You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Security at Dáil far less stringent than at other national parliaments - Varadkar

The social protection minister said there is a possibility that somebody could carry out an act of violence in the Irish parliament.

SOCIAL PROTECTION MINISTER Leo Varadkar has said security at Leinster House is far less stringent than other national parliaments he has visited.

Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald said in the Dáil today that she will ensure all government premises, including Leinster House, are secure following yesterday’s terror attack near the House of Commons in London.

Answering a question from TD John Brassil, Fitzgerald said:

“We are all concerned to ensure that all premises are secured as much as possible, including this one. I assure the Deputy [John Brassil]  that the safety and security of locations around the country, including this one, is of prime concern to An Garda Síochána and it has all relevant initiatives under way.”

FullSizeRender (4) Christina Finn Christina Finn

When asked by TheJournal.ie if he was concerned about security at Leinster House, Varadkar said:

It is without a doubt that security going into Government Buildings and going into our parliament is much less than it would be visiting almost any other parliament that I have ever visited.
We have to be wise to the possibility that somebody could carry out an act of violence in our parliament – it might not necessarily be an armed terrorist – it could be anyone.
Of course there are hundreds of staff that work in the building also, so any reviews of security, taking into account what has happened in Westminster, would be very welcome.

The minister said that everyone must be “cognisant” of what happened in London, adding that an attack on a parliament is an attack “on the heart of a democracy”.

Ireland: Dublin Goes Green for St Patrick's Day Government Buildings SIPA USA / PA Images SIPA USA / PA Images / PA Images

Garda briefing 

Following yesterday’s terror attack, Fitzgerald said she was briefed by garda authorities and the Garda Commissioner Noírin O’Sullivan.

“An Garda Síochána is in constant contact with its UK counterparts, directly and through its liaison person there.

Ireland: Dublin Daily Life A view of Leinster House main building. SIPA USA / PA Images SIPA USA / PA Images / PA Images

“Ireland cannot consider itself immune from the threat posed by international terrorism and extremism. The expert advice is that while an attack is possible here, it is unlikely,” said the Tánaiste.

All possible steps are being taken by An Garda Síochána, supported by Defence Forces where necessary, to deal with any threat to this country. They will continue to work very closely with UK and international colleagues to make sure that we remain safe.
There are a small number of people here whose activities are a cause for concern in terms of supporting terrorism. The authorities will continue to monitor them very closely.

Varadkar said the Irish government has extended its sympathies and words of solidarity to the British government.

He added that Irish officials have been in contact with the embassy in London to offer any consular support to the Irish citizen injured in the attacks, who is believed to be “recovering well from her injuries”.

Earlier today, Fitzgerald expressed her sympathies to all of those affected by yesterday’s “appalling outrage in London”.

Read: Irish person injured in Westminster terror attack ‘recovering well from her injuries’>

Read: ‘He expanded the definition of us’: Clinton’s tribute to McGuinness, as thousands pay respects>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

36 Comments
    Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:05 PM

If the people haven’t dragged ye out by now then you probably have nothing to worry about.

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Mar 23rd 2017, 8:24 PM

Great comment Dave. I was going to say that it’s disgruntled members of the public they need to worry about, not terrorists.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 23rd 2017, 8:41 PM

@Trisha Tully: I think that’s who they’re actually worried about

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:07 PM

Seriously deluded sense of self importance our Leo.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:00 PM

Clown, why would you need stringent security at a pantomime Leo

Mute Yap McGregor
    Favourite Yap McGregor
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:15 PM

Big shout out from Leo to all the religion of peace brothers – no security here lads!

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:00 PM

Because our security alert level is ‘possible but unlikely’…very low…

Mute Bennythekid
    Favourite Bennythekid
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:38 PM

No need to beef up security -put Noreen O Sullivan in charge.-the whistleblowers will alert her to any threat.Francis and Leo are full of their own importance.

Noel
    Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:38 PM

Garda can’t even account for breathtaking samples for God sake not to mind guarding them clowns in Leinster house and a corrupt commissioner o Sullivan

Ian
    Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Mar 23rd 2017, 7:15 PM

Wasn’t only a few months ago that we were told that there was nothing to worry about and the country was well prepared and very secure.

Suddenly a place were politicians work gets targeted and security is now an issue for our politicians.

Clowns

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:27 PM

I hope he did not intend that as a provocation or an invitation.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 23rd 2017, 8:43 PM

@Tony Daly: I think it’s more to invite pity.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:58 PM

One has to remember the veiled threat issued by the Halawa family to the Coalition Government over the state of Ibrahim’s dicky heart a few weeks ago.

Mar 23rd 2017, 8:07 PM

@John Flanagan: ye that’s being played down but cause for concern I’d say.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 23rd 2017, 8:46 PM

@John Flanagan: or could it be they’re angry? Understandably.

Mar 23rd 2017, 8:14 PM

Wouldnt be very confident in security there too, our Commissioner does not inspire confidence when it comes to real policing.

Mar 23rd 2017, 8:18 PM

@Gus Sheridan: We have a Commissioner?

Mute robert lester
    Favourite robert lester
    Mar 23rd 2017, 8:21 PM

Well protected against water protestors though. Obviously the public present a clear a present danger more so than religious fanatics.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:39 PM

Maybe they’re feeling in-important, insulted that terrorists have more valuable targets than them to attack and wouldn’t waste a rotten egg on them. Anyone who’d even try it, would be locked up for stupidity more than the crime itself and would seriously discredit themselves in other terrorist’s eye’s.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:40 PM

@Stephen murphy: *un-important*

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Mar 23rd 2017, 7:10 PM

@Stephen murphy: True… Remember when the Yanks were tapping world leaders phones a few years back … poor auld Enda was almost indignant at being one of the few leaders in western Europe not to be tapped.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 23rd 2017, 9:07 PM

@Stephen murphy: they could put a huge sign over the dail “over here”

Mute Jimmy Berg
    Favourite Jimmy Berg
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:34 PM

The whole place is full of insecure people, st.brendans should have a 24hr presence onsite.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Mar 23rd 2017, 8:31 PM

I think he’s afraid of an attack from citizens who are angry that the political class in this country are largely corrupt and incompetent.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:42 PM

its hard to believe its 7 yrs since a a developer crashed his cement truck into the gates of the dail,and then to day its the same ah sure the chance of something happening here is low, but it did happen, regardless if its a disgruntle developer are a Muslim mad abasta@d,and we still put the unfitness garda as a deterrent in front the dail.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 23rd 2017, 8:52 PM

@Maurice Slater: he drove up to the gates he didn’t crash into them as far as I can recall.

Mute Tomasz Irlandczik Krótki
    Favourite Tomasz Irlandczik Krótki
    Mar 23rd 2017, 8:43 PM

True, it’s lax going in, but it’s worse coming out. They can leave by car, after getting pissed in the Dáil bar, and the Gardaí can’t do a bit about them.

Mute MARK O 'LEARY
    Favourite MARK O 'LEARY
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:32 PM

Even monkeys can wave a stick.

Mute Bunny Johnson
    Favourite Bunny Johnson
    Mar 23rd 2017, 6:56 PM

That’s because we don’t invade other countries. When will we learn it never ever the answer. The poor men and women fighting suffer, the country is destroyed and due to the military might they can’t be defeated directly so the locals go for soft targets. When will the world learn.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Mar 23rd 2017, 7:04 PM

@Bunny Johnson: Well you know there are plenty will tell there is no relationship between the Brits/French/US/Russia dropping tons of explosives on people in far of places and attacks like this. Either way its innocent people suffer because of the dangerous actions of irresponsible governments.

Mute Jeff Nolan
    Favourite Jeff Nolan
    Mar 23rd 2017, 9:30 PM

If the Security is stepped up, the politicians will be moaning about being stopped continuously….

Mute John Fitzpatrick
    Favourite John Fitzpatrick
    Mar 23rd 2017, 10:38 PM

I don’t think terrorists would waste the explosives on the shower of uselss pr**ks we have in the Dail

Mar 23rd 2017, 7:18 PM

Idiot minister stands up and says over here lads we are a soft target….

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 23rd 2017, 9:12 PM

@Kerry Blake: self pitying deluded idiot

Mute Francais Williams
    Favourite Francais Williams
    Mar 24th 2017, 1:46 PM
    Mute John Doherty
    Favourite John Doherty
    Mar 24th 2017, 12:04 PM

@Maurice Slater: never let thr truth get in the way of a good story …. expect nothing less from the type of personality that uses this site …. http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/dail-gates-blocked-by-truck-26684839.html