You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pro-China supporters outside the US Consulate in Hong Kong today. Vincent Yu/PA Images

US-China relations deteriorate further as Beijing slams 'barbarous' sanctions placed on Hong Kong

The fresh sanctions from the US came after Donald Trump’s move against TikTok and WeChat.

CHINA HAS SLAMMED the United States for imposing “barbarous” sanctions in response to Beijing’s crackdown in Hong Kong, capping a dramatic week of deteriorating relations between the world’s two biggest economies.

In the toughest US action on Hong Kong since China imposed a sweeping new security law on the territory, Washington yesterday sanctioned a group of Chinese and Hong Kong officials — including the city’s leader Carrie Lam.

The move came after President Donald Trump’s administration forced Chinese internet giants TikTok and WeChat to end all operations in the US, in a twin diplomatic-commercial offensive set to grow ahead of the US presidential election in November.

China today criticised the sanctions as “barbarous and rude”.

“The ill intentions of US politicians to support people who are anti-China and messing up Hong Kong have been clearly revealed,” Beijing’s Liaison Office in Hong Kong said in a statement.

The Treasury Department announced it was freezing the US assets of Chief Executive Carrie Lam and 10 other senior officials, including Luo Huining — the head of the Liaison Office.

It accused the sanctioned individuals of being “directly responsible for implementing Beijing’s policies of suppression of freedom and democratic processes”.

The move criminalises any US financial transactions with the sanctioned officials.

In a short statement, Luo said he welcomed the blacklisting.

“I have done what I should do for the country and for Hong Kong,” he said. “I don’t have a dime’s worth in foreign assets.”

The Hong Kong government described the sanctions as “shameless and despicable”.

A city government spokesman said in a statement that Washington was using “Hong Kong as a pawn in its ploy to create troubles in China-US relationship”.

Tensions spike ahead of election

Beijing’s security law was imposed in late June, following last year’s huge pro-democracy protests in Hong Kong, sending a political chill through the semi-autonomous city.

Since then, authorities have postponed elections, citing the coronavirus pandemic, issued arrest warrants for six exiled pro-democracy activists and launched a crackdown on other activists.

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said the security law violated promises made by China ahead of Hong Kong’s 1997 handover that the city could keep key freedoms and autonomy for 50 years.

“Today’s actions send a clear message that the Hong Kong authorities’ actions are unacceptable,” Pompeo said in a statement.

The US measures come three months ahead of the November election in which Trump, who is behind his rival Joe Biden, is campaigning hard on an increasingly strident anti-Beijing message.

As public disapproval has grown for his handling of the pandemic, Trump has pivoted from his previous focus on striking a trade deal with China to blaming the country for the coronavirus crisis.

Tik Tok, WeChat bans

On Thursday, Trump made good on previous threats against WeChat and TikTok — two Chinese-owned apps with major audiences that US officials say pose a national security threat.

In an executive order, Trump gave Americans 45 days to stop doing business with the platforms, effectively setting a deadline for a potential, under-pressure sale of TikTok to Microsoft.

The move also threw into doubt the American operations of WeChat’s parent firm, Tencent, a powerful player in the video game industry and one of the world’s richest companies.

China condemned the move as “arbitrary political manipulation”.

The new restrictions sent Tencent shares tanking as much as 10% at one point in Hong Kong trade on Friday, wiping almost $50 billion off its market capitalisation.

Trump’s order claimed TikTok could be used by China to track the locations of federal employees, build dossiers on people for blackmail and conduct corporate espionage.

TikTok has repeatedly denied sharing data with Beijing.

WeChat is a messaging, social media and electronic payment platform and is reported to have more than a billion users, with many preferring it to email.

The latest US actions follow a protracted battle over Huawei, the Chinese network and smartphone giant accused by the Trump administration of being a tool for espionage.

© AFP 2020

View 56 comments
56 Comments
    Mute Paul Brennan
    Favourite Paul Brennan
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:08 PM

I just have this image of him shouting “i made the BBC” just like henry sellers on father ted!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:11 PM

Well he,James and Richard are a huge money spinner for the BBC.
    Slap on the wrist all over, when it comes to money pragmatism wins every time.

Mute DeeJay
    Favourite DeeJay
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:40 PM

Top Gear doesn’t make the BBC money. All monies come from the licence fee. It does give them a good audience draw though

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:47 PM

So the Top Gear merchandise to name but once source generates no income for the BBC?

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:47 PM

Of course it makes them money.ever heard of syndication?!Top gear is shown all over the world.

Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:49 PM

Top Gear is amongst the biggest shows in the world, it’s syndicated in almost every country, He would be gone a long time ago if it wasn’t producing so much revenue.

Mute Maurice Dancer
    Favourite Maurice Dancer
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:53 PM

DeeJay it is not nice to spout nonsense from your hoop.

Mute Fergal O'Shea
    Favourite Fergal O'Shea
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:54 PM

And the advertising slots during Top Gear. £££

Mute murpheous81
    Favourite murpheous81
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:36 PM

Top Gear does make BBC money. They sell the rights to it all over the world. BBC does not get enough from the licence payers fee,

Mute Liam Anderson-porter
    Favourite Liam Anderson-porter
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:57 PM

Yes it does, a lot of BBC revenue comes from selling the broadcasting rights for show it makes all over the world.

Mute VoiceOfVanguard
    Favourite VoiceOfVanguard
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:10 PM

Je suis jeremy

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:33 PM

Check you’re facts mate. Tickets for top gear shows are sold out for the next 10 years…top gear has also sold the show to nearly 80 countries, as its owned by BBC they make the profits. Jeremy is part of the show…like him or loath him..he is top gear

Mute Diarmuid O Brien
    Favourite Diarmuid O Brien
    Mar 11th 2015, 12:58 AM

There is only ads before and after top gear.none during!!!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 11th 2015, 6:23 AM

Next time I’m up n front of an employment tribunal accused of punching the boss I’m going to try the “but we’re profitable” defence.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 11th 2015, 7:13 AM

What advertising Fergal? There are no adds on BBC. Syndication is where the massive money comes from.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Mar 11th 2015, 8:07 AM

Ah deejay top gear roadshow merchandise magazine etc

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:14 PM

Pity the ultra-pc bbc weren’t as quick to suspend jimmy saville. But i suppose they have different priorites.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:25 PM

he’s been dead for a good while though which would certainly lower the priority.

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:31 PM

He was there for decades, with all sorts of unsavoury rumours about him and his abuse of unfortunate helpless kids. They knew what he was up to and still didn’t get rid of the vermin.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:05 PM

Here we go. The “I knew he was a paedo all along and somebody should have said something” brigade.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:09 PM

Neal actually a considerable number of people knew Savile had an unhealthy interest in children but because of his celebrity status he was deemed “untouchable “.
    The nurses at Broadmoor Hospital regularly blocked his access to vulnerable children, unfortunately he still managed to abuse.

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:24 PM

Terry wogan said he knew it , esther rantzen said it was widely known in the bbc that saville was up to no good. Saville did not hide what he was up to, too much, and he was questioned by several police forces in the uk. But of course he knew the chief constables or other senior ranks, and could wriggle out of it.
    The point is the senior management of the bbc should have removed him.

Mute Bernie Ryan-Attymon
    Favourite Bernie Ryan-Attymon
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:33 PM

Your last point is probably correct Ann. But, at home here, we have nothing to be proud of either.

Too many examples to quote – but the Comiskey/Fortune saga has always deeply saddened me.

How the Church and its hierarchy completely ignored the calls of its members/paritioners – and simply allowed Fortune to continued abusing innocent children.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:03 PM

Obviously loads of people knew he was a paedo; his victims, of which there are apparently hundreds, definitely knew. Saville was before my time but I remember the first time I saw him and thinking, “What a creep”. I remember Louis Theroux interviewing him and Saville essentially admitting that “Things will come out after my passing on that will show I haven’t always been a straight shooter”, paraphrasing a little but that’s basically what he said to Theroux and refused to elaborate any further.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:55 PM

yep!
    Jeremy Clarkson messing around under the hood of 15 year old escort, doesn`t have quite the same ring to it Ann

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 11th 2015, 6:45 AM

Norman that may be true but in the absence of time travel it changes nothing.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:58 PM

Jeremy Clarkson is a d*ck. He comes across as boorish and arrogant and full of himself. Would I sit and watch Top Gear all weekend long though? Yes.

Would I go on a night out with him? Absolutely yes…

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:40 PM

I have to say that I have no interest in cars at all but I love top gear ! Its the carry on abs the banter between the three of them that makes the show a success . I watched that particular show and it was scary enough for them .

Mute Paul Murray
    Favourite Paul Murray
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:32 PM

And that’s exactly the point right there. Anyone who is actually interested in cars is just frustrated by Top Gear and Clarkson in particular. Fifth Gear is without doubt a much better show. Top Gear is for the masses and the format is so stale now at this stage I couldn’t bring myself to watch the latest series.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:34 PM

Paul I have a huge interest in cars & motorsport in particular. I am also a mechanic. Yes there is a lot of childish behaviour in top gear but these men know their cars & are all very good drivers. The car I drive is influenced by this show.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 11th 2015, 6:46 AM

Poor misunderstood Jeremy. His fist probably slipped because of an oil spill.

Mute Tim Stephen Hendy
    Favourite Tim Stephen Hendy
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:04 PM

Then the producer needs to go. Give the viewing audience what they want.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:09 PM

It really depends on what happened. If anybody hit anybody it really doesn’t matter what viewers want

Mute Tim Stephen Hendy
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:22 PM

Yes of course, but there’s no suggestion the ‘incident’ involved violence. unless another source has alleged so since.

Mute Silver Planet
    Favourite Silver Planet

A “fracas” is a fight

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:06 PM

I’m sure ITV will have their pencils out

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

Hes a boorish di ck head.

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:57 PM

I remember the old top gear before clarkson took it over. It was the most boring thing you could possibly watch. People with the charisma of a wooden plank reviewing cars, boring bottom of the range vauxhalls etc, banging on about the nice cloth seats and how many cup holders it had, what the service intervals were like etc. like clarkson or loathe him, he did make the show.

Mute Charles McDonald
    Favourite Charles McDonald
    Mar 11th 2015, 3:38 AM

Well I never miss a show. I went to top gear live back in our boom was great fun. Picked my misses out of the crowd as they were rating hot girls who went to shows. Admired her assets.

Well Mr Clarkson so do I. So do I

Mute Paul Horgan
    Favourite Paul Horgan
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:03 PM

Matter of time u til he pushed the BBC too far.

Mute Anthony Cole
    Favourite Anthony Cole

I wish that statement had said “suspended by his balls, pending an investigation”

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:12 PM

Used to enjoy it but its gone a bit sh!the lately….;(-

Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:44 PM

Majority of his ‘controversies’ were taken out of context. His comment about shooting workers on strike for example was completely sarcastic, something abundantly clear if you watch the full segment, something most people criticising it never did. He has an awful lot of power, many would love to see him fall.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 11th 2015, 7:19 AM

Exactly Owen…

Mute Dan Smith
    Favourite Dan Smith
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:38 PM

Well that’s my Sunday night ruined.

Mute Brian Nagle
    Favourite Brian Nagle
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:13 PM

Jeremy, Richard and James own the show so bad luck for the BBC

Mute Richard Flynn
    Favourite Richard Flynn
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:33 PM

Jeremy sold his share to the BBC in 2012. Though if they did fire him they would have to pay him twice as he has employment contracts with both the BBC and BBC worldwide for the live shows.

Mute Bernie Ryan-Attymon
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:54 PM

Incorrect RF – the BBC don’t pay anyone twice.

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:08 PM

Ever hear of george entwistle, former director general of the bbc bernie ? He received a golden handshake of £450,000 plus his pension pot of £877,000. This meant he was paid £8,500 a day for his brief stint as dg.

Mute Bernie Ryan-Attymon
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:22 PM

In accordance with the terms of his (one) contract.

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:31 PM

Nothing to do with his contract, the £450,000 was approved by lord patten and when it came to light the poo hit the fan, and rightly so, £1.3 million for 54 days work is obscene.

Mute Bernie Ryan-Attymon
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:41 PM

Yes – a large amount. But his contract was redeemed/paid up – just like footballers (unsuccessful ones, like Torres) being disposed of. It can be more lucrative to get out of a contract – than to fulfil it. Ask Brian Goggin
    /BoI!

Mute Richard Flynn
    Favourite Richard Flynn
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:34 PM

He actually could be paid twice, firstly by the bbc who have a contract with him to present Top Gear, and secondly by BBC Worldwide, a commercial subsidiary of the BBC, who have a contract with him until September to present the live shows, appear on merchandise etc. So if they want to end both of those contracts they will indeed have to pay him twice.

Mute Russell Clum
    Favourite Russell Clum
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:02 PM

I’m far more liberal, view the world much differently than Clarkson, and have enjoyed the show since its inception. We’ve got to lighten up and be able to laugh at ourselves. Jeremy does that. He’s a character on a show, all three of them are. It’s intended to ruffle feathers, that’s the edgy point of the show.

Mute John Paul Mooney
    Favourite John Paul Mooney
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:13 PM

He’s a complete moron with a bit of luck that’s the end of him on telly

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:16 PM

Seems that ‘moron’ is a damn sight more successful and popular than you.I’ve heard of Clakeson as have millions of others, don’t know who you are though.

Mute Bernie Ryan-Attymon
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:18 PM

Norman – you don’t even know who YOU are!!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:21 PM

Bernie I do, I check my drivers licence every morning just to be sure . ; )

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:13 PM

Bernie you friends with Gravel and Will by any chance?

Mute Bernie Ryan-Attymon
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:19 PM

No Norman. Are those your best friends, or some of your creditors?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:27 PM

Bernie nah just your comments seem remarkably similar to those I named.Lets call it coincidence.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

It looks like our old *friend* rodgers,gillwhoever etc is up to it’s old tricks again.
    Just report the account and it will be closed again.
    This thick just walks into it again and again.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:36 PM

Mike he’s not the effort.

Mute Bernie Ryan-Attymon
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:07 PM

Not the effort? No…

You?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:31 PM

Gravel/Will/Bill and now Bernie yeah left out the word effort.
    Btw Henry Sellers was a character on Father Ted , but I’d only expect an Irish person to know this.You and your multiple accounts take care now.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:33 PM

Did it again, you’re not ‘worth’ reporting Will or whatever name you prefer as Mike suggests.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt

He speaks his mind, doesn’t care about being PC, he’s a right wing conservative and people like the show… Looking forward to watching it on another channel, bbcs loss

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:15 PM

Hope he never comes back, he’s obnoxious,

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:10 PM

Clown.

Mute Hereford Bull
    Favourite Hereford Bull
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:20 PM

They didn’t suspend that pervert paedo monster called jimmy savile !

Down with the BBC.

Mute Tim Stephen Hendy

The Argentina incident wasn’t a “gaffe” – some media speculated the registration number had set the locals off, but if you watch the episode it’s clear the Top Crew were attacked for merely being English.

Mute Tim Stephen Hendy
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:23 PM

duh… top gear crew

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 11th 2015, 7:18 AM

The episode that said Top Gear crew edited before showing you is it?

Mute Dec O'Farrell
    Favourite Dec O'Farrell
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:33 PM

” Anyone who reaches the age of 25 who does not own their own car is already an abject failure”. Lovely man alright …

Mute Patrick Bateman
    Favourite Patrick Bateman
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:01 PM

I love how so many people claim to hate the show and dislike him but are able to quote lines and recent topics from the show.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:06 PM

I bet he can get a reservation at Dorsia though.

Mute Patrick Bateman
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:51 PM

J, I don’t want to talk about that now.

*Starts sweating*

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:13 PM

Must show you my new business card…

Mute Patrick Bateman
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:45 PM

“Howard, it’s Bateman, Patrick Bateman. You’re my lawyer so I think you should know: I’ve killed a lot of people. Some girls in the apartment uptown uh, some homeless people maybe 5 or 10 um a girl called J I met on TheJournal, yeah she is dead too”

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 11th 2015, 8:26 AM

Thatcher said that, not Clarkson; he was just echoing her words.

Mute Luke Pepper
    Favourite Luke Pepper
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:01 PM

Ridiculous, people who criticise Clarkson take him too seriously. If you honestly believe that everything he says is his true opinion then open your eyes! He’s a joker and a presenter/entertainer. Just let him do his job, which he has done very well for over 20 seasons!

Mute Fran Cowzer
    Favourite Fran Cowzer
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:20 PM

The amount of paedophilia covered up by the BBC sexual predators Jimmy Saville, Dave Lee Travis, Rolf Harris to name a few and all their time and resources on Clarkson because he’s not politically correct spare me

Mute Mark Bannon
    Favourite Mark Bannon
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:43 PM

I think these yokes are kicking in, I must be seeing things!

On a more serious note, they can’t take Top Gear to another channel but they can bring the lads to another channel under a different name. Even the Stig would have to change his name and quite possibly his appearance

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen

Top gear always reminds me of last of the summer wine, you can only roll a bathtub down a hill once and be mildly funny, but every episode.

Mute Jack Finnerty
    Favourite Jack Finnerty
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:26 PM

Top Gear will be dead if they get rid of Clarkson. Make your decision very carefully BBC, for you are treading on some very thin ice.

Mute ptriley
    Favourite ptriley
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:40 PM

I DESPISE and LOATHE that FOOL

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:01 PM

No need to shout about it , deep breaths ,wax on wax off .

Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric

Always the legend.

Mute Garrett Mullan
    Favourite Garrett Mullan

Yeah its a good programme but employing that tool is not a requirement

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    Mar 11th 2015, 8:04 AM

Erm, you might find it actually is, without Clarkson the show will slip into obscurity.

Yes, he polarizes, yes, he can be obnoxious and absolutely political incorrect, but, that’s what appeals to the viewers of the show, and I’m not ashamed to admit that I enjoy watching Top Gear.

I dare say Jeremy Clarkson as a private person is completely different from the character he presents on the show.

That being said, if he really punched a producer, some sort of punishment needs to be metered out, but not showing the already recorded episodes of Top Gear is just silly.

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:16 PM

We’ll just all have to sit down on Sunday & watch the following so….

SKANGER ME BANGER: http://youtu.be/_RlXJCwSjwg

Mute Barbara o Riordan
    Favourite Barbara o Riordan

He’s a twit.

Mute Matthew Coughlan
    Favourite Matthew Coughlan

Clarkson is a boss

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Favourite Patrick O'Brien
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:12 PM

He is a pompous arrogant P***K

Mute BroadSideSkid
    Favourite BroadSideSkid
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:21 PM

“So, ‘Top Gear’ has slipped in the ratings then?”

“Oh dear! what will we do?”

“Let’s suspend Jeremy again !
    That should be good for a bit of coverage …”

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:29 PM

If they give him the boot, sky or itv will pick up top gear ( if it isn’t locked in to bbc). I reckon as long as ratings are strong, he might just hang on.

Mute alandel
    Favourite alandel
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:40 PM

Clarkson has an estimated net worth of 50 million sterling and he knows that the show will now be a flop without him. I wouldn’t imagine he’s too bothered and I’m sure he’ll be back on another channel soon enough. But will that channel back him as much as BBC backed him over the years? I doubt it. And we all know it’s only a matter of time before he grossly offends another section of society.

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:50 PM

Chickens coming home to roost

Mute Jerry Adams
    Favourite Jerry Adams
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:39 PM

He’s a nobhead

Mute Noel Deegan
    Favourite Noel Deegan
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:24 PM

And finally this top rate pr–k gets what’s coming to him. Imagine if you could if he came to ireland in a car withe the date Of Bloody Sunday on the reg, I wonder what the reaction would be. And then try to worm out of it by saying oh it was just a coincidence, mmmmm think people.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 11th 2015, 6:26 AM

I do think and I still think he’s great fun. The BBC can be horribly bland, it needs its characters

Mute Timothy Hurley
    Favourite Timothy Hurley
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:23 PM

Did Top Gear ever get in trouble for being racist to Mexican people?

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:54 PM

nah – they only called them lazy.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:06 PM

His newspaper columns are fare more entertaining than Top Gear, in my opinion. Although admittedly I don’t drive.

Mute Albert McEinstein
    Favourite Albert McEinstein

Comedian Stewart Lee on Top Gear. I love this.

Hope this YouTube link works…
    http://youtu.be/K7CnMQ4L9Pc

Mute Rita Henderson
    Favourite Rita Henderson
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:03 PM

Albert, thanks for posting the link. A good day – first to read of Clarkson’s suspension and then to see his pathetic excuse for “humour” being called out in a satirical way.

Mute bandido
    Favourite bandido
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:04 PM

Really don’t see why that show is popular anyway.
    I have never found any of the “ha ha look what just happened hilariously and unplanned” parts remotely funny.
    Same thing every week and it’s just boring really

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:09 PM

Maybe now we could get a programme about CARS and not arrogant presenters.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:26 PM

Hangings too good for him.

Mute Dead Ball Browne
    Favourite Dead Ball Browne
    Mar 11th 2015, 1:22 AM

An arrogant bolli.. hope he slides into the past. .

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:32 PM

Can’t stand the programming anyway

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:41 PM

Hes an ignorant f $&#er anyway, cant understand why bbc didnt dump him ysars ago !

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:23 PM

Sorry speed the ignorant yoke, maybe now they will rid the screens of this buffoon. I can just see the other two clowns no knowing whether it was one of his jokes that they were paid to laugh at, or the real deal.

Mute Fiach Moriarty
    Favourite Fiach Moriarty

Maybe the producer was Mexican. Or French….or Argentinian….or German….

Mute Liam O' Leary
    Favourite Liam O' Leary
    Mar 11th 2015, 1:03 AM

Away with ya Clarkson, your’e nowt but a tit!

Mute Pater Byrne
    Favourite Pater Byrne
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:13 PM

quick send in your c.v lol

Mute Lester Jeffcoat
    Favourite Lester Jeffcoat
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:30 PM

Was there a Mexican stand-off?

Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash

Tosser

Mute Edward Malone
    Favourite Edward Malone
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:31 PM

Clarkson at this moment: http://youtu.be/hQrFXNpgH7A

Mute Conor Maher
    Favourite Conor Maher
    Aug 7th 2015, 1:59 AM

test

Mute NiallD
    Favourite NiallD
    Mar 11th 2015, 10:45 AM

Some celebs are volatile. No excuse of course. But this producer has very little experience from what I can see. No way should he have been anywhere near a guy like Clarkson. He was in way over his head.