You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ibiza is known for beaches and partying, but its sex trade runs into the millions. holbox via Shutterstock

Prostitutes in Ibiza register to pay taxes and receive welfare

Because of the move, the women will be entitled to state benefits.

PROSTITUTES ON THE tourist island Ibiza have formed a sex workers’ cooperative to pay taxes and gain social security benefits — the first such group legally registered in Spain, they say.

Eleven women registered with local authorities as working members of the Sealeer Cooperative providing sexual services, said their spokeswoman, Maria Jose Lopez.

“We are pioneers,” she told AFP. “We are the first cooperative in Spain that can give legal cover to the girls.”

The 11 active sex workers who registered in November are women in their 20s and 30s from Spain, Italy and “the East”, she said, declining to elaborate.

The group is applying to register 40 more women as members.

A 42-year-old local housewife, Lopez is not a sex worker herself but registered as a member of Sealeer to act as a voluntary representative for the women, who refuse to speak to reporters.

Like any workers’ cooperative, Sealeer members declare their income and pay taxes, which entitles them to public healthcare, a pension and other benefits.

A parliamentary report on prostitution in 2007 said Spaniards spent 50 million euros ($68 million) a day on prostitutes, of which it estimated there were 400,000 working in the country — the latest such figures available.

In Ibiza, whose sweltering beaches draw millions of foreign tourists every year, “prostitution moves a huge amount of money in summer”, in hostess bars and in private apartments, Lopez said.

“Just as they regulate the hotels and restaurants to make sure all the workers are registered, they should also see that the girls are comfortable and legalised.”

Prostitution is neither illegal nor regulated nationwide in Spain but the government in November unveiled a new civil security bill that would fine people for picking up prostitutes near schools.

Authorities in Barcelona have introduced fines for picking up prostitutes in the street and Madrid is planning to do the same.

Prostitutes can register as workers in Belgium, Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands and in some cases claim social benefits.

Despite prostitution being tolerated in practice in Spain, the issue is divisive.

- © AFP, 2014

Read: ‘Drunk’ man arrested for trying to extinguish Arc de Triomphe flame

Read: Dutch prostitutes want same retirement

View 102 comments
102 Comments
    Mute Aisling Carey
    Favourite Aisling Carey
    Apr 9th 2013, 6:31 PM

she’s 70?! wow! go judge judy!!

Mute Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Favourite Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Apr 9th 2013, 6:48 PM

FOURTY FIVE MILLION………. A FECKIN YEAR………… how you dooinn?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:00 PM

She looks fit for her age, Judges over half her age or 20 years younger here can barely move. Put her in charge of a team of untouchables, go through this Country with a fine tooth comb and weed out the undesirables!

Mute Christine Astrospirit Klein
    Favourite Christine Astrospirit Klein
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:36 PM

Well QIRH FOURTY FIVE MILLION A YEAR she can afford all the plastic surgeries she had to look like this… ;-)

Mute Christine Astrospirit Klein
    Favourite Christine Astrospirit Klein
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:37 PM

WITH of course the amount made me mistype I think haha

Mute Jayneemac
    Favourite Jayneemac
    Apr 9th 2013, 11:55 PM

Baloney! I saw her in the flesh & she’s a very attractive woman, looks about 50-60. She’s bright, articulate, funny, capable and her legacy as a family court judge is exceptional. Put on your listening ears: I doubt she gives a hoot about your petty innuendo and small-minded jealousy!

Mute Sean Kelly
    Favourite Sean Kelly
    Apr 10th 2013, 12:29 AM

I am amazed that people on this site seem to think that how she looks is more important than what she said!
    Listen to her words people.
    I never met anyone who took a blind bit of interest in what goes on within the incestuous matrix that is our legal system, or in the environs of the secret “Star Chamber” Family Courts….. Until it all happened to them and their whole worlds fell apart.
    “The most benign climate for the growth of corruption and abuse of powers, whether by the judiciary or members of the legal profession, is one of secrecy.” Former Chief Justice Ronan Keane
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2u9wqvbaius

Mute Leonard Washington
    Favourite Leonard Washington
    Apr 10th 2013, 6:03 AM

Id tap it

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:02 PM

Moriarty took 14 years. I’d say she’d have closed it off by the first ad break.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll

A terrific woman who dispenses a good dollop of commonsense.

Mute Terry Morgan
    Favourite Terry Morgan
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:55 PM

I love watching her. Its great the way she just takes idiots apart.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Apr 10th 2013, 11:18 AM

“It’s great the way she just takes idiots apart.”

That doesn’t require great skill.

Mute Fin Tastic
    Favourite Fin Tastic
    Apr 10th 2013, 2:55 PM

You’d be surprised Seamus. Idiots bring you down to their level of idiocy, and then beat you with experience.

Mute DublinCity
    Favourite DublinCity
    Apr 9th 2013, 6:36 PM

We need judges like her over here. She takes no crap.

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:17 PM

@ DublinCity, I agree with you 100% DC…..Judge Judy is an appointed family court Judge……She covers cases probably up to a certain amount of dollars…..

Great to see no lawyers or solicitors in the courtroom, should have the very same here, but plenty of Judge’s who wont take any BS.

Mute Roxann Byrne
    Favourite Roxann Byrne
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:58 PM

Hardly compare her to a kardashian! That’s insulting considering she’s actually educated & has a profession!
    She also actually has a career prior to being on TV!

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:32 PM

Very true.
    But some people think they are too cool for a reality show.
    They’d rather spend their evenings watching foreign language documentaries on the mating habits of silk worms while revelling in their own smugness!

Mute Nydon
    Favourite Nydon
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:53 PM

Ahh no ! Was that silkworm show on already?? :0(

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:08 PM

I’m sure it’ll be on again. I hear it was excellent. ;)

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan

Judy for Taoisesach ! ; In 2016 of course , assuming the Dail lasts full term!

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye
    Apr 9th 2013, 6:57 PM

How ya. Would you? Where you been?

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:07 PM

Pity she is not here to judge certain bankers

Mute Seán O' Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O' Sullivan
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:18 PM

Ah Judge Judy what a hero

Mute Kathy Dowd
    Favourite Kathy Dowd
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:56 PM

Love JJ, watch her every day, its the only time i get the tv to myself. She can clear my sitting room faster than a bailiff on commission.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:50 PM

Great comment!

Mute Rosie Josie
    Favourite Rosie Josie
    Apr 9th 2013, 6:34 PM

Would soooo love to have judge judy over here in our courts…. She’d soon put my ex in his place!!!

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:35 PM

She would soon put corrupt social workers in their place too

Mute John Curry
    Favourite John Curry
    Mar 14th 2014, 5:11 PM

Yeah…Doesn’t take BS from either sex. We defo need more Judges like her in our courts

Mute Graham Mace
    Favourite Graham Mace
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:33 PM

I liked her comment about us being a “No BS” type of people. Though the research on that is flawed, as clearly our politicians and government carry enough BS for the whole of the rest of the population.

Mute Ellie Christine
    Favourite Ellie Christine
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:18 PM

Such a great lady. :)

Mute Sarah Sue
    Favourite Sarah Sue
    Apr 9th 2013, 10:20 PM

Off work for 6 weeks with a broken ankle and became ADDICTED to Judge Judy!! The witty one liners and put downs that spill out of her are hilarious, & shes so on the ball, deserves every penny!!

Mute bob®
    Favourite bob®
    Apr 9th 2013, 6:30 PM

There’s no judging on Jeremy Kyle thank God,phew.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:24 PM

Don’t tell me she’s feckin Ryan Tubridy’s cousin!?!

Mute GPS
    Favourite GPS
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:09 PM

Put on your listening ears!

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:49 AM

You were given 2 ears and 1 mouth for a reason.

Beauty fades, dumb is forever.

Ummm is not an answer.

Love her!

Mute Hugo Sanchez
    Favourite Hugo Sanchez
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:21 PM

Umm is not an answer!!!

Mute PJ Coogan
    Favourite PJ Coogan
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:13 PM

Guys , she’s the star of a fecking reality show. Cop on !! She may well be a real judge and have all the legal qualifications to prove it, but effectively she’s just another Kardashian , Beverly Hills Housewife or other such “star”. Grip, people, grip !!

Mute MB
    Favourite MB
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:16 PM

Exactly.

Mute Patricia O'Hanlon
    Favourite Patricia O'Hanlon
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:52 PM

Lighten up PJ!!

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:54 PM

The reason she’s a star is because she was a family Court judge in New York for many years. She didn’t take any crap from the establishment or social services. She was edged out after putting children before the corrupt system. Her revenge was to get her own show. She was making waves long before she was on tv and came to the attention of 60 Minutes TV show.

One such judge in Ireland Mr Justice Desmond Zaidan used to be a “star” as you say and had his own fan club on Bebo but has toned it down a bit but he did make a statement about the corrupt Children’s Referendum. I cant see RTE offering him an equivalent role to Judge Judy.

From what I have seen of the corrupt Family Courts in Ireland, judges are rubber stamps for the HSE and the HSE have become Judge, Jury and Executioner, Judy would sort them out very fast and not allow them to harm children in the way they are doing. If she was paid 45 million a year she would still be cheaper than the corrupt people in the courts now. I would rather have “Reality TV Stars” deciding Family Law cases than the corrupt unaccountable people we have now. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNQgcEstTbU

Mute Catherine Crotty Brett
    Favourite Catherine Crotty Brett
    Apr 9th 2013, 11:01 PM

I agree with you pj but her show is great entertaining

Mute Melody John
    Favourite Melody John
    Apr 10th 2013, 1:40 PM

well said

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:21 PM

She’s brilliant on that show. A little overpaid but sure it’s not my money :)

Mute Mark Kinsella
    Favourite Mark Kinsella
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:35 PM

What a legend!

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:03 PM

Hope she interrogates Seanie FitzPatrick etc.

Mute Shirley Boshell
    Favourite Shirley Boshell
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:33 PM

I’d love her to rip some of our politicians to shreds and reveal them to the entire world for the buffoons we all know they are.

Mute John Mooney
    Favourite John Mooney
    Apr 10th 2013, 12:51 AM

For those above who have never had the pleasure of the Family Law Courts, should pay more attention to her remarks about the corruption that goes on behind the closed doors of Ireland’s secret courts.

Children are still being abused by the State through the hidden Family Law Courts.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:54 AM

Yes but there identity is also being protected so that the cases are being brought. If victims identities are made public along with the things that happened them, they may be to embarrassed to bring charged. In camera works

Mute John Mooney
    Favourite John Mooney
    Apr 10th 2013, 11:50 AM

In Camera cases can be reported the same way as a Rape case with the victim’s identity protected. In Camera does not work and after 100 court cases with useless judges who abuse children’s rights to be with both parents, I and others knows it doesn’t work and only protects the abuser of children’s rights. When a judge allows continuous abuse of access it is child abuse and judges should be named and shamed for their inertia and disrespect of a child’s rights to be with both parents.

Mute Melody John
    Favourite Melody John
    Apr 10th 2013, 1:38 PM

you obviously have never been involved in an in camera court,,was gonna say more but john mooney has it covered

Mute Gaucho Doyle
    Favourite Gaucho Doyle
    Apr 3rd 2014, 6:13 PM

Well said john

Mute Kirsty Marie Mc Crea
    Favourite Kirsty Marie Mc Crea
    Jul 22nd 2016, 1:26 PM

It happens in the UK as well. A CHILD says something in anger and the s.s use it to try and get an I. C.O
    Almost 50 years and now trying to wreck the third generation

Mute Maria Dunne
    Favourite Maria Dunne
    Apr 9th 2013, 10:30 PM

Wow hope I look like her when I am 70!

Mute Griffosaurus
    Favourite Griffosaurus
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:20 PM

I love judge judy

Mute Kevin.N
    Favourite Kevin.N
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:48 PM
    Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Apr 9th 2013, 7:01 PM

Would.

Mute numbersix
    Favourite numbersix
    Apr 9th 2013, 6:40 PM

She’s not a patch on Fidelma Macken

Mute Ronan Walsh
    Favourite Ronan Walsh
    Apr 9th 2013, 11:08 PM

Me hole sinead. Me hole.

Mute Rob Davies
    Favourite Rob Davies
    Apr 9th 2013, 10:01 PM

I’d say Mary Fahy the long time scourge of Galway students would give her a run for her money!

Mute Justin Chan Hsian Loon
    Favourite Justin Chan Hsian Loon
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:31 PM

her description of irish people isn’t accurate though.

Mute karen mockler
    Favourite karen mockler
    Apr 10th 2013, 1:11 AM

Moriarty tribunal took 14 years to conclude Judge Judy would have done it in one episode on tv

Mute Melody John
    Favourite Melody John
    Apr 10th 2013, 1:51 PM

the biggest problem with secret courts is accountability.many scandalous decisions have been made and even after the case you arenot allowed talk about the case to anyone not involved in the case.,,,,this will never change as people dont care untill it happens to them. ,and the victims of these corrupt courts is made feel like a conspirecy theorist……
    excuse my spellings

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:22 PM

Who cares what the silly cow says or thinks !!!

Mute damien foley
    Favourite damien foley
    Apr 9th 2013, 8:49 PM

u must,since u took time to comment on it

Mute Mark Scott
    Favourite Mark Scott
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:51 PM

Still would

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Apr 10th 2013, 12:09 AM

Yeah but would she?

(Also, isn’t that Ray Darcy there in your avatar?)

Mute MyFaceIsAnArse
    Favourite MyFaceIsAnArse

And reduce ratings, too..

Mute wwdovew
    Favourite wwdovew
    Jun 3rd 2013, 2:35 PM

Judge Judy is correct. When my granddaughter was stolen from me by the state, the judge closed the courtroom and put a gag order on everyone there, including the TV media. She even went so far as to have her clerk put paper on the windows in the doors of the courtroom. She was about to steal my granddaughter forever from me. I had raised her from birth to age five. The judge said “this is a wonderful child”. DUH!! Abuse and neglect were never even mentioned. I had offered my granddaughter a cookie to quickly finish her lunch one day when the case worker on my daughter’s case was visiting. My granddaughter had no use for food (age 4), and I wanted her to visit with the caseworker. I was dragged into court and told that the state of Michigan could not allow a person to “bribe” a child and so she was being taken from me. We now believe that she has been adopted by someone the judge knew. In Michigan, grandparents are seldom (perhaps never) allowed to have their grandchildren.

Mute Aaron Quinn
    Favourite Aaron Quinn
    Apr 10th 2013, 1:14 AM

It’s all fake lads. The show I mean.

Mute Imogene Blignaut
    Favourite Imogene Blignaut
    Apr 10th 2013, 1:20 PM

Its not. My cousin was on it with rent/flatmate issues.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:05 PM

Not fake, my friend’s uncle was on it over Jack Russells he sells from Ireland…..he lost :-)

Mute Sinead O Brien
    Favourite Sinead O Brien
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:31 PM

THE ONLY JUDGEMENT THAT MATTERS IS ON OUR DAY OF RECKONING. THE MATERIAL WEALTH OF THIS WOMAN DOES NOT ENHANCE HER CASE BEFORE THE LORD.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:44 PM

Thanks for that Sinead. Caps lock is just above shift by the way.

Mute tisgrandsure
    Favourite tisgrandsure
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:58 PM

she says what we’d all love to say to certain members of society but we get slapped for it because its so not pc, it’s racist, it’s an attack on minorities, we’re bigots etc etc etc! go wan Judge Judy!!

Mute Jayneemac
    Favourite Jayneemac
    Apr 9th 2013, 10:24 PM

Considering she’s Jewish, I reckon she won’t appear before “your Lord”…so she can rest easy I’d say.

Mute Wes Freeman
    Favourite Wes Freeman
    Apr 9th 2013, 11:53 PM

can someone not delete this sh1t?

Mute Nicola O'Eagles
    Favourite Nicola O'Eagles
    Apr 11th 2013, 12:57 AM

I dunno Sinead. I reckon St Pete would be partial to a tasty wee bribe of the green stuff.

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Apr 9th 2013, 10:42 PM

Wow, TV and everyone loves a rich judge.

Mute mammy
    Favourite mammy
    Apr 9th 2013, 10:44 PM

Wonder if she is going to visit Perrin in the dochas?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Apr 9th 2013, 9:30 PM

Pure Bull,

it just encourages judges to be dramatic. and they lose sight of the actual case at hand. i know this for fact because i played it all through in my head …….

Mute Kathleen Mcdonald
    Favourite Kathleen Mcdonald
    Apr 23rd 2014, 8:39 PM

JUDGE JUDYS RIGHT IN WHAT SHE SAYS WE NEED SOME ONE LIKE HER HERE IN NORTHERN IRELAND SHES A GREAT JUDGE FAIR PLAY TO HER FOR COMING OVER AND SPEAKING THE TRUTH ABOUT OUR COURTS

Mute Katherine Conner
    Favourite Katherine Conner
    Apr 10th 2013, 10:53 PM

She was interested in hearing my case, until I was maliciously convicted for stopping pay on an overpaid check to a bad unlicensed contractor after Hurricane Katrina. I was falsely arrested, and jailed without investigation. No prior criminal history until this happened, was 54 years old then. I was maliciously convicted because I filed a complaint against the D A for false arrest, and charging me, and the judge for denying me a preliminary hearing. i was maliciously convicted, and haven’t been able to get this conviction overturned yet, cronyism. Louisiana is indeed the incarceration capital of the world.

Mute Cindy Smith
    Favourite Cindy Smith
    Apr 12th 2013, 9:15 AM

Kathern Connor,

You should be GLAD that you weren’t charged with ‘SOMETHING’ that your LIFE couldn’t of have been taken for!!! Like The State of Texas took the very LIFE of Todd Willing am for a crime he was later ( AFTER HIS EXECUTION) found to be innocent of COMMITTING!! Point being here is…. YOU DONT LIVE IN THE WORST STATE…..AS…. Texas has put a ‘innocent man’ TO HIS VERY DEATH!!!!

Mute Cindy Smith
    Favourite Cindy Smith
    Apr 12th 2013, 9:27 AM

To Catherine Connor,

Corrections on the Texas man that was put to his death only for the state of Texas to later find it he was INNOCENT!! His name was Todd Willing am!!

I to was ACCUSED of a crime I DID NOT COMMIT BUT had to spend 2 year’s in a Women’s prison for that CRIME!!

I appealed my conviction SEVERAL TIME’S only to be told by an Attorney that only about 6% of apeal’s are EVER HEARD!!

When i got out of prison I found it that my Attorney had a contract with police and fire department as their union defence attorney!! Well the FIRE DEPARTMENT was who pressed my charges!!

It’s been 16 year’s for you!! You’ve got a GREAT CONSOLATION!! YOURE ALIVE!!

Mute Aaron R Bates
    Favourite Aaron R Bates
    Apr 19th 2014, 11:57 AM

I can’t stand Judge Judy because I feel she is arrogant, no matter what you shouldn’t look down on people and thats what arrogants is to me. We all deserve the same respect. Video cameras are a start but if she was from the family law field she should know they have no jury! When you are making a life decisions for 3 people at once, there should be a little more oversight then one judge. Judge Judy has just gained a notch on my attention bar.

Mute Patrick Cullinane
    Favourite Patrick Cullinane
    Jul 19th 2015, 1:08 AM

Dear Fellow Christians and Others,

‘Judge’ Judy is Jewish, and like ALL Jewish ‘Judges’ she operates her Talmudic Court without a Jewry, which is making a mockery of Due Process and Trial by Jury that she picks up $45 million per year for.

In Common Law, which is the Law of the Land, a ‘Judge’ operating a court without a Jury is High Treason.

It is imperative that you take Video Cameras into courts or you will be Asset-Stripped like I was by 13 ‘Judges’ without Due Process: –

YouTube: Published on 13 Jul 2015

Common Law Courts Restored in the UK – The Return of the (Jedi) Gentile!
    7th July 2015, the 10 year Anniversary of the London Bombings, saw Patrick Cullinane and a small battalion of the Rebel Alliance returning once again to the Zionist Courts of Injustice to seek redress and the restoration of the Rule of Law in the UK in the Class action being bought by We the People against the (Death Star) UK PLC.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JiIIQqedtLo

NOTE: Under Common Law it is NOT, contempt of court, for We the People, to Video Record proceedings in court, as justice has got to be SEEN to be DONE in OPEN Courts. – The Talmudic Jewish Judges are operating OUR Courts without Juries, to Asset-Strip us Christians, which is High Treason and a Hanging Offence

Yours truthfully,

Patrick Cullinane, Common Law Lawyer and Victim of Jew Process in the UK’s COMMERCIAL Kangaroo Courts.

Mute Jeremy Murphy
    Favourite Jeremy Murphy
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:53 AM

All due respect to her and Ronan Keane on the undesirability of closed courtrooms, but were the alternative not improve or worse damages, remind me why should we let cameras in? On the sayso of a tv celebrity Judge?

Mute Vernon Beck
    Favourite Vernon Beck
    Dec 4th 2013, 8:20 PM

Great advice Judge Judy!

Here in Canada, many hearings are held in secret with children and families being torn apart by the family court system in secret chambers. There are many complaints of official court transcripts being altered by judges. Please visit us here in Canada and tell the judges and lawyers in our country that Canadian Courts need cameras in our courtrooms as well to help put an end to the corruption in our courtrooms.

Mute Jordan Jay
    Favourite Jordan Jay
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:08 PM

Great article and Judge Judy is great. Judge Judith Sheindlin. I am not sure what she is doing with what looks like a cross around her neck, she is Jewish!! Can someone please clarify!