You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Missing files reveal Siteserv writedown was €9 million more than we previously thought

Previously undisclosed board minutes reveal new details about the Siteserv controversy.

THE STATE WROTE off €9 million more on the sale of Siteserv by IBRC than was previously suggested, according to newly-discovered documents from the Department of Finance.

Minutes of an IBRC board meeting from 15 March 2012 disclose that the company was sold to the Denis O’Brien-owned Millington for €45 million with a €5 million pay-out to shareholders as part of the deal.

According to the minutes, this amounted to a total writedown of €119 million, more than the previously reported figure of €110 million.

siteserv 119m

The minutes state:

Following consideration the board approved the proposal as presented namely (i) to proceed with the sale of Siteserv plc for €48 million (with net proceeds arising for the bank of €44.3 million) with (ii) a write-off of the balance of facilities of €119 million following the sale, however noting that the this was circa €10 million in excess of the current impairment provision.

The minutes were published on the department’s website last night after a filing error resulted in them only being discovered as officials compiled responses to FOI requests.

The filing error was played down by department sources last night who insisted that the discovery did not change the substance of what Finance Minister Michael Noonan previously told the Dáil, only a point of fact.

Noonan has maintained that he was only made aware of the Siteserv transaction after it was approved by the board of IBRC on 15 March 2012.

The same minutes also disclose that IBRC’s former head of asset management, Richard Woodhouse – who managed Denis O’Brien’s loans with IBRC – was present for the same 15 March meeting where the sale was discussed.

woodhouse

This would appear to contradict what Alan Dukes, the former IBRC chairman, said in a lengthy press conference on 24 April.

Dukes said at that time that Woodhouse was kept out of discussions over the Siterserv deal “as he also managed the relationship between the bank and Mr O’Brien”.

Contacted this evening, Dukes told TheJournal.ie that Woodhouse had been kept out of the discussions about the Siteserv process and he did “not play any part in putting the final proposal together”.

“He was at the board meeting where the decision was made, but he was there on another issue before the board, which was coming from the bit of the bank he was in charge in.”

Alan Dukes Sale of Siteserv Issues Scandals Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Dukes also drew attention to the minutes stating that Woodhouse informed the board of a letter from Virgo Capital “attesting to the fairness of the sales process which had been followed to date” in relation to Siteserv.

Speaking today, Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin said he found the department’s explanation for the missing board minutes “difficult to comprehend”.

He claimed the department had made a “deliberate attempt” to prevent this news from getting out. He said there had been engagements between officials in IBRC and the department going back to 2009, according to his sources.

Martin added: “The way this continues to be handled falls well short of what the public expect.  The Government clearly hope that they have drawn a line under the crisis with the announcement of a Commission of Inquiry.  But the efforts we have seen to mislead the public have actually raised yet more questions to which we need answers.”

Read: ‘I listened to a lot of hysteria’: Enda breaks his silence on Denis O’Brien and IBRC

IBRC inquiry: Department of Finance reveals details of filing error

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

127 Comments
    Mute Seamus Maye
    Favourite Seamus Maye
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:45 PM

Yes Mr. Dukes. Can you inform the public as to who purchased the Siteserv shares in the run up to the sale. Was there insider trading involved?

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:53 PM

Independent judge will get you the answers seamus.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:57 PM

By “independent judge”, do you mean a judge employed by the owner of “The Independent”, DOB?

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:00 PM

Is iJoan ok with all this, Election now.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:01 PM

I think he means a Judge handpicked by the government who will conduct an investigation within the terms of reference decided by the Minister for Finance.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:12 PM

Where will we find one of them, Sgt
    Yates?

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:20 PM

bad old days of haughey, mrs Kenny was haugheys press secretary funny that

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:21 PM

Sure sergent, sure !!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:25 PM

Training Unit, Mountjoy. Book early to avoid disappointment

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:43 PM

Next: 1.25% saga….

Dob’s lawyers: “that information Os inaccurate! We’re suing!”

2 week in the future:
    “documents reveal loan rates of 0.75% not 1.25% as previously alleged”

Dob’s lawyers: “see, you’ve been spreading lies!”

Mute Con ODomhnaill
    Favourite Con ODomhnaill
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:02 PM

I think it would be way easier for you to defend Sepp Blatter and FIFA Sergeant Yates than trying to defend Noonan & Dukes

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Jun 4th 2015, 9:30 PM

Teacher :”Where is the capital of Ireland ?”
    Student :”Malta”

Mute SUSAN LLOYD
    Favourite SUSAN LLOYD
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:19 PM

Whynotme.. And junior cert geography tomorrow!!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:39 PM

The real killer is that Dukes knew this all the time but said nothing

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:32 AM

And when he said the first thing about it he was in a solicitor’s office …
    What was the name of the solicitor’s Office ?
    A big U.S.C. tax-write off for the person that gets the answer – (E.S.B. workers exempt due to sweet deal on U.S.C. – and don’t have me having to go and get an interlocutory Injunction )

Don’t the 4 Parties look distinctly un – republican since they all supported Irish Water in the first place …and still the meters go in …
    I told ye Sinn Fein that ye’re time was limited on getting an injunction to suspend the installation of water meters until what is now a judicial review – Sinn Fein Parliamentary Party – Republican ?
    Enough Legal kudos or whit to run a Country ?

Catherine Murphy for Taoiseach !

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:33 AM

Excellent – Whynotme

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:38 AM

I wonder will the investigation include how the defunct siteserve was awarded so many government contracts.? Oh Kenny and FG. DOB’s other company I wonder no more.

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Jun 5th 2015, 7:35 AM

Exactly my thoughts too Tony. Nothing is beneath them and the say the story was inaccurate could very well have meant that, ie, write-down was MORE than stated publicly..hence a lie..these lot really are just laughing at us all!!
    Another point was DOB’s anger at the disclosures…I think he had been less than frank to others re his business ‘strength’, perhaps to banks/business partners in Caribbean etc and these revelations now show him to have lied and will cause him untold hassle behind the scenes as his true debt ratios become more and more publicly known!!

Mute Enda Rochford
    Favourite Enda Rochford
    Jun 5th 2015, 8:10 AM

Its worse that that. He was recommended by KPMG!

Mute billy dunne
    Favourite billy dunne
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:55 PM

I can’t understand how the state would have any dealings with DOB after the tribunal found he basically bribed a minister to get second mobile licence where he made most of his fortune what the fûçk is wrong with this country

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:40 PM

Because the same shower, FG were in office both times DOB was on the fiddle…

Mute Redacticus
    Favourite Redacticus
    Jun 4th 2015, 9:45 PM

Quite simply he and others are still major benefactors/beneficiaries of such crony cabals, as a consequence cyclically returning gubberments led by the twinned cheeks of the same putrid arse that are Fianna Gael!!

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:56 PM

Isn’t it funny that the enquiry the government first wanted to have where kpmg would investigate themselves by all accounts would not have been able to go into the department of finance. But now that they have been snookered and cornered themselves into an independent inquiry , this independent inquiry will be able to go into the department of finance that these missing files mysteriously appeared and were found , the day the government announce an independent inquiry. Imagine that.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:17 AM

Neither can I Billy.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:22 AM

Thing is, we are too trusting.
    We want to believe.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:23 AM

“Do ye think it’s hard to get inta the guards ?”

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:27 AM

Did the State write it off as suggested above or did Alan dukes and the Board of I.B.R.C. write it off ?
    Was there Departmental approval ?

The State of the place !

Missing Taoiseach – Missing State…….. We won’t see him until he is told by those we don’t see to announce the election – let’s go looking for them – Anglo Tapes point to Merrill Lynch …
    Se what happens when you let children play with Pandoro’s Box ?

Mute James Dooley
    Favourite James Dooley
    Jun 5th 2015, 7:12 AM

Notice Mr Lowry not opening his mouth on any of this .

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:53 PM

This is a horrible thing to happen, I remember when Enda was missing 17 files and they were found, I think he suggested that FF had accidentally dropped them behind a radiator but it turned out they were in a filing cabinet….of all places!
    Now Noonan is having the same trouble…luckily the files have turned at the start of an investigation not being run by KPMG.
    I suggest in future, looking for the files….in a filing cabinet.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:17 PM

Strangely enough most people can grasp that concept…. those who can’t become politicians it would seem!

Mute scoop delivery
    Favourite scoop delivery
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:13 PM

I’m surprised your man with the two pints “one in each hand” wasn’t using them as beermats

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:39 AM

Enda didn’t loose the C.V of a constituent that he passed onto Michael Noonan though ….

“Canvassing will disqualify ”

Do ye know why men love Ronseal ?

Two S S in canvassing

Mute Shite sticks
    Favourite Shite sticks
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:41 PM

The plot thickens. I’d love to see dukes and DOB hung out on this

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:07 PM

All of this info was deliberately with held for good reason, they knew what they were doing was blurring the lines between perfectly legal but dubious ,and criminal behaviour. A list of the shareholders who received the payments from this sale should be made public along with amount of shares held and when they were purchased to cross reference with when the negotiations for the sale started and when the final agreement was signed off.. for all the talk of noonan being the bestever finance minister, if this went on with his full knowledge he should be resigning.
    You would think fg were trying to outdo ff for sheer brazenness when it comes to feathering theirs and their cronies nests with all this DoB/ siteserv/ IW type sh!t hitting the fan

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy

No one will be found answerable. FG never see a second term. Doubt that will change this time either. Endas silence speaks volumes. Corruption and the rape of the Irish tax payer is even by FG standards unbelievable. Change and change now is needed. Bring on election Enda if you have an ounce of decency left.

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Jun 5th 2015, 4:58 AM

A G.E. now would just mean that FG’s chances of getting back into government would be higher, because the longer this goes on the greater the chance of further leaks about Siteserv/IRBC. FG/Labour will hold out at least until Budget 2016 in October. Just voting out FG or Labour won’t solve anything, because what happens in this country is determined by a type of politician and politics, not just one, two or three political parties (FF, FG and Labour). The public have to prove they will insist on something better and deserve something better at the next G.E. and I’m not optimistic.

Mute Klark Quent
    Favourite Klark Quent
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:50 PM

Site serve deal…..as corrupt as a west African warlord

Mute Davy Boy
    Favourite Davy Boy
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:46 PM

You just can not believe a word from this government let’s hope this house of cards comes tumbling down soon any questions #talk to Joan

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:00 PM

Would have paid for a lot of pipe repair. But sure they don’t need his money when they can take it from our pockets easier, USC, etc. Sick of the carrying on

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:48 PM

I might be a bit premature in saying this but I think the sh.t just hit the fan.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:07 PM

@Deco:
    Well I hope Denis, Enda, Joan and the whole scurvy crew are bespattered and drowned in it!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:43 PM

Noonan resign

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:47 PM

Why should he – catch yourself on. Most successful minister of finance this state has ever seen

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

For kicking national issues down the road such as this one. Was it 19 Pqs she has to ask before they even did something?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:51 PM

I think tht would be too drastic, Noonan has done a smashing job with his ministerial brief.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:55 PM

If you are in procession of information which you believe links michael Noonan to fraud I would suggest you go to the relevant authorities and share it with them and not pontificate on a message board.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:58 PM

Noonan should have resigned when he refused to negotiate any write down of our odious debt, once bondholders debt now sovereign.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:06 PM

As far as finance ministers go he’s one of the worse out of a very bad selection.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:13 PM

Baz noonan just said that it was an error of fact now to most sane people that means a lie wake up kid the truth will set you free.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:17 PM

IMF just released a paper that outlines some 30% of Irelands debt unsustainable. Noonan hasn’t a clue

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:22 PM

Baz,Would that be anything like you and your ilk trying to call Catherine Murphy a liar and a thief. This government is up to its neck in so much corrupt practice, and i will keep saying it and saying it and saying it.
    Lying and cronyism are definitions of corruption. There are countless examples out there. In any other Western democracy, the police would already be involved.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:24 PM

I had the misfortune to be working for a man who was very corrupt. There was no one he wouldn’t “roide” to get a contract or make a buck. It was disturbing to watch. What’s worse was the people around me who turned a blind eye, happy with their wages at the end of the week..

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:28 PM

Kevin have you a link to report, would love to read it

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:35 PM

Latest publication on official IMF website , I’m on my phone but ill try copy the link

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:40 PM
    Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:44 PM

thanks Kevin will search there so,

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:02 PM

thanks kevin

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:41 PM

I have no idea what that means, but I am angry, argh!

Mute Shite sticks
    Favourite Shite sticks

It means the taxpayer took a hit of 9 million more than they previously told us

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:44 PM

Care to comment baz

Mute Con Manne
    Favourite Con Manne

It means that the shafting was shaftier than we had thought. These lads make Blatter look like the good samaritan.

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:47 PM

Ah hear leave it owt

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:52 PM

I think it’s admirable there is so much transparency unlike previous FF administrations. On the negative side we have so many muppets and uneducated wafflers like you who just create noise and like to be heard talking crap on subjects they clearly have no clue on.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:03 PM

Baz not the sharpest knife in the drawer are you

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:09 PM

Ray i dont think baz ever made it to the drawer

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:14 PM

So much transparency Baz, very funny. So much “hysteria” too ;)

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:19 PM

It’s not transparency Baz, it’s called “getting caught”

There’s a huge difference but go on ahead and defend the indefensible.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:26 PM

BAZ – What you are saying so , is that it’s admirable to Lie ????

I was reared to always to the opposite of the way you think !

I’m shocked , beyond belief , that this Government with zero honesty or credibility could even contemplate carrying ?

It’s now proven that FG / Lab. have even sunk below FF’s standards of cronyism and corruption and that’s saying something – and you still stand by corruption and Gangsterism !

Shame on you and your Letterkenny Bus porkie pie stories !!!

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:48 PM

You were proven to supply this forum with false figures for radio kerry.

Go educate urself about lying.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:50 PM

I can honestly say that I love Baz :) “Transparency” -Your best one yet,Bazzers ! You loon.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:17 PM

BAZ – So it’s ok to lie ? The bus to Letterkenny porkie BAZ – we all remember BAZ – Irish Water – BAZ !!!!

Your Party and Government are falling apart BAZ – what are you going to do when they are gone – BAZ ?

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:46 PM

Sure what’s 9 million between friends

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:49 PM

And 5 million to shareholders .

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:16 PM

Were it not for the hard work of Catherine Murphy we would all be still kept in the dark with how they are handing our money over to DOB as if it was confetti. Noonan actively tried to hide this from the public domain, despite numerous questions being asked of him. This only came to light because the government got wind of what Catherine Murphy has discovered, it also shows why DOB went to such lengths to keep his dealings under wraps.
    This all went on with the knowledge of the government, and as such is a resigning matter. And all Kenny has to offer on it is that it is all hysteria.

Mute Etheric Projection
    Favourite Etheric Projection

If we lived in a small populated island back in the day and something like this happened , dob would be hung from a tree… Oh wait we do…

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran

small change when the overall “deal” and awarding of contracts to a foreign billionaire are taken into account

sickening again and again as the taxpayer will pick up the tab again and again

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns

Thats one big mo fo of a filing mistake!!!

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:01 PM

Liars the lot of them. Heads on pikes please.

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka

Is anyone really surprised?

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:06 PM

no i will be shocked if anyone is held to account.

Mute Carl O Maoláin
    Favourite Carl O Maoláin
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:58 AM

…not one red thumb Noreen. I wish it wasn’t so.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:06 PM

When you think of all the petty penny pinching cutbacks to the disabled and poor members of our society this ten million extra is partly where it went. In essence taxpayers money isn’t used to help the disadvantaged it’s used as a kickback to the rich, that’s fine Gael for you, fascist to the core.

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:48 PM

Great photo of Dukes there, he looks like a proper dopey fcuker in that lol

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Jun 5th 2015, 7:38 AM

Dukes: Lied to and betrayed his wife then, lying to and betraying us now..leopard..spots..etc

Mute left eye
    Favourite left eye
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:10 PM

Ireland is the most corrupt country around, some1 has to hang for this,politicians, bankers are all in on it,they all get brown envelopes and look after each other,fine gael are as bad as the last shower

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy

Robbers.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:26 PM

The trick is always to play with someone else’s money.

In Ireland, this generally means playing with the tax payers money and exploiting (or pillaging) the public purse.

I know the names of some of the “usual suspects” who specialise in raiding the State’s coffers but absence of freedom of expression in Ireland inhibits what I and most of us would say if we were permitted to.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:45 PM

“but absence of freedom of expression in Ireland inhibits what I and most of us would say if we were permitted to.”
    If you think this is the case now Anthony wait until the Rabbitte and Higgins bills go through. Then all you will be able to say are “positive” things a la #talktojoan

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:17 PM

This does stink. Whether it’s corruption or incompetence I don’t know but either way it’s not good.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:33 PM

Whether its corruption or incompetence , heads should roll

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:22 PM

And the stink gets more putrid

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:09 PM

And it just gets better….

Mute ConcernedCitizen
    Favourite ConcernedCitizen
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:37 PM

Alan Dukes protecting private interests in the public interest.

Mute Con ODomhnaill
    Favourite Con ODomhnaill
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:14 PM

Two people central to all this upped sticks and left the country in a mad hurry – Phil Hogan and Mike Aynsley. They both know Denis O’Brien very well. The very lucrative water metering contract was about to be awarded. Hogan needed someone he could trust to install the meters in the face of massive public opposition. Siteserv became available…. fill in the dots.

Mute Jay Warner
    Favourite Jay Warner
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:57 PM

Every day since the corrupt super quango known as Irish Water began I believe we are further down the scale of becoming bigger joke than Zimbabwe and Russia as far as blatantly obvious banana republics go. You couldn’t make this sh*t up while the coalition bounce from one gotcha crisis to another.

Mute Warai Aoi
    Favourite Warai Aoi
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:39 PM

The Irish establishment has this odd thing about files going missing, being stolen or catching fire, they always seem to be the ones they don’t want to ever be subject to FOI, the files about the actions of the CID during the civil war, the guards’ investigation on the Dublin Monaghan bombings, its dealings with the church, the various machinations of the banking system and its regulators, its almost as if their is a culture within the powerful and their willing servants of destroying information that could be a major embarrassment to the establishment or even incriminate them.
    Its almost like the people that make, lobby for and enforce our laws are in fact, and have always been, above the law.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:11 PM

Carefull with “the hysteria” folks

Mute Just Joe
    Favourite Just Joe

MOVE ALONG NOTHING TO SEE HERE!!!

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:06 PM

it’s very understandable why Fine Gael have never, ever been re-elected in their entire history. They can’t avoid controversy and attract undesirable deals like the DOB/ Lowry scam.

Jun 4th 2015, 7:40 PM

When it quacks and waddles like a duck it generally is. Just shows the incompetence of those in charge if nothing else.

Mute Franco
    Favourite Franco
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:58 PM

Ahh for fcuk sake lads its only 9 million !

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Jun 4th 2015, 9:44 PM

One or two more revelations and you’ll see them start to out each other. I heard that politicians from a few parties had their mortgage debts wrote of as a thank you for bailing out the banks. From what has been revealed in the last week, i’m starting to believe it.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:51 PM

what is a quorum in this instance?

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 4th 2015, 5:56 PM

It’s that veggie meat stuff Mo Farrow is trying to flog

Mute Redacticus
    Favourite Redacticus
    Jun 4th 2015, 9:55 PM

Better texture and flavour in his rank old shredded runners!

Mute Eileen Meditation
    Favourite Eileen Meditation
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:28 PM

This shows how very crucial FREEDOM OF INFORMATION is! Especially protected by the index of precendents which this govt wanted to replace with codes of practice which would make it as toothless with no recourse to the courts. Luckily that piece of slaughter did not get through. ‘The price of freedom is eternal vigilance’.

Mute Liam Lyons
    Favourite Liam Lyons
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:14 PM

Sad thing is there will be no repercussions from this. People are idiots, they will continue to buy the Irish Independent and listen to Newstalk pretending it’s “an independent” alternative. The most likely thing is people will start voting for Fianna Fáil again which is probably the worst possible outcome. Ok we in Ireland aren’t that badly off, but there is never an excuse for lies, deception and most importantly corruption.

Mute Michele Savage
    Favourite Michele Savage
    Jun 4th 2015, 6:35 PM

…… and the rest….

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:43 PM

all government contracts must be removed from Dennis o Brien companies. Mr noonan must resign from office for not being honest in the dail. the office he holds must have full confidence from the people, it does not have that confidence from the people.

Mute Carol Oliver Power
    Favourite Carol Oliver Power
    Jun 4th 2015, 9:27 PM

The dog ate my homework

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Jun 4th 2015, 10:22 PM

I was wondering where my comment on Alan dukes went. Does he have shares in the Journal.ie .

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:27 PM

Their attitude is ” were rich” know your place

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:22 PM

We need to make an example out of these gangsters. Tar and feathers.

The government included.

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:58 PM

i do know, that the EU.or united nations agreed to the sale, they knew all facts!

Mute Eileen Meditation
    Favourite Eileen Meditation
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:32 PM

wow.

Mute Sean Duignan
    Favourite Sean Duignan
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:57 PM

If your lucky enough to be able to get a loan from a bank make sure you get the DOBR Rate
    better known as the Denis O Brien rate……

Mute Stasia Morley
    Favourite Stasia Morley
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:11 AM

Remember your best comment yet is in the ballot box our day will come

Mute Traolach Ó Dubhda
    Favourite Traolach Ó Dubhda
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:17 AM

Alan Dukes. Minister for Finance 14 December 1982 – 14 February 1986
    Says it all.

Mute kilmoremick
    Favourite kilmoremick
    Jun 5th 2015, 12:28 AM

Some one will have to ask is Noonan fit to hold office.

Mute Paul McCabe
    Favourite Paul McCabe
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:55 AM

FBI…..please look into this!!!!!

Mute Paul McCabe
    Favourite Paul McCabe
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:57 AM

Tongue in cheek….but we need some INDEPENDENT body to delve very deep into this, i think Siteserv/IW is Ireland’s Qatar…the straw that broke the camel’s back…..

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:27 AM

The Duke and Denis are slippery customers

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:38 AM

Add Noonan,Enda and Co.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jun 5th 2015, 6:49 AM

Knowing that that money was owned by the Irish people, can we bring IRBC to Court to get it back, and also put a few in jail while we are at it, then maybe they would think twice before doing something that

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Jun 5th 2015, 4:41 AM

Does anyone remember why Dukes was appointed to Anglo’s board of directors? Because I don’t think he’s remembered since his appointment. He was a ‘public interest’ director. He only every speaks from the point of view of a normal director.

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Jun 5th 2015, 11:45 AM

Things have to change, sick of the rich getting richer, while the poor are left struggling ..