You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary Lou McDonald speaking to the media this morning. Leah Farrell

McDonald says SF won't attend White House this year but that Taoiseach 'absolutely' should go

She said the party was making the move “as a principled stance” due to Trump’s comments on Gaza.

SINN FÉIN WILL not be attending any St Patrick’s Day events in the White House this year, party leader Mary Lou McDonald has announced. 

She said the party was making the move “as a principled stance against the threat of mass expulsion of the Palestinian people from Gaza”.

However she said she “absolutely believes” Taoiseach Micheál Martin should travel to Washington and to the White House, urging him “not to equivocate” on the issue of Gaza.  

In comments earlier this month, US President Donald Trump proposed an American takeover of Gaza while also suggesting a permanent displacement of Palestinians from the enclave.

McDonald said that the Irish people had watched Trump’s pronouncements on his plans for the region unfold “with horror”. 

Sinn Féin faced calls to withdraw from White House events last year, and the SDLP have already confirmed they will boycott the engagements for the second year in a row. 

Speaking in Washington last March, McDonald defended her decision to travel for the Joe Biden-hosted St Patrick’s events, saying she couldn’t refuse the “unparalleled access” on offer. 

She said it was her “responsibility and duty” to speak to anyone she can “in a bid to stop” the spiralling death toll in Gaza. 

McDonald and party deputy leader Michelle O’Neill, the Northern Ireland First Minister, hosted a press conference in Dublin this morning. 

McDonald confirmed that neither she nor O’Neill would travel to the US this year around St Patrick’s Day. However, some party representatives are still due to attend events in New York.  

The party enjoys a large amount of support from the Irish-American population across the US and usually stages fundraising events in the two east coast cities and in other areas with large Irish-American communities. 

While no official White House invitation has yet been issued or accepted by any Irish party, Taoiseach Micheál Martin is expected to attend the usual shamrock ceremony at the White House alongside Trump in the lead up to St Patrick’s Day. 

He has engagements in Texas and Washington throughout the week of 10 March and is also expected to attend the US House speaker’s lunch, the Ireland Funds dinner and other traditional Irish events while in DC. 

Asked about Sinn Féin’s decision, Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe told RTÉ’s Claire Byrne this morning that it was “one for them to explain and defend”.

“I believe the appropriate decision for the government of Ireland is to continue to engage with President Trump and with future presidents of the United States of America,” he added. 

Donohoe said the US was an important “contributor and sponsor” of “the development we want to see in Northern Ireland”.

He said it would be up to Sinn Féin “to reconcile wanting to see that happen with the decision they are making”. 

Asked whether Taoiseach Micheál Martin should still meet Trump in light of the US President’s recent comments about Gaza and Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, Donohoe said it was more important than ever for the Taoiseach to do so.

“If there was ever a time for dialogue and engagement, if there was ever a time for trying to reach across divides, it’s now.”

Speaking at the Dublin press conference McDonald said she would go to the White House if she was Taoiseach. 

Asked whether, due to her role as First Minister, she should attend even if McDonald didn’t, Michelle O’Neill said there was a “distinct difference” between her position and that of Taoiseach and that St Patrick’s Day was a day for Ireland. 

Asked whether Deputy First Minister Emma Little-Pengelly should attend, O’Neill said it was the DUP politician’s “own call”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

193 Comments
    Mute Des Hanrahan
    Favourite Des Hanrahan
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:24 PM

It wouldn’t surprise me if there were no invitations to the White House this year for any one. Nothing to do with Israel but with Irish Politicians being unable to keep their big mouths shut and bad mouthing Trump previously. He has a good memory and is not forgiving.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:23 PM

@Des Hanrahan:
    Trump hasn’t got a brain,never mind a memory.
    I think the whole Irish visit should be boycotted.
    Never thought I would see the day I agreed with Mary Lou.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:46 PM

@Mary.E.: Ireland should shut up about foreign wars first of all Mary and focus on putting Irish citizens first for once

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:43 PM

@J B: THe Companies that make the pharmaceuticals and who are based in Ireland are AMERICAN owned companies…… Not sure that is going to last long. Likewise tariffs on the IT sector. Phara guys are big deal in the US too

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:45 PM

@Des Hanrahan: “Nothing to do with Israel” Why mention them so ? It is not like everyone in America is in blind support of everything that they are up to.

” but with Irish Politicians being unable to keep their big mouths shut” – Someone has to call out the war crimes

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:19 PM

@Val O’Connell: And who is your bestie, Palestine? Send your kids over to them and they will have a dance party with their coffins

Mute Robert
    Favourite Robert
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:11 PM

Er you weren’t invited love

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:13 PM

@Robert: I wasn’t invited either, but I, too, would like to announce that I’m definitely not going.

Mute Robert
    Favourite Robert
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:42 PM

@honey badger: you know what, the grammys suck and next year I wouldn’t be bothered going **would absolutely go if asked**

Mute Robert
    Favourite Robert
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:57 PM

@Luke Littler: I wouldn’t know mate. I’ll go in and check later for you

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:12 PM

Trump is openly calling for ethnic cleansing. Horrible person as are all the skum supporting him. SF, who i don’t personally support, are perfectly correct here

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:23 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: SfStunt. Let the govt take the heat. If SF are as progressive as they claim to be, there is a great opportunity for them to go there and do a Trump on Trump, calling him out in front of the worlds media.

Mute Declan Tiberius Kelly
    Favourite Declan Tiberius Kelly
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:25 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Thank you. She said the Palestinian people, why are the Trumpites saying she supports Hamas.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:30 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT:
    Same here, definitely no fan of SF but they threaded the needle on this. They acknowledged Martin should go but they wouldn’t.
    Given the febrile attitude in the US capital at the moment, good call.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:43 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: I’m sure SF are inconsolable that they don’t have your support!

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:54 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Sir YOU are calling for ethnic cleansing by supporting Muslim terrorists!

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:55 PM

@Alan: And making Ireland look open to being claimed by Muslim terrorists

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe

@Declan Tiberius Kelly: Palestinian peopld voted for Hamas, cheer on Hamas and clapped and cheered for the bodies of dead babies.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:20 PM

@Alan: they don’t get a sit down with him ,and they have already called him out in the media

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Favourite North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:41 PM

@J B: and you invoke your god in a statement calling for mass genocidal murder of men women and children. Which loving god do you believe supports such murder.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:55 PM

@North Phone Bowe: You are calling for Muslim terrorists to ethnically cleanse the West. Palestinians voted Hamas, cheer on Hamas and danced and cheered over the bodies of dead children. Let it be known that you are supporting that.

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:16 PM

@Beachvibe: what are you smoking there. Show me anywhere that any Muslim country has called for the deportation of any nationality from their own home land.

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:19 PM

@J B: ohhh right you mean the fable of the superior Chosen people, is that the same as the superior aryan race.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:33 PM

@North Phone Bowe: They don’t call for deportation. Muslim terrorists blow people up.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:38 PM

@North Phone Bowe: Well clearly its them who believe they were superior chosen. You’re white and you aren’t even happy that you are so that rules that theory out.

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:37 PM

@Beachvibe: again try facts. USA supplied and supported by NATO allies have bombed more people in past 80years than anyone else.

Mute Kieran Conroy
    Favourite Kieran Conroy
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:38 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Aren’t Hamas trying to ethnic cleanse the Jewish people? You extreme leftists have selective ‘knowledge’ of every situation. MAGA

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:41 PM

@J B: What a nasty pos you are. Pity someone wouldn’t ethnically cleanse you and your ilk from the face of the earth. Not enough showers for the likes of you

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:19 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: You are already hoping for Muslim terrorists to ethnically cleanse the West. Maybe we can beat them to it and kick you out?

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Feb 21st 2025, 6:06 PM

@Beachvibe: That’s your twisted take on things. Where’s the sharia law ye lot have been promising/predicting for years now?

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 7:18 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Already happening. Sure look at Muslim Sisters of Éire taking the reigns! We don’t want. So sod your activist stance

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:51 PM

@North Phone Bowe:
    You won’t find any Jews in mossie countries

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 22nd 2025, 10:32 PM

@North Phone Bowe:
    Make that 100 years and the commie filth rush ahead with 100 million plus.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:07 PM

Hilarious, and none of them invited yet ,lord twill be Hilarious if Trump doesn’t invite any of them .

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:27 PM

@Gerry Campbell:
    It will be a damn relief.
    Doubt anyone is happy to be in Trump’s company.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:55 PM

@Beachvibe:
    I am not a supporter of terrorism nor am I a supporter of Dictators who’s only aim is to control and take over what they don’t own.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:23 PM

@Mary.E.: You clearly are a supporter of terrorists you support Palestine and those people have been throwing parties with dead children in coffins mocking them

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:15 PM

SF should go and tell MM to stop at home as he will bow to the US Government as he’s a puppet boy for the EU as we in Ireland are oversubscribed with migration as every government department has a waiting list tied to it now because we can’t cope with all the people that have came into Ireland through illegal immigration ….

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:33 PM

@Tommy:
    Well done, you shoveled you pathetic little anti immigration rant in there.
    You deserve a medal.
    The 0.6% of the population you represent will be proud of you.

Mute Scott Milne
    Favourite Scott Milne
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:46 PM

@Tommy: we need to put a stop to looking after all from foreign lands as we cannot house our own people. Sack the civil servants spending our taxes on the likes of the bike shed. I bet MM should stay at home as with the others, clearly a state finances jolly..aren’t we as taxpayers so good for paying this!

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:48 PM

@P. J.: If you think that 99.4% of Irish people support open borders, you are an even bigger amadan than I gave you credit for!

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.

@Brian Hunt:
    Well if they didn’t vote accordingly, their opinion is irrelevant.
    That’s a democracy for you.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:58 PM

@P. J.: Irish gov spent 1 billion euro on asylum seekers last year and 50 million recently to fund the Ukraine war. F all the anti Irish cucks.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:59 PM

@P. J.: And if you voted for open borders LEAVE. Forget foreign wars, lets see an Irish civil war happen first to get rid of the anti Irish cucks among us.

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:06 PM

@Beachvibe:
    Haha hahaha hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha
    Let me catch my breath..
    Haha hahaha hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:17 PM

@P. J.: you mean 60% of the population most of them are a silent majority. I deal with the public in my job on a one to one basis and the majority think there are too many people of the Muslim faith entering the country, and they see what will happen in a hundred years or so they become the majority and things will change for the worst, majority rule to the way they like things.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:22 PM

@Beachvibe: right enough I can see you on the front line ,at least until your mammy calls you in for your tea,
    Civil war ,get away out of that you feckwit

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:48 PM

@sean weir: No Sean genuinely. You are obsessed with war you far left activists. If you want Ireland to join a war so badly then it should be a civil war. Not a war abroad. The only worthy war would be the result of kicking anti Irish cucks like you off this island.

Mute Kieran Conroy
    Favourite Kieran Conroy
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:50 PM

@P. J.: Who’s gonna pay for the illegals when the big multinationals pull out of Ireland? Ireland will be a poor country in the near future and with all the 3rd worldies here the economy will collapse. You woke extreme-leftists aren’t the brightest really. Oh and over 75% of Irish people are against the illegal invasion.

Mute Jak Oshe
    Favourite Jak Oshe
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:31 PM

People need to start copping on fast here, it’s the US multinationals that fund a large chunk of our economy, start having a go at them and they might just start pulling out, watch how fast our economy will go back to the early 80s !

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:50 PM

@Jak Oshe: US multinationals are about profit. Take pharmaceuticals. Last year they generate almost €billion exports from Ireland. € 20 billion of those went to USA. No profit oriented business will give up 80% of income to please or maintain the 20%. Most of that 80% goes to EU and must be produced in EU to have full market access. So the doom and gloom scaremongering holds no water at all.

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:51 PM

@North Phone Bowe: €80 Billion *

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:52 PM

@North Phone Bowe: *€100 Billion

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:50 PM

No one’s going incase people haven’t noticed

Mute Bri Lyons
    Favourite Bri Lyons
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:29 PM

Didnt see her objecting when the ‘RA were expelling people from the North

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:48 PM

Why should he absolutely go ? They get to have a little holiday for what.?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:54 PM

@Karen Marten:
    24 hour access to the most powerfull people in the world

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:53 PM

Well done Sinn Fein

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:07 PM

They weren’t invited not even one td, it’s like someone being fired and then saying I quit.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:36 PM

@J B: Incredibly funny remark, great retort !

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:52 PM

The government’s job is to speak only for Ireland’s issues and shut up about foreign wars.

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:52 PM

@Beachvibe: “The government’s job is to speak only for Ireland’s issues and shut up about foreign wars. ”

NO WHERE IN ANY LEGISLATION , TRADITIONS OR PROTOCOL is that opinion supported on anything ! Like all Governments of the free world, they are perfectly entitled to offer their two cents . Utter nonsense. You clearly struggle to understand what the informal policy of “neutrality” is. Much like all Zionists who take massive issue with Ireland and Irish people.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 6:07 PM

@Val O’Connell: Since YOU want to be an activist you can gtfo and go to work for your Hamas masters understood? You don’t get to drag us down with you into foreign wars but if you try a war will surely break out here because the far left won’t win without a fight since you are taking our autonomy and neutrality from us

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 6:09 PM

@Val O’Connell: You hate your own. You’re all for foreigners not for the Irish so who are you to talk?

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:17 PM

@Beachvibe: Do not address people in a manner that you would not dare to .in person. You are beneath in every possible classification in life, know your place before its done for you . If you had brains , you would be dangerous so thanks for the laugh . You KNOW NOTHING . NO ONE WOULD MISTAKE YOU FOR INTELLIGENT . You and your kind have no relevancy when it comes to decision made. You are just a waste of oxygen and its me and my kind who call the shots and stomp out loud mouth wasters like you. Know your place boy

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:22 PM

@Beachvibe: “hate your own”? Classless, uneducated loud mouth workshy welfare leeching s c u m are not my own ! You offer nothing to your own family, never mind your community or country. You would not last 1 minute talking to people like that in person so spare us your disease on line . Nothing in what you said rebuts the fact that we are not a neutral country and you are breathtakingly uneducated on what you are attempting to discuss.

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:24 PM

@Beachvibe: “so who are you to talk? ”

Being vastly better educated, vastly wealthier and connected to people in power; vastly superiorly well breed than you and loud mouths like you. You and your kind are held with contempt by your superiors and you know it. Enjoy your Walter Mitty moments on line.

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:43 PM

It’s a ff/fg exercise on how to rob the Irish taxpayer for the annual alcoholic s day out stateside with leprechaun airlines hopefully will dump the lot over the Atlantic

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:27 PM

@liam ward:
    May need to work on that inferiority complex

Mute Njall
    Favourite Njall
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:23 PM

SF delegation to fly with the shamrocks to Tehran. Hamas want to ethnically cleanse Israel, Trump wants to ethnically cleanse Gaza and Putin wants to ethnically cleanse western Europe. A lot cleaning going on. mehole and simone will cleanse any hole if the price is right. The end is neigh!

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:24 PM

@Njall: you make it sound like trump was the one bombing the s##te out of gaza

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:45 PM

@Damien Leahy: what do you call supplying the planes and bombs for the bombings of Gaza

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:51 PM

@North Phone Bowe: What do you call the Irish gov giving 50 million euro to fund the Ukraine war?

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:21 PM

@Beachvibe: try answering a with an answer, if you can formulate one, rather than deflection.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:39 PM

@North Phone Bowe: Ireland is also contibuting to those wars so you can’t talk

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:43 PM

@Beachvibe: I can and do, shame on successive FFG governments in have any input whatsoever with the Zionist state of Israel. They should be treated as the pariah they are.

Mute Beachvibe
    Favourite Beachvibe
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:22 PM

@North Phone Bowe: Nope Ireland should be neutral. You support Muslim terrorists. Your comments feel treasonous and you deserve to be sent to Hamas.

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:28 PM

@Beachvibe: Says who ? Village i d i o t s or the bar stool loud mouth who do not understand the “neutrality” policy? Treason against who? According to who? S i m ple tons like you? You and your kind got roundly rejected in recent elections

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:03 PM

@North Phone Bowe: he’s only in power a month. Been a ceasefire since then. I think you’ll find it was bidens administration.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:13 PM

@North Phone Bowe:
    A good friend

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:16 PM

@Beachvibe:
    Freedom is expensive.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 10:21 PM

@North Phone Bowe:
    Ireland took back what was there’s after 800 years.
    Isreal took back their land after 2000 years.
    Respect.

Mute Greagoir O Duinn
    Favourite Greagoir O Duinn
    Feb 21st 2025, 4:55 PM

Considering that during the US presidential campaign the clown harris, our Taoiseach at the time, more than likely thinking trump would lose, publicly called him a gowl, did plenty of damage to Irish/ US relations and has guaranteed no invitation to the white house for St. Patrick’s Day. The joke that is our legacy media has seemed to have forgotten this.

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Feb 21st 2025, 12:49 PM

Trump will be devastated.

Mute James O'Grady
    Favourite James O'Grady
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:15 PM

Sinn Fèin have the unenviale liberty as an opposition party to pick and choose on an hourly basis what’s it’s policy is. They are a natural party of opposition and long may it be so

Mute Jak Oshe
    Favourite Jak Oshe
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:43 PM

@James O’Grady: wow that’s bleak, FF and FG ultimately in power forever, and don’t they know it with supporters like you, laughing their way to every general election knowing they can’t be beaten.
    Truly it’s a sad lament on the psyche of our electorate like you !

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:59 PM

@Jak Oshe:
    Opposition is a rag tag bunch
    of rich kids and shop window dummies for a sinister terrorests gang.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:08 PM

So, Mary Lou is forgoing nibbles and drinks at an as yet unannounced party that nobody has even been invited to yet. Such courage. She will, I assume, be going to their various fundraisers that milk the profoundly gullible for money to send back to the old country. (via their northern offices, of course. It’s important to avoid party funding rules here – they’re true partitionists when there’s cash money involved.) Tiocfaidh ár lolly!

Mute Greagoir O Duinn
    Favourite Greagoir O Duinn
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:10 PM

@honey badger: speaking of gullible, remind us what smug 5 h 1 t e harris, our then Taoiseach publicity called trump during the US presidential campaign? The populist clown done more damage to Irish/ US relations in one soundbite than any Irish politician before. And then refused to take it back. There’ll be no bowl of shamrocks this year thanks to him.

Mute mickey mac
    Favourite mickey mac
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:21 PM

I won’t be going to the Oscars this year. Cillian Murphy should go though

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:49 PM

@mickey mac:
    We will vote againced the long Dail summer break knowing that the government will vote it through.

Mute Derek O Gorman
    Favourite Derek O Gorman
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:01 PM

Were you invited Mary

Mute DavyDoDa
    Favourite DavyDoDa
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:51 PM

Sinn Fein ruining relations with the USA. If they ever got in, they’d absolutely ruin this country.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:35 PM

@DavyDoDa:
    Plan is the isolate the country from the democratic west and turn the Irish in to another st1t hole cuba.

Mute morgan crowe
    Favourite morgan crowe
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:18 PM

This is more nonsense from Sinn Fein.if they were in government and invited to the white house they would definitely go.its nothing got to do with taking a stance on moral grounds.they are just trying for a political point score..they are beyond pathetic.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:51 PM

@morgan crowe:
    They may have got word that they are not being invited anyway and are getting there face saver in ahead.

Mute Freda Harte
    Favourite Freda Harte
    Feb 21st 2025, 1:53 PM

Who care

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 3:32 PM

No reason for Mary Lou to go. She is not the leader of the country. Even the opposition parties have rejected her and her party. Blondie O’Neill should tell her to bog off. “Jarry” was not joined by the SF Dáil leader (prior to him entering the Dáil) when he was THE man…..so why is Mary Lou parading around?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:38 PM

@Val O’Connell:
    She’s parading around putting on a brave face hoping her days are not numbered.

Mute Razor Mulligan
    Favourite Razor Mulligan
    Feb 21st 2025, 2:28 PM

Can i go instead

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:34 PM

I take this means they won’t accept all Trump’s American Dollars for Their Fundraising

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:43 PM

@Tim Brennan:
    When Mr Trump attended one of PSFs 1000 dollar a head fund raisers, They took his money.

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Feb 21st 2025, 5:54 PM

What are the Odds that SF decide to get rid of Mary Lou if given the chance and Belfast has no say ? As a leader she has been brutal

Mute Paud O Riain
    Favourite Paud O Riain
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:33 PM

It is interesting that SF seem to forget their own history when so many people wanted nothing to do with SF, but they did so for the good of peace on these Islands.
    They should do the same with the elected leader of the USA, and it been around St. Patrick’s Day, our Patron Saint.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:41 PM

@Paud O Riain:
    PSF do not have an Irish Jersey to pull on.

Mute Manc Chris
    Favourite Manc Chris
    Feb 21st 2025, 6:18 PM

Like something from a Carry On movie is SF.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 21st 2025, 9:32 PM

@Manc Chris:
    Carry on up the falls

Mute Dermot N Killian MD, CDR( Retired)
    Favourite Dermot N Killian MD, CDR( Retired)
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:20 PM

The 25% tariff on pharmaceuticals raised concern.
    Can you handle that hit?
    The Irish economy seems to be heavily dependent on US overseas investments.
    Is it wise to put ‘principal’ before bread?
    Does it matter what Irish opinion is in the first place?
    The US will support Israel in preference to Ireland’s opinion.

Mute James O'Grady
    Favourite James O'Grady
    Feb 23rd 2025, 1:19 PM

Mary Lou is like Dev back when he sent Michael Collins to England to negotiate the treaty knowing that he couldn’t get a 32 county Ireland, and then abandoned a unified approach, started a civil war etc. Totally motivated by personal ambition. Mary Lou is similar.