You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Quiz: Which Irish 'staycation' destination is this?

Many of us are holidaying at home this year, and there’s plenty of lovely places to visit.

THE PUBLIC HEALTH advice for this year is not to go abroad for holidays, so it’s meant that many of us have gone on a ‘staycation’ instead.

Ireland does have plenty to offer – you could go just about anywhere for a break away – but can you tell which popular spots are pictured below?

Best of luck!

Which coastal Clare town is this?
David Steele/Shutterstock
Doolin
Lahinch
Doonbeg
Kilkee
A bridge connects this town to Kerry's Valentia Island. What's it called?
Armin Binz/Shutterstock
Sneem
Kenmare
Cahersiveen
Portmagee
Where are we here?
Kellie Diane Stewart/Shutterstock
Westport
Galway
Tuam
Ballina
North of the border now, where is this?
Ballygally View Images/Shutterstock
Ballycastle
Portrush
Newcastle
Warrenpoint
Which midlands town is this?
Monicami/Shutterstock
Mullingar
Tullamore
Athlone
Birr
This south-eastern town is.... ?
Maria_Janus/Shutterstock
Enniscorthy
Kilmore Quay
Arklow
Tramore
Where's this then?
Giancarlo Liguori/Shutterstock
Midleton
Carrigaline
Kinsale
Cobh
Where could you visit this lovely castle?
Brett Andersen/Shutterstock
Thurles
Kilkenny
Carlow
Portlaoise
Which east coast spot is this?
lukian025/Shutterstock
Skerries
Bettystown
Carlingford
Bray
Last but not least, where in Donegal is this?
Google Street View
Ballybofey
Glenties
Bundoran
Dungloe
Answer all the questions to see your result!
You scored out of !
Top Dog
PA Images
Perfect 10!
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Clever cat
PA Images
Almost purrfect
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Fintastic
PA Images
A good effort
Share your result:
You scored out of !
What are ewe doing?
PA Images
Baaaaaaad
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Turtely awful
PA Images
A shell of a bad effort
Share your result:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:37 PM

8/10. Can we drop the ‘staycation’ term and return it to holiday? Maybe its because all my holidays were around Ireland while those that now use ‘staycation’ never saw Ireland past the airport. AAArrgh!

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:40 PM

Holistay.

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:45 PM

@Mick Tobin: Laithonta Here-a

Mute Narl O Keill
    Favourite Narl O Keill
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:45 PM

@Paul Cunningham: I agree. Holiday is the right word.

Mute MsDaisyDoll
    Favourite MsDaisyDoll
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:51 PM

@Paul Cunningham: yeah staycation used to mean taking holidays from work but staying at home and *maybe* going on day trips instead. Did my grandparents really go to Bray every year for their ‘staycation’ ? Were we all going on staycations before cheap flight? No – we called them holidays!

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:53 PM

@Paul Cunningham: your totally right Paul, I too holiday alot in Ireland and have had many a great time in doing so. Strugged to get anything this year.

Mute Gav Murphy
    Favourite Gav Murphy
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:13 PM

@Mick Tobin: Your Holliers

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:43 PM

@Mick Tobin: Abhaile-days.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:45 PM

@Paul Cunningham: 10 out of 10 yipee

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Aug 13th 2020, 11:20 PM

@Paul Cunningham: Or the one that makes my skin crawl…. holibops.

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Aug 13th 2020, 11:34 PM

@Paul Cunningham: staycationing was used before the pandemic and the current situation fits its usage. It would be something like “where are you going on holidays this year?” “Well, we’re saving to buy for a house so we’re going to staycation in wexford for a week”……. If you were holidaying in Ireland the reply would be “We’re going to cycle the green way and we have this lovely cabin booked on lough ree”

Staycation = I should be in Spain but I’ve booked an Airbnb in salthill where I’m going to try and chisel out some happiness in this miserable existence.

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Aug 14th 2020, 12:14 AM

@Paul Cunningham: Agreed, it’s the stupidest portmanteau since “Indiependence”

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:41 PM

My first ever 10/10. I noticed they’ve left out kildare laois and offaly. They cant catch a break at all these days.

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:05 PM

Whoever came up with the phrase staycation should be subjected to some form of punishment like a marathon of fair City or being locked in a room and made listen to jedward for hours cos its a brutal name

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Aug 13th 2020, 11:33 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell: that’s a worse punishment than life imprisonment

Mute Rory Byrne
    Favourite Rory Byrne
    Aug 14th 2020, 2:52 AM

@Michael Patrick Newell: ah, jaysus, Michael; c’mon, it’s not that bad.

Mute Celtic Spirit
    Favourite Celtic Spirit
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:35 PM

5/10. Being a southeast man the more northern towns caught me out. I think a few trips further up the country for me are going on the bucket list.

Mute Mia Morrissey
    Favourite Mia Morrissey
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:40 PM

@Celtic Spirit: just back from Donegal and Cavan for few days , highly recommend a trip there we loved it so much to see and do .

Mute Celtic Spirit
    Favourite Celtic Spirit
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:46 PM

@Mia Morrissey: I have travelled all over the country over the years for work etc, but have never had the chance to stop and appreciate them.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:59 PM

Staycation, Jesus the worst phrase I’ve heard in years, nothing remotely Irish about it.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:07 PM

9/10. The bridge to Valentina caught me out.

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:20 PM

@Peter Cavey: a bridge too far?

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:49 PM

10/10, I knew it would happen some day. But given I’ve been in everyone of those towns at some stage in my life, I’d be shot if I got them wrong. And no I don’t live in a caravan thank you..

Mute Georgina Smith
    Favourite Georgina Smith
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:08 PM

10/10 first time!!

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:40 PM

@Georgina Smith: Congrats

Mute kennyjones27
    Favourite kennyjones27
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:03 PM

8 out of 10 woo hoo!!!

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:37 PM

Bundoran – gets the wooden spoon for the ugliest town in Ireland. Still went on lime holliers there and had a blast

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:50 PM

@Miriam: terrible example of what’s on offer In Donegal. Donegal Town is much more touristy.

Mute Peter O Donnell
    Favourite Peter O Donnell
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:11 PM

My first ever 10. Pity it took a pandemic to see some of those places. I will go back on staycation again.

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Peter O Donnell: me too. I think I’m just gonna say that I got a 10 after every quiz from now on

Mute joe doyle
    Favourite joe doyle
    Aug 13th 2020, 10:11 PM

dumps

Mute Kevin McNally
    Favourite Kevin McNally
    Aug 13th 2020, 11:20 PM

Bundoran looks gorge

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 14th 2020, 12:20 AM

@Kevin McNally: the town itself may not be up to much, but the beaches are amazing. There’s a lagoon there that is beyond words.

Greg
    Mute Greg
    Favourite Greg
    Aug 14th 2020, 5:39 AM

Ten out of ten , I like so many people on line was wondering why Kildare , Laois and Offaly didn’t get a mention. , why is Dublin not in lock down yet highest number of cases over the past fe days

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 14th 2020, 8:18 AM

@Greg: jesus wept

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Aug 13th 2020, 11:25 PM

10 out of 10 . Have visited most of them.

Mute RadioMikeOBrien
    Favourite RadioMikeOBrien
    Aug 14th 2020, 12:47 AM

Think I’m addicted to these feckin quizzes

Mute Bernadette
    Favourite Bernadette
    Aug 14th 2020, 12:59 AM

The only one I got wrong was in Norn Iron. I guess I haven’t had any vacations up there! (If we venture across the border – is it still a ‘staycation’??).

Mute Badger the witness
    Favourite Badger the witness
    Aug 14th 2020, 7:04 AM

@Bernadette: Yes, it’s Ireland.

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Aug 14th 2020, 12:07 AM

10/10 Boom!

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 14th 2020, 12:03 AM

Wow, a leaping dolphin, I’m getting better at these. Missed three that I’ve never been to, and one that I should have recognised.

Mute Aidan Kearney, Wicklow CCRO.Leinsterrugby
    Favourite Aidan Kearney, Wicklow CCRO.Leinsterrugby
    Aug 14th 2020, 8:23 AM

9/10, I must visit Northern Ireland.

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul
    Aug 15th 2020, 11:17 PM

We stayed there with mummy

Mute Oliver Mc Guinn
    Favourite Oliver Mc Guinn
    Aug 13th 2020, 9:37 PM

10/10 been to everyone of them