You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
BRITAIN COULD POTENTIALLY leave the European Union as early as next year as Prime Minister David Cameron is allegedly already putting plans in motion to bring forward an in/out referendum by a year.
If Britons vote to leave the EU, this means the country could technically start severing its ties by the end of 2016.
The Conservatives won the May 7 General Election with a 12 seat majority. The Tories will have to deliver a referendum by 2017 over whether Britain will stay part of the EU or not, since it was a linchpin pledge during the campaign.
AP / Press Association Images
AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
According to the Guardian newspaper, which cited unnamed government sources, Cameron is keen to move the referendum forward, in order to capitalise on Tory support and to avoid being caught up in the French and German elections in 2017.
“We had always said that 2017 was a deadline rather than a fixed date.”
Another source said, “it was made pretty clear that the European council [the grouping of the EU’s 28 leaders] would not engage seriously until the election result was clear. Now they know they have to deal with us and they want the UK to stay in the EU.
“We expect the negotiations to take place in 2015 and 2016 so they finish well ahead of the French presidential elections [in the spring of 2017] and the German federal elections [in September 2017].”
EU referendum pressure
The Conservatives are under pressure to hold an EU referendum amid growing disdain for the 28-member bloc’s influence over the UK.
Couple this with the fact that 3.8 million people who voted for the UK Independence Party, which is opposed to staying in the union, and the number of Eurosceptics from other political factions and it could be a very real threat to Britain’s EU membership.
However, although the Tories are pushing through the promise of a referendum, the party is largely against leaving the EU.
In January last year, UK Chancellor George Osborne said that the Tories were determined to deliver on the promise of a referendum but they would prefer to stay within the EU and negotiate “a better deal.”
“Our determination is clear: to deliver the reform and then let the people decide,” said Osborne in a speech at a Tory party conference on January 14. “It is the status quo which condemns the people of Europe to an ongoing economic crisis and continuing decline. And so there is a simple choice for Europe: reform or decline.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
A friend once educated me on the reality that when a goverenment wants to distract its citizens it creates an enemy. Putin is under pressure for his lack of social justice .so what does he do creates fear .
Jesus Christ, look at the war on communism, the war on drugs, the war on terror and now back to Russia again, all manufactured by the military industrial complex, wake up and smell the bloody roses will ya, Washington are masters at manipulating the people into believing this shite.
Everything is America’s fault.”
- No not everything – just most of the worlds Terrorism – and the present situation in Ukraine – why did Biden and Mc Cain go there to encourage this fascist led govt .??
This is part 1 of a 2 part private investigation into the Maidan massacre, a very interesting 20 min video that explains the events of Feb. 20th and tears apart the corporate media version of events that the Berkut fired on unarmed activists, a must watch for anyone following the events if you have the 20mins to spare: http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=668_1399131016
The comment is now only 20 mins old and received 7 red thumbs, shows the unwillingness and ignorance of some to not even look at the video posted, they’d rather believe what the corporate media tells them?
Joe – it’s very interesting to see an alternative viewpoint on those events, and the video does raise some interesting questions with regard to what was portrayed on Western media – however, even though the narrator avoids hysterical outrage, and makes his point calmly, it would be irresponsible to declare the version of events described in your link as Gospel. As always, the truth is probably somewhere in between.
Good video – but are people ready for in depth news like that – I doubt it . They prefer 7 second sound bites – and then wonder why the politicians and bankers walk all over them .
The US is biggest Terrorist state on planet – and there is plenty evidence – which has been put here showing McCain encouragement of the Fascists – and Bidens visit – but these events do not appear a lot in mainstream ” news ” .
US has many factories/corporations in this little tax haven called Ireland – . This is what they call ” soft power” – and it works .
Its obvious they want a civil war in Ukraine – but as Orwell said ” if u control the media/present -
— u control the past – if u control the past – u control the future ”
I agree Watcher, it’s just a little worrying when a news channel like BBC or any other can show a little more than 2 clips completely out of context of what’s likely a few hours of events leading up to these shootings and people fall for it hook line and sinker, as I said on the last article when I posted this link up I felt it was high impact but very low on substance and was suspicious about it for that reason.
It certainly is an interesting video, but there are some issues with it. Like how the maker claims that Maidan protesters were throwing grenades yet the footage is not consistent with grenade detonations. He also makes the claim that only because the Maidan protesters had firearms did the Berkut respond, something which cannot be verified as none of the evidence really says who brought firearms to the table first.
I watched the video yesterday and I wondered whether the term ‘grenade’ was a mistranslation as the footage showed what looked like a petrol bomb being thrown when the word was used in the commentary.
As an overall observation, the director certainly succeeded in his goal of showing that Berkut were firing at armed demonstrators in the clips shown, but this still doesn’t explain how all the unarmed demonstrators got killed, particularly when independent journalists who were at the scene reported that the shots were being fired from Berkut lines.
Glad I built my underground bunker, it’s almost complete and will sustain 3 people for about 6 months. I have space for 2 more, not sure who to pick as the space is fairly small
I’m still waiting for someone to point out which Article or Articles in the Ukrainian Constitution (either the 2004 or 2010 version) make the current government ‘illegal’.
Actually it was Russian TV who started calling the Maidan protesters “terrorists”. Indeed Putin was “protecting” Russia from “international terrorism” back in 1999 when he was justifying the destruction of Chechnya.
Something also unique about anti-Americans. When they claim 9/11 was a false flag and back it up with with spurious waffle, they ignore Ryazan. In Ryazan, Russia there was a series of bombings of apartments blocks blamed on Chechens. It turned out to be either directly organised or at the very least assisted by the FSB. The difference being that instead of spurious evidence, there was testimony from FSB insiders and Russian soldiers. And instead of the conspiracy nuts, whose only goal is to thrive on being “in the know” and being smarter than “sheeple”, the people who investigated Ryazan were respected journalists who only cared about the truth.
Watcher under 2010 constitution parliament required 333 votes to begin impeachment. They got 328. That’s why the current gov is illegal ie it’s executive head was illegally deposed.
Chechnya was about to become an Islamic sharia state within the boundaries of Russia. How that can be compared with Iraq which the US etc invaded based on a made up story is beyond me. The Chechens got a federal subject state within Russia. They cannot have a sharia state. It’s funny, the Egyptians elected Morsi fair and square. Didn’t last too long did he once he started at the Islamic lark? The idea that this is some kind of moral contest between west and East is incorrect. But the west has lost the moral high ground. And the US is risking the safety of everyone on this continent by recklessly prodding the Russians in Ukraine. The neocon doctrine lives on with Obama. The US policy is to isolate and demonise Russia so she can never be a constraint on US power as the USSR was. The US Ukrsinian takeover has blown up in her face and she cannot accept it. We may all pay a heavy price yet.
So do explain to us Riddle, why is it ok for Russia to force self-determination on a part of the Ukraine (among other areas) while violently cracking down on self-determination in their own country?
Riddle, would you be saying the same if the Party of Regions/Communist Party coalition retained power? In any case, even if we are to take the impeachment as failed, Yanukovich has through his own actions rendered himself unable to fulfil his duties, and in such a case, the Constitution specifies that those duties fall to the Chairman of the Verkhovna Rada, as is the current situation.
I suppose if Yanukovich feels strongly enough about it, he can head back to Kiev and reclaim his office.
Watcher we all know Yanukovitch ain’t coming back. Tell me though, as I actually respect your view, where you think this will end. From my view I see that Ysnukovitch was deposed in, shall we say, less than gentlemanly fashion. Ukraine promptly lost Crimea to Russia. Would you agree Crimea is gone for good? Do you agree the US has no intention of fighting a war with Russia over Ukraine? What do you think will happen? We know the Kiev gov is trying to suppress the separatists. Will they agree to increased autonomy for the eastern provinces? The only quite guy now is Putin.
Riddle, I think Ukraine needs to accept Crimea as gone. Perhaps they can retain a constitutional claim as a form of protest, but they need to be realistic about it – so in order to avoid a NI Troubles type situation, they might need bite the bullet as Ireland did, and abandon any International claim, while still reserving the right to re-incorporate it in the future, should the majority require it.
As for the East – Kiev is going to be slow to increase autonomy, given how they were betrayed in Crimea, but it would, if possible, be the best option, in my opinion. We’ll have to see who gets elected at the end of the month.
I’ve posted before about how the US, EU and Russia all have differing notions regarding Ukraine’s future. The US want Ukraine to come West, and put a new Iron Curtain along their Eastern border. The EU (“Fugg the EU”, remember) want an EU-oriented Ukraine with trade ties to Russia.
This ‘dotted line’ is the US’s worst nightmare – Ukraine as a bridge between Russia and the EU, Russia as a bridge between EU/Ukraine and China.
Russia need to protect their military tech, which is still developed to a large extent in Ukraine – probably not too bothered about Ukraine in the EU as such, but seriously concerned about the EU being a stepping stone to NATO – that’s a serious no-no – imagine NATO having access to the tech that guides their missiles, navigates and operates their rockets, subs, ships and jets.
On the other hand, the potential cost of invading Eastern Ukraine is too high. I posted earlier on the risks Putin would face in that case – but still, in order to maintain some Russian influence in Ukraine, he needs to make the right noises, so that when the Separatists are suppressed, he can applaud and say “Jolly good effort, guys – we can try again later” and maintain credibility.
The best outcome for all Ukrainians, I fear, is now beyond reach – polarisation has kicked in. Ukraine (and Belarus, also) should ideally straddle the fence and form an economic link between EU and Russia – but, as above, the US cannot allow that to happen. I hope I’m wrong on this front, as Ukraine could very quickly stabilise with the help of both the EU and Russia, and prosper.
Actually, a delegation from Ireland/NI/UK might not be a bad idea, to de-escalate the situation. Probably more effective than OSCE, who are too closely aligned with NATO. On the other hand, in October Jens Stoltenberg is taking over as head of NATO, so if we can all hold on till then….
It may be an issue whether the government in Kiev is democratic or not, but it is an issue for the people of Ukraine. Russia May be next door, but it is a different country and what Russia is doing would be no different then the UK using a segment of the Irish public revolting against the Dublin Government as an excuse for annexing parts of Ireland.
There is actually no issue – the previous incumbent government have accepted the legitimacy of the current government, and offered NO resistance to voting them into power. Says an awful lot, really.
It’s no joking matter that Ukranian’s have to stand up and fight for their land, because if they don’t then the whole of Europe is staring the Russian army in the face. I wouldn’t like to see a war over all of Europe but it has happened before and I wouldn’t trust Putin to try it again as the Russian economy faces more sanctions.
@ Vlad : very good article
As I stated at the beginning of this crises ,one of the main reasons behind the turmoil is the driving of a wedge between Russia and Europe. Angela Merkel visited Washington on Friday to discuss the current problem in Ukraine among other problems She is under enormous pressure from German business leaders , Siemans, VW. Mercedes, EON etc, not to allow German industrial interests be sacrificed to USA Geopolitical and Wall Street interests.
Angela Merkal coming from the former East Germany knows only to well what Russia is capable of. Germany post WW2 is almost totally dependent on NATO for its defence can swim with the fish but could get eaten by the sharks.
For people who don’t believe how strong the right sector are in this conflict, this 10 minute clip may give some insight. : Ukraine crises caught on Camera. This you will not see on BBC. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKuDzXAgdf4
Vlad, Padraic – that article is no more than an opinion piece riddled with factual inaccuracies and deliberate mis-statements. That said, however, it is blatantly clear that the EU and US are not entirely on the same page re Ukraine. I am of the opinion that the EU feels that the US solution to this crisis is a compromise, which can later be built on.
On the other hand, Ukraine’s military R&D industry supplies Russia with a lot of its high-end military technology, and Putin needs to protect that – but to do so by military force would mean pushing a lot further West than may be comfortable (he would need to secure Dnepropetrovsk and Zaporizhia, at a minimum, and that far West, he doesn’t have the same level of pro-Russian sentiment as in the Donbass).
He seems to have gotten away with annexing Crimea, but if he were to move on Eastern Ukraine, he would be raising the possibility of making the likes of Belarus, Kazakhstan and Krygryzstan very nervous, and disrupting his plans for Central Asia. In addition, a protracted military action in Ukraine may inspire the likes of Moldova, Chechnya and Georgia to open up new fronts.
It reminds me of the filmed crissis in Chechniya which showed Russian tanks destroying a hospital killing everyone and using their track vehicles to crush fallen bodies into the muddy ground until they were no longer recognisable.
So americas allowed to invade any country it wants around the world (for oil)? But Russia is not allowed to go across the border too rescue russian speaking citizens that are been attacked? fair play to putin if u ask me nice to see someone stand up to the yanks cant be one rule for one and one rule for another.
Well said. It’s the utter hypocrisy of it all and the utter stupidity of the majority of people who believe what their told from the media that gets me.
“So Americas allowed to invade any country it wants around the world (for oil)?” That myth has been doing the rounds for years now. Now that the U.S. has withdrawn from Iraq, the conspiracy theory that they wanted Iraqi oil has finally been put to rest. Unfortunately there are STILL some people out there that think otherwise.
Iraq recently struck a deal with China to sell oil to them:
“rescue russian speaking citizens that are been attacked” Do you really think Putin cares for Russian speaking people? If that is the case why doesn’t he protect gay and bisexual people IN Russia that are constantly being harassed and attacked:
So Putin using Insurgents in Ukraine is him standing up to the yanks? You don’t think the people of Ukraine have the right to live a peaceful life? What do you expect the Ukrainians to do, just sit there and allow Putin and his cronies to annex region after region? If the shoe was on the other foot, do you think Putin would do the same? Obviously not, just look at how he deals with Chechnya and Dagestan.
As others have mentioned before, All Putin is doing is trying to distract from the abysmal economic record:
And this was happening long before sanctions were imposed on the country.
Sooner or later this is going to come to an end but it should have never happened to begin with. All Putin had to do was keep his lapdog Yanukovych on a tight leash, yet he failed to do so.
“So Americas allowed to invade any country it wants around the world (for oil)?” That myth has been doing the rounds for years now. Now that the U.S. has withdrawn from Iraq, the conspiracy theory that they wanted Iraqi oil has finally been put to rest. Unfortunately there are STILL some people out there that think otherwise.
Iraq recently struck a deal with China to sell oil to them:
“rescue russian speaking citizens that are been attacked” Do you really think Putin cares for Russian speaking people? If that is the case why doesn’t he protect gay and bisexual people IN Russia that are constantly being harassed and attacked:
Another issue in his Russia is alcoholism. People are drinking themselves to death in the country, yet he doesn’t bat an eyelid for this issue:
bbc.com/news/health-25961063
So Putin using Insurgents in Ukraine is him standing up to the yanks? You don’t think the people of Ukraine have the right to live a peaceful life? What do you expect the Ukrainians to do, just sit there and allow Putin and his cronies to annex region after region? If the shoe was on the other foot, do you think Putin would do the same? Obviously not, just look at how he deals with Chechnya and Dagestan.
As others have mentioned before, All Putin is doing is trying to distract from the abysmal economic record:
And this was happening long before sanctions started.
Sooner or later this is going to come to an end but it should have never happened to begin with. All Putin had to do was keep his lapdog Yanukovych on a tight leash, yet he failed to do so.
Ohh very sorry liam they invaded Iraq for weapons of mass destruction (that didnt exist) my mistake but settled for oil and gold. Was it Libya or Afghanistan for oil ? They have so much going on I get very confused my bad but fair play to u cause u seem to be well educated on these matters …. nsa
Iraq as soon as it went to Chinese Al Qaida took Falloudja and Ramadi. A little before Kurds struck a deal with Turks and started to sell their own oil. And a little fact: America withdrew from Iraq just like the Soviets from Afghanistan – because it lost! To whom? To Iran of course. Iran-Iraq-Syria-Libanon are now a local axis fighting regional war against Arab monarchies backed by the US. But that’s another story. Back to Ukraine..
In Ukraine there is a proxy war between US and RF. Ukrainians and local Russians are just cannon fodder and colateral victims. US actually brought the war within Russias doorstep after being blocked and outmaneuvered in Syria. Having a US 6th fleeet in Sevastopolj (after Ukraine joining NATO) would be end of Russia even as a regional power. Then US could come back to ME and finish with the Iranians (and their shia Crescent alies) once and for all. Simple as that.
Estonia/Latvia/Lithuania (1944-56); Korea (1950-53); Hungary (1956); Vietnam (1960-75); Czechoslovakia (1968); War of Attrition (Israel/Egypt 1969-70); Eritrea (1974-1990); Ethio-Somali War (1977-78); Afghanistan (1979-89); Transnistra (1992); East Prigorodny (1992); Tajikistan (1992-97); Georgia (1993); Chechnya I (1994-96); Dagestan (1999); Chechnya II (1999-2009); Georgia (2008); North Caucasus (2009).
Not exactly pacifist, either. Plus, this list does not include UN-mandated missions Russia may have contributed to, although the US list above, clearly includes some UN missions.
@ Watcher
I’m not saying that Russia is pacifist! But it nowhere near USA on the aggression scale, however western “free and independent” media paint Russia exceptionally in dark colours when America is brining peace and freedom around the world!
By the way Estonia/ Latvia/ Lithuania were part of USSR at that time and Chechnya is part of Russian Federation so this were internal, local conflicts!
I’m aware of those conflicts being effectively internal, Vlad, and I wasn’t planning on getting into the technicalities – but, for example, you list Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia as being ‘attacked’ by the US, when in fact the governments of those countries requested US intervention, and it was one conflict rather than 3 separate wars.
Also, as I said above, you have included conflicts where the US was part of a UN-mandated mission, which, since Russia holds a UNSC veto, can be considered to have Russian approval, even if no Russian boots were on the ground.
@ Watcher
Just for your record, Chechnya was never granted independence by Russia that’s in fact why the war happened! By your logic Donetsk and all eastern Ukraine are independent now??! Fighting for it and having it is a bit different! What actually Chechnya got at the end is federalisation exactly what people of Eastern Ukraine asking for!
Re LDPR, while party describes itself as centrist and reformist, it is usually regarded as far-right due to its charismatic leader! Who has a long tongue that’s for sure, but LDPR activists not running around Moscow beating and abusing people just because they are not Russians! http://youtu.be/ABdPiV1xf7o
“but LDPR activists not running around Moscow beating and abusing people just because they are not Russians!”
…says you.
“The LDPR’s interactions with the lunatic fringe has, at times, even included direct cooperation with openly neo-fascist individuals, like Viktor Yakushev, Sergei Zharikov, Eduard Limonov, Aleksey Vedenkin, Aleksei Batogov, or Nikolay Kuryanovich. Since 2004, Dmitry Rumyantsev, founder of the National Socialist Society, has been an assistant of Sergey Ivanov, member of the LDPR and State Duma. Rumyantsev is a convicted racist. In 2008, he has been given a one-year suspended sentence for hate speech while six members of his former organization were recently sentenced to life imprisonment for killing 28 “non-Russian” people.”
@ Watcher
I’m not following LDPR and not sharing their views! But if the facts u stated here are true and one member of parliament had an assistant who was involved in racism…! These people were persecuted and even got life terms as u stated below! Would u be able to find some facts on Right Sector activists being persecuted and sentenced to life in Ukraine!??
Vlad – please don’t misunderstand – I was not accusing you of supporting LDPR. I was making the point that if we can label the Kiev government “fascist”, then by the same definition we can apply the same label to the government in Russia.
As for Right Sector – we’ll have to wait and see if any of their members were among those arrested in Odessa, and if so, it certainly will be interesting to see how any found guilty are sentenced.
On Chechnya – “Chechnya was never granted independence by Russia” – reminds me of somewhere else…where could that be? Oh, yes – Crimea was never granted independence by Ukraine…
Crimea voted to join Russia as did Chechnya back in 2003! ( On March 23, 2003, a new Chechen constitution was passed in a referendum. The 2003 Constitution granted the Chechen Republic a significant degree of autonomy, but still tied it firmly to the Russian Federation and Moscow’s rule. The new constitution went into force on April 2, 2003).
Crimea, as a Ukrainian autonomous republic had no legal right to vote to join Russia. Chechnya tried to leave Russia in 1991, and declared independence in 1993. From 1996 to 1999, Chechnya was de facto independent under the terms of the ceasefire. Interestingly, under the ceasefire agreement, the final details of independence and the status of Ichkeria were to be decided in 2001. But then the actions of some Dagestani Muslims in 1999 prompted Russia to invade Chechnya.
@ Watcher
It’s not correct to compare Kiev government and Russian government this days! The current Kiev government came to power as a result of unconstitutional turnover, riots and 80+ casualties among civilians!
As for Right Sector being persecuted for massacre in Odessa I personally doubt it! Kiev already put the blame on police chief and started looking for Russian trace. Let’s wait and see but mark my words, people really involved in those killing will mainly escape!
@ Watcher
A constitution was adopted in March 1992. The constitution was semi-presidential. It is unclear how long the constitution was even nominally operational. In April 1992 President Dudayev began to rule by decree and in June 1993 parliament was dissolved.
Following the First Chechen War and the Second Chechen War, the constitution was not in force due to the political and social catastrophic situation in the Republic.
…also interesting is that the Chechen constitution was adopted in 2003, and yet the war rumbled on for six more years…I guess not everyone liked the new constitution…
Sorry, Vlad – while I’ll acknowledge technical legal issues around Yanucovich’s impeachment (which are de facto irrelevant, because he has fled the country), the turnover of the government was perfectly legal as per the Ukrainian laws and constitution. In 2010 the second Tymoshenko government lost power to the first Azarov government by the exact same mechanism as we saw at the end of February. In this regard, both versions of the constitution differ only slightly. The 2004 version allows unaligned individuals to make up part of the coalition, while the 2010 version requires that individuals must group together into a bloc or faction.
What happened in the former Yugoslavia was a cluster-fugg. Kosovo might well have been better off as an autonomous republic, but I guess old wounds fester…
:)
“The turnover of the government perfectly legal” come on, are u serious ?? For me perfectly legal are elections, votes not turnovers! And by the way turnovers and revolutions are exactly what Ukrainian leaders succeeded in in recent decade instead of doing their job and make people’s life better!
Unfortunately we are living in the world full of double standards! What’s ok for some country’s and theirs interests is not ok for the others! When u starting playing this dangerous games u have to think of consequences otherwise it will bite u back some day! ;)
Vlad – it matters little what you or I think. As I pointed out, the rules and laws governing the Verkhovna Rada allow for shifting coalitions within the five-year terms of the elected deputies. All that’s needed is a majority coalition. Lose the support of your coalition partners, pack up and move to the opposition benches – that’s how it works in Ukraine. Here in Ireland, if the ruling coalition falls apart, the Dail is dissolved, and elections happen. In Russia, there is no such thing as opposition benches, the entire Duma is the government, administered by a series of committees. Different strokes for different folks… but yeah – turning over a coalition is not only legal, but specifically dealt with in the constitution(s)
The fact is that there was no need in all those casualties on Maidan. Yanukovych wouldn’t survive another elections which were due in less than a year. But corrupted, inpatient and hungry for power Kiev Junta pushed for those actions and now the got what they got… All this blood is totally on their hands but what surprises me most is European blind support for this actions!
“Unfortunately we are living in the world full of double standards….”, etc. – On this, we agree. That’s the whole point I’ve being trying to make on here – both sides are as bad as each other. Ukraine, like every other country has its fair share of lunatic hate-filled thugs, and like many other countries, some of them are even in government. That’s the downside of democracy – people you disagree with get elected by people you don’t like…
Did the Journal post an article about it?I don’t seem to remember one.If it had been Eastern separatists who had shot 10 people dead,the outrage from Western media would have been deafening.The double standards on this Ukranian situation is sickening and also sinister.. Mainstream Western media has disgraced itself.
I think it may have been overshadowed by the horror of what happened in Odessa, plus the wildly differing reports coming from Slavyansk have probably damaged the credibility of the story – RT are reporting 10 dead, a spokeswoman in Slavyansk is claiming 40, and video evidence is of one dead body. It’s hard to tell what is actually happening.
It seems people on here support the ‘Separatists’ because they see them, in a round about way, as opposing the US rather than tearing their own country apart
The same argument could be made against the Maidan demonstrations that descended into mob violence,death and destruction.The situation in the East is a reaction to what happened in Kiev.One would not have occurred without the other.
I have been away for a day or two. Does anyone know the angle on the Chechyan gunmen with the anti Kiev protesters? I thought the Chechyan gunmen were Islamists(radical)?
Why are the anti Kiev protesters being called ‘insurgents’? The same type of people in Syria are called’ freedom fighters ‘ or’ rebels’. The refusal of the Mainstream media to lay the blame for Odessa massacre at the right wing radicals in Ukraine tells us exactly where the West’s geopolitical interests lie.
We know some of the self defense squads are genuine Ukrainians who have major grievances with the coup and subsequent IMF deal. It is also evident that Russia has special forces in the East of Ukraine laying the groundwork for a possible invasion by Russia. It is also evident that Russia is assisting Ukrainians in their struggle against the coup just as the West is assisting the pro Western Ukrainians.
I am really surprised by looking at the comments how many people are falling for the Western media narrative so fully. While the Russian perspective, RT, is biased it is not to the same level as the Mainstream Media.
I would assume the Chechens are friends of Kadyrov, the Moscow puppet/mafia boss who is responsible for the disappearance of thousands in Chechnya, corruption on an unbelievable scale, and mass human rights abuses. They certainly are not Islamist Chechens. Nice to see you paint all Chechens as Islamists though. It really shows your ability to think beyond black and white.
The Islamists involved in the Chechen War were for the most part Dagestani rather than Chechen. It was the fact that they launched their ‘invasion’ of Dagestan from their exile in Chechnya that prompted the second Chechen War, rather than any direct action by the Chechen government (such as it was at the time).
I think it shows Russia has entered an unholy alliance to commit acts o terrorism in Ukraine. Maybe Russia hired Chechen suicide bombers to set fire to the building in Odessa to discredit the new Kiev govt.
Because it was a convenient sound-bite in the first days after the new government took over, in an attempt to discredit their legitimacy. It refers to the fact that the right-wing Svoboda party were included in the new coalition, even though they are only 36 of the 250 deputies in the new coalition. Not exactly nice people, but still not a significant enough faction to justify labelling the entire government.
@ Watcher
U forgot to mention that on top of Svoboda party siting in the parliament, current government recruit ultra right “Right Sector” thugs in to the National Army and sent them to kill their own citizens!!!
I didn’t forget, Vlad. It wasn’t the question that was asked. I also didn’t mention the 56 far-right ultranationalist LDPR deputies in the Russian State Duma.
When you shoot at your own army its treason and should result in dawn execution. But there are Russians doing it too. This means if they get a government cheque and follow instructions from that government I.e. Moscow then its act of war and Ukraine I think is totally justified in taking a guerilla war to Russia and using assassinations. There are rules in war that are followed. If as a state you don’t use a uniform of your state your a mercenary. Large scale such as this breaks all rules. Gloves come off then.
‘Political death’: The EU Parliament fake jobs scam that has cost Le Pen her 2027 presidency bid
4 hrs ago
UNWRA
Gaza rescuers say they recovered 15 bodies after Israel fire on ambulances
5 mins ago
Dublin
Mother and son face losing home after change to tenants scheme
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say