You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Martin in the Government Press Centre. ULIEN BEHAL PHOTOGRAPHY.

Taoiseach hopes for 'a degree of normality' by summer 2021

Micheál Martin said the vaccine roll-out offers hope but that nothing is certain.

TAOISEACH MICHEÁL MARTIN has said the government will have “greater freedom and options” when the first tranche of people are vaccinated but that it could be the summer before there is “a degree of normality returning”. 

Martin has outlined the government’s hopes for how the vaccine roll-out will take place over the course of the next six months, cautioning that it could be May or June before mass vaccinations take place. 

Some 10,000 doses of the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine are expected to be delivered to Ireland over the Christmas period with the first vaccines to be administered here on 30 December

As part of the sequencing plans, adults over 65 who are residents of long-term care facilities and frontline healthcare workers are first in line. 

Health Minister Stephen Donnelly has said it is hoped that residents of nursing homes will have received their two doses of the Covid-19 vaccine by “some time in February”

This prospect has raised the question over whether the government could begin to unwind restrictions when the most vulnerable people are inoculated. 

Speaking to journalists, Martin said this would give the government some options.

“The volumes coming through in January and February are relatively low in terms of what would come subsequently, but that’s where we’ll be dealing with nursing home residents and healthcare workers and key workers, that will make a significant difference in itself,” Martin said.

If we can immunise and can protect those most vulnerable, that already begins to give us a greater freedom in terms of policy options and decisions we take. 

He added that the restrictions are “continually reviewed” and that the current set of restrictions will be reviewed on 12 January. 

The Taoiseach cautioned however that the vaccine roll-out will not mean a return to normality in the first six months of 2021. 

“It depends on how we define the new normal. I think the first six months of 2021 will see improvements but we certainly won’t have normality in the first six months as we knew it.

The manufacturing of vaccines will ramp up certainly from March onwards and President von der Leyen would have identified May-June as critical months in terms of high volumes of vaccines coming in. So I think from the summer on I think we’ll see a degree of normality returning. But I can’t be definite about that.

Complacency 

Martin said that any return to normality would be “tentative” and he cautioned that recent events in the UK related to the new variant can demonstrate that the situation can change unexpectedly.  

He also said some other vaccines could be delivered faster than expected: 

Moderna is coming faster now, and AstraZeneca will be here in January as well. So by the end of January we will have three vaccines. So what I’m saying here is conservative, I could also see a scenario in which manufacturing ramps up more quickly and where higher volumes of vaccines gets to member states more quickly and that’s the more hopeful scenario. 

He also cautioned that the vaccine roll-out could lead to people becoming complacent about other public health guidelines. 

“There is some concern on the public health side that the more we talk about vaccines the less guarded people seem to become in terms of their personal behaviour.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Kevin Murphy
    Favourite Kevin Murphy
    Nov 1st 2011, 8:09 AM

The Greek government is really frustrating not only has Europe bent over backward to help them while Ireland like the mugs are government are pay the full price of a bailout but now they do this, I never agree with sarkozy but on this occasion I do!!

Mute Oran Drumgoole
    Favourite Oran Drumgoole
    Nov 1st 2011, 8:35 AM

Let’s be honest, the Greeks deserve little sympathy for the disgraceful way they cooked the books to get into Europe, the way they continually run their country in the awful manner and in the way they have been expectibg everybody else to sort out their problems with no negative ramifications.

But I don’t have a problem with them having a referendum on what will be a huge financial decision made by a country that could effect millions for decades. It is a truly democratic act. Irrespective of whether or not the Greeks caused their own downfall , it’s an act of oppression for European leaders to force savage cuts without the agreement of the Greek people.

Don’t want to hear that Greece signed up to this with eu as nobody who signed upto join Europe envisaged this scenario.

While it annoys and puts the rest of us out, I think the Greek government gave its people the choice to take harsh medicine or go down a potentially harder route. For me that’s very much less efficient then taking the tough choices for your country but it’s as democratic as it gets.

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Nov 1st 2011, 8:06 AM

Stable door, horse bolt, shutting afterwards …. Etc etc

Mute Joe Curran
    Favourite Joe Curran
    Nov 1st 2011, 8:41 AM

what an outrageous suggestion to let the people affected by the austerity measures decide their fate …thank god our government aren’t that foolish and continue to do our thinking for us

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Nov 1st 2011, 9:12 AM

I’d welcome a referendum here. It’d be good to see those who advocate a rejection of the IMF and a unilateral default lay their cards on the table. I think the response of the Irish people would be interesting when they see the figures.

Mute Joe Curran
    Favourite Joe Curran
    Nov 1st 2011, 10:46 PM

ok to all the people who may have had a sarcasm by pass… i will spell it out plainly… we should have had a referendum 2 years ago but those in power (in their wisdom) decided that they know whats best for US and we should just put up and shut up and take the austerity medicine …in order to protect their own elitist asses….

Mute Jayniemac
    Favourite Jayniemac
    Nov 1st 2011, 8:45 AM

Where do they expect the money to come from? Is it not a clever tactic by papandreou to make them tow the line a bit? Surely they’ll have to vote yes whether they really want it or not and then he proceeds effectively with the support of the nation, rather than taking the blame for the decision himself, the whole country make the decision which in turn might diminish the civil unrest……either that of they kick off big style, vote no and then he’s F*****d!!!

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Nov 1st 2011, 9:20 AM

The wording of the referendum will be vital. They probably won’t define what No means. If it was defined as ‘Greece unilaterally defaults and leaves Euro’ then Greeks might vote Yes. If it is defined ‘Greece will reject this deal and look for a better one’ then it will probably be a No vote.

But I can see the ECB etc getting rightly frustrated with this. They might frame the No vote as being a rejection by Greece of the Euro and just accept that Greece is defaulting and leaving the Euro. it’d be very tempting to be rid of the Greek problem once and for all. Taxpayers in Germany would love the idea. But the worries about how bad Greece might get would probably be too much. However bad Greece is, it could get a hell of a lot worse.

Mute seamus moore
    Favourite seamus moore
    Nov 1st 2011, 9:04 AM

I Presume a referendum will take months to arrange (and probably be lost) and all the while the rest of Europe suffers more Market turmoil. I also presume no mention was made by the Greeks of a referendum when agreeing to an extremely generous bailout package. If that be the case, the deal should be taken off the table and let Greece paddle it’s own (very leaky) canoe outside of the Eurozone. Better to stand back and watch Greece burn rather than fiddle while the rest of us do.

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Nov 1st 2011, 9:12 AM

We are watching what will be the end of euro. Greece will never be able to service there debt, Italy is now in trouble with Portugal,Spain,Belgium & Ireland all waiting in the wings. Hopefully they find away for members to return to there own currency’s and dissolve the euro. Not an easy task I know.

We all know this going to end in tears, so why keep dragging it out. Let’s ended it know and start the rebuilding process sooner rather than later.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Nov 1st 2011, 10:51 AM

Europes grand fudge began to unravel yesterday before Greeces referendum announcement.
    China’s official statement on Sunday that it will not be bailing Europe out put the initial spanner in the works.
    EU leaders proposal is heavy on aspiration but light on concrete measures.
    Europes crisis may well overtake events before any Greek poll.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Nov 1st 2011, 11:13 AM

At long last.. the turkeys will have a say on Christmas.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Nov 1st 2011, 1:44 PM

This is brilliant move. Watch the suits shaking in their boots and remember keep laughing when they start the scaremongering. The fairy story called capitalism a la brothers Grimm is coming to an end.

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Nov 1st 2011, 10:42 AM

End it now guys and put away your lovely lecterns over there in Brussels. Professional unelected bullying is not a real job anyway and I fear you will all find it quite hard back with the rest of us in the real world here on planet Earth

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Nov 1st 2011, 12:37 PM

Home of democracy allows its citizens exercise democracy at the ballot box. Seems reasonable. How many in Ireland would have voted through the Cowen-Lenihan bak guarantee?

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Nov 1st 2011, 12:46 PM

Depends on the alternative. No doubt you wod paint No, and unilateral default, as being fantastic. Let’s have your vote nw and see how things stand. Let’s see if the unions are happy with the bailout or want a default. Lets see if the multinationals are spooked by a unilateral default. Let’s see how Sinn Fein plan to balance the books when the country has no access to borrowing.

Let’s see some facts and figures. I want to see this populist message that telling the IMF to get stuffed will mean that the government will be able to spend more money really get explained in detail to the Irsh people.

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Nov 1st 2011, 2:11 PM

The Cowen-Lenihan bank guarantee shifted the private debts of the banks onto the sovereign balance sheet, the taxpayer balance sheet in effect. The knock on effect has produced NAMA, the majority of its debt is due to just 650 borrowers, and bumper bank recapitalisations. Meanwhile, in the midst of all this ‘recovery’ and fixing ‘systemic’ banks such as Anglo and INBS, credit is tighter than ever, property prices are still falling, mortgage distress is worsening, insolvencies in SMEs are ‘levelling out’ after four years of a flood, unemployment is topped at an artificial ‘low’ of 450k due to emigration, record numbers in third level and in various schemes. Having referendums on policies that carry the risk of bankrupting one if not two generations, and tearing up the social fabric of families for decades, do not strike me as unreasonable.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Nov 1st 2011, 11:01 AM
    Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Nov 1st 2011, 11:14 AM