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Nov 26th 2014, 2:43 PM

So after years of austerity in Ireland which has caused untold suffering, our hard earned cash is being used to bail Germany out.
    Europe can go to hell.

Mute SteveW
    Favourite SteveW
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:27 AM

Great. More debt. They can use the our share of the money to pay off what they forced us to borrow then pis* off…..

Mute Stuart Keogh
    Favourite Stuart Keogh
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:45 AM

The United States of IMF

Mute MOD
    Favourite MOD
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:03 AM

they can start with fixing our water pipes

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Nov 26th 2014, 2:25 PM

Pay us back.

Mute Donald Dump
    Favourite Donald Dump
    Nov 26th 2014, 10:38 AM

Badly needed, shure the roads are in shite!

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Favourite Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:53 AM

Only really 15 billion, the rest to beg investment from private sources for a return..
    I’ve always said we should of applied to the strategic investment fund to fix our water network. . As would be normal.
    All we were told was where would we get the money.
    Good example of EU only acting when Germany has needs.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:31 AM

So, basically a ‘too little, too late ‘ pile of ordure, designed to send a ‘feel good ‘ message but signifying nothing.

Mute Susan Quinn
    Favourite Susan Quinn
    Nov 26th 2014, 3:57 PM

As part of a tech startup in the supposed target space, we don’t see any opportunity for this funding to help us achieve what Europe wants to achieve, i.e. create new sustainable jobs and foster entrepreneurship. This money will end up with the “Usual suspects”…

Mute Tennis Shoes
    Favourite Tennis Shoes
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:03 PM

Ireland should request funding for DART Underground. Considering its potential to transform rail transport in Dublin and Ireland, it’s a no-brainer.

Mute jim bob
    Favourite jim bob
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:55 AM

Nero fiddled while Rome burned… another going nowhere EU policy riddled with bureaucracy and no action. On one hand they have raised the capital requirements for banks by some 50% thus reducing lending to people and SME and then try to fabricate “inflation” by a round the houses method. It is simple, turn on the printing presses and drive QE, you can’t just wait for the US to recocer and ride the coat tails… we will be a long time waiting. As for politicians talking about “walkways” as funded projects I doubt the cost versus return makes commercial sense, create a fund that SME and people can approach directly and create a level playing field in Europe to accessing capital….rather than just the top 5%.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:23 PM

Why would they give this country anything with such a wasteful government in power

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:02 PM

I must have taken this the wrong way.
    This is a 300 Billion Investment in Europe, Junket wants International Investors, to invest in Privatisation of Energy,Education, etc. in E.U. countries. Irish Water, comes to my mind! That they will try to privatise that! eventually, then call for Investors. Investors will have choices of all the countries. Germany economy is already doing well,but Claude want investors to invest also in countries, that are not doing so favorably, at the moment, like Ireland. To me, Junket is trying to privatise Europe, we the little people, loose out, we will have Nothing Left for the people of this country to call their own. Am I wrong?

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:22 AM

This money will be borrowed, and interest will have to be paid on it… Socialism doesn’t work…

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:42 AM

Ireland could take itself out of an unemployment crisis if they worked on a national programme of prividibg broadband, social and affordable housing and a new water network.

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 26th 2014, 1:23 PM

This could work, hitler did it… And it worked well for German workers, but he paid them in government bonds which could be exchanged for German goods and services, effectively we could by pass the euro with a second internal currency

Mute Tennis Shoes
    Favourite Tennis Shoes
    Nov 26th 2014, 4:18 PM

Chris, I think all of that stuff is actually happening.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:16 PM

€21bn? It would be challenging to kickstart Luxembourg’s economy with that, let alone the entire EU

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Nov 26th 2014, 8:03 PM

Do people think any of this will come to ireland? They would be happy to cripple us and any recovery that may be happening if it saved France and Germany. Feck it they’d happily cripple Britain if it meant saving France and Germany. The only way we’ll see any of this is if irish water can apply for funding from it for infrastructure investment which means we as a public won’t have quite as much water charges for the first few years as they repair the networks. The upshot being if junker gets what he wants, the balance would have to be paid by “private investors”. Basicly it’ll mean the privatisation of Irish water or at least a big chunk of it. The ESB might get some but we’ll end up having to sell that too. Bord Gáis is already gone but whatever stake we have left in that will have to go, same with Aer Lingus, then they might give Enterprise Ireland some money to drive some investments. Next thing Enterprise Ireland is sold to a private venture capitalist fund. The only way to truly protect the country and the citizens is to nationalise all national infrastructure and split providers/producers from them. It’s been done with the ESB and electric Ireland, do the same with irish water when it’s finished doing upgrades, take back the telecom network, nationalise the mobile communications towers and split off CIÉ from the rail network just in case the E.U come gunning for that too. They didn’t succeed in carving up the country enough during the bailout. This is take two.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Nov 26th 2014, 8:27 PM

A monorail!!!!!

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Nov 26th 2014, 11:12 PM

This will be Dublin’s best chance for generations to get the DART extension built. I’m fearful these anti-Dublin pinkos will take the €750 ml earmarked for DART and waste it just to avoid spending on Dublin..

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Nov 27th 2014, 3:39 PM

Exactly. If they spend that much on transport for Dublin, Tralee will want it too! DART underground has the capacity to revolutionise transport and commuting in Dublin for tens of thousands of people and really change the city. Although it does have to be said that transport in the major cities outside of Dublin is severely lacking.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:24 PM

Does this mean we can get a go ahead for the metro at last?

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 26th 2014, 6:40 PM

So, 21 billion is actually available – one billion more than used to be in our National Pension Reserve fund, now sucked dry. Herr Juncker thinks this will generate 315 billion. How?

Nov 27th 2014, 9:59 AM

Only postponing the inevitable collapse of the German..oooops….European Superstate, sooner we jump ship the better

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Nov 26th 2014, 5:45 PM

Wouldnt it be a more of a boost to the real economy if they tackled the variable interest rates?..paying 4.5% on a base rate of .15% is insane..about 2% over european rates…crazy..