You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Associated Press

Here's what fans can expect from U2's Dublin shows

What songs have they been playing? What’s the stage set like? And what have fans made of the tour so far?

(A version of this article was originally posted on 14 September)

AFTER MUCH SPECULATION, U2 finally confirmed in September that they would be playing four nights in the 3Arena (the Point) as part of their European tour this November.

The gigs are long-since sold out – and the band have already been wowing fans on Irish shores at their gigs in Belfast.

So what can the lucky fans who secured tickets for the Dublin shows look forward to in the next few days?

Here’s how the tour has been going down so far… 

RockArchives / YouTube

The band didn’t have the most promising start to their world tour – with The Edge taking a tumble off the stage mid-set, inciting a slew of inevitable jokes. 

edge

After Bono’s long lay off following his bike crash injury it had people worried – but he was fine! 

This was the set-list from the opening night… 

Fans were pretty impressed with the state-of-the-art stage show: 

RTE2fm / YouTube

And the reviews were pretty positive too. Case in point, Rolling Stone: 

rs Rolling Stone Rolling Stone

Tragedy struck the tour in the opening weeks however, as the band’s long-serving tour manager Dennis Sheehan passed away: 

den

Since then the lads have been back to their usual on-stage tricks – like inviting their own tribute band to perform alongside them

tributeband1

And of course, there have been some inevitable Bono speeches along the way.

bono

The band arrived in Europe at the start of this month, and speculation about Irish gigs gathered pace as a result.

The Edge seemed cautiously optimistic, telling The Irish Times:

“This show is designed for a type of venue and unfortunately there isn’t one, certainly in the south, I think there might be one in the Belfast area so we’re looking at that as well.”

Just a few days later, the concerts were confirmed.

“We’re grateful to our overworked crew who finally cracked the reconfiguring to fit these venues,” Edge said.

There has been more drama since – with the band forced to cancel their gigs in Paris last weekend in the wake of Friday’s terror attacks.

Bono paid tribute to the victims of the atrocity in Belfast on Wednesday, telling the crowd: “We refuse to hate because we know that love will do a better job.”

Want to see more? There’s plenty of footage from the gigs so far on the group’s website. 

u23

Read: This is what people were jiving to the last time U2 played Belfast

Read: Bono: ‘These people are refugees, not migrants’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

63 Comments
    Mute SEAN LYNCH
    Favourite SEAN LYNCH
    Sep 14th 2015, 9:08 AM

Legends, great music,and Irish, and proud ,what’s not to love?

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:23 PM

The fact we can never get tickets to their gigs?

WP
    Mute WP
    Favourite WP
    Sep 14th 2015, 6:45 AM

Here’s what people can expect:

A tax-avoider with a hair transplant, who likes to dine with war criminals, will wrap himself in a tricolour while talking about bad things that happen somewhere in the world.

Bono is a pox.

Mute Itchie Rooney
    Favourite Itchie Rooney
    Sep 14th 2015, 7:06 AM

And all the while your contribution to society so undeniably righteous.

WP
    Mute WP
    Favourite WP
    Sep 14th 2015, 7:14 AM

If by ‘righteous’ you mean paying taxes here and not hobnobbing with war criminals, then yes.

Also, is Larry Mullen righteous saying the same thing about Bonos friends? – http://www.independent.ie/woman/celeb-news/bonos-friendship-with-war-criminals-makes-me-cringe-26502302.html

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Sep 14th 2015, 7:30 AM

do you pay millions in taxes here too ?

Mute Itchie Rooney
    Favourite Itchie Rooney
    Sep 14th 2015, 7:42 AM

1. Bono pays more personal tax in Ireland then you and I combined would pay in 50 lifetimes.

2. Meeting leaders of the richest countries in the world for dinner to lobby for funding help people suffering for AIDS in third world countr……..

Actually ya know what, fu(k it……. You’re right. He’s a cu#t.

WP
    Mute WP
    Favourite WP
    Sep 14th 2015, 8:00 AM

enjoy the concert lads.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:31 PM

@ WP

well said

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:32 PM

@ Bilbo Baggins

so if he pays millions in tax.. he can break the law?

Mute Geraldine Brennan
    Favourite Geraldine Brennan
    Sep 14th 2015, 6:32 AM

To quote my mother “even if that fella was singing in our back garden I wouldn’t listen to him”

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 14th 2015, 8:58 PM

gotta love the begrudgers on this article..that would probably turn the shower cold if they tried singing in it!! Its usually a good idea to get facts right before you display your complete lack of knowledge..it doesn’t make you look silly the Here’s some facts for you, Bono does pay tax in Ireland, because he lives in Ireland, he pays income tax. U2 are a registered company in Holland, the company pay taxes in Holland, because they save money over there. U2 are also well known philanthropists, that means they spend a lot of money on charities and helping others. Bono has helped thousands of kids who had AIDS or could have got it, with his own money. He’s done so much you couldn’t even imagine. so I’m sure he’s not in the least bit bothered by your anti U2 or Bono singing in my back garden put downs. I am though, because I am proud that he is Irish and so am I, and he has represented us all over the world.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 14th 2015, 9:01 PM

oh..and U2 are donating €2million to music generation, from the Irish concerts…I think that tops you.

Mute DecKav
    Favourite DecKav
    Sep 15th 2015, 9:39 AM

Well said Jenni. Spot on

Mute Ken Coogan
    Favourite Ken Coogan
    Sep 15th 2015, 1:24 PM

That’s a great story. Got any more like that?

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:10 PM

You are about as irish as he is

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:27 PM

@ Geraldine Brennan

your mother has nothing in common with Bono

she condemns all war instead of picking and choosing, she pays tax etc

Mute David Hefner
    Favourite David Hefner
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:18 AM

U2 haters are so passé now.

Mute Rodney Dangerfield
    Favourite Rodney Dangerfield
    Sep 14th 2015, 6:59 AM

Whingebags. Wrong side of the bed this morning folks?

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Sep 14th 2015, 7:24 AM

He’ll probably bore the arse off the audience with his saint bono routine !!

Mute Sean Johnston
    Favourite Sean Johnston
    Sep 14th 2015, 8:15 AM

Even if U2 paid everybody’s tax in the country for them and wiped out the national debt with their billions, they’d still be sh!te.

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Sep 14th 2015, 9:12 AM

And Irish begrudgery would still be alive and well.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:34 PM

@ Sean Johnston

is your avatar Sam Peckinpah ?

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:54 PM

Loved Thin Lizzy, Rory Gallagher, Horslips… no Irish begrudgery, they’re just shite..

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Sep 14th 2015, 6:37 AM

Old men in U2 trying to appeal to the young.
    Doesn’t work.
    Most of the people who attend Rolling Stones concerts are on the pension.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:29 PM

U2 are tax dodgers ffs

they supported clinton

they supported bush (with their silence on the “war” in iraq)

they supported obama

mark my words.. they will support any action taken in Syria (because it benefits the good ole USA)

Mute jason stenson
    Favourite jason stenson
    Sep 14th 2015, 8:59 AM

don’t mind the other three lads, but as for that bono, he’d give you ire on the back of your balls

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:50 PM

Brilliant..

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Sep 14th 2015, 7:44 AM

When U2 pay taxes in the country that educated them, then we might be able to provide schools with some much needed money to continue to educate this generation of children. Children in the school where I work as an SNA haven’t got the resources as there is no money in the school to pay for it. Myself & the staff in the school often buy resources from our wages for the children. What a country we live in. But then as Joan, Enda & co keep telling me that I’m out of the recession.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Sep 14th 2015, 8:04 AM

All 4 members of U2 pay tax in Ireland. Huge amounts of it too.

Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Sep 14th 2015, 8:05 AM

I have a lot of respect for people who work as SNAs. It’s a tough and challenging job at times. But really as an educator yourself you should educate yourself with the facts and not just believe the populist rubbish you read.

Bono lives in Ireland and pays his income taxes here. Possibly millions every year. A relatively small portion of income from the company he works for, ie: U2, is. Registered in Golland and as such that small part of the company pays tax there. Not Bono, the company, of which I believe there are 5 directors, meaning 5 decision makers. It’s really simple economics but sure don’t let facts get in the way of a good online rant

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 14th 2015, 10:18 PM

so its alm U2s fault your school is not funded. I hope your not teaching social economics. My local national school had two SNA let go…As disgusting as that is, and we are fighting for them back, I have never heard the excuse ” this is all U2s fault” used ever. cop on.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Sep 14th 2015, 9:13 AM

Here’s Waltham you can expect- A ticketmaster farce!! This ticket less scheme is a joke and I bet you touts pick up loads! The site is still loading 12 minutes later after telling me after 8 that no tickets could be found! I have punched in 2 standing tickets for christ sake and it was only 8 minutes past 9!!

Mute Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:13 AM

Let the haters hate, I’ll be there tomorrow night singing my head off, U2 always put on an amazing show

Enda
    Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Sep 14th 2015, 12:46 PM

Can’t wait to see it . Got tickets to the Stockholm gig

Mute David Hefner
    Favourite David Hefner
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:25 AM

Saw them at the first two shows of the tour. You’re in for a treat. Best band in the world. I don’t give two s$!ts what the begrudging w*****s on the journal say.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Sep 14th 2015, 8:53 AM

bono..what the f— is bono…sure his shit don’t stink

Mute Bob Freeman
    Favourite Bob Freeman
    Nov 22nd 2015, 10:42 PM

Bono is a pox

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Sep 14th 2015, 8:55 AM

I don’t see why he is not arrested. .he still lives here on and off. Are they that special and untouchable

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Sep 14th 2015, 9:07 AM

so not living full time in Ireland means he should be arrested?

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Sep 14th 2015, 10:48 AM

@OCallaghan TP – Maybe you should be arrested for the stupidity of your comment.

Mute Bren MC
    Favourite Bren MC
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:31 AM

Bono thinks Noonan is a great finance minister. Bono needs to lay off the spliffs.

Mute Andy mahony
    Favourite Andy mahony
    Nov 22nd 2015, 10:57 PM

Tomorrow will be a beautiful day for me, cannot wait. Dublin’s finest

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Sep 21st 2015, 12:17 PM

What time will U2 come onstage at the 3 Arena ?

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Nov 22nd 2015, 10:27 PM

It’s 8:20 I think and it’s a 2 and a half hour set.

Mute Conor Dunne
    Favourite Conor Dunne
    Nov 23rd 2015, 5:35 PM

@Ivorpapst, I was at the London gig and they came on at 8.30pm and seemed to do the same in Belfast.

Mute Nelly Bergman
    Favourite Nelly Bergman
    Sep 14th 2015, 10:01 AM

Been to a few concerts with ‘rock’ stars from a different era. Nostalgia fest for public and performers, every time. Like akward school reunions. Some are into this and some arent. And sometimes separating author from his/her music is best for music. Anyhow, for these who are going – have a good time.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:36 PM

@ Nelly Bergman

do you pay your tax ?

Mute Louise Ní Riain
    Favourite Louise Ní Riain
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:16 PM

Boring bono

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:40 PM

@ Louise Ní Riain

well tonight
    thank god its him
    instead of you

Mute Louise Ní Riain
    Favourite Louise Ní Riain
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:39 AM

But there won’t be snow in Africa

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:25 AM

Larry Mullen always looks like he’s bored stupid at their gigs

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Nov 23rd 2015, 8:05 AM

I think I remember an interview with Larry Mullen where the interviewer asked ‘why are you still doing it Larry?’ And he responded ‘ just to look at the bank account and see the money pile up.’

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Nov 23rd 2015, 12:34 AM

More bollocks!

Mute Bren MC
    Favourite Bren MC
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:33 AM

Theres only one irish rock legend ever and its philo R.I.P. u2 doesn’t hold a candle to thin lizzy.

Mute David Hefner
    Favourite David Hefner
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:02 AM

‘Giving out’ as its called in Ireland is s f*****g national pastime. Moan moan moan.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:19 AM

With that blonde wig, Bono is looking more like Shirley from EastEnders…. And why does he keep make roaring gestures all the time like he is getting a tonsil examination?

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 23rd 2015, 1:00 AM

Have a front row ticket but not going now.
    Too dangerous.
    Bono’s a friend of the White House.

Con
    Mute Con
    Favourite Con
    Nov 22nd 2015, 10:24 PM

And Adams STIFF LITTLE FINGERS T SHIRT in Belfast a Highlight

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:24 AM

With that blonde wig, he is looking more like Shirley from EastEnders these days…. Disappears forcacfew months and returns with a full head of hair !!!lol ….and why does he keep making roaring gestures like he has bad gas or is getting a tonsil examination ?

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Nov 22nd 2015, 11:08 PM

Next time

Mute Andy mahony
    Favourite Andy mahony
    Nov 22nd 2015, 10:59 PM

Tomorrow will be a beautiful day, cannot wait. I2 come home..c’mon the boyz

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Sep 14th 2015, 10:42 PM