You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leon Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Mairéad Ronan to leave Today FM amid shakeup at Communicorp

Ronan has been at the station for 15 years.

MAIRÉAD RONAN, KNOWN as a TV host and the producer on Today FM’s Ian Dempsey breakfast show, has announced she is leaving the station.

In statement posted to her Twitter account last night, Ronan said that she had decided to leave to “try new things”.

“After 15 incredible years with Today FM, I’ve decided to jog on,” she said.

She said that she was “lucky to have had 12 exceptional but exhausting years” on the Ray D’Arcy Show and three years with the “brilliant” Dempsey.

She added that with more TV work and running with her blow dry brush range Faro, she would be leaving the station.

Ronan’s decision to leave comes amid a major shakeup at Communicorp stations.

Earlier today, it was announced that Newstalk’s Chief Executive Tim Collins will leave the station after just over a year.

As well as Collins, Fora.ie reports that both 98FM CEO John Burns and Spin CEO Jamie Crawford will leave their current roles.

Burns has only been in the role since August, while Crawford has been working at Spin since 2005 – and as chief executive since 2008.

TodayFM chief executive Keith McCormack has retained his job in the reshuffle and will now lead all music stations owned by Communicorp.

The Denis O’Brien-owned Communicorp posted a net loss of €3.46 million in 2015, according to the firm’s latest accounts, down from €4.15 million the previous year.

Read: Newstalk, 98FM and Spin’s CEOs to go in a major Communicorp reshuffle

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:01 PM

Since when is a radio producer leaving a station news worthy..

Mute Thinck
    Favourite Thinck
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:15 PM

@Cosmo Kramer:

When said producer is the nations sweetheart

Mute FPL Thommo
    Favourite FPL Thommo
    Apr 12th 2017, 4:51 PM

@Thinck: which she isn’t. So I don’t see your point.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 12th 2017, 5:04 PM

@Thinck: The nations sweetheart? Don’t let Vogue Williams hear you saying that.

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Apr 12th 2017, 5:38 PM

@Thinck: never heard of her then again I don’t listen to the radio. I always thought the radio was for music, nowadays it seems it’s for listening to clowns talking tripe all day long no thanks.

Mute Soupy Norman
    Favourite Soupy Norman
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:00 PM

Jaysus lads, who actually cares.

Mute Wolf Pack
    Favourite Wolf Pack
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:10 PM

@Soupy Norman: You do Soupy, enough to read the article and comment…..twice.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:17 PM

@Wolf Pack: Burn! :)

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:21 PM

Today FM is going down the drain, its lost some very good talent lately and the format isn’t anywhere as good as it once was.

Mute Stouts O Shea
    Favourite Stouts O Shea

Mairead who????

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:50 PM

@Stouts O Shea: Get out more.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Apr 12th 2017, 5:12 PM

@Stouts O Shea: She’s one of the drones in sector 7g sir

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    Apr 12th 2017, 7:25 PM

@Mick Power: I think you mean ‘Stay in more.’

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Apr 12th 2017, 11:35 PM

@Dave O’Hanlon: Ronan eh?

Mute Podge
    Favourite Podge
    Apr 12th 2017, 2:55 PM

that’s a lot of emoticons in her message

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Apr 12th 2017, 4:51 PM

@Podge: She’s feeling very emoticonal Podge!!

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:03 PM

Leaving during a shakeup like it was her decision.

Mute Hello there friend
    Favourite Hello there friend
    Apr 12th 2017, 2:52 PM

“I’m leaving” eh, we were berth rid of you anyway… no, “I’m leaving” :-/

Mute Hello there friend
    Favourite Hello there friend
    Apr 12th 2017, 2:54 PM

Getting* not birth

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Apr 12th 2017, 2:55 PM

Going to Ray at RTE?

Mute Soupy Norman
    Favourite Soupy Norman
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:00 PM

@prop joe:

Rats usually desert a sinking ship.

Apr 12th 2017, 3:16 PM

@Soupy Norman: too pretty to be a rat

nf
    Mute nf
    Favourite nf
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:48 PM

@prop joe: bad form guys that lady is a hard worked I hope my daughters have as much drive and ambition and social skills

nf
    Mute nf
    Favourite nf
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:49 PM

@nf: *worker*

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Apr 12th 2017, 6:18 PM

@nf: sexy woman if you ask me, Darcy’s show is shite since he went to RTE. She was obviously the best part of his show.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter

I’m willing to take her in if she has fallen on hard times

@Tweety McTweeter: she cant be that desperate………

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:23 PM

@Gus Sheridan: Fingers crossed that she is!

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:43 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: I agree hopefully more work on the telly far far to pretty to be on the radio. Get rid of some of the ughbags off our screens

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:50 PM

Oh sweet Jesus how will we survive!!!

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Apr 12th 2017, 4:07 PM

Mairead Who?

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Apr 12th 2017, 9:14 PM

Michael, if you don’t know who she is then why did it interest you enough to click on the story? I hope you get the attention you were seeking.

Mute Josephine Gallagher
    Favourite Josephine Gallagher
    Apr 12th 2017, 10:41 PM

@Michael cunnane: Mairead Ronan

Mute Stephen Harding
    Favourite Stephen Harding
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:19 PM

So what.

Mute Neal, not Neil.
    Favourite Neal, not Neil.
    Apr 12th 2017, 3:35 PM

@Stephen Harding: So avoid topics that don’t interest you.

Mute Stephen Harding
    Favourite Stephen Harding
    Apr 12th 2017, 7:02 PM

@Neal, not Neil.: my point is that it hardly rates as newsworthy.

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Apr 12th 2017, 4:27 PM

Mairead never mind the begrudgers i loved you in glenroe.

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Apr 12th 2017, 7:01 PM

@Taco Burrito: if you had half a brain you’d know i was being sarcastic.she wasn’t in glenroe.

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Apr 12th 2017, 11:37 PM

@Red hurley: I loved you in the Eurovision

She has a face for television!

Mute Linny
    Favourite Linny
    Apr 12th 2017, 7:56 PM

Isn’t her NEW toy boy hubby a millionaire?

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Apr 12th 2017, 5:49 PM

Never heard of her. lol

Mute Taco Burrito
    Favourite Taco Burrito
    Apr 12th 2017, 4:56 PM

Oh no!!!

Mute david bannon
    Favourite david bannon
    Apr 13th 2017, 12:46 AM

Fair city will never be the same