You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kate O'Connell has lost out on a nomination for the Seanad. She failed to be re-elected in the Dublin Bay South area. Niall Carson

FG’s Catherine Noone gets the nod, but Kate O’Connell loses out on Seanad nomination

The Seanad election takes place on 30 March.

FINE GAEL TD Kate O’Connell has failed to secure a nomination from her party to run in the Seanad election, but Catherine Noone has been given the nod. 

Fine Gael’s national executive met last night to finalise its list of what are dubbed as “inside” nominations, selecting 13 nominees. 

An “inside” nomination requires the backing of four TDs or Senators, as explained here in TheJournal.ie’s guide to the Seanad elections.

While there had been speculation after the election that some ministers would look to the Seanad for a seat, Regina Doherty, Catherine Byrne and Mary Mitchell O’Connor have ruled themselves out of the contest. 

10 Fine Gael women have received nominations. 

Looking at inside nominations, they include Aisling Dolan, Sharon Tolan and Emer Currie. 

Those who received outside nominations include Gab McFadden, Mary Newman Julian, Maria Byrne, Emma Blain, Áine Collins, Catherine Noone and Linda O’Shea Farren. 

The Seanad election takes place on 30 March.

There are 60 senator seats up for grabs. The Taoiseach gets to nominate 11 senators. while 43 are voted on by incoming/sitting TDs, outgoing senators, and councillors.

NUI and University of Dublin graduates elect six senators. 

Following the fall out of the election, a number of TDs who lost their seats are looking to secure a place in the Seanad.

Three female Fianna Fáil TDs that lost their seats in the last general election have managed to secure nominations for a seat. 

Former Fianna Fail TDs for Kildare South, Fiona O’Loughlin, Lisa Chambers of Mayo and Margaret Murphy-O’Mahony of Cork South-West are all vying for a seat. 

brexit Lisa Chambers speaking at Leinster House in Dublin PA PA

Fine Gael made its final decision on who is getting a nomination at its party’s Executive Council meeting last night.

These include Tom Neville of Limerick and John McGahon of Louth for the Cultural and Educational Panel. 

For the Agricultural Panel, the party has selected Aisling Dolan of Roscommon-Galway and former Michael D’Arcy of Wexford. 

Joe O’Reilly of Cavan-Monaghan and Jerry Buttimer of Cork South Central have been nominated for the Labour Panel, as has John Cummins of Waterford.

The nods for the Administrative Panel from the party includes Noel Rock  of Dublin North West, Garret Ahearn of Tipperary and Emer Currie of Dublin West. 

The Industrial and Commercial Panel nominees from Fine Gael include John Paul O’Shea of Cork North West, Michael Carrigy of Longford-Westmeath, and Sharon Tolan of Louth-Meath East. 

Former Fine Gael TDs who lost their seats, chief whip Seán Kyne and Carlow TD Pat Deering, have already received nominations from outside bodies. 

Fianna Fáil is yet to finalise its own list. 

It is expected that most Fianna Fáil TDs who lost their seats in the recent general election are expected to be nominated. 

Former frontbench Fianna Fáil TD Timmy Dooley has already been nominated by the Restaurant Association. 

Former TD for Cork East TD Kevin O’Keeffe has also been nominated on the Agricultural Panel. 

A number of other former TDs are also expected to get a nomination. These include former TD for Roscommon-Galway Eugene Murphy, as well as former Meath West TD Shane Cassells. Pat Casey in Wicklow is also expected to receive an inside nomination, having lost his seat in the election. 

The former Solidarity-People Before Profit TD Ruth Coppinger is also contesting the Seanad election after losing her seat in Dublin West. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

59 Comments
    Mute MyBrokenKnees
    Favourite MyBrokenKnees
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:10 PM

The gravy train keeps on rolling.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:13 PM

@MyBrokenKnees: you don’t think that!

Mute SFAnkleTapper
    Favourite SFAnkleTapper
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:15 PM

@MyBrokenKnees: you just watch SF if they ever get in power…the gravy rocket.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:24 PM

@MyBrokenKnees: Not Really so, the position is that The Seanad is still there, and for a very good reason I believe, therefore people have to be elected to the Upper House .it would hardly make much sense if 43 outsiders were elected or appointed there. There will be 11 Nominated by the Taoiseach and that is good, provided the Taoiseach does not do as Inda done a appoint a shower from within his own party.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:48 PM

@SFAnkleTapper: If you really think that you are deluded. Sf are not going to be doing the same thing that ffg gangsters have been doing for years. If sf get into power they will get one chance of government and if they carry on like the other 2 the people won’t be long in telling them.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:50 PM

@Derek Poutch: course they are holiday homes in donegal dont build themselves. where do you think the money came for that. the average industrial wage. you’re deluded.

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:07 PM

@Derek Poutch: sur hasn’t Jarry Adams at least 3 pensions

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:16 PM

@Derek Poutch: well, not exactly. Padraig McLaughlin (SF) lost his Dail set in the 2016 GE. He then became a senator. He regained his seat in the 2020 GE. So, you could say “they’re all at it”, but, of course, you never would say that.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:54 PM

@Chin Feeyin: I am talking about holding them collectively responsible for the decisions they would make if in govt. Personally I don’t agree with Pádraig McLaughlin becoming a senator as I don’t agree with the seanad. As for Jerry Adams having 3 pensions, I don’t agree with that either. The holiday homes ed speaks of I don’t know enough of that situation so I can’t really comment on it. What I am talking about is a govt policy to deliberately favour the rich at the expense of the health system, the homeless, the young people who can’t afford to rent and countless other people in difficult situations. If and when sf get into power and they don’t address these problems then I will be the first to call them out on it.

Mute frank griffin
    Favourite frank griffin
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:04 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: of course he will
    It’s a complete waste of time this Seanad

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:33 PM

@ed w: your a deluded cr3tin

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:20 PM

Delighted. Kate appointed her own sister to a cushy parliamentary job keeping cronyism alive. Glad she lost out. The Seanad shouldn’t be someone failed TD’s go to keep the gravy train running.

Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:40 PM

@Seán Ó Briain:
    She’s also a landlord of about 5 or more ‘properties’. So I’m sure she’ll be grand until the next election, and won’t need to work like us ordinary folk.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:16 PM

@Dean: together with a few pharmacies in the Sandyford/Dundrum area

Mute David Wool
    Favourite David Wool
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:10 PM

Cushiest gig on the planet for all of the failed TDs

Mute smart cat
    Favourite smart cat
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:14 PM

@David Wool: and people voted too keep it

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:40 PM

@smart cat: we voted to keep the senate and what it stands for, not the way people are elected to it

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:26 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: Yes, that needs a big shakeup , make it more relevant.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:19 PM

If you fail to be elected as a TD you should not be nominated for the Seanad. The people have made it clear they don’t want you representing them.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross

Snout and trough

Mute MollyMsalone
    Favourite MollyMsalone
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:39 PM

Voters rejected these former TD’s and that is how they should remain rejected.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:23 PM

@MollyMsalone: I didn’t know micheal Martin and Leo vardaker lost seats! Which election was that?

Mute Morning Gus
    Favourite Morning Gus

This constant sexist reporting does more harm than good. It makes women look inferior. The women who failed at election, did not fail because they were women, but because they failed to convince voters they could do the job.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:17 PM

@Morning Gus: people should be employed on merit for women and men equally and not just in filling minority quate boxs .

Mute Morning Gus
    Favourite Morning Gus
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:10 PM

@Bobby wilson: Exactly! Any other way is simply lowering standards and introducing discrimination.

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:28 PM

The Seanad shouldnt be used for failed or retired TD’s , why hasnt the government reformed the nomination process recommended in the McDowell report .

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:27 PM

A dumping ground for failed politicians…..

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Feb 29th 2020, 12:57 PM

@Paul Shepherd: Have a look at the embers list and you will see you are wrong, there are some ex TDs but there are a lot of people who are there from outside the party system and thats what its for

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:19 PM

The Seanad seems to be a fail safe mechanism for TD/ministers who lose their seats, And get giving a senator job till the next election comes around.

Mute Aire Dezamba
    Favourite Aire Dezamba
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:29 PM

You just cannot get rid of them…

Mute Paul O Faolain
    Favourite Paul O Faolain
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:51 PM

Jobs for the boys, the gravy train rolls on

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:52 PM

I see a major supermarket chain are looking for shopping trolley inspectors. Could be suitable for Catherine Byrne. https://www.thejournal.ie/catherine-byrne-stacking-trolleys-drink-wine-beer-2196721-Jul2015/

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:29 PM

And for failed TDs who fail to get a Seanad sinecure, there’s a quango boardship for everyone in the audience.*

*Terms and conditions apply. Membership of the FFG cosy circle is essential’

Mute .Tk mc carthy
    Favourite .Tk mc carthy
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:39 PM

Disgraceful carry on
    If u don’t get elected
    U don’t get nomination
    It’s like the Dail
    It needs new faces
    It’s a super gravy train overpaid failures

Mute Dec Gill
    Favourite Dec Gill
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:26 PM

@.Tk mc carthy: if u replace failures at the end with disgraces – you have quite a powerful poem

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:45 PM

Strange to see left wing ‘the Seanad is elitist” Ruth Coppinger putting herself forward for a seat. Whatever about breaking promises in power but breaking when not in power must be a new low. Joining the elite.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 29th 2020, 4:16 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: has they say you can beat them join them.!

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:41 PM

More proof FF will be straight back to the old tricks of jobs for buddies

Mute Pat Campbell
    Favourite Pat Campbell
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:50 PM

They won, you lost. Get over it Kate. Sound familiar?

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:34 PM

Delighted, that snout’s been in the trough long enough!

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:48 PM

No doubt Catherine Noone will be back in too after her election fiasco.
    70/80k for old rope sure God love them.

Mute Ken Curran
    Favourite Ken Curran
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Tom’s: €60k plus execs.

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Feb 29th 2020, 12:52 AM

@Ken Curran: 68111 actually

Mute frank mcglynn
    Favourite frank mcglynn
    Feb 28th 2020, 3:28 PM

I think they can still be appointed as part of the Taoiseach’s 11 nominees.

Mute Paul Flynn
    Favourite Paul Flynn
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:25 PM

Every time I see her face I can physically feel my rent rising to unaffordable levels.

Mute Paul Atreides
    Favourite Paul Atreides
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:53 PM

Well there is some justice.

Mute mac
    Favourite mac
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:01 PM

Good

Mute A Cos
    Favourite A Cos
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:47 PM

Another pro choice politician out the gap, great news

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:53 PM

Give the people another referendum, the last 1 was a vote against enda Kenny.

Mute PMG
    Favourite PMG
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:14 PM

A Family of leeches

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:58 PM

FG weren’t going to nominate Kate after what she did to a fellow FG member

Mute Laz Mahon
    Favourite Laz Mahon
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:39 PM

Jerry Buttimer of Cork South Central have been nominated for the Labour Panel, ???

Mute SandraMeyler
    Favourite SandraMeyler
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:28 PM

Kate o’connell is a horrible individual. I a very glad she lost her Dail seat. Hope she disappears

Mute Rory Stafford
    Favourite Rory Stafford
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:46 PM

“For the Agricultural Panel, the party has selected Aisling Dolan of Roscommon-Galway and former Michael D’Arcy of Wexford. ”

I am trying to make sense of the sentence above, copied from the article if anyone can help.

Mute Morning Gus
    Favourite Morning Gus
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:55 PM

@Rory Stafford: It’s the Agricultural Panel so they probably meant ‘farmer Michael D’Arcy of Wexford’. The alternative sounds worse though.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:57 PM

Socialites everyone of them

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:13 PM

Genuine question, which Taoiseach, is it the outgoing, incoming or whoever happens to be a caretaker Taoiseach that nominates the 11?

Mute AJ Con
    Favourite AJ Con
    Feb 29th 2020, 7:25 AM

@thejournal.ie would you consider doing a poll as to if people agree with the prospect of politications who failed to gain public election running for the next Seanad #Seanad

Mute Mary Ward
    Favourite Mary Ward
    Feb 29th 2020, 12:23 PM

The grave train keep rolling as

1 not one cent of money lent by eu paid back that is 40 billion euro

2 the givt extend national debt by paying interest on this debt created by one mam terms and deal never laid before dail for it approval

4 the givt increase national debt to borrow to buy back bond issued by Kenny fir the p note debt and term of deal with eu unchanged on merger of inbs with anglo

And

Taoiseach block bills laid by td cos of cost to rxvh but no. Money paid back to eu as commission say too much public money also paying Senators on health care who can monitor and supervise ire capacity to repay until 75 per cent paid back

Elected by td we elect to a DAIL dail not even demanding taoiseach they elect to account to dail on our behalf whereabout of this 40 loan