You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Splits', 'cracks' and a fight ahead: UK front pages react to May's cabinet deal

The UK cabinet have approved a draft Brexit deal. It’s now over to the EU.

UK PRIME MINISTER Theresa May last night received cabinet approval for a draft Brexit deal. 

The next step on the road to the UK’s withdrawal from the European Union is for that draft deal to go to an EU summit at the end of November. 

Following that, the UK parliament will vote on May’s draft deal. If it approves the deal, a draft EU Withdrawal Agreement Bill will be introduced. 

Should parliament reject May’s deal, the UK government has 21 days to put forward a new plan. The UK is due to leave the EU on 29 March 2019. 

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has welcomed the draft Brexit deal, which includes avoiding a hard border in Northern Ireland. 

With a deal approved by cabinet, the front pages of the UK’s newspapers have put their spin on developments. 

The Daily Mail has a defiant UK PM but warns that “Tory rebels threaten coup to topple her in days.”

Dr_u6O7WoAEDELm

The Financial Times runs with: “May braced for backlash after winning ferocious Brexit battle.”

Dr_hgtYWoAMZEE_ (1)

The Daily Express has: “It’s my deal…or no Brexit.”

Dr_vohIXQAAUTRv

The Times opted for: “May papers over the cracks.”

Dr_4ZD4X0AAhS48

The New European went with: “May’s last gasp.”

Dr_yUUCWwAAiNuZ

The Guardian ran with: “May Brexit plan: a split cabinet, a split party and a split nation.”

Dr_xAmnXcAIbWZ5

The i’s front page reads “Cabinet split on whether to back PM” while The Daily Telegraph quotes the British PM saying “There will be difficult days ahead.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

17 Comments
    Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Nov 15th 2018, 7:44 AM

I think some people are jumping the gun ( out politicians) regarding this so called “ done deal” from what I’m seeing on sky news for e.g. it’s certainly not a done deal!

Mute Andrew Giles
    Favourite Andrew Giles
    Nov 15th 2018, 7:45 AM

@Colette Kearns: the clue is in the word “draft”

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Nov 15th 2018, 7:57 AM

@Andrew Giles: As presented in the draft, this deal would be the best deal for Ireland. Fair play to Varadkar, Coveney and Barnier’s team.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Nov 15th 2018, 8:13 AM

@George Hogan: that’s a bit premature, I’m betting it won’t happen, Irish newspapers saying how this is fantastic for Ireland, it’s a different story altogether in England!

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Nov 15th 2018, 8:16 AM

@Colette Kearns: They’ll all spin it to some degree. One thing I would be certain of is I would rely on nothing I see on sky news.

Mute Lobert Rester
    Favourite Lobert Rester
    Nov 15th 2018, 8:51 AM

@Colette Kearns: wouldn’t be like Leo to jump the gun now would it.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Nov 15th 2018, 10:25 AM

@Colette Kearns: Please read carefully before reacting! I referred to the draft. Nothing premature in my comment.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Nov 15th 2018, 8:37 AM

As Graeme Norton said in an interview the English would prefer to cut off their right ankle rather than admit they made a mistake in voting Leave.

Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ
    Nov 15th 2018, 8:15 AM

It’s the beginning of the UK remaining. They will pull a gun on themselves with this deal. The EU leaders won’t let a member leave and still enjoy benefits or feel no impact. They have stated this again this morning. If the UK reject this draft then it’s the path to remain begins.

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    Nov 15th 2018, 8:18 AM

Utter capitulation…..put firmly in their place .

Mute HuffnPuff
    Favourite HuffnPuff
    Nov 15th 2018, 9:20 AM

I can’t see the deal getting through parliament, Arlene will pull the plug, there will be an election, and the in-house squabbling will continue until they crash out with a no deal in March.

Mute Donal Reddington
    Favourite Donal Reddington
    Nov 16th 2018, 8:03 AM

@HuffnPuff: maybe but ironically Arlene has put herself in jepoarady here as well. I think in the North there is a growing frustration towards the party that doesn’t seem to put their consitiuants first.

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Nov 15th 2018, 8:50 AM

Got to love the British media with their headlines lol , foreign ownership don’t even pay their tax in the UK .

Mute Vincent Doyle
    Favourite Vincent Doyle
    Nov 15th 2018, 9:43 AM

I think Leo will be wiping the smug smile off his face when the commons chucks this deal out the window. Yes its a good deal for Ireland but that is going to be one of the reasons it gets ousted. He needs to pipe down and lay low.

Mute Ooby Dooby
    Favourite Ooby Dooby
    Nov 15th 2018, 9:12 AM

No chance this will get through parliament.

Just skip straight to an election and save all the nonsense.

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Nov 15th 2018, 9:57 AM

Disappointed! I was looking forward to a Waterford Whisper’s headline featuring the DUP this morning….

Mute HybridDsl
    Favourite HybridDsl
    Nov 15th 2018, 11:21 AM

They been stalling all along .. she’s used Ireland as and excuse for the DUP to back her … delayed the deal to force another vote and now got a crap plan in place that won’t fly so she can be take off this job (she never wanted to be PM) she can move on and another referendum put in place