You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The garda communications centre in Dublin. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Would a 'track my crime' system help victims trust garda investigations?

The system is in place in the UK and could come here.

THE GOVERNMENT HAS lent its tacit support to a ‘track my crime’ system for victims to follow the progresss of an investigation in the same way parcels are tracked.

The system, which has been rolled out across a number of forces in the UK, allows victims to see investigation updates like the interviewing of a suspect or an arrest.

Speaking in the Seanad today, Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald said that such a system has “an intuitive appeal”.

The minister was commenting on a suggestion put down by Senator Rónán Mullen who asked whether the Government would consider establishing a system similar to the UK’s ‘track my crime’.

Mullen also sought an update on the Government’s progress on transposing into Irish law the EU Crime Directive which seeks to improve how victims are treated.

In response, Fitzgerald said that any decision on implementing such a system would be down to An Garda Síochána but suggested that she herself sees advantages to it:

A ‘track my crime’ system has an intuitive appeal. As time goes by, people are becoming much more familiar with email, text, tracking systems, smart phones and apps in their interactions with commercial enterprises.

The minister added she will ask acting garda commissioner Noirín O’Sullivan to examine whether or not gardai would want such a scheme implemented and feasibility of doing so.

“I would hope that if any such system was introduced, that it would complement, rather than replace the personal contact which is implicit in the new garda victim liaison offices system,” Fitzgerald said.

Additionally, the Justice Minister says the Government is committed to upgrading he technologies available to gardaí.

The ‘track my crime’ system has also been introduced to police forces in Australia and allows victims print up-to-date reports of their cases for their own records or for insurance claims.

On the issue of the the EU Crime Directive, Fitzgerlad said that work is ongoing on a draft Victims Bill with the final legislation scheduled to be enacted at the end of this year.

Read: Retired judge says victims are being ‘further victimised’ by ‘guards investigating guards’ >

Read: This word cloud shows how racism in Ireland makes victims feel >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Ben Dawkins
    Favourite Ben Dawkins
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:04 PM

Maybe more police in general, not a computer.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 23rd 2014, 6:49 PM

Maybe better equipped and organised police first. Then more police in general.

Mute Paddy Mac
    Favourite Paddy Mac
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:08 PM

The “track my crusty” app would be more interesting, “protest, collect dole, protest, skin up, go on indie media, preen dreadlocks, stoke the fire, dont have shower, eat nettles, meditate, sleep till next protest”

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:16 PM

What about track the bent cop app. Rob money from stations. Let people out on bail to kill women. Cancel penalty points for the golden circle. Plant evidence on innocent people. Lie under oath is standard training and then hide like cowards when there is real work to be done but don’t forget retiring single mothers to laundries after they escaped. They make us proud our boys and girls in blue

Mute Paddy Mac
    Favourite Paddy Mac
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:18 PM

So you’ve a problem with homosexuality cops now also Dan? You’re a pleb.

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:23 PM

Whatever you think yourself paddy

Mute TrueBluDub
    Favourite TrueBluDub
    Oct 23rd 2014, 6:03 PM

It’ll take a lot more than an app to fix the nnngardai. They’re about as transparent and accountable as the Catholic Church. The Ian Bailey trail is coming up soon. I hope the force and their cheerleaders have been working on their excuses. They’ll be needing them.

Oct 28th 2014, 7:19 AM

Dan public are you still out on bail thrn?

Mute Dawn Keeballs
    Favourite Dawn Keeballs
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:02 PM

Oh look an article that mentions An Garda Siochana, I’m glad the comments section has not degenerated into a chance for water protesters to do some bashing, oh wait too late

Mute Janet Coyle
    Favourite Janet Coyle
    Oct 23rd 2014, 3:51 PM

Yeah why not might make the Guards do a bit of work instead of Working for Irish Water

Mute Cb2010
    Favourite Cb2010
    Oct 23rd 2014, 3:53 PM

They need to protect the installers from the unemployed iPhone 6 brigade

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Oct 23rd 2014, 7:25 PM

I hear the unemployed ones brandishing the 6 plus are the ones you really have to watch out for

Mute esos resiak
    Favourite esos resiak
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:20 PM

Ah suckin’ diesel! Now da suspects will know wat the coppers are at when da poor auld victims are postin it all over da BookFace or talkin bout it in da hairdressers

Mute Orange Order Loyal
    Favourite Orange Order Loyal
    Oct 23rd 2014, 3:54 PM

The gardai showing their true colours collectively lately.
    There are certainly some good ones but the majority seem to think they are above the law.
    Going to war with the general public over water charges has done untold damage to community gardai relations.

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:02 PM

Gone to war with the general public? In case you haven’t noticed the water meter installers are also the general public and have a right to work and earn a living. It doesn’t mean they agree with the water charges.

Mute Dawn Keeballs
    Favourite Dawn Keeballs
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:04 PM

Couple of estates around the country but sure draw conclusions on the other near 13000 garda members while your at it

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Oct 24th 2014, 10:32 AM

Judging by the red thumbs Orange I would say the truth hurts, looks like you hit a raw nerve, the trouble is that the corrupt culture is so deeply ingrained that we would need something like the Patten commission to start unravelling it.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:20 PM

No, this is a bad idea

Mute Superfriends
    Favourite Superfriends
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:05 PM

It might helped if they investigated crimes. Have been burgaled, mugged, assaulted in a public area. Gardai never seemed to do anything.

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:15 PM

I think you just need to move.

Mute Summer Bay Devil
    Favourite Summer Bay Devil
    Oct 23rd 2014, 5:52 PM

Maybe you’re the problem?

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:22 PM

A government IT project to keep track of something with a clearup rate south of 50%. What could possibly go wrong?

Mute Adam Murphy
    Favourite Adam Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:25 PM

This makes a lot of sense. The time and effort that you have to spend trying to get an update on a case is ridiculous. From Gardai who were meant to be on-duty suddenly being off, to them not being reachable or appointments being cancelled.

Simple status of case and email or text notifications when the Pulse case has been updated is all that’s needed.

Mute Summer Bay Devil
    Favourite Summer Bay Devil
    Oct 23rd 2014, 5:52 PM

How dare they take a day off. Ombudsman immediately.

Mute Sheik Yerbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yerbouti
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:10 PM

“Your call is important to us.Status Update: Your complaint has now been swept under the carpet”.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Oct 23rd 2014, 5:17 PM

Seems an excellent idea, victims of crime deserve to know what is happening

Mute robbie fowler
    Favourite robbie fowler
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:29 PM

If the cops spent less time harassing inoccent people and protecting irish water maybe we have more faith in them

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Oct 23rd 2014, 5:30 PM

Somehow I doubt that any Garda wakes up in the morning and makes the choice of ‘protecting’ water meter installers vs investigating crime. I’d imagine those orders come from a little higher up. From the Minister for Justice via a certain Mr.O’Brien maybe ?

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:18 PM

What would really help is if they had a member of the public in charge

Mute Paddy Mac
    Favourite Paddy Mac
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:22 PM

So a guard could still qualify?

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:31 PM

Look what’s applying for the top job at the moment paddy. One who falsely arrested Maurice mc cabe ,one who done a full investigation into the penalty points and reported to shatter that all was fine . And then herself of course ,all she is missing is the 20 woodbine sticking out of one pocket and a naggin of powers in the other pocket. Even when she was caught lying about Maurice mc cabe and the pulse system she still stuck to her story. That’s my image of the guards at the moment so I think it would be best if the next Comminshier came from outside the force.

Mute Paddy Mac
    Favourite Paddy Mac
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:43 PM

Ya but Dan it’s a bit harsh not allowing guards be members of the public anymore, Jesus you’d be a tough commissioner.

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Oct 23rd 2014, 4:55 PM

I would be no good paddy. I would arrest to many paddy, like people who pay bribes to ministers to gain state assets, like bankers who lied to government about the state of the banks costing the public billions, like people who sold kids to forigen family’s for personal gain, like people who threw bodies of babies into septic tanks, like people who knew about child sex abause but only made things worse by moving the pedos to new areas. So paddy as you see I would have no time for arresting car tax dodgers or people shoplifting food to feed there family’s

Mute Mumble Mumble
    Favourite Mumble Mumble
    Oct 23rd 2014, 5:02 PM

You should also arrest people who can’t spell and use bad grammar as well Dan.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    Oct 23rd 2014, 5:10 PM

Use grammar badly.

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Oct 23rd 2014, 5:36 PM

Thank you Steve

Mute Mannix Logan
    Favourite Mannix Logan
    Oct 23rd 2014, 8:25 PM

What would you do Dan if you came home some evening and found someone had broken into your house and was possibly still inside?

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 23rd 2014, 8:43 PM

Mannix he’s crap himself and then call the “pigs” to help him!

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Oct 23rd 2014, 9:30 PM

Had my house broken into twice. The first time I got a great response the came to investigate 6 hours later and the second time I didn’t bother to call them but my neighbour who’s house was done the same time called them and in all fairness they were out the very next morning.

Mute Mannix Logan
    Favourite Mannix Logan
    Oct 24th 2014, 3:36 AM

So you did call the Gardai..funny how people use their services in a time of need but run them down every opportunity they get..

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Oct 24th 2014, 10:53 AM

Mannix, you are missing the point, we have to use the current system until we have a new and efficient service in place, we are paying for this current shambles and have every right to use it and make whatever changes we want, we have had non stop cases of corruption and scandals and this has to stop, it wouldn’t be tolerated in any other country.

Mute Patrick O Connor
    Favourite Patrick O Connor
    Oct 24th 2014, 10:26 AM

sounds great, how about a partner app “track my court case” You’ll be able to see that Jimmy was convicted of his 25th offence and got a fine he won’t pay or a nice suspended sentence. include the judge who delivered the sentence.

You’ll also be able to see that the Garda objected to bail but the judge let him out anyway where he went on to commit further crimes.

Mute William Byrne
    Favourite William Byrne
    Oct 23rd 2014, 6:48 PM

IRELANDS MOST EXSPENSIVE PRIVATE SECURITY FIRM

97% ROTTEN 2% GENUINE 1% HONEST

Mute Dan public
    Favourite Dan public
    Oct 23rd 2014, 7:15 PM

Look at all the red thumbs. Would ye ever go back to work and do something instead off messing on pulse and the journal FFS

Mute William Byrne
    Favourite William Byrne
    Oct 23rd 2014, 7:20 PM

It seems a lot of Garda read The Journal -

Mute robbie fowler
    Favourite robbie fowler
    Oct 24th 2014, 8:52 AM

Exactly pigs everywhere smell of them!!!!