You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Donald Trump speaking at a rally in Laconia, New Hampshire on 22 January 2024 Alamy Stock Photo

Trump closer to presidential race against Biden as he wins New Hampshire Republican primary

In the Democratic primary, Biden won the state despite not being officially on the ballot.

DONALD TRUMP HAS won the New Hampshire Republican primary, making it look increasingly likely that he and President Joe Biden will face each other in a rematch later this year.

The last standing alternative Republican option, former UN ambassador Nikki Haley, had put significant time and financial resources into campaigning for a win in New Hampshire but still finished second.

With around 91% of votes counted as of this morning, Trump pulled 11 percentage points ahead of Haley at 54.6% to 43.1%.

In the Democratic primary, Biden was not on the ballot in New Hampshire after not filing candidate paperwork in the state.

However, he won the state’s primary through a write-in effort against minor Democratic candidates. 

Trump has become the first Republican presidential candidate to win open races in Iowa and New Hampshire since the two states began leading the primary calendar nearly 50 years ago 1976.

Haley is the last major challenger in the race after Florida Governor Ron DeSantis backed out of the race at the weekend. 

She pledged last night to stay in the race and push ahead to South Carolina, where she is a former governor. The state will hold the next primary that awards delegates where she will compete on 24 February.

“New Hampshire is first in the nation; it is not the last in the nation,” Haley said as the New Hampshire votes were counted.

“This race is far from over. There are dozens of states left to go.”

Trump currently faces 91 criminal charges related to matters including mishandling classified documents and seeking to overturn the results of the 2020 presidential election.

Additional reporting by Press Association

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

163 Comments
    Mute Seamus Balfe
    Favourite Seamus Balfe
    Jan 24th 2024, 7:48 AM

He’s literally the only man who can save us at this stage!

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:09 AM

@Seamus Balfe: ha ha. Funny man

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:42 AM

@Seamus Balfe: Absolutely

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Favourite Sebastian Manka
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:51 AM

@Seamus Balfe: save ass. His own.

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:30 AM

@Seamus Balfe: the present-day idiocracy, if this is the best the US can come up with, then we’re doomed.

Mute Michael B
    Favourite Michael B
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:27 AM

@Seamus Balfe: us??? We live in Ireland. Literally nothing the man does affects us in any way as President. That includes playing golf, lying, bumbling on for hours about wind turbines and jacks that won’t flush and trying it on with his own daughter.

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:34 AM

@Seamus Balfe: tell me your politically illiterate without telling me and most likely insecure as well. Fascism gas only one outcome. Self destruction and take the rest of us with them. Anyone considering this guy as some shining light is why politics is on its knees globally.

Mute Shane C
    Favourite Shane C
    Jan 24th 2024, 11:53 AM

@Seamus Balfe: the brits will be the only ones who benefit

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:54 PM

@Shane C: trumps isolationist policies mean that his running for election has to be taken seriously. As for the average trump supporter here, they are ignorant of his policies ( easily seen in the way they are unable to go beyond trotting out slogans). American voters are like Russians : absolutely swamped by bs propaganda from right wing media along with social media disinformation. Last nights US tv interviews with his supporters were jaw dropping in their ignorance.

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Jan 24th 2024, 7:38 AM

Sums up America.

Mute Bobby Digital
    Favourite Bobby Digital
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:47 AM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: Sums up Republicans, and especially the fundamentalist “Christian” wing, Mel. I don’t see democrats voting for a proven rap ist, do you? A man who has borderline fantasised about his own daughter. A man who saw a 12 year old on an escalator and thought out loud, you know I could be “with” her in a few years.

Mute Bobby Digital
    Favourite Bobby Digital
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:01 AM

@John P Quinn: you’re terrible at this John, log back in with a different handle and be a bit more subtle

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Jan 24th 2024, 7:49 AM

What is wrong with these people… its there no moral compass in the states..?

Mute doownelg@hotmail.com
    Favourite doownelg@hotmail.com
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:17 AM

@Kevin Conway: You only have to listen to his supporters being interviewed to know they are seriously intellectually challenged.

Mute No Label
    Favourite No Label

@Kevin Conway: Their IQ is on the negative scale.

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:40 AM

@doownelg@hotmail.com: Yes, but they have a vote.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:28 PM

@Kevin Conway: No, there is little moral compass in the States.

The US was founded by those who took the land off natives, committing genocides and other crimes against humanity as they wished. Their system of “justice” support the powerful against the weak.
    Those who “own” the land that is properly that of the natives believe they have a right to shoot and kill any who they believe trespass, probably because in their mind they believe others might do to them what they did to the natives.

Racism is endemic and systemic.

All coupled with a level of ignorance that could not be imagined, until we engage with them. This also makes Americans of lesser intelligence – those that tend to support the US Republican Party – easy to manipulate.

Some, clearly with the same mental capabilities of toddlers, post here on this forum.

Jan 24th 2024, 5:56 PM

@Max: And that’s what’s so frightening.

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Jan 24th 2024, 7:34 AM

Oh no not again!

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:00 AM

@John P Quinn: it’s not a lot really to fix the mess he’ll be inheriting from biden…. but one things for sure, President Trump isn’t afraid to get stuck in,get hands dirty

Mute Brian O'Grady
    Favourite Brian O'Grady
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:42 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: oh he’s dirty alright.

Mute Conrad Stapletwin
    Favourite Conrad Stapletwin
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:20 AM

@Brian O’Grady:

Trump’s tiny hands are filthy and covered in syphilitic sores.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:37 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: i’d say your hands get dirty when you are writing your paragraphs of undying love for him.

Mute Gerry Caden
    Favourite Gerry Caden
    Jan 24th 2024, 11:39 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: he has dirty hands all right

Mute Thomas Hanlon
    Favourite Thomas Hanlon
    Jan 24th 2024, 7:40 AM

Glad the Trump Election campaign is returning for season 3, this is about to get wild

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    Jan 24th 2024, 7:41 AM

Orange warning over the State of New Hampshire.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:29 AM

That juggernaut to the White House is really clipping along now. Peace is coming . MAGA.

TRUMP 2024

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:37 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: thank god for that, we need peace around the world. How will he do it though, if he gets elected president? He hasn’t said How he will. What policies do you think he will enacted to create world peace?

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:47 AM

@HisMastersAlibi: Well….Ukraine for example….President Trump said he’ll sort that out in roughly 24hrs. Imagine that….peace in Ukraine???? No more needless killings of the young lads & lassies of that brave nation. You need to think back to 2016/2020 —- when there was no wars. President Trump sure will have his work cut out for him ( I’m not jealous of his ‘to-do’ list ) but if anyone can get it done he will

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:12 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy:
    But how?
    I mean 24 hours is a long time…
    I could end the war in 24 minutes, no, feck it, 24 seconds, actually.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:22 AM

@KTH: good for you…..24seconds to end a horrendous conflict that’s coming up to its 2 year ‘anniversary’….you been watching those Marvel movies again??

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:32 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy:
    Yet again, you can’t explain anything regarding Trump other than saying MAGA and regurgitating his words.
    What’s his plan to end the war in “24 hours”?
    ?

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:49 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: except for his bombing of syria, constant drone attacks, and backing saudi to the hilt in strikes against yemen with huge civilian cost, but beyond that yeah, narry a War on Donald’s watch.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:52 AM

You don’t think it’s possible to end a war in 24 seconds but it’s possible in 24 hours? LOL. Have you been watching Marvel movies?

You’re gonna have a hernia, call down Maurice.

Can you give one criticism of Trump or is that not possible for his supporters?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:00 AM

Republican voters select republican candidate.
    I’ll never fathom his appeal. Is it people wanting simple answers to a complex world?

Jan 24th 2024, 8:20 AM

@honey badger: It’s more like simple people with a serious lack of intelligence.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:52 AM

@honey badger: hi honey badger….u see what a ‘former staffer’ in the white house said???” It’ll be great to have President Trump back in office.now the world can look forward to peace & coherency”

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:06 AM

@honey badger: ask one of them ‘former’ staffers from the white house…..they’re usually a font of knowledge

Mute Donal Ronan
    Favourite Donal Ronan
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:27 AM

@honey badger: I am just posting a fact. You are incorrect. A quick bit of research would have shown you, that over 40% of the voters in New Hampshire are independent. In other words not allied to either of the corrupt parties.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jan 24th 2024, 11:31 AM

@Donal Ronan: This was a Primary.

Registered Democrats had to vote in the Democratic Primary
    Registered Republicans had to vote in the Republican Primary
    Unaffiliated had to pick one or the other, can’t vote in both so you would think they’d vote in the Primary that matters most to them.

“Around half of voters in New Hampshire’s Republican primary identified as Republicans, while 43 percent said they were independents and 6 percent identified themselves as Democrats”

“Trump dominated among Republicans, winning them by a 3-to-1 margin, while Haley performed well with independents and Democrats. In particular, she won nearly 9 in 10 votes from those who usually think of themselves as Democrats.”

So your Independent Voters that chose to vote in the Republican Primary preferred Haley over Trump by 60%. (that’s in the pic attached to the Washington Post article)

Main point being, Independent voters can’t vote in both Primaries. The ones that chose to vote in the Republican one did so for a reason. I wouldn’t want to speculate what that reason was, I’ll leave that to others.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:28 PM

@Tricia G: in other words….. Democrats that voted in new Hampshire choose ‘bird brain’ haley as they know they haven’t a hope against President Trump. ‘Twisting’ media articles to your own wishes is juvenile fun– the results speak the truth

Mute Donal Ronan
    Favourite Donal Ronan
    Jan 24th 2024, 4:10 PM

@Tricia G: Not interested either way, but I have a question?
    How does anyone including the Washington Post know how people voted?. Your vote is supposed to be secret.

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:43 AM

I’d say The EU elite won’t like hearing this

Mute Liam o Connor
    Favourite Liam o Connor
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:45 AM

Comments open on anything to do with trump but closed on any articles on varadkar, Martin, Ryan, McDonald or Von Der leyn, good auld journal knows how to Keep it’s masters happy.

Mute sleepy joe
    Favourite sleepy joe
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:03 AM

King Trump 2024 ,what a great man

Mute John Bathe
    Favourite John Bathe
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:14 AM

This is a guy who thinks it might be a good idea to inject yourself with disinfectant to kill a virus and windmills cause cancer.. an Irish 9 year old child would know better. (Possibly not an american 9 year old !). I would opt for our 9 year old as opposed to Trumpys brain power..

Mute Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Favourite Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:37 AM

@John Bathe: and this is exactly why is he is wining. Lies like this. A 9 year old can do a simple Google search and see everything you just sprouted there was made up. Well done John ! By any chance are you interested in buying a bridge , I’ve got a lovely one crossing the liffey that’s for sale.

Mute Sea Point
    Favourite Sea Point
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:20 AM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): it totally wasn’t. He said it in a speech while Dr Fauci was sitting in the wings listening and shaking his head aghast. One of those moments anyone who saw it will never forget, it was so outlandish…

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:21 AM

@John Bathe: cool story, it would be even cooler if it was true

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:58 AM
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:18 PM

@Sea Point: listen again, but this time listen for real with your own ears to what he actually said.

Jan 24th 2024, 12:48 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): Oh, we saw it at the time.

We all know what he meant.

And to see the horror on the faces of his medical advisors too.

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:13 AM

I can almost taste the lefty tears lol

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:35 AM

@Rex Tynan: some might say President Trump will/ could have ‘scores to settle’ once elected…like vengeance for those who perpetrated the witch-hunt to try & stop his campaign—– but President Trump isn’t petty like that. In any event, his ‘in tray’ is going to be overflowing trying to clean up the mess & wars of biden administration

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:42 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: Trump wouldn’t stoop so low, he is a decent man, he is better than that, his victory on Nov 5th will be vengeance enough
    Trump 2024

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:57 AM

Trump winning bigly
    Trump 2024

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:01 AM

@Rex Tynan: jeez the bookies didn’t hang around in slashing the odds on President Trump again

Mute Conrad Stapletwin
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:32 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: The bookies are going to make a fortune from all you cultish Chumps 4 Trump backing a civilly liable r a p i s t  loser.

I’m looking forward to Trump’s criminal trials starting in March. I predict an orange suit for the mandarin Mussolini.

Mute Conrad Stapletwin
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:22 AM

@John P Quinn: His criminal trails begin in March of this year, John. Do try to keep up.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:56 AM

Big celebrations in West Clare.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:57 PM

@Willie Marty: maybe his two young lads will come over to pretend to buy a few pints for everyone.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jan 24th 2024, 1:17 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: might get the sea wall built.

Mute CORMAC McCann
    Favourite CORMAC McCann
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:18 AM

Why do so many comments, on so many news articles sound like they are the same person on the journal. Sad excuse for a human being, with nothing better to do than troll news comments.

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:26 AM

@CORMAC McCann:
    Because they are the same person.
    They ban 10 of his accounts, and he creates 10 more…
    lol

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:08 AM

What is it with the US. One candidate for president should be in a home for the bewildered, the other one should be in jail. Can they not find a few decent people to contest the election.

Jan 24th 2024, 12:53 PM

@Eamon: Well, if the one that should be in a home for the bewildered has managed to get an infrastructure bill though Congress, health care reform through Congress, has an economy with the greatest number of jobs on record, a stock market that reached record levels last Friday, and more…

then maybe the US should elect more that ‘should be in a home for the bewildered’?

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:27 AM

you know what? After all the incompetence i saw across the politician, at least that one did not declare a war, and look after his own…. so maybe it’s well deserve.
    91 convictions and still a candidate, you have to admit…wow, sad, but wow

Mute Andy Preneur
    Favourite Andy Preneur
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:48 AM

Usually what happens in the US is reflected around the world. Oil, taxes, loans, insurance, the cost of living, etc have all increased under the current President. If DT becomes the next President and is able to deal with it then it’ll be good for all globally

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:05 AM

@Andy Preneur: NOT TO MENTION THE PEACE President Trump will bring….. turning the economy around will be a major challenge but stopping all the wars & needless deaths– that’ll be a hard slog— but, if it can be done, President Trump is the man

Mute Shane C
    Favourite Shane C
    Jan 24th 2024, 7:35 AM

Oh I’d say the Tory’s are salvating at this as it would save them big time with their Brexit mess and get that deal with the US and to hell with the north and Europe

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 24th 2024, 7:50 AM

@Shane C: Yeah Shane. Sure who needs Europe? Lol

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:39 AM

@Shane C: Trump doesn’t care about the UK (or anywhere else, including the US).

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:09 AM

@Shane C: he wont be dealing with the Tories.They will be obliberated in the next election.

Mute Margaret Gallagher
    Favourite Margaret Gallagher
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:14 AM

Trumps peace plan ? Give Ukraine to Putin Give Gaza to Israel Give Taiwan to China and give any other country that is causing a fuss to North Kore Clean out all opposition to his behaviour in U s and jail anyone who isn’t far right Free the patriots who stormed the capital killing 5 people and any of his mob And rule forever or until his pills run out….And it goes without saying pardon his own crimes financial sexual etc Save Himself as he is the second coming ..

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:28 AM

@Margaret Gallagher: jeez…thats a lot of bile & bitterness. Think back to 2016-2020 before all the wars & killing…. President Trump can & WILL bring stability& peace again. Words like truth , peace, stability… America is voting en mass to return those things. Think MAGA. Trump 2024

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jan 24th 2024, 11:24 AM

@John P Quinn: peacefull protesters??..???????

Mute Conrad Stapletwin

I see the Chumps 4 Trump are here again with more gale force trolling and repeated rubbish.

A message to you all from your beloved cult leader…

Donald Trump: “I love the poorly educated!”

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:51 AM

If Superman was real, he’d be Donald Trump, awesome
    Trump 2024

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 24th 2024, 11:35 AM

@John P Quinn: brilliant! Lol

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Jan 24th 2024, 5:42 PM

@Rex Tynan:
    If you say so yourself…
    And you did literally say it to yourself…
    One of your accounts talking to one of your other accounts…
    SAD
    lol

Mute carol mullen
    Favourite carol mullen
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:01 AM

@Jimmy Wallace: more like the anti christ
    America is a basket case.

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:13 AM

Must be the only high profile job in the world where the person with the most undesirable qualities has the best chance of success. The standard of person to become the US President is at an all time low – the wording on all US bank notes should be changed to God Help America

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:25 AM

@Ken McCarthy: I think I’ll make a point of sharing former Trump staffers words from now on.
    Let’s face it, your doe eyed transatlantic swooning is better positioned to discern the truth about Trump than the multiple people who’ve actually worked alongside him.

Thanks for inspiring a great idea.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:31 AM

@honey badger: yeah cause its really been successful so far ( about as successful as the vile witch-hunt). FORMER staffers quotes John Lennon– ” give PEACE a chance”

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:45 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: It’s true what what they say about leading a horse to water.

“The depths of his dishonesty is just astounding to me. The dishonesty, the transactional nature of every relationship, though it’s more pathetic than anything else. He is the most flawed person I have ever met in my life,”

Tell me why you’re such a fan of a guy who leers over his own daughter?

“Trump was lewd about his own daughter. “Aides said he talked about Ivanka Trump’s breasts, her backside, and what it might be like to have sex with her,”

Jan 24th 2024, 12:56 PM

@John P Quinn: Do you have fantasies about your daughter too?

Birds of a feather, and all that.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 1:40 PM

@honey badger: good stuff….u finished now with the ‘ slava urkraine’ malacky you used to be at all the time????

Jan 24th 2024, 4:39 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: Slava Ukraini

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:56 AM

Ken Mccarthy, I can’t reply to you unfortunately. I was hoping you would have the answer to HOW Trump would stop wars. Can you answer that please? HOW will Trump Stop the Wars ?

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:02 AM

@HisMastersAlibi: If I had President Trumps solutions …… I would’ve had a ‘run’ for the White House myself. No doubt the President has a ‘long slog’ ahead of him after Nov 5th but if anyone can restore world ‘order’….. let’s be honest….its President Trump

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:30 AM

@Ken Mc Carthy: I thought he said he would sort it out within 24hrs,not a long slog. I’d normally judge a politician on their policies,past and future. He didn’t say how he would fix these wars,so are we just going to blindly accept his word. That would be quite silly thing to do.As an adult I would never blindly take someone’s word unless there was a proven past and even at that it would be a push. Maybe can you tell me where Trump has explained his policies on anything please ?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 24th 2024, 9:31 AM

@ Ken McCarthy:
    Let’s get the ball rolling:

cnn.com/2020/06/04/politics/officials-who-criticized-donald-trump/index.html

You’re welcome to outline how you know better, of course…

Jan 24th 2024, 1:01 PM

@John P Quinn: Which on that long list of Trump staffers is incorrect?

CNN are merely giving you a list of those people.

So, tell us who on that list should not be there?
    Which ones did not tell us what Trump is like?

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:12 PM

Never thought I’d say this but the world stage needs him. The military machine is out of control, he might just reign it in because Biden is out of control.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:33 PM

@Niall Murphy: Not good news for the US arms industry true…….. but why should tye world care to make them exorbitant profits off the young lads& lassies dying daily in Ukraine,Gaza, Palestine etc??? We had zero wars under President Trump before & I sincerely believe we can have peace once again.

TRUMP 2024

Jan 24th 2024, 2:00 PM

@Niall Murphy: If the military machine is out of control, then you need to take that up with Putin.

Or do you think we should allow a tyrant to gain control over a people that want to be free of russian oppression, that want to develop their own democracy, that want to be able to choose their own future?

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:35 AM

As plain as pie, that Trump will be President again, whether a free man or in jail. Otherwise, we will see a second civil war in the US.

Jan 24th 2024, 1:03 PM

@Max: So, those who support Trump will not accept his defeat, and will start a war to impose their will on the majority, to overthrow democracy.

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:33 AM

He may be a shill for Israel and a unrepentant liar but he’s got my vote.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 24th 2024, 8:14 AM

Oops

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:50 AM

Americans deep fear of immigration combined with woke nonsense is at root of this madness.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:04 PM

@Hotirish: lol deep fear of immigration and entire nation built on immigration. As for woke, only the republiclowns use woke as some sort of slur when nothing could be further from the truth. Woke is a badge of honour. If you’re anti woke you’re pro fascism.

Jan 24th 2024, 12:22 PM

@Ian: tell me you haven’t a clue what racism is without telling me you haven’t a clue what racism is ! Jesus wept.

Jan 24th 2024, 1:07 PM

@Ian: It’s farcical, isn’t it?

A nation of immigrants, immigrants who stole from the natives, killing as they went, has a deep-seated insecurity about immigration.

They fear that what they did to others will be done to them.

And you are perfectly correct about ‘woke’, a term that signifies awareness, as distinct from ignorance.
    Those that use it as an insult don’t even have the intelligence to realise they are insulting themselves.

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:05 PM

He’ll be knocking one out to his daughter in celebration. The poorly educated here love him like he lives them (except he doesn’t).

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:41 PM

@Tom Dillon: jeez do ye biden.bots have no ‘floor’ to the levels of depravity & vulgarness ye’ll sink to??? Repulsive & sickening we expect after the failed witch-hunt but try & climb out of the gutter

Mute will harte
    Favourite will harte
    Jan 24th 2024, 11:06 AM

So far Trump has received 0.05% of the vote and it’s over? Some democracy alright, funny he’s not talking about elections being rigged when he wins, unlike 2016 when Ted Cruz beat him in Iowa

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Jan 24th 2024, 11:59 AM

A r8pist running for highest office. To think that you have to be a ‘lefty’ to be appalled by lies, misogyny, homophobia, SA, etc. …. I’d go so far as to say that the American people will get what they deserve (electoral college vs popular aside).

Mute Fran Scanlon
    Favourite Fran Scanlon
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:59 PM

There was never a doubt.

Mute M To The B
    Favourite M To The B
    Jan 24th 2024, 1:03 PM

@Fran Scanlon: indeed and yet he can barely win 50% of the votes. Lot of republicans don’t want him it would seem

Jan 24th 2024, 1:15 PM

@M To The B: Fully 43% of Nikki Haley voters said they would vote for Biden if Trump becomes the Republican candidate.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 1:46 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: 87.5% of voters said they didn’t approve of the weaponizing of the justice department as part of the baseless witch-hunt

Jan 24th 2024, 2:06 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy:

A majority of US voters support the indictments of Trump
    Look it up.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 2:12 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: for what though?????? President Trump did nothing wrong—- even the grassroots Democrats have admitted that & said the witch-hunt was an unmitigated disaster. It backfired spectacularly

Jan 24th 2024, 4:36 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: The courts will decide if whether Trump did something wrong.

That’s the way it is supposed to be.

Which Democrats has “admitted” that Trump did noting wrong?

Holding people accountable, or trying to hold people accountable, is never the wrong thing to do.

Trump is a walking crime spree.

Mute Wayne Shoes
    Favourite Wayne Shoes
    Jan 24th 2024, 11:39 AM

Peter Murray is back lol

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jan 24th 2024, 10:20 AM

Smaller Margin AGAIN? He simply Won’t have the Numbers to beat Biden!!! Loser 2.0

Jan 24th 2024, 1:14 PM

@Mick Hanna: Since 2016 Trump has lost every election.

He cost the Republicans control of the House.

Then Trump lost the US presidential election.
    And then the Senate.

The mid-term election ‘Red Wave’ that has always accompanied a Democratic admin (as Blue Waves accompany Republican admins) did not materialise.

The record clearly shows that Trump is a loser.
    And the best asset of the US Democratic Party.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 1:43 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: u not get a paper today???—- ALL the headlines running with ‘another victory for President Trump’. Anyhow, the proof of the pudding will be Nov5th. I’m predicting another landside victory.

MAGA

TRUMP2024

Jan 24th 2024, 2:03 PM

@Ken Mc Carthy: ‘another landside victory’?

Trump has never won a landslide victory of the American people.

He didn’t even win a majority in the 2016 presidential election.

Mute Ethan Ireland
    Favourite Ethan Ireland
    Jan 24th 2024, 4:17 PM

Trump for President!

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:45 PM

There surely should be an age limit to be in charge of the most powerful country and currency in the world!

Mute will harte
    Favourite will harte
    Jan 24th 2024, 3:07 PM

@Mike: yep, must be over 35

Mute Gearoid O'Ceilleachair
    Favourite Gearoid O'Ceilleachair
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:24 PM

The censorship in this publication is worse than appalling. The maga crowd can follow a narcissist who can generate false positivity while excoriating false narratives like climate change modelling.

Those promoting academic indulgences and the pseudo-intellectual mob following dire predictions and pretence will block any dissent, and that is the difference between electing a narcissist and holding out for something better.

There was nothing wrong with my previous comment that was erased.

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 24th 2024, 12:29 PM

@Gearoid O’Ceilleachair: ‘nothing wrong with my previous comment’….. ah, cmon now…it was gobbledegook

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 24th 2024, 3:24 PM

You people living in an alternate reality, where you ‘believe’ this is more than entertainment are priceless!…please never stop, lmao