You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A number of Tesla vehicles and dealerships have been targeted by protestors in recent weeks. Alamy Stock Photo

Three charged in US for 'violent destruction' of Tesla cars and dealership with Molotov cocktails

US Attorney General Pamela Bondi described the wave of recent attacks on Tesla vehicles and dealerships as “domestic terrorism”.

THREE PEOPLE ARE facing “serious charges” across the US for allegedly using Molotov cocktails to set Tesla cars and charging stations on fire, according to the Justice Department.

In a statement today, US Attorney General Pamela Bondi announced charges against three people responsible for “the violent destruction of Tesla properties” across three separate states.

A Department statement said that the three defendants “will face the full force of the law”, and may be jailed for up to 20 years if found guilty.

“The days of committing crimes without consequence have ended,” Attorney General Pam Bondi said in a statement.

“Let this be a warning: if you join this wave of domestic terrorism against Tesla properties, the Department of Justice will put you behind bars.”

One of the three people charged, who was allegedly armed with an AR-15 rifle, threw about eight cocktails at a Tesla dealership in Salem, Oregon, according to the Department of Justice.

Another, the department alleged, was apprehended in Colorado after trying to light Teslas on fire, and was later found to have materials for producing more incendiary weapons.

In South Carolina, the third defendant “wrote profane messages” about US President Donald Trump around Tesla charging stations before lighting the stations on fire with Molotov cocktails.

The three incidents are part of a wider backlash against Tesla boss Elon Musk that appears to have been gathering momentum in recent weeks, since Musk was appointed head of the controversial Department for Government Efficiency (DOGE).

Musk was charged by Trump with taking an axe to federal government spending, and has overseen the firing of tens of thousands of federal employees.

march-13-2025-new-york-city-new-york-united-states-a-protester-holds-signs-that-read-this-billionaire-is-killing-our-government-during-a-protest-at-a-manhattan-tesla-dealership-to-demonstrat Tesla protestors pictured in New York CIty last week. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

There have been protests outside dozens of Tesla dealerships, not only in the US, but also in Canada, the UK, Germany and Portugal.

Although most of them have been peaceful, there have been cases of showrooms, charging stations and vehicles being vandalised. In separate incidents in France and Germany, several cars were set on fire.

In Belfast, around 20 cars at a Tesla dealership were damaged over the weekend.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

88 Comments
    Mute Lickmestarfish
    Favourite Lickmestarfish
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:20 PM

Don’t let the bad guy have a gun in the first place

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:31 PM

but the bad guys will get guns whether they are legal or not so how do you prevent that? how many bad guys in this country have access to automatic weapons while the general populace are at their mercy?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:35 PM

One good way to ensure every bad guy gets a gun is to have lots of guns that can easily get into their hands. In Ireland lots of bad guys do have guns, but most don’t.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:51 PM

i was watching crimeline the other night & a mans home was broken into & robbed.they tied his wife up & shot him dead.another case of an OAP tied up & robbed in his home by masked intruders.he was terrified & took him hours crawling to get to his front door.these guys have all the guns they want but if they were attempting to rob an OAP who was tooled up for the job theb they would think twice about it.

Mute Gabhainn De Sheen
    Favourite Gabhainn De Sheen
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:12 PM

How many times do you hear of 26 people getting shot to death in an Irish school?

Mute Peter Lawless
    Favourite Peter Lawless
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:12 PM

Graham here’s the thing, bad guys involved in organized crime will still get guns but it appears that all these school shootings/public shootings involve individuals that are not involved in organized crime! If you take the gun out of the home then these people won’t have easy access to a gun, if and when that flip switches in their head.

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:15 PM

none so far.how many people do you hear about being shot in swiss schools even though the entire population is armed?

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:29 PM

@peter lawless i agree with you peter.look i dont like guns as much as the next person.i would love to see a world without guns & wars.but im also a realist & know that they are out there & fall into the wrong hands.i feel that because of this people have the right to defend themselves against it.the US government encourages people to sign up to the military & fight in immoral wars.this desensitises their culture & i believe this adds to the problem.

Mute Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:32 PM

But the difference is the weapons are in the possession of currently serving soldiers. Ammunition is no longer kept at home and when it was, it was stored in tamper-proof, sealed containers. Soldiers must be screened physically and mentally before being equipped in the first place so most of the nutters aren’t armed. Also, the entire Swiss population is not armed, it is still high at about 25% consisting of people between the ages of 19 and 34.

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:45 PM

But bad guys in our country shoot other bad guys in this country. Not shooting up schools for gods sake.

Mute joe stodge
    Favourite joe stodge
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:57 PM

Why so many dislikes?
    this the truth,
    This is same fickle crowd they when a member of the Gardai gets shot at calls for them all to be armed

Mute Peter Lawless
    Favourite Peter Lawless
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:06 PM

Joe, glad to see you can speak for everyone! And we all know what the bloody NRA mean with their statement, they want everyone armed not just police officers.

Mute Rodgethedodge Sofockenwat
    Favourite Rodgethedodge Sofockenwat
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:47 PM

You are very right and it is MUCH easier to get your hands on a gun that is not legal the guns that are legal are big and comber some closing the door on public people having guns will NOT stop any of these thugs from having guns

Mute Roddie Cleere
    Favourite Roddie Cleere
    Dec 22nd 2012, 8:32 AM

True but 4million get screwed every day!

Mute Adam
    Favourite Adam
    Dec 22nd 2012, 11:59 AM

Compare gun related crime & murder within Ireland as a percentage of all crime within our state to that of the USA.

Your argument is idiotic, invalid and I find it really insulting.

I wish those stupid, idiotic, trigger happy yanks could come up with a half decent argument for their right to bear arms. Still that’s asking a bit much, you put them all together in a room and you just might have the makings of a full moron. I except protests, riots & civil war before I see any respectable form of gun control.

Mute Stephen Nolan
    Favourite Stephen Nolan
    Dec 22nd 2012, 1:31 PM

And how many school shootings have we had? Oh yeah none! All these shootings in America happen with legally held weapons, some that have no justifiable place outside of the military!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:20 PM

Imagine armed police in every school. Shocking. America needs a cultural change not another law change

Mute Eddie Barrett
    Favourite Eddie Barrett
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:58 PM

These NRA guys are Fascists at their worse – if a Congressman or Senators takes on their philosophy of hatred they are weeded out so fast & ruined by their Lobbyists .
    Dr. Goebbels & his Cronies in the Nazi Party would be a fair comparison .

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:40 PM

You’ve got armed police in every bank, every mall – pretty much anywhere you have security guards. Hell, we have armed security in airports throughout Europe. In terms of batpoop-insane ideas, it’s not really up there.

Me, if I was living there, and my kid was going to those schools, I wouldn’t want armed guards.
    I’d want three army units and a fecking tank.
    But I think my kid’s more valuable than the contents of the average American shopping mall. Your opinion my vary…

Mute Mark Fagan
    Favourite Mark Fagan
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:19 PM

If you want to see what that would look like take a look a Israel, they are literally everywhere.

Mute JayTee
    Favourite JayTee
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:23 PM

There were two armed guards at Columbine High School the day 15 people whe’re killed. It won’t solve the problem.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:44 PM

The Americans have lost their ways – and they don’t really know it :(

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Dec 21st 2012, 9:24 PM

@JayTee – actually, there were two armed police who arrived after the shooting started.
    Columbine didn’t have armed security guards the way that the NRA just suggested.

Think about it for a moment – they’ve already had three spree shootings *since Sandy Hook*. It’s going to take time to make any changes to legislation there no matter how many people get behind it, that’s just the reality of their legal system. So why not put in security guards now, even if only as a stopgap measure?

Mute JayTee
    Favourite JayTee
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:03 PM

Mark, quote from Michael Moore, ‘Armed guards in schools? Hmmmm… Oh! That’s why the 2 armed guards that were at Columbine HS that day were able to prevent the 15 deaths?’

Mute Kieran Fitzgerald
    Favourite Kieran Fitzgerald
    Dec 22nd 2012, 2:25 AM

And of course Michael Moore isn’t known for sensationalising or just out right making sh*t up.

Mute JayTee
    Favourite JayTee
    Dec 22nd 2012, 9:06 AM

You happier with NY Times as a more accurate source? ‘a sheriff’s deputy was at Columbine High School in 1999 and fired at one of the two killers while 11 of their 13 victims were still alive. He missed four times’

Mute Claire Cullen-Delsol
    Favourite Claire Cullen-Delsol
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:23 PM

This idiocy would be funny if it wasn’t so damn scary. Can you imagine children growing up seeing guns everyday, thinking it’s normal and they’re necessary for protection? They’d have even bigger problems in ten years time.

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:00 PM

They carry concealed why would anyone ever see a gun?Your thinking uniforms and open carry.Which would be a prime target for a shooter to get first.

Mute richard ferris
    Favourite richard ferris
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:24 PM

It’s a crazy place…..makes me appreciate Ireland that little bit more…

Mute Gavin McGuinness
    Favourite Gavin McGuinness
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:05 PM

the other day I was asked by an American “how do you feel safe in your home without a gun?”. Talk about paranoia.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Dec 21st 2012, 9:08 PM

The antlantic ocean protects us from the majority of nutballs with guns…

Mute Rob Zombie
    Favourite Rob Zombie
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:21 PM

Madness and a silly approach. What if there are 3 loopers with AK47′s and 1 “good guy” will they tgen suggest that every school needs a platoon.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:26 PM

pfft, don’t be silly….

the NRA have a backup plan for when the bad guy has a ak47…the good guy gets an even bigger gun…..if it continuous and the good guy plays it right he’ll have the nuke before the bad guy and everything will be ok.

Unless of course the good guy is nuts, then they are all doomed.

Mute sarah curran
    Favourite sarah curran
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:31 PM

It took them a whole week to release a statement and that was the best view could come up with!?!

Mute sarah curran
    Favourite sarah curran
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:32 PM

*they

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:07 PM

So what your saying is they should have jumped on it from the get go and take advantage of it? Like Obama and his cronies did.

Mute sarah curran
    Favourite sarah curran
    Dec 21st 2012, 9:35 PM

h Dave how the hell did you get that from what I said?
    What I was saying is that they obviously took their time to release a statement because they wanted to put alot of thought into it and all they could come up with was a half assed approach to the real issue which I would see is the fact that people can get their hands on a weapon used in warfare that has no real reason to be available for people to “protect” themselves…

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry

Hang on!

So the NRA’s nut job solution is a armed cop in every school???!??

What about all the other places people can be killed, should armed cops be in those places too?
    - Homes
    - Town halls
    - Random streets and country roads
    - Gyms, shops and shopping malls.

So effectively the NRA’s solution is to turn everyone who they think is a “good guy” into a armed cop.

Yeah, that seems like a fantastic idea that won’t get even more people murdered.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:18 PM

Then starts the complicated process of working out the ‘good guys’ from the ‘bad guys’. These men talk like big children. “Pew pew”
    Guns are a money-making scam, which Americans have ‘bought’ into. There’s absolutely NO Argument for arming the whole population, yet they try to make it. Mainly because they’ve vested interests.
    You’ll notice the loudest voices are the gun manufacturers and sellers.
    Sure, if you ask the milkman if milk is good for you, what’s he gonna say?

Mute Barry Meehan
    Favourite Barry Meehan
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:12 PM

Pro gun lobbyists always claim that if guns were unavailable maniacs would just use knives instead. In the same week as Sandy Hook, a crazed Chinese man went into a school and stabbed 22 young children. Do you know how many of them died? Zero.

Zero funerals.
    Zero coffins.
    Why?
    Zero guns.

Allowing military grade weaponry on the street is bogus. It serves no other purpose than allowing the mentally ill to use those guns for what they were designed for. To kill as many people as possible. The latest statement from the NRA calls for an arms race inside American classrooms. If the guards have big guns, the maniacs need grenades. If the maniacs have grenades then the guards need bigger guns. Do they not realise that those people who carry out these atrocities are not afraid to die?

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:30 PM

Great point Barry. 100 thumbs up

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:52 PM

Just one minor point. One incident of mass-murder in Belgium involved a man who threw grenades into a crowded square before opening up with an automatic firearm into the fleeing crowd. Neither grenades nor automatic weapons are legal there.

That said I do think that firearms should be allowed but either in safe storage or in a dedicated shooting club. I enjoy shooting but I would never store a weapon in my home.

Mute Barry Meehan
    Favourite Barry Meehan
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:02 PM

No legislation will prevent all atrocities. That’s not an excuse for inaction. Making guns illegal will not make them impossible to source but it will make it less easy.

Mute Barry Meehan
    Favourite Barry Meehan
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:04 PM

I agree with your second point for most guns that have other uses for hunting and other gun sports.

Mute Brian O'Neill
    Favourite Brian O'Neill
    Dec 21st 2012, 9:05 PM

Jason…that’s one incident. There were over 10,000 killed in the US with guns last year. If guns were altogether illegal, I’m sure this figure would immediately be a fraction of that. No, not zero, but a massive massive reduction.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:08 PM

@Brian,

I don’t agree with you at all on that point. Prohibition and the War on Drugs have just proven that outright bans don’t work. Enforcing a total ban on guns, especially in a country such as America, would be a massive and costly undertaking. It would be wholly impractical to remove them and entirely useless as, in the grand scheme of things, they cannot kill without an individual picking it up and choosing to do so. Car accidents kill more people in the US than guns. Cars can also be used for mass murder (as demonstrated in The Netherlands) and can be as expensive as an assault weapon.

Inevitably it is what the human who wields these tools decides what to do with them that is the issue. Banning guns outright is addressing only one of many means to the problem without addressing the actual problem. Especially seeing as other countries with as high a per-capita gun ownership as the US tend to have a fraction of the mortality rate due to guns as America does.

People can red thumb me all they like but it doesn’t change the fact that this is a human problem that won’t be solved by removing one object or another.

Mute Nigel killeen
    Favourite Nigel killeen
    Dec 22nd 2012, 12:42 AM

It’s a lot easier to kill people with A fully automatic assault rifle than a car,
    If we lived in America, you mite get out of the wrong side of the bed 2m buy some breakfast and m16 in the same shop and go on a murdering rampage,
    (Completely plausible scenario)

These weapons must be kept out of people’s hands,
    The same way nuclear weapons are kept out of some countries hands
    The same way cake should be out of obese people’s presses, if its not there it won’t cause a problem, GET IT

Mute Brian O'Neill
    Favourite Brian O'Neill
    Dec 22nd 2012, 1:11 AM

@Jason – I think we’re going to disagree regardless, but here are my problems with your last post.
    1. This isn’t about prohibition or drugs. But, seeing as how you introduce it, if we take Amsterdam as an example, do you think that if smoking of drugs was totally outlawed in Amsterdam that the incidences of it would rise or go down? I feel pretty sure that they’d go down. Illegal instances would go up but the total number would go down.
    2. “Massive and costly undertaking” – we’re talking about the lives of 10,000+ people PER YEAR, not something trivial like cleaning up dog dirt. Millions spent would be worth one life.
    3. Car accidents? That is a distraction from the point. This has nothing to do with car accidents. If you feel like addressing that, go ahead and try to do something about it, but it’s not a defence of weapon availability.
    4. Perhaps it is a human problem and I can’t explain it, but you haven’t proposed any viable alternatives to resolving this. Removing guns is one way that it could be fixed, and fixed very quickly at that. Imagine a law that made guns illegal and was enforced fully and correctly? No, it won’t eliminate massacres like this, but that 10,000 would be a lot less very quickly.

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 22nd 2012, 1:47 AM

Barry- If the guy in China had been using a machete the zero’s would be vastly different.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 22nd 2012, 10:31 AM

And if he’d had a small arsenal of semi automatic weapons the numbers would be even more vastly different.

Mute Barry Meehan
    Favourite Barry Meehan
    Dec 22nd 2012, 11:57 AM

I’m glad we agree Dave, the more dangerous the weaponry the more people will die. On the point about cars, they have a very useful alternative purpose as do some guns. However the type of guns we’ve seen used in Sandy Hook and Aurora were designed for a battlefield and have no useful alternative purpose. A friend of mine shot an AK-47 in America. Why anyone would need an AK-47 is beyond me, unless Texas is finally planning to succeed from the Union.

The U.S. has another problem. The sheer number of guns it has, something like 86 guns per 100 people whereas it is 6 guns per hundred in Britain. This means that those people planning a massacre will find guns even if semi-automatic assault rifles are banned. To reduce the the frequency of these instances not just the scale of them, the US will have to start limiting the amount of guns people can buy and be more selective on who they grant gun licences to. Having a gun to protect your home shouldn’t be a justification for obtaining a gun licence. The evidence shows that it puts your family at a greater not lesser risk.

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:08 PM

Ahh America the only country in the world where the ‘right’ to possesses a violent toy and/or penis substitute trumps the rights of 6 year old children to keep on living….

Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:22 PM

Ha ha classic NRA … Outlaw guns and only the outlaws will have guns

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:37 PM

A wild west attitude to an endemic problem in American society is not what is needed. The NRA has no credibility left and it’s old battle cry that “an armed society is a safe society” has again been proven wrong.

Until a majority of Americans place their personal safety and that of others above a questionable interpretation of the 2nd amendment, tragedies will continue to occur.

Mute Michael McTague
    Favourite Michael McTague
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:22 PM

Strange how Australia , the UK, Ireland and most of Europe with very strict gun control have not become lawless wastelands ? Has no one pointed out to the yanks and the NRA that despite the high level of gun ownership in the US that there crime levels are vastly higher than the countries mentioned above.

Mute Conor O'Loughlin
    Favourite Conor O'Loughlin
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:33 PM

Absolute crap,, Americans with there bloody stupid laws and more their proud heads!! Should be a$hamed of themselves!!!

Mute Kieran Ross
    Favourite Kieran Ross
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:21 PM

Or no gun at all….

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:28 PM

Impossible I’m afraid seen as there’s probably more guns than people in America. Their right to bear arms is like the first thing in the constitution.

Mute Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Favourite Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:46 PM

Kevin, their constitution originally stated that you only have the right to bear arms as a member of an organised militia but they changed the constitution in (I think) the 1950′s to allow pretty much anyone to have guns.

They’re damned if they do change the law and damned if they don’t….its just too late for them..

Mute Fergus McGrath
    Favourite Fergus McGrath
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:48 PM

2nd amendment as far as I know

Mute James Connolly
    Favourite James Connolly
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:52 PM

Let them have their guns and their rifles. Outlaw ammunition.
    Simples.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:53 PM

Ah right. Well regardless guns arnt going anywhere in America

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:16 PM

It’s just economics. The NRA members make and sell guns. They don’t give a shit what people do with the guns as long as they keep buying them. An armed guard in every school…. they’re drooling over the profit already.
    Methinks the founding fathers did not envision modern assault rifles when “The right to bear arms” was included in the constitution.
    Just for the record, the assault rifle used last week shredded the children. That’s why the police used photos to identify them to the parents

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:34 PM

@ Brendan, I was told by a US surgeon that human bodies are pulverised by the multiple high velocity bullets which are unleashed from such guns. His theory was that any sane person who saw the actual results on a human being would not go near a gun.

It is hard to think about the obscenity of the level of violence done to the bodies of those tragic children and their female teachers.

But the men who want their toys and to feel as if they are John Wayne will likely get their way.

Opponents of guns and promoters of effective gun control are depicted as unAmerican and unsound.

Let no one dare to interfere in the relationship between the primarily American males and their multiple guns

Mute Avril O'Connell
    Favourite Avril O'Connell
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:38 PM

Fecking Idiots!!

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:35 PM

Given this whole “we need guns ” thing is fully supported by the NRA and “they” think somebody should be armed in every school are they going to pay for it?

Its all fine and well for them to suggest it by why should the American tax payer pay for armed police to be in every school in the USA because the NRA lobby group refuses to be reasonable and logical about the whole issue and actually agree that allowing an average joe to buy a semi automatic or automatic is a very very stupid thing to do.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:30 PM

OK, armed police in every school funded entirely by an annual tax on every gun owned and every bullet. Of course there would have to be a huge and wasteful public bureaucracy (just to pi55 off the right wing gun nuts even more) to manage these police, security, inspections, regular mental health checks for employees etc. Still want all those guns?

Mute BelaFairCity
    Favourite BelaFairCity

Not going to disagree with the NRA, they’ve got guns, lots of guns…….

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:14 PM

NRA = National Retard Association.

What a stupid stupid idea.

Mute Witszend
    Favourite Witszend
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:42 PM

So what happens when the security guarding the kids goes postal.

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:31 PM

put a built in self destruct button on him lol

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 22nd 2012, 1:36 AM

So what happens when the nut job comes in shooting?Will I guess we saw didn’t we. In fact we have seen it several times,and always in GUN FREE ZONES guess the nut jobs didn’t get the memo OR maybe they did.

Mute Yvette C
    Favourite Yvette C
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:41 PM

So they take a week to come up with a statement and the best they can come up with is the plot from Kindergarten Cop? Speaks Volumes…

Mute AngryAnal Evony
    Favourite AngryAnal Evony
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:09 PM

Since your all slobbering here about guns in america is there any chance that your all in favour of patriot missile defences been set up around schools in afghan,pakistan etc ????????

80 Kids killed in one drone hit in pakistan who tried to cover it up but due to the extensive damage they couldnt

Or maybe get a ban on depleted uranium rounds also so the kids dont die from the effects of these rounds

Take the gun rights away from the yanks and check mate the start of a new world order

Mute Brian Henoll
    Favourite Brian Henoll
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:18 PM

Ehhhhhhhhh not quite sure what your point is.

Mute Gavin McGuinness
    Favourite Gavin McGuinness
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:59 PM

does the NRA not understand the expression “Adding fuel to the fire”. More and more guns is not the solution to the problem.

Mute Paul White
    Favourite Paul White
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:38 PM

So the national rifle associations suggestion to heal the problem of mass shootings is…………….more weapons? Why of course they would say that,would removal of the rounds or weapons not be a much better solution? Armed security guards brings a host of problems,kids being harmed is one of them. Who would select these armed guards? Where would these armed guards have worked? Iraq,Afghanistan? Discharged after a war? How long before a guard snapped on the campus and again more murder? Is it possible more than one armed guard in all America would do this? The Colorado massacre among others were done with over the counter weapons,that is what needs to change nobody is using automatic weapons to hunt wild animals. I have plenty of experience with weapons being an armourer, it defies belief some of the weapons that can be purchased legally over the counter in America that serve no meaningful purpose and are designed for totally for efficient killing. Then they say weapons don’t kill people,people do. This statement is incorrectly portrayed as having no correlation, if people kill people,and people supply people with weapons and ammunition to do so then the weapons are the problem. If you do not have a weapon, you can not do the damage. This is what would protect children, not more weapons.

Mute Sara Delmer
    Favourite Sara Delmer
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:39 PM

*face palm*

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:00 PM

It´s easy……

NRA are Republicans
    Republicans hate taxes and big government.
    Ask them how much they want to increase the police force by and how much tax they want to raise to pay for it

Mute Stephen Church
    Favourite Stephen Church
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:04 PM

The republican party believes in the 2nd amendment , if everyone was armed you’d have a lower crime rate and less need for police.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:03 PM

RUBBISH

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki

How many teachers do you think have carry conceal licenses,that would gladly do so if given the chance,don’t know the numbers but you can bet it a good lot.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:26 PM

Well if that’s the case, there is something gravely wrong with the USA society if teachers have to conceal firearms! I’m very glad to be living in Ireland then. The worst that can happen is I will catch a cold from the rain

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Dec 21st 2012, 9:45 PM

They don’t really believe in the universal right to bear arms though. No one suggests that kids or convicted felons should be allowed to carry guns.

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:59 PM

Good guys and bad guys??? Give me a break!!! This is real life not the movies! The more armed cops they have the more armed the criminals will become!

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:25 PM

No one was armed in CT. what happened?I’ll tell you what happened Lanza was armed anyway.Guess he didn’t play fair.or something.

Mute Enda Story
    Favourite Enda Story

Why not arm the teachers and if that doesn’t work arm every student!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 22nd 2012, 10:45 AM

Hmmm… Some teachers I had in school who had been driven to mental instability after all the years of dealing with teenagers…shhh, ciúnas, sit down children or I’ll blow your feckin heads off

Mute Alan Dooley
    Favourite Alan Dooley
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:10 PM

On one hand I can understand this guy’s position, I most certainly do not agree with his position. Guns should not be in the hands of the wrong people. Gun owners should be vetted thoroughly. So instead of matching a bad guy with a gun with a good guy with a gun, they need to control the bad guy and ensure he can’t get a war class gun.

Disarming the USA will go against the weapons industry and money rules over there.

My opinion, disarm the country.

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:30 PM

Not sure what you mean by”war gun”anything that shoots or rather holds two or more cartridges?Any gun “war gun”or not will kill.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:24 PM

The major problem here is that Barack Obama, as Commander in Chief, is the world’s biggest arms dealer

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 21st 2012, 11:07 PM
    Mute Glenn O'hAilpín
    Favourite Glenn O'hAilpín
    Dec 22nd 2012, 3:57 PM

My eyes are bleeding after reading that page Biggins… You see the irony in recommending that people educate themselves with that page right?

Mute Peter Richardson

It is a pity that in Ireland that we also have a strong and strident pro gun lobby. The passion, the zeal that a gun lover has for their killing weapons means that they are inclined to get very reactive to any notion of gun control.

The gun enthusiast believes that the answer to gun crime is to introduce more guns.

Guns and people are a bad mix. There is no fool proof way of ensuring that guns do not get into the wrong hands.

The Financial Times today has an interesting article on “black rifles”, which are assault rifles adapted to sports gun use, have clips or magazines of 30 to 50 rounds and shoot as fast as a trigger can be pulled by the user. These are so widespread and popular with white, middle class and middle aged males that they will be impossible to control.

The interesting thing is that the most commonly expressed reason for owning guns is home security. This points to a real sense of paranoia in the USA. Then add multiple gun ownership, night scopes, the various accessories and you see that many males actually have a gun obsession.

Armed police in every school. Unreal!

Mute Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:36 PM

Don’t forget the male ego, a gun is a lot cheaper than penis enlargement surgery… I’ve checked.

Mute Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:37 PM

I mean.. my uh, friend checked.

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:43 PM

http://guns.ie/~mdennehy/DSCF1906a.JPG

Yup. Male ego, that’s all it is.
    Nuanced problem? Needs a solution that might be a few words longer than a soundbite?
    Nawwwww, ‘course not. Three drunk lads in an Irish pub could sort this one out before the next round has to be gotten in and they decide who drives home…

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:27 PM

Do Americans believe they live in the movies? ‘Good guys’. ‘Bad guys’. What sort of language is that? It’s primary school level English, is what it is.
    I consider myself sane enough to own a firearm, but I’d rather waive that right so that I knew the country wasn’t flooded with them. Shooting is a useless hobby/ pastime.
    The irony is, guns are about as unsafe as you can get, yet Americans think that with more of them, they’ll be safer. It’s just more holes in the ship.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:14 PM

Maybe the fact that the US has been at war for 220 of its 250 odd year existence and that it spends more on defense ( offense ) than every other nation combined has something to do with it. Its a culture of fear and violence that trickles through society because that whats the nation is. And i believe the reason they have a right to bear arms was to protect themselves from a corrupt and tryannical government which is exactly what they have now.

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 21st 2012, 11:01 PM

The NRA (National Rifle Association) in America has just come out of hiding from under whatever rock they had gone silent under since the killing of 20 kids and a load of adults. They have stepped up to a podium and stated that America would be more safe now if MORE Americans were armed and what’s more, more people in schools should carry weapons. Yep, they actually stated that!

Are they bloody demented? The NRA is talking out its ass.

Their answer is always the same: more guns – but if guns made America more safe, the US would be the safest nation on the planet. Instead it is the most prone to gun violence per capita.

Americans are sick especially of the intimidation racket the NRA has in targeting American politicians. If you oppose these thugs in the NRA as an American politician, the NRA will come after you in the primaries with a new candidate and lots of money. They have especially intimidated candidates in conservative areas. They pour millions (if not billions) into the lobbyists and to their supporters elected, fund-raising campaigns. They are at the end of the day like many in the Republican party, out for one thing – and it all revolves around money! Giving it away often to see that they get it back in bucket-loads and stuff the lives of those lost on the streets and schools of America!

310 million guns now in America and counting …… And the NRA says they need more guns – 31,000 people killed on average each year by firearms. 2 MILLION guns was just sold last month (LINK). Is America any safer because of that? Seriously? …And the NRA says the solution to all the killings is to arm even more people?

Are they bloody demented? Are they off the bloody head? What sick insane stupidity are these gun-nuts full of?

Absolute bloody craziness!

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 21st 2012, 11:06 PM
    Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:45 PM

The problem is not about owning a gun. It’s owning a type of gun and the lack of control of ammunition.
    Fully automatic and semi automatic firearms are meant for the armed forces. Not for the man in the street. Put a control measure in place where a firearm owner can only purchase a limit amount of ammunition over a period of time.
    Ban the sale and ownership of fully automatic and semi automatic firearms altogether.
    Ban the sale of firearms with a certain caliber.
    Change the law so before applying for a firearm licence, the applicant has to pass a certain criteria. For example:
    Physiological evaluation (Mentally stable)
    Physical evaluation (Medical issues)
    Criminal record (If any)
    Passed a firearm training course
    Passed history of a member of the armed forces (Been in active duty, mentally stable)
    Age (21 and over)
    A valid reason for wanting own the firearm (Hunting, shooting team, self defence) and proof of intension.
    Limit the amount of firearms owned by any person.
    Has an adequate firearm safe.
    Review this criteria periodically ( Every 5years)

Mute Peter Richardson
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:09 PM

@ Stanley, what happens if an unstable member of a gun owner’s family steals the guns, or a home is robbed to acquire guns or a normally stable person is immersed in a massive crisis an suddenly goes postal in a terrible way? Even taking into account these questions, there is a lot of practicality in your suggestions.

Hopefully sensible and effective proposals will emerge.

In Switzerland after the Zug massacre, 14 deaths, controls were tightened up and have apparently been effective.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves

I fully agree with what you are saying and to tell you the truth The only way to totally ensure this problem is eradicated is to remove firearms altogether.
    What you have to understand, there is responsible people out there who own firearms.

Mute Colm Kerr
    Favourite Colm Kerr
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:13 PM

It will be very difficult to reverse a nations attitude towards guns while the army of that nation are on active duty in serval locations around the world!

Mute Stephen Church
    Favourite Stephen Church
    Dec 21st 2012, 5:55 PM

The NRA , the only ones making sense after that shooting

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:01 PM

You think armed police in schools is a good thing!

Mute Stephen Church
    Favourite Stephen Church
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:05 PM

Having the caretaker or principal armed and trained in firearms use would be a very effective tool to stop shootings like the awful one recently

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:17 PM

Then it leads down to who has the best shot not how can we stop these people committing these horrific crimes?

The conversation should not even be about guns at this stage it should be about the culture and mindset of Americans , these aren’t gangs, they are not uneducated people. Serious questions should be asked about that first.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:52 PM

IS THERE SOMETHING WRONG WITH YOU?????? HAVE LOST YOUR MIND???

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:56 PM

Who is this directed at ?

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:59 PM

Stephen Church

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:52 PM

Have to agree Stanley. Their idea of giving the good guy a bigger gun is crazy. We shouldn’t even listen to them all they want is gun sales increased and nothing more.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:28 PM

Don’t feed.

Mute Kaja Farrell
    Favourite Kaja Farrell
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:38 PM

Unless, obviously, he himself decided to start shooting.

Mute Eddie Walsh
    Favourite Eddie Walsh
    Dec 22nd 2012, 9:28 AM

Fort hood is a military installation with probably the best trained military personal in the World.
    I rest my case..

Mute Bobby Sebastian
    Favourite Bobby Sebastian
    Dec 21st 2012, 11:56 PM

“For all who take hold of the sword will die by the sword” Matthew 26:52

Mute dna30
    Favourite dna30
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:47 PM

The only thong that stops a bad guy WITHOUT a gun is every other good guy WITHOUT a gun.

Mute Mark Fagan
    Favourite Mark Fagan
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:16 PM

lol, lol and these gobsheites are worried about al qaeda, talk about not being able to see the wood for the trees.

Dec 21st 2012, 9:37 PM

That guy sounds a bit of a nutter is he licensed to have a gun?

Mute Martin Harte
    Favourite Martin Harte
    Dec 22nd 2012, 1:22 AM

Go home NRA you’re drunk.

Mute Kaja Farrell
    Favourite Kaja Farrell
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:48 PM

The only thing to stop a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun. Unfortunately this rule is just as effective the other way round.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:47 PM

If there were no guns, the bad guys wouldn’t have guns in the first place

Mute Eamonn Beirne
    Favourite Eamonn Beirne
    Dec 21st 2012, 9:52 PM

“The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun,”
    And we wonder where the numpties live!!!!!!!

Mute Kaja Farrell
    Favourite Kaja Farrell
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:03 PM

And the best way to prevent shooting schoolchildren is to keep an armed gunman in the school building.

Mute Ryan Stewart
    Favourite Ryan Stewart
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:20 PM

His statement is right though he seems to think good guys and bad guys should have guns in the first place. If the bad guys don’t have guns, good guys won’t have to shoot the bad guys!

Mute Glenn O'hAilpín
    Favourite Glenn O'hAilpín
    Dec 22nd 2012, 4:45 AM

What I don’t get is how they say well it’s the second amendment, it’s in the constitution so it must be ok.. The constitution was written over 100 years ago! what is wrong with these people? America has lost its way, their is something rotten at the core of their society..

Mute Ed Kavanagh
    Favourite Ed Kavanagh
    Dec 22nd 2012, 5:41 AM

Having read most of the comments the main statement that some up the anti gun comments is “Naieve”. Do any of you really understand why the second amendment is so important, why it was added to the constitution. Its not there for hunting or to protect us from each other. Its there to protect the people from its own government. Government gone bad is the general populations biggest threat. Do I have to give examples of this. Do you think you are immune to corrupt governments?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 22nd 2012, 10:21 AM

What in the text of the second amendment says an individual has the right to military weapons? The text refers to a well regulated militia, some sort of state or county army of citizens rather than a gun-loving free for all.

Mute Robert Barrett
    Favourite Robert Barrett
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:20 PM

Furthermore, of the last ten gun massacres, seven of them have been in Europe . So to the the jumping on the band wagon of “other countries limit gun access” have a little think about that .

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 22nd 2012, 10:48 AM

BS!

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:14 PM

Other than a very few of us it’s pretty easy to tell what who and what this site is about.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:02 PM

News and opinion? It’s an Irish site, they’re going to be Irish perspectives. Nearly every other country in the world limits access to guns. No civilised or wealthy country (excluding war zones) has more gun violence than the USA. Most of us have spotted a connection there.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:44 PM

Not entirely true there! I spent 2 years as a conscript in the South African Infantry. I also owned hunting rifles and a couple of hand guns.

Mute Conor O'Loughlin
    Favourite Conor O'Loughlin
    Dec 21st 2012, 6:07 PM

Ah Cathy love spell my name correctly its Conor!!

Mute Eddie Walsh
    Favourite Eddie Walsh
    Dec 22nd 2012, 8:54 AM

Absolute bullshit recommendation from the NRA.
    Fort hood is a military installation with probably the best trained military personal in the World.
    I rest my case..

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 22nd 2012, 9:46 AM

Sorry I don’t agree with you. The US military just has bigger guns and more ammo!!

Mute Marcus Clifford
    Favourite Marcus Clifford
    Dec 22nd 2012, 10:50 AM

The NRA should keep their noses out of american politics and just maintain the motorways properly.

Mute Al S Macthomais
    Favourite Al S Macthomais
    Dec 21st 2012, 9:01 PM

NRA the acolytes of the Republican Party & bible brigade.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Dec 21st 2012, 7:50 PM

Police State

Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 21st 2012, 8:37 PM

Steven you are on the money!

Mute Roddie Cleere
    Favourite Roddie Cleere
    Dec 22nd 2012, 8:30 AM

Well done that protester !

Mute Rachel Pepper
    Favourite Rachel Pepper
    Dec 22nd 2012, 12:10 PM

The NRA’s call for police in every school, at enormous cost to the taxpayer, is strange logic coming from them. If they had faith in their police force to protect life and property they wouldn’t see the need to arm every citizen in the first place. It feels like there’s finally a will in the US to change the gun laws and the NRA are desperate to keep the arms race going.

Mute Philip O' Reilly
    Favourite Philip O' Reilly
    Dec 22nd 2012, 8:45 AM

Nobody seems to be talking about the medias role in this. All these shootings make the killer famous, that’s all they want. Instead of commiting suicide they get a load of fame doing something like this. Media should concentrate on victims, not killers.

Mute Gavin Conway
    Favourite Gavin Conway
    Dec 22nd 2012, 9:32 AM

Its the way the world works, those that make the most noise get the most attention.
    People want to know the killer in order to create a profile and understand the why and how of it all.

Lanza, I imagine, had huge underling childhood issues he felt dealing with in the manner he did would take care of. Its sad because mental health issues play a massive role in this current slaughter event, but who knows if treatment could have been a preventative? We will never know..

Mute Robert Barrett
    Favourite Robert Barrett
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:17 PM

This is a great idea. Not only would trained guards probably stop anybody trying to kill the children, but they would also act as a deterrent.

Mute Gavin Conway
    Favourite Gavin Conway
    Dec 22nd 2012, 8:56 AM

There should at least be training for the kids to be able to protect themselves in the event of such an emergency, also, LaPierre has a point, our children are our most precious investment and our heritage, we should be protecting them more than anything else in the world.
    School security is not a bad idea for now, its not like they’re going to get rid of all the guns in america anytime soon. its a great shame that the horse has already bolted though :(
    Gun turrets on the roof with armed cars patrolling the campuses, I don’t think so, but having a central security station is an excellent idea. We can only hope then that the good guys protecting the innocent don’t one day go bad. In that case, no guns is the best scenario but unfortunately the most unlikely one….

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Dec 21st 2012, 9:06 PM
    Mute Dave Ki
    Favourite Dave Ki
    Dec 22nd 2012, 1:13 AM

sarah curran 3 hours ago #

h Dave how the hell did you get that from what I said?
    What I was saying is that they obviously took their time to release a statement because they wanted to put alot of thought into it and all they could come up with was a half assed approach to the real issue which I would see is the fact that people can get their hands on a weapon used in warfare that has no real reason to be available for people to “protect” themselves

Sarah- I may have misunderstood what you meant as far as taking their time and they did put some thought into it(NRA).
    As far as “weapon used in war”goes it’s a firearm no more no less’,it’s not a weapon of war.It resembles one but it’s not.To bad they didn’t have one of those “weapons used in war” that day.

Mute sportsmad
    Favourite sportsmad
    Dec 21st 2012, 10:29 PM

Yeh that’s what they need more guns