You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File Google Maps image of Heather Grove, Clara. Google Maps

Shots fired into Co Offaly home

Gardaí appeal for information about incident early this morning at house in Heather Grove, Clara.

GARDAÍ IN CO OFFALY are investigating an incident in which a number of shots were fired into a house in Clara this morning.

At around 2.15am, shots were fired through the front door of a house at Heather Grove. A number of people were in the property at the time, but no one was injured in the incident.

The scene is being preserved pending a full technical examination.

Gardaí are appealing for anyone who was in the Heather Grove area of Clara between 1.30am and 3am today to contact Tullamore Garda Station on 057 9327052, the Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111 or any garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute Mark Riley
    Favourite Mark Riley
    Aug 25th 2012, 12:48 PM

There is some rough families in Clara. One shower of them, mad drinkers, facilitated some of the greatest thefts that this country has ever seen.

Some low down people in a town that has lots of good ones.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Aug 25th 2012, 2:59 PM

LOL! I’d say their reputation is known far and wide!

Mute Wes Freeman
    Favourite Wes Freeman
    Aug 25th 2012, 12:46 PM

the place is gone mad, but you don’t get a gun fired at your house for nothing. interesting to hear more details

Mute Mark Riley
    Favourite Mark Riley
    Aug 25th 2012, 12:48 PM

Pebbledash coming back in to fashion?

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Aug 25th 2012, 1:17 PM

Pelletdash more like. Some people today…amaze me with their attempted savagery

Mute James O Donoghue
    Favourite James O Donoghue
    Aug 25th 2012, 7:47 PM

For nothing? I don’t think so

TNR
    Mute TNR
    Favourite TNR
    Aug 25th 2012, 4:35 PM

Clara is essentially a good town with decent people, there’s a great GAA community and indeed other little committees which serve both the young and old of the town . Heather Grove is a decent area and many of the houses have been purchased by hard working people. It’s a pity Clara is receiving negative remarks, all towns have problems and generally the problems are caused by a small number of people, the greatest pity is the Guards in Clara do very little to improve things. The barracks is often unoccupied and those who do clock in a few shifts there are fully aware of the troublesome people in town.

TNR
    Mute TNR
    Favourite TNR
    Aug 26th 2012, 12:42 AM

I’m going to assume the red thumbs are from people who are not Clara people and also those who have rarely been out of the Offaly area with the exception of a trip to Santa Ponsa.

Mute Random Person
    Favourite Random Person
    Aug 25th 2012, 5:34 PM

It was actually just a single shot that was fired, but of course the media loves to sensationalise things. Personally, I don’t like living in Clara, but you shouldn’t judge an entire town or community based on the actions of a few.

Mute Eamonn Delaney
    Favourite Eamonn Delaney
    Aug 25th 2012, 5:44 PM

Just one shot fired at the house. My God, next thing they’ll be writing about people hanging up clothes to dry when the Sun is out.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Aug 25th 2012, 4:58 PM

According to some people this sort of thing only happens in the states!!!

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Aug 25th 2012, 1:02 PM

Ah susan deleted my comment . For the love of God!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Aug 25th 2012, 1:06 PM

Hi Paddy, shots have been fired into someone’s home. The post above contains the latest details from the gardaí and we’ll bring further updates when we have more information. Given the nature of the incident and the fact that it’s an ongoing investigation, we’d ask you to refrain from making jokes/implications that certain individuals were involved.
    Thanks,
    Susan

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Aug 25th 2012, 1:12 PM

I hear ya. And I apologise.

But I bet someone will still bring it up.

Mute Keith Banks
    Favourite Keith Banks
    Aug 25th 2012, 1:54 PM

so often the ones who have shamrocks and flags and ‘irish’ in their profile picture that are the most annoying on this site

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Aug 25th 2012, 2:02 PM

So your saying that generally very irish people are not (cannot be) annoying?

Annoying is not a national identity.

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Aug 25th 2012, 2:13 PM

Good man Keith. Do you even know what I said in the comment that was deleted ?

Mute Diarmuid Donoghue
    Favourite Diarmuid Donoghue
    Aug 25th 2012, 2:18 PM

I love living in clara and finding out this stuff through the journal! Clara is tiny.

Mute Keith Banks
    Favourite Keith Banks
    Aug 25th 2012, 6:10 PM

honestly cant make out what your message meant Aidan. ive just noticed a strong correlation between these patriotic looking profiles and saying fairly silly or troll’y things. ive a sneaking suspicion one person may have created a few of them though.

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Aug 25th 2012, 7:52 PM

Dead right Keith, I agree. Now I’m a completely different person

Mute Keith Banks
    Favourite Keith Banks
    Aug 25th 2012, 10:51 PM

hehehe fun!

Mute Barry McSweeney
    Favourite Barry McSweeney
    Aug 25th 2012, 11:56 PM

And she Deleted my FAcTUAL response to you. No explanation, either!

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy
    Aug 26th 2012, 8:13 AM

thank you john.