You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

People have become really obsessed with this 'hunky' gorilla (seriously)

His name is Shabani.

HE MIGHT LOOK like an ordinary gorilla, but Shabani is… handsome.

The 18-year-old silverback weighs around 180 kilograms (400 pounds), and has become the star attraction at Higashiyama Zoo and Botanical Gardens in Nagoya.

“He often rests his chin on his hands and looks intently at you,” zoo spokesman Takayuki Ishikawa told AFP.

He is more buff than most gorillas and he’s at his peak physically. We’ve seen a rise in the number of female visitors — women say he’s very good-looking.

He has been at the zoo since 2007, but became the campaign model for the zoo’s spring festival earlier this year.

“He’s a father and he always protects and looks over his children,” Ishikawa told AFP. “Zoo-goers think his kindness is attractive too.”

Women have described him as “ikemen” (or a ‘hunk’) online, and Japanese broadcasters have picked up on his social media fame.

A look at the hashtag #シャバーニ throws up thousands upon thousands of tweets about him.

His popularity has also led to the inevitable parody tweets…

- With additional reporting from AFP

Read: This mum’s body is inspiring women everywhere (but not why you think)>

Read: Want to prevent jet lag? Here’s the simple way to do it>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute Oliver
    Favourite Oliver
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:26 AM

I’m pretty sure there’s a lot more to life than being really,really ridiculously good looking…

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:22 PM

Apparently Graham Dwyer’s new mot has broken off with him and is now living in Nagoya to be near Shabani. She says he’s such a caring and wonderful gorilla. Reckon’s he’s her soul mate….

Mute Allister
    Favourite Allister
    Jun 26th 2015, 2:49 PM

Fyffes…. Because your worth it..!

Mute Peter Keenan
    Favourite Peter Keenan
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:07 AM

In fairness probably wouldn’t kick him out of the bed for eating bananas.

Mute fitzer
    Favourite fitzer
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:12 PM

facts are that a gorilla has quite a small penis, Not that I would want him to prove that fact

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:17 PM

It’s not big but it’s busy.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 26th 2015, 1:27 PM

If he gets really popular, Enda might ask him to run in Longford.

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Jun 26th 2015, 1:32 PM

You’re obsession with all things Enda continues Tony – can’t you post a comment without mentioning his name?

Mute Allister
    Favourite Allister
    Jun 26th 2015, 2:49 PM

I’m sorry Jason but I’m going to have to steal that line for future use somewhere haha… Classic!

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:16 AM

Lol. Ridiculously photogenic gorilla. Better looking than most fellas I know.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:34 AM

Eh…no. I’m not sexually attracted to gorillas or internet randos.

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black

Dress up as banana man and the gorilla will ride you.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:39 AM

You tease!

Mute Isabella M Hickey
    Favourite Isabella M Hickey
    Jun 26th 2015, 3:44 PM

Ha ha isn’t this so true!

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian

But can he drum to the beat of Phil Collins?

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:06 AM

thank god I’ve too much faith in Irish women to see them swooning over a Japanese gorilla. Irish gorillas are just fine!

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Jun 26th 2015, 1:29 PM

He’s Australian/Dutch. He’ll be over here working in a bar in no time.

Mute Allister
    Favourite Allister
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:07 AM

Get rid of Ryan tubridy and sign him up for the late late…!

Mute Allister
    Favourite Allister
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:19 AM

Ryan tubridy and his ma have obviously red thumbed me

Mute Yvonne Smith
    Favourite Yvonne Smith
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:22 AM

He’s very symmetrical alright!

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:27 AM

Would the hairy arse put you off the symmetry? Just curious.

Mute Yvonne Smith
    Favourite Yvonne Smith
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:46 AM

It would, to be honest! He needs to do a bit of manscaping, the back hair would also need to go!

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:03 PM

You’ve been very generous with your time. Thank you.

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:25 PM

The fact that he eats his own shite might also be a minor turn off.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Jun 26th 2015, 1:29 PM

After a few pints most of us talk shite so…

Mute Ian O'Donovan
    Favourite Ian O'Donovan
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:42 AM

He looks like he knows he’s handsome too…lol

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:11 PM

Fecking loves himself… That would really put me off… nope, not for me.. Until he talks to me… *swoons… Oh my god he’s soooo sound like…

Mute Dominique Lavin
    Favourite Dominique Lavin
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:33 AM

He is one hunky monkey

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:08 AM

Zoolander

Mute Derek mc keever
    Favourite Derek mc keever
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:38 AM

He’s a good looking lad in fairness to him

Mute Declan O'Toole
    Favourite Declan O'Toole
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:06 AM

Journalism at its best!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:19 AM

Hi Declan! Thanks for the fine compliment – but just in case you’re confused, our Take A Break post every 11am is a light piece that people can enjoy over their elevenses.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:20 AM

PS what’s not to enjoy in a post about a handsome gorilla ;)

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:24 AM

And it’s Friday ffs.Go out and get laid.Rubber up though.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:38 AM

Gorilla suit up, you mean. Apparently that’s what women like?

Mute Morgan Freeman
    Favourite Morgan Freeman
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:52 AM

@Declan Some more in depth analysis from the original story if you’re interested, including vines and instagram posts. Should keep you up to date on what all sides have been saying.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/krishrach/this-gorilla-is-so-handsome-women-are-flocking-to-the-zoo-to#.hfobnp7R

Mute Con Moore
    Favourite Con Moore
    Jun 26th 2015, 1:23 PM

A bit of fun for Friday

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Jun 26th 2015, 2:11 PM

Would you ever consider allowing readers the opportunity to write an article? Might teach them to appreciate the actual work that goes in to writing one.

Mute willow
    Favourite willow
    Jun 26th 2015, 5:31 PM

Aw Declan you have ruined the whole thread spoilsport!

Mute Debi Nikita
    Favourite Debi Nikita
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:06 PM

I must admit, he is a striking.. Just something really special about this handsome beast.

Mute Bigpapaeoin
    Favourite Bigpapaeoin
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:52 AM

male silver backs are the epitome of manliness. Proud strong protective and caring. Many Irish men could take some notice of this gorilla

Mute Nicholas J Campbell
    Favourite Nicholas J Campbell
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:39 AM

Kind of looks like George Clooney in Last image. Doctor Gorilla.

Mute Fisics
    Favourite Fisics
    Jun 26th 2015, 1:46 PM

If it’s not American women swooning over a “hunky convict” it’s Japanese women swooning over a gorilla. Women are not from Mars, not even the Milky Way, they’re from a totally different Galaxy.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:00 PM

some guns on him

Mute catherine
    Favourite catherine
    Jun 26th 2015, 3:40 PM

Geez lads I dated worse looking men in my time. That’s all I’m saying. He probably has better table manners too :)

Mute John Mac
    Favourite John Mac
    Jun 26th 2015, 4:20 PM

Ah Catherine, surely you’ve been out with guys that don’t fling their shit randomly around the place??

Though you’re probably right about him having less nits than your average Irish guy…

Mute Donna
    Favourite Donna
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:37 AM

Bit too hairy for my liking

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Jun 26th 2015, 4:11 PM

I hear Dove are starting a real gorillas are beautiful campaign to boost the morale of other gorillas.

Mute spud
    Favourite spud
    Jun 26th 2015, 11:51 AM

Out of 10 I’d give him one

Mute Amelia Smith Murray
    Favourite Amelia Smith Murray
    Jun 26th 2015, 1:53 PM

Party shops take note.. the Gorilla suit will be in demand for those looking for the riode this halloween!

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Jun 26th 2015, 2:25 PM

I’d say he’s a savage in the sack!!!!

Mute Manus Boyce
    Favourite Manus Boyce
    Jun 26th 2015, 12:19 PM

wasn’t he playing the drums in that Cadbury commercial a few years back!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jun 26th 2015, 2:37 PM

He has real screen presence!!

Mute Declan Harkin
    Favourite Declan Harkin
    Jun 26th 2015, 6:11 PM

You want your wingman to be slightly worse looking than you and full of sh*te. Old Shabini here is far too good looking and dreamy

Mute Ahren Boache
    Favourite Ahren Boache
    Jun 26th 2015, 4:17 PM

The Japanese would rather lust over gorillas and animated characters than procreate with each other. No wonder they are heading towards extinction (Japs, not gorillas)!

Jun 26th 2015, 4:59 PM

And they think humans have a right to this planet, if we realise that we are not that different we might respect this planet more and the life on it? We are all Gods creatures?