You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
pass the hat
Sinn Féin accused of 'pitching Galway tent' after getting $400k from US-based donors
TheJournal.ie has obtained the latest donation statement from the party’s US fundraising branch (although that cash can’t be spent in Ireland).
6.40pm, 3 Jun 2015
Updated 6.40pm
Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams, Deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald, and Gerry Kelly MLA. PA WIRE
PA WIRE
THE AMERICAN FUNDRAISING branch of Sinn Féin received close to $400,000 in donations from US-based supporters over the last 12 months, TheJournal.ie can reveal.
New US Justice Department figures, obtained by this website, show that between 1 May 2014 and 30 April 2015, the New York-based “Friends of Sinn Féin” took in $397,082 (€355,565) in donations.
That’s down from $418,271 in the previous year.
The group’s expenditure over the last 12 months was $433,969.
The party has insisted that the majority of the money stays in the United States to fund its lobbying of US politicians in furthering the Northern Ireland peace process.
Strict rules around party funding in the Republic of Ireland mean that money raised abroad doesn’t find its way into Sinn Féin’s accounts here.
Some of the funds, however, can legally be spent in Northern Ireland.
Labour TD Derek Nolan today accused Sinn Féin of ‘pitching a Galway tent in New York’ referring to the infamous fundraising tent that Fianna Fáil had at the Galway Races.
Derek Nolan Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland
Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland
“Remember the outcry from Sinn Fein at builders and developers swanning around the exclusive Fianna Fail tent at the Galway races? Remember the outrage at luxurious fundraising events costing hundreds and thousands euro at five star hotels, totally unaffordable for the average person?” the Galway-West TD said.
Imagine how Sinn Fein would have decried a €15,000 donation to a political party from a construction conglomerate or wealthy former bankers? Sinn Fein’s fundraising practices are simply not compatible with the rhetoric and phoney imagery they like to project.
Under the Foreign Agents Registration Act (FARA), groups acting or fundraising on behalf of foreign-based organisations are required to file statements with the US government twice a year.
In the six months from May to November 2014, Friends of Sinn Féin (FOSF) took in $6,971, but recorded $390,111 from November 2014 until 30 April 2015.
The vast bulk of that is understood to have been raised at FOSF’s $500/plate annual dinner at the Sheraton Hotel in Manhattan, last November.
The event, attended by party president Gerry Adams and TD Pearse Doherty, raised eyebrows at home, with Tánaiste Joan Burton pointing out in the Dáil that the cost of a ticket was more than what the average family would pay in water charges.
The vast majority of Sinn Féin’s US individual and business donors come from the New York region, but in total, 14 American states – from Ohio to Alabama – are represented, along with the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Nova Scotia.
PA WIRE
PA WIRE
The biggest single contributer to the group in the last year was United Structural Works, a steel fabricator in Rockland County, New York, which gave $20,000.
Its president, Cormach Murrihy, originally from Ratoath, Co Meath, told TheJournal.ie the donation was “purely for personal reasons.”
It’s down to the wonderful work [Sinn Féin] is doing, north and south of the border. It’s really an inspiring organisation, and luckily I’m in a position [to contribute].
The group’s latest statement also shows that 13 Sinn Féin representatives and advisers made 33 visits to nine different cities, primarily New York and Washington DC, but also including Philadelphia, Chicago, and Boston, among others.
Gerry Adams visited New York for the November gala, and again over the St Patrick’s Day period, when he also took a trip to DC.
Deputy Leader Mary Lou McDonald attended events in New Orleans in March, while TDs Pearse Doherty and Peadar Tóibín went to New York, Philadelphia, Toronto, and Chicago.
Just last week, the party’s former Westminster MP Conor Murphy was briefing US politicians on the current political crisis over welfare reforms in the North.
The party maintains this is what the money raised in the US pays for. A well-placed source explained:
The vast majority of Friends of Sinn Féin money stays in the States. It pays for the lobbying operation and pays for people to go and lobby. It’s not money coming back into the party.
In response to questions from TheJournal.ie, a spokesperson for Sinn Féin said all fundraising and spending by FOSF was “fully transparent and compliant with all US laws and regulations.”
Funds raised by FOSF are used in the USA to promote the cause of Irish Unity and the peace process.
For example, [through] speaking events, maintaining an office in New York, political briefing, etc…
TheJournal.ie requested comment from Friends of Sinn Féin, but did not receive a response.
You can read the full list of donors to Friends of Sinn Féin, as well as US trips by party representatives, here.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
‘Funds are used to promote Irish unity and the peace process’. The Blueshirts need to nip this bolshiness in the bud and start a Partition of Ireland fund.
Ze Fine Gowl Bluebots are frenzily rebooting up after a long hard day sucking brainfarts and will be along very shortly for ShinnerFest 106…..Don’t move that dáil!!
I wonder if Mr Murrihy, the largest contributor, would be so generous if he was living here. As the president of a company he is exactly the type that SF want to tax to the hilt.
You don’t get taxed for being the president of a company, you get taxed depending on your income the same as everyone else. Trying learning basic taxation principles before making stupid comments.
American donors funding Sinn Fein are obviously banking on SF getting into government so that they can influence the way business is done here in America’s favour….a worrying development overall for the future of the EU.
Remember the expenses of the Sinn Fein TD ’s Aengus Ó Snodaigh where €50,000 worth of expensive ink toner cartridges were claimed in two years. How did that turn out?
Chris , elections aren’t a competition won by the party with the most donations, it’s won by votes. Btw I sit on the fence when it comes to politics but I agree that it would be ten steps backwards if Sinn Fein are voted into government.
I’d love to see the journal.ie or Indo show more of their renowned journalistic intrepiness we’ve seen so much of over the last week and run a story on the 400 000 dollars that a certain DOB gave to the SDLP to set up an office in New York. Mutual interests one and all eh ?
Not at all Sergeant Yates. I’m very much in favour of a independent media that serves the public interest. Political party funding is very much an issue of public importance and such stories should be published. Thats why, this week when the shady dealings of he-who-shall-not-be-named (of enormous public importance) are being suppressed, it would be slightly more pertinent to mention a political party which was directly funded by this individual. Wouldn’t you agree ?
Hot topic of the last few days. DOB . missing and silent taoiseach. Billionaire trying to silence the dail. So maybe a story on DOB links to government parties . now that would be good. Usually you run with a hot topic. But guess it’s back to look over there. Its a sinn fein story.
Probably not here in this BaNama Republic of AustÉire…..yet them and their preferred punters still wrecked more lives and wrought more havoc and instability to this septic isle than all or any physical force insurgency or counter insurgency over the last hundred years!!
That is the amount being declared, but the real amount is probably alot higher. Doesn’t the party take wages for the MPs that won’t even take their seats. And receive ‘grants’ from taxpayer (UK) for ‘research’. All their activists have cushy tax payer funded jobs, like the last sham that was shot in the markets area. SF are just as bad as any of the other parties, all of them TDs MEPs MPs MLAs etc etc. are all just on the make.
A minority party in this government gets more than the ruling parties?
I’m glad, there’s something deeply sinister about people in positions of power and who can legislate getting large donations from businessmen, it’s how telecommunication enterprises and water meter companies begin.
Foreign money seeping into our democracy is never a good thing. Where does it stop? What if some extreme left/right wing states or organisations start ploughing cash into Irish political parties?
Doesn’t help when it goes to the “former” political wing of a terrorist organisation either. But that’s just me.
Diarmuid – You really are so silly .
This is declared to Revenue Commissioners income – raised by ordinary people !
Not like bribery donations for favours given – as in The FG Party !!!!
While I agree with your first point I find your second point rather odd. You seem to be clinging to the past somewhat. Are you opposed to the peace process and the progress that has been made in the last two decades?
So Diarmuid I guess you suspect SF of gearing up for another paramilitary campaign to wrest control of the six counties? Can I borrow your tin foil hat for the weekend?
Gosh Dairmuid, maybe you missed this bit in the article above….”Strict rules around party funding in the Republic of Ireland means that money raised abroad doesn’t find its way into Sinn Féin’s accounts here.
Some of the funds, however, can legally be spent in Northern Ireland.”
…or is it too much to read the bits that discredit your ramblings.
Diarmuid, are you saying that none of the parties took foreign financial support? None of them ever?
You’d do well to revise some history books, start with FG history
Diarmuid – If you took the time to actually read the Article , you would notice that the funding raised is for the actual running of The Sinn Fein Office in Washington DC etc.
It is fully declared income always !
It’s such a shame that your Blueshirt Friends just don’t seem to be up to finding such Friends in USA , as they do in such as Denis O’Brien !!!!
TG people who had the moral bankruptcy to support the murder of innocent men, women and children should never be trusted.
Al, you believe that?! You really believe that an “all-Ireland” party that doesn’t recognise the border and has a pretty unified structure just shuts down its funding at the border? I don’t…
Jenni.. SF/PIRA fundraising dwarfs anything raised by any of the other parties. Look at the link above.
I take it you eternally condemn the modern incarnation of Cumann na nGaedhal (Fine Gael) for their short-lived military wing’s involvement in the Spanish Civil War? It would be far more rational of you to be circumspect about the shinners because of their outrageous economic views/theories than about a conflict that ended 17 years ago. I’m pretty sure the original IRA back in the early 1900s inadvertently took down some civilians gaining our independence. There are no angels in war. Just get the f*ck over it and move on.
Ciarraioch, good boy, trying to recover from your previous nonsense? Part of the money is spent in NI. Or the 6 Counties as you like to call it, because you claim not to recognise the border. Read the article. The idea that this money is only spent for SF in the north, but not the south, is BS.
PS did PIRA racketeering and fuel laundering
money ever make it into SF coffers in the past?
@ Troll … nah I’m more concerned with the terrorist organisation which continued to kill people and rob banks up to the mid 2000s. Certainly not “17 years” ago. Look it up.
You know, the same terrorist organisation which targeted and bombed innocent men, women and children. Don’t remember 1920s IRA bombing shopping centres and pubs in order to kill civilians.
Move on? Funny how shinners arrogantly demand that the victims they created and the Irish people “move on”. Their past doesn’t suit their new narrative any more.
I agree with you that their economic policies are farcical though.
I’m not a shinner fyi. Did you lose someone in the troubles or something? It wasn’t one way traffic you know. The IRA carried out some appalling attacks but so did loyalist paramilitaries and so did the British army. By your logic the British government should be eternally condemned for actions they took two or more decades ago? Shall we boycott the UK? Grow up and move on.
Loyalist/British terrorists are not seeking power in this State, are not trying to rewrite Irish history and did not purport to kill people in the name of the Irish people up to the mid-2000s.
Your version of “moving on” entails bringing these “former” terrorists and their supporters with us into the future. They should be consigned to the dustbin of history, where they belong.
Diarmuid – I again remind you , that it’s best to read an Article firstly – garner the facts – then start Trolling – sorry -Commenting , on it ?
The Article stated clearly, that the funding runs the USA part of Friends of Sinn Fein .
Sinn Fein , if you studied your History , has had an active organisation / Office, operating in USA now , for over a hundred years – it’s clearly nothing new and they always declare their income to the Revenue Authorities there.
Okay Diarmuid so you’re selective about your moral bankruptcy ‘principle’. Well how about you keep checking under the bed for suspect devices and the rest of the world can move on with the modern progressive political landscape on the island. Dinosaur.
“Some of the funds, however, can legally be spent in Northern Ireland”… glad I can read the article for you Ciarraioch / Shinner troll.
@Troll G…. dinosaur? At what point do terrorists have their slate wiped clean? 9/11 happened 14 years ago, you gonna “move on” with those terrorists too? Maybe a decade ago seems like a long time ago for a teenage troll like your good self, but it is not.
Really Gabbi….the idea of off shore accounts is to avoid paying tax, in the context of tax avoidence…..paying staff cash in hand is also to avoid paying tax.
Just because SF have an account with an American bank does not not make it a tax avoidance scam, just a practical thing to have when you have an office in the US.
@ ‘gabbi’: Offshore accounts? LOL! They’re based in new york and submit statements with the US government twice a year. Hardly Malta now, is it?
@ dermo: Try reading the article before embarrassing yourself. If you have any information of funds raised stateside by SF being used to unlawfully fund the party in this state, then post it.
Speaking of monies Diarmuid, has kenny paid back the taxpayers money that was deemed illegally spent spent during the children’s referendum and the taxpayers money spent on his send abolition crusade ,just saying
O’Brien donated millions to the Clinton Foundation and was also awarded a license to operate in Haiti by a state department in the States in 2011. The donations are not dated so hard to know what came first, the chicken or the egg.
Minister Alan Kelly’s brother, Declan, and his company, Teneo, are also donaters and he was award Economic Envoy to Northern Ireland in 2009 by Hilary Clinton.
There was a story about the SF do when it happened on the Journal too, both stories are old news, which would also make Bobs comment invalid as these stories would be technically “olds” not “news” :-)
With a name like UndercoverGuard??? As you offering an thing in return before I take that bet?There is a bookies two towns over that might benefit from an auld raid.
Well I suppose its not entrapment as I made the offer before you made the approach. So I’ll put you down for two large.Now if I have to send the lads after you they’ll be taking testicles. ;-}
They might, at least then we would know what you represent. As it is you and your ilk from either ff/fg/lab (take a pick they are all the same) come on here with your moronic comments but without the balls to admit who you are.
So they’re good fundraisers and have a strong support base in the US , shock horror. The mainstream media in Ireland seriously needs to take its head out of its arse before it becomes completely irrelevant
Yeah seriously. This is mindly interesting but if anybody thinks it’s some kind of big revelation then I’m lost. SF have had a strong network of support in the US for many decades. There is absolutely nothing wrong with fundraising in the US or anywhere. It is entirely legal and rightly so.
yes i have been on the web site it is a blank pdf but they mention that files are with the guarda regarding mayo constituency i thought that was resolved.
So a political party has good fundraiser’s and raises some money in a country that is full of Irish people and descendants. Shock horror. Its very obvious now. Spotlight on fg so its quick look over there. A story on sinn fein.
Its easy to counter every Euro contribution to Political Parties (lobby payments) with your Vote!
You are encouraged to bring your brains to the polling booths!
How`re ye Dermo!
This is old news on Sinn Féins website, the monies being raised are staying in the US to support the work over there, you DO realise that there are a lot of disenfranchised recent Irish now living in America, who (thanks to social media) have a unique outlook on what is happening in Ireland nowadays, not like it was 25-30 years ago when all they had to go by was the MSM and Section 31.
It must gall you to think that this money has already passed the tests it would obviously have received from the US authorities in setting up such a fund.
not to mention that there are now two parts of Canada donating to the party, Guess what? the newly disenfranchised Irish are also setting up home there too, donations will only only get bigger.
So, nothing to hide with Sinn Féin,
BUT
Riddle me this?
Who paid off the FG party`s debts in the 80`s or 90`s to the tune of 3 million? – Answers on the back of a brown envelope please.
Get used to the future, stop looking back in anger, the people you support in government are charlatans, snakeoil merchants. liars and thieves.
Then again Derom, knowing you, I reckon the old adage of “birds of a feather,flock together” fits you quite snugly.
Have a nice day now Dermo.
New information on foreign money received by SF the year up to 30 April 2015. It is not old news.
Some of the foreign money is spent in Northern Ireland. SF admits this. Just wonder if any of this money filters down to this jurisdiction, though the “all-Ireland” structure SF adopts.
Why do so many shinner trolls want to hide the fact it receives so much foreign money?
Are you Serious Dermo? They bloody published it! LOL
Furthermore – These donations cover a a 12 month period, going back to last November INCLUDING the Dinner party that Gerry Adams and Pearse Doherty attended, and of which you all threw your collective rattles out of the pram.They are NOT up to the Year 30 April, like you phrased it.
Stop getting all bent out of shape for perceived tin foil hat scenarios.
you have enough to be worrying about with the implosion of your own parties.
Kick back for the evening, and get ready for Vincent Brown
Have a good one buddy!
You are right Supernova, the first stink kicked up (if i remember correctly) was when SF had the Gala dinner, It was Joanie throwing a hissy fit about it – I think her head was bent out of shape by the fact that they were popular and people attended, I think that both labours and Fg`s dinners collapsed,
Either that or she still had water in her ear from a dissident balloon.
Pearse, you’re wrong, these figures cover the year up to 30 April 2015. You’re also wrong in stating this money stays in the U.S. Some is spent in Northern Ireland.
Unfortunately for you, not everyone supports a political party like it is a soccer team / cult.
If another political party received €400k in foreign money per annum, shinner trolls like your good self would be up in arms.
“In the six months from May to November 2014, Friends of Sinn Féin (FOSF) took in $6,971, but recorded $390,111 from November 2014 until 30 April 2015.
The vast bulk of that is understood to have been raised at FOSF’s $500/plate annual dinner at the Sheraton Hotel in Manhattan, last November.
The event, attended by party president Gerry Adams and TD Pearse Doherty, raised eyebrows at home, with Tánaiste Joan Burton pointing out in the Dáil that the cost of a ticket was more than what the average family would pay in water charges.”
This is copied and pasted from the article above Dermo! – Clearly stating the timeframe.
I see you are going into the default mode of selective reading and lying through your teeth again.
Well done you – Actually lying whilse the truth is in black and white on the same article you are posting on, Why am i not surprised with the way you act?
Your hatred has turned you into one big ball of dishonesty.
Sf this sf that. journal after last week you lost all credibility how about the hundreds of millions your buddy dob got You know the one you where afraid to report on.Journal doesn’t even know the constitution some reporters!!Every body knows now that you can threaten journal with a solicitors letter and they will back down shame really.Vb will ask the hard questions you shouldnt be on that program.No to corruption in Ireland yes to equality._.
Other people (journalists inc.) try to operate within the law of the land. Then don’t pick and choose what laws suits them. Your problem Bobby is to much time spent reading an phoblacht.
It appears to me that Sinn Fein are only interested in feathering their own nest, what are they doing in the north to sort out the mess created after refusing to support the Welfare Bill. They obviously don’t care about the cuts to healthcare and education coming down the track. They should be camped on Cameron’s doorstep like the Scots instead of licking up to the Americans.
Since when did fg ff labour care about the north.Ye abandoned your own people in the north sounds like your jealous because Sf have partys on both sides of the border.Sf indp for government.Thanks fg ff labour for the lifetime of debt you inflicted on my family home. bankers lapdogs.Thats what ye are.
Mk76 what has to be done is rid our country of corruption and cronyism tax the super elite and make the corporations pay their 12.5% tax and we start from there corruption first that has to be weeded out once and for all.Then have a referendum in the republic first for reunification.Then down the road a referendum in the 6 counties.Our house has to be in order first that means no corruption no cronyism.Question for you would you join a corrupt country?Fairness equality and accountability thats the way forward.
Point to a country that doesn’t have any corruption.
You didn’t answer my question on where we would get the money required for reunification. The UK funds the North to the tune of ~€4/5bn, not to mention a massive public sector workforce.
So ure accepting corruption Mk76 ?
We could always go back to printing our own money and leave the eu Mk76.We could save a lot of money by having one government public sector would be come one as well.We have tax off around 8 hundred thousand workers as well we will find a way it could be done.It might never happen mk76.Our 26 counties are a mess we should not tolerate corruption.We Should have white collar crime laws and banks should be held accountable and politicians.stiff prison sentences need to be introduced that would stem a lot of our problems.Is it true Ireland never signed eu anti corruption laws.http://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-corruption-2-1296895-Feb2014/
So it has begun. Let’s deflect attention by trying to sully another party. Look at sf, rich individuals finance them! Must be something very bad on fg about to explode.
And here come the FG trolls.As predictable as clockwork.C’ere where are ye on the newly opened Denis O Brien stories and does Hugh call HQ to give ye a heads up before posting a ‘shuck and jive’ story like this one?
Hardly the height of investigate journalism considering the list was released by themselves.
News would be getting the taoiseach to explain where he’s been hiding the past week.
I love the way he states , “The Journal has obtained “, as if the figures were
handed over by some ‘deep throat’ in an underground garage.They are the official figures from the parties own US website and have been for a while now.
Great that the journal have managed to track down this ‘highly classified’ information just in time for the DOB story breaking.
Rodger Head , Mr O’Connell wouldn’t know a good news story if it hit him between the eyes. He craves anything he thinks is anti SF as he believes that impresses his political masters. Sad !
Ivan, you can be sure none of the other parties will ask as it would only open a can of worms none of them want opened, due to the fact they ALL have the same cans.
Cmon Petr, same sex marriage is still a hot topic in Ireland.
We’ll still be talking about it in 2115 at which point more people will have attended the Dublin Castle Gay Love-In than were at Munster’s famous victory over the All Blacks in 1978.
And of course the Fathers in Mothers umbrella group didn’t receive a single sultry washer from any bible-fisting, sky fairy fantasists from over-’sees’!!
They all do this.. Every party does a fund raiser dinner,ffs get back on point.
Jeez there are some people on here would call a protest if Bosco had a tea party.
I’m getting slightly bored of theJournal and Hugh O’Connell’s specifically obsession with everything Sinn Fein. I’m not saying this isn’t a story worthy of investigation – in fact if your sources or investigations showed that some of this money was in fact spent in the Republic then you have a real story on your hands. However all this story indicates is:
1. Sinn Fein group based in the USA raise money in the USA
2. Vast majority of those funds are used in the USA for speaking events, normally related to furthering the peace process of Northern Ireland
3. Story points out that money raised abroad cannot be used in the Republic but may be used in the North
So what’s the real story here? What exactly are you trying to achieve by highlighting how much a group related to Sinn Fein have raised in the USA? Can we get a similar story for all political parties on this island, by any chance?
It screams of “SHOCKING REVELATION” but there is actually no story here at all. As I say, if you uncover something of note regarding the funds raised and what it was used on then all the better. But this may as well have been a press release on the SF website stating their year-end accounts.
Of course I’ll just be accused of being a Shinner troll or something like that from all the FG trolls hiding behind fake profiles. For the record I haven’t decided who I’ll vote for in the next GE, it’s like trying to decide which form of torture I want to endure for the next 5 years.
Every party politic has to raise funds, end of. Let’s grow up here lads, we all know about the Galway tent donations, the brown envelope syndrome… Instead of looking back let’s look forward… We have a chance to make changes, let’s go for it. Let’s back the people that make a change, not a political party, but the people.
Its impossible to portray oneself as a political correspondent when you continuously demonstrate political bias. The coalitions correspondent would be a more fitting title.
Your a tool.. Thankfully people like you will stay in the past and will no real say on where our country goes from here and the forcible future. Vote DOB Tom!!
Actually I am a young tax payer and voter. I have plenty of say where this country goes. Also, “your” implies ownership. If you want to contract “you are” you use “you’re”. for example “You’re a tool and your command of the English language is not very good”. you’re welcome…
True, my Irish history is not great. I am more interested in the Irish future and my success as part of it. I would imagine anyone trying to convey a message about a particular issue would find it in their interest to at least learn how to use the language they are speaking. They say the number of languages a person can speak is the number of people they are worth. What therefore is a person saying about themselves if they cannot speak one? Also, what is the point of living if one cannot take a joke? Also, is it annoying when one refers to oneself as one?
By that statement Tom, no man is complete for I have been learning the English language for nearly 50 years, (speaking it for probably 48) and still don’t know all of it (spelling and pronunciation) and as it’s the only language I know I am therefore only part of a person (but if I round up this percentage I could become one).
Now a one, I will apologise for failing to see the joke, but in defence jokes can be a bit difficult in comment text (this I know to be true as some of mine have fell flat before, maybe they weren’t funny, maybe people saw them differently I don’t know)
And yes I totally agree that if you can’t take a joke or see the funny side, then really what’s the point.
Plenty of people there want to see this country move forward. Maybe they’re tired of the ways of the past that drove them to leave out of desperation. #philanthropy.
I’d say the ruling fascist party still have some smear campaigns left up their sleeve to pull out in times of need.Nothing to see here but it’s gonna get a lot worse.
Times almost up for FG/LAB gravy train :)
Clearly the media smell a sinking ship.
The newly registered voters of the yes vote will now put that new found right to use I suspect to the detriment of the European puppets of FG/LAB.
Wouldn’t it be lovely if we got politicians who were honest. I despise FF, FG and SF (and most others) for their dishonesty. I want to elect politicians who care for people not politicians who care for their party.
How about this for stupidity. Most journalists know that Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour are responsible for the huge inequity in Ireland today. Basically, The multinationals, looked after – Society, shafted. Then you get journalists like this, running this story, with pictures, that are indeed worth a thousands words, and none of them complementary. Here’s where the stupidity comes in….. knocking the credibility of the only credible alternative to the corrupt, incompetent and indeed traitorous conventional parties, that continue to sell out the peoples interests in favour of the multinationals, billionaires etc etc…. Foolish,foolish, foolish.
Some are still falling for the line, by proven liars, (but isn’t that what you do?) Don’t vote in that other crowd, they’ll ruin the country….. —- But……, haven’t ‘THEY’, ALREADY RUINED THE COUNTRY. How naive, foolish or both are the Irish people…?? Supporting incompetent liars, in favour of an alternative, that, absolutely, couldn’t do any worse.
Look at this in context, SF are still way off FF, FG and Labour in terms of finance.
FF and FG have business funding their every need. Labour have the bottomless pit of the workers unions dues from SIPTU.
The Socialist Party spent more than SF in the by election in Tallaght last year. Easily twice as many posters.
The Fianna Fáil tent is alive and well ;) if this was any other party doing this there would be uproar.
I can’t understand why people are turning a blind to Sinn Fein and their antics?
When spotlight highlighted several laws that SF were breaking regarding expenses for office buildings etc, falsifying documents etc, you were the first to defend them.
Look at the facts, SF supporters support the leadership of SF through thick and thin, so you will back them regardless.
An example, the morning after Robert McCartney was murdered by IRA members, Alex maskey choose to support the the people who didn’t allow the police investigate it, accusing the police of all sorts of crap to deflect away from the fact that it was simply blocking them from gathering evidence.
SF supporters never question their leaders, it’s cult like.
Before you deflect, I’m not a member of any party
My point being that when you support people who purposefully block and support the blocking of the investigation of an innocent mans murder, you and people like you are obviously lacking in any moral compass
I think if Mary Lou became leader that Sinn Fein COULD DO what the SNP did in Scotland?
So what the 3 main parties did and do get money from the U.S. also but god knows why?
I’m sure there are plenty of vested interests in the USA that would love to see Sinn Féin elected so they jack up the corporation tax and run all the high quality employers back to Silicon Valley.
Jesus how more times is this story going to be updated “shock horror as political party raises funds to run the party” I mean what a nightmare scenario!
It’s easy for them to channel the funds through northern ireland. By buying and paying for resources that can then be used by the party in the Republic.
It states in the article that over the last twelve months, the group raised $397,082 through fundraising. It then goes on to say that during the same period, the group’s operating costs were $433,969. So even though it’s a loss-making venture, some folks want to jump up and down about SF’s riches.
A nothing article that’s been updated several times since last night, just as we’re dealing with the fallout from DO’B scandal and his friends in high places. Brilliant.
Seriously posted at least 4 times today, where is the reports of other parties fundraising. People respect balanced journalism, quickly losing respect for the journal.ie, turning more tabloid by the day.
Ah yes. Through fundraisers and donations for murderers rapists terrorist and terrorist supporters they raised 400k and pocketed the rest. What a great outfit they are.
I thought the Americans stopped supporting terrorism! I understood that a major contributing factor to the piece process for that post 9/11 saw a huge drop in financial support for SF coming from the U.S. not because they were associated with al-Qaeda but like al-Qaeda there were responsible for murdering men women and kids!
Woman (20s) arrested after €380,000 worth of cannabis seized at Dublin Airport
19 mins ago
embezzlement trial
Marine Le Pen attacks five-year ban from running for office as 'political decision'
39 mins ago
mallow
Two women dead and two children injured following collision in Cork
Updated
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say