You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Wire/PA Images

'Good enough for me': Varadkar says he accepts apology from FG senator who described him as 'autistic'

Catherine Noone released a statement this morning apologising for the remarks and saying she withdrew them.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has said he accepts an apology from one of his candidates who described him as “autistic”.

Fine Gael general election candidate Catherine Noone apologised this morning for describing the Taoiseach as being “on the spectrum” and “autistic”. 

Speaking in Galway this morning, he said:

“She has withdrawn her remarks and apologised and, you know, that’s good enough for me.

“Well, you know, it’s not about me. I just think that we all need to be very aware. I’m very respectful of people who have autism, people who are on the autism spectrum and we need to understand that those terms should never be used in a pejorative way at all.

“And this is a government that has prioritised autism more than ever before for special needs assistance, never before more special classes, never before.

I set aside two million this year for an autism awareness campaign to educate the public better about understanding (autism).

The Times, Ireland Edition, first reported the senator’s comments, which she made while canvassing in her Dublin Bay North constituency.

“He’s autistic like, he’s on the spectrum, there’s no doubt about it. He’s uncomfortable socially and he doesn’t always get the inbetween bits,” she said.

If I do say so, I am much more natural than he would be. I’ve been in rooms with him and he doesn’t know what to do with himself. He’s naturally shy. But he’s actually a very good politician.

When contacted by The Times about her remarks, she initially denied using the word “autistic” but she was informed there was a recording. She then said she did not mean the word literally.

This morning, Noone released a statement apologising and withdrawing her comments:

“I unequivocally apologise and withdraw all of my remarks, as reported by TheTimes.ie, which were completely unacceptable,” she said.

My choice of language was inexcusable and wrong. I am truly sorry. I will not be making any further comment.

In a statement, deputy CEO of autism charity and advocacy group AsIAm, Fiona Ferris said the stereotyping of Autism “unfortunately leads to many autistic individuals feeling stigmatised”.

“Autism is a complex, invisible condition that has an extensive clinical diagnostic process. We need to be careful not to engage in ‘doorstep diagnosis’ because we cannot definitively tell whether or not someone is on the spectrum without a full assessment,” she said.

Ferris said autistic people “can of course empathise, just as non-autistic people can”.

“However that empathy may be communicated or even processed differently.

“AsIAm is working on a national level to educate wider society about how autistic people experience the world, and a large part of that is dispelling myths or misconceptions like this which increase the stigma surrounding the condition. We would encourage politicians to learn more about autism and support AsIAm’s #HappierHealthierLonger election pledge.”

- With reporting from Michelle Hennessy and PA 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

100 Comments
    Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Jan 28th 2020, 11:57 AM

Don’t vote for Sinn Féin.

Mute Adam Kelly
    Favourite Adam Kelly
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:00 PM

@Sim0n: why would you say that here? this article makes no mention of sf. what’s wrong with you??

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Favourite Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:02 PM

@Sim0n: DON’T LISTEN TO SIMON. VOTE SINN FÉIN :0)

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:04 PM

@Adam Kelly: Sorry for upsetting you Adam. I was just continuing the recent trend on telling people how to vote in the comments. It’s great fun. @Ebeneezer: stop shouting!! :)

Mute Louise Tracey
    Favourite Louise Tracey
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Adam Kelly: because every article has a SF supporter saying vote SF

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:08 PM

@Sim0n: I’LL STOP SHOUTING WHEN YOU STOP SPOUTING SHYTE

Mute Adam Kelly
    Favourite Adam Kelly
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:09 PM

@Louise Tracey: okay but I and most others don’t agree with that either… it’s so so embarrassing to see that people cannot stay on point with these articles

Mute RAYZ88
    Favourite RAYZ88
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:15 PM

@Sim0n: is that you Coveney

Mute SF Knee Knockers
    Favourite SF Knee Knockers
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:23 PM

@Adam Kelly: embarrassing? Beebaw beebaw SNOWFLAKE ALERT !!!!!

Mute Pascal the Rascal
    Favourite Pascal the Rascal
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Sim0n: Good man Simon – Getting in there before the Sinn Fein numbskull’s.

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:27 PM

@RAYZ88: Is that you Macsharry? This game is fun!

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:37 PM

@Pascal the Rascal: they didnt cover it up, they held a kangaroo court

Mute Eamonn Connaghan
    Favourite Eamonn Connaghan
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:49 PM

@Pascal the Rascal: fine gael and fianna fail, hand in hand with the church would never do anything like that, would they?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:58 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: yes you are absolutely correct. They gave the church a free reign.
    Did any of them make their brother president of a cumann after he had been accused of sexual abuse.

Mute Pascal the Rascal
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:01 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: Thats a lie Mr. Goode and you know it. Catholic church allowed the catholic church to abuse children. And you didn’t answer the question? Google search ‘Sinn Fein Sex abuse cover up’ for me there mate.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:09 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: actually the whole of society was happy to let this happen. Parents sent their daughters to these places knowing what they were like. Parents threatened to send their sons to industrial schools if they misbehaved, knowing what was going on in there. There are more recent cases, where the whole community basically clammed up and refused to cooperate with the gardai in the investigation of allegations against priests and school teachers in the parish. To blame the establishment is fair enough to a point. None of the above bears any relation to Sinn fein covering up abuse or Adam’s behaviour in relation to his abusing brother.

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Connoroconner: Rubbish. You’re victim blaming. FFG were quite happy to ignore the stories of abuse. Dev facilitated it. Others looked the other way. The whole of society did not let this happen. FFG and catholic church had the power to stop the abuse. They didn’t.

Mute Pascal the Rascal
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:52 PM
    Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:14 PM

@Sim0n: Autistic????

Mute Red wine and chocolate cake
    Favourite Red wine and chocolate cake
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:52 PM

@Sim0n: it only encourages them

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 28th 2020, 3:10 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: history is a lot more complex than you seem to think. It’s not that simple. Hindsight is not the most effective way to judge events of the past.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Jan 28th 2020, 5:05 PM

@Sim0n: no intention of

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 28th 2020, 5:43 PM

@Sim0n: Why Not.. Blueshirts/F.F. ? One destroyed this country, The other just piled on to the mess. The status quo is what brought this country to the disaster it now finds itself in.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 28th 2020, 5:47 PM

@Pascal the Rascal: Numbskulls are the people who will vote for blueshirt/ F.F. colition. A vote for either of them is akin to choosing between the pox and the plague.

Mute Damien Gavan
    Favourite Damien Gavan
    Jan 28th 2020, 6:55 PM

@Sim0n:

is that you coveney?

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Jan 28th 2020, 7:59 PM

@Margaret Mcgarry: Good woman Margaret!

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:01 PM

She said “he doesn’t get the in between bits” (socially). Does she? It would appear not.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:19 PM

Weird all right to hear that solicitors are now diagnosing medical conditions!

Mute Dom Layzell
    Favourite Dom Layzell
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:46 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: Country’s gone PC mad.

Mute gm_cmanning
    Favourite gm_cmanning
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:53 PM

@Dom Layzell: how’s that apply here? She’s using autism as an insult, inaccurately calling it an illness and lying about doing it.

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:53 PM

@Deborah Blacoe:
    It’s a peculiar thing for someone to say about anyone, let alone their boss!
    Maybe an element of distraction from the more serious issues going on, at play here.
    Or maybe a sympathy vote….

Mute Susan Crawford PhD
    Favourite Susan Crawford PhD
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:13 PM

This is entirely inappropriate from Catherine Noone. I question this woman’s fitness for office (again). Equally I note Leo Varadkar didn’t mention cutting HSE budgets to carers of adults on the spectrum, our very own forgotten and ignored population.

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:21 PM

@Susan Crawford PhD: Carers of all types are getting a raw deal from this government. I have an acquaintance who is the single mother of a profoundly disabled and medically fragile teenager. (She also has one other son). She gets no home care nursing assistance. She is on call 24/7 and is, quite frankly, at the end of her tether. How much would it cost the state to look after her son if she can no longer do so? As a nation we are failing those who are in need.

Mute LittleBee
    Favourite LittleBee
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Susan Crawford PhD: 2 million set aside for an awareness campaign and exactly how many children with autism were without school places this year? Government throwing money in the wrong areas as usual.

Mute James Dooley
    Favourite James Dooley
    Jan 28th 2020, 6:35 PM

@LittleBee: how much of that 2.5 mlion went to Simon Harris brother for ASIAM and appointing him to top job in Hse?

Mute LittleBee
    Favourite LittleBee
    Jan 28th 2020, 9:22 PM

@James Dooley: To be honest I don’t know much about him or the position other then he has Autism and is the founder of ASIAM. So I would say appointing him is probably one of the more sensible decisions they have made. Are you suggesting he shouldn’t be paid to do his job? From what I read here earlier hes only paid €40,000 which is less then some school secretaries and nurses.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:05 PM

She said it like it’s an insult. It’s not. It’s just how some people are. Usually, but not always, people on the spectrum have exceptional strengths and qualities. Mind you I don’t see any of those exceptional qualities in Leo.

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:10 PM

@Jane: Has she apologised to those with autism or has she only apologised to herr leader?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:19 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: oh I think this apology was especially for poor ole Leo.

Mute Pascal the Rascal
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:41 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: Did the Sinn Fein Councillor that waterboarded a young lad ever apologize?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/ex-sinn-f%C3%A9in-councillor-waterboarded-and-threatened-to-kill-man-1.3065329

Mute Morning Gus
    Favourite Morning Gus
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:35 PM

@Jane: Herr leader! Do you mean further?

Mute Morning Gus
    Favourite Morning Gus
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:35 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: Herr leader! Do you mean fuhrer?

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    Jan 28th 2020, 5:07 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: wow that’s a bit nasty

Mute Joe Nolan
    Favourite Joe Nolan
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:18 PM

Leo has been very gracious in accepting the apology from Noone, just as he was with the remarks from the SF councillor, Paddy Houlihan. However, the issue here is the stereotyping of people with autism and the total lack of self-awareness of a public representative in terms of ASD.

Mute Colm Curran
    Favourite Colm Curran
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:30 PM

@Joe Nolan: well said was just goin to type the same but u done it for me . Acceptance of the apologies and not point scoring or going woe is me shows a bit of class .kudos leo

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Jan 28th 2020, 3:05 PM

@Joe Nolan: Paddy Hooligan actually.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:01 PM

He probably thought she was calling him artistic

Mute Ronan Walsh
    Favourite Ronan Walsh
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:09 PM

@Stephen Devlin: yeah she’s probably dyslexic too

Mute Mark Hannan
    Favourite Mark Hannan
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:21 PM

@Ronan Walsh: she is probably at home right now, writing about it in her dairy..

Mute Pete Gilmartin
    Favourite Pete Gilmartin
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:33 PM

@Stephen Devlin: Nice IT Crowd reference.

Mute Reasonable Responsible
    Favourite Reasonable Responsible
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:24 PM

Catherine Noone is a member of the Upper house of the Oireachtas. She is well educated and is a trained solicitor. We should expect more.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:09 PM

We expected Senate reforms; long overdue and not forgotten.

Mute Mark Hannan
    Favourite Mark Hannan
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:07 PM

Anyone apologizing to the autistic community?

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:29 PM

Deny. Deny. Deny. Oh there’s a recording? Well I didn’t mean it literally obvs! Dope.

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:12 PM

I think Leo’s background attributes more to his social inadequacies and his lack of understanding and empathy, he is most certainly not a man of the people and comes across as very aloof and awkward a bit like the royals, her choice of language was was very immature and poor but I can see where she might be coming from!..

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:20 PM

@Kate Flaherty: to say he lacks empathy is riddiculious. You can’t in anyway know that. Your words are therefore equally immature

Mute Brin
    Favourite Brin
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:27 PM

@Kate Flaherty: I’m pretty sure there are socially shy people in every town and city across the country, regardless of background. I’d actually welcome someone who is now pragmatic rather than the usual ex-teacher or lawyer “people” people who are better at getting people to like them than run the country.

Mute gm_cmanning
    Favourite gm_cmanning
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:55 PM

@Kate Flaherty: people with autism don’t necessarily lack empathy

Mute Jonathan Eastwood
    Favourite Jonathan Eastwood
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:55 PM

Lied until she was told there was a recording, all I need to know about the Senator!

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev

Her comments were completely uncalled for and really unprofessional on her part.

Who cares if he’s socially awkward? I’ll be voting on politicians actions, not their social persona

Mute Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Favourite Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:48 PM

How much is Ms Noone charging for a diagnosis?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jan 28th 2020, 11:57 AM

She didn’t just insult him so he can’t accept the apology!

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:18 PM

@Craic_a_tower: yeah but in fairness that’s part of what he said

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Craic_a_tower: He can accept the apology he just can’t accept it on behalf of others, which he’s not doing.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:22 PM

What about her using the “n” word in her response to the journalist? Has that not been questioned?

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:38 PM

Accepts the apology then goes on to capitalise how much FG have done for autism.. everything’s a sales pitch with this lot.

Mute gm_cmanning
    Favourite gm_cmanning
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:09 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: especially when gaping chasms can be poked in what they’ve done for for people with autism.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:00 PM

He accepted apology quickly because He does not want another ” Wexford” scenario. He is just trying to paper over the Cracks. He cannot pull Her out of it now, she will not get elected anyway. As I said before, you can apologise as much as you like, but words cannot ever be taken back, never, it is there for all time, and most people will not forget, simple as that.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:14 PM

The infighting beginning already.

Mute Sim0n
    Favourite Sim0n
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:43 PM

@Peter McGlynn: I believe Sinn Féin have been taking the lead on infighting for a number of years now. Was it something like 10% of their elected members have left the party in recent years? Allegations of all sorts. You might have seen the articles here previously.

Mute Andre le Flohic
    Favourite Andre le Flohic
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:33 PM

I cannot understand the problem ! Autism is not a shame nor a disease but a mindset which is powerful, attractive, surprising and never dull !! For god sake can we come back to normality !!!

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:21 PM

Leo, like many others seems to be under the impression autism ends at 18. Autistic adults and their carers are just forgotten because it’s easier and more palatable to highlight cute, quirky kids who can flourish in mainstream than kids who can’t and grown adults with challenging behaviours.

Mute J. Reid
    Favourite J. Reid
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:39 PM

Leo Varadkar should sack Catherine Noone from the Fine Gael party. As leader, he should not stand for such disrespectful and disloyal comments.

Catherine Noone is a childish woman. The national parliament deserves better than to have such immature people in it.

Mute Brin
    Favourite Brin
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:30 PM

@J. Reid: As it is not straightforward to diagnose, his reluctance to engage in normal politics may actually be attributed to higher functioning autism or Asperger’s. But as Ricky Gervais said, that’s “not the right kind of autism” for the outraged on here.

Mute gm_cmanning
    Favourite gm_cmanning
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:10 PM

@Brin: she used autism and various associated stereotypes as a slur. What’s not to be cross about?

Mute Ken Curran
    Favourite Ken Curran
    Jan 28th 2020, 10:56 PM

@J. Reid: He cannot sack her from the party but he could tell her to stand down. If she really showed her remorse and embarrassment over her comments she would have de-selected herself from the election.
    She only apologised after being told her comments were recorded. Shame on her.

Mute Furze
    Favourite Furze
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:02 PM

Well he’s hardly at this stage going to drop the “nutter” from the Dublin North Bay constituency.

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:39 PM

Spent some time with her before over a number of days was not impressed by her at all.
    So I’m not surprised at all with today’s reports.

Mute gm_cmanning
    Favourite gm_cmanning
    Jan 28th 2020, 1:37 PM

“Prioritised autism more than ever before”?If that’s the case why did FG have to be forced to accept the minister for education having the power to compel schools to set up special classes where there’s a need and the schools refuse?Why has that power only been under cackhandedly to set up 6 special classes in Leo’s constituency?Is he that hard up for votes?Doesn’t the rest of the country exist?Why doesn’t his government fund secondary ASD special classes like they do primary special classes?Why did lie and edit out the offending section of their own document that said they should?Why r schools permitted to routinely abuse the resources of ASD special classes? Why isn’t there anywhere near enough teacher training and none for SNAs?& why r FG planning to abolish all special schools&classes?

Mute LittleBee
    Favourite LittleBee
    Jan 28th 2020, 5:03 PM

@gm_cmanning: and why is there zero resources or staff training for ASD students in third level

Mute gm_cmanning
    Favourite gm_cmanning
    Jan 28th 2020, 6:53 PM

@LittleBee: not sufficient? I’m sure but zero? Was asked into UCC recently for meeting re transitions and exactly such resources so zero might be overstating it?

Mute LittleBee
    Favourite LittleBee
    Jan 28th 2020, 9:35 PM

@gm_cmanning: ok fair enough maybe not zero but from what I can gather certainly nowhere near enough. I was at a conference with Dr Mark Glynn from DCU who has done amazing work but the statistics of people with Autism entering third level , finishing their degrees or progressing beyond level 7 or 8 in comparison to neuro typical students are a clear indication that there is no where near enough training, resources or facilities to support students with Autism to achieve the same goals.

Mute gm_cmanning
    Favourite gm_cmanning
    Jan 28th 2020, 11:09 PM

@LittleBee: can’t argue with that. And Leo’s gov and the NCSE are planning to get rid of every special class and special school

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:12 PM

I think Leo’s background attributes more to his social inadequacies and his lack of understanding and empathy, he is most certainly not a man of the people and comes across as very aloof and awkward a bit like the royals, her choice of language was was very immature and poor but I can see where she might be coming from!..

Mute y6Qe5BN3
    Favourite y6Qe5BN3
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:05 PM

Is she apologising for an incorrect diagnosis or for deliberately using autism as a foil for insensitive behavior?

Mute Bananaquit
    Favourite Bananaquit
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:35 PM

The best ever government for people with autism. That’s total lies, hundreds of children with autism can’t get school places

Mute Grainne Gillespie
    Favourite Grainne Gillespie
    Jan 28th 2020, 6:53 PM

@Bananaquit: It’s autistic people and autistic children not people/children with autism, the autistic community rejects person first language

Mute gm_cmanning
    Favourite gm_cmanning
    Jan 28th 2020, 6:55 PM

@Grainne Gillespie: some do, some don’t. As long as neither is said with malice and changed if someone prefers

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Jan 28th 2020, 2:35 PM

I have no time for Leo but a comment like that is vile , disgusting and ignorant . She should be removed from FG immediately. I think on this occasion Leo is very gracious .

Mute eddie horgan
    Favourite eddie horgan
    Jan 28th 2020, 5:18 PM

How an experienced solicitor who can blurt out comments that insult her party leader and everyone who might be on the autism spectrum really defies belief.
    She has blown any chance of being elected.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Jan 28th 2020, 3:02 PM

His: ‘ah its alright, no harm done’ completely undermines the idiocy of her statement and is also an insult to autistic people and their families. It would be one thing if she was just your average member of the public that said something incredibly stupid and ignorant that would be one thing, but she is running as a candidate and what she says is meant to carry weight and be influential. All of the people texting in to radio today asking people to leave her alone, and everyone makes mistakes ect. Are they planning on voting for her?

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Jan 28th 2020, 3:09 PM

Nobody else is wondering why there was a recording? Are people that sad that they covertly record canvassers now?

Was there even a recording?

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jan 28th 2020, 4:54 PM

Again saying whatever they want to say for effect and then absolute denial until a recording resurfaces absolutely despicable

Mute Ronan Murphy
    Favourite Ronan Murphy
    Jan 28th 2020, 5:35 PM

A few back when I had a project at the BT Young Scientist in the RDS, I remeber my mate tried to call on Leo, long before he was Taoiseach, as he walked by our stand for your typical photo opp. I still remeber his reaction when we called his name, and thinking he had to have had some social condition.

I honestly felt awkward near him, its difficult to describe it. I am obviously no doctor or in any position to make a diagnosis, but I certainly wouldn’t be one to rule it out.

Regardless, I utterly dispise Noone she is one of the most insufferable politicians in the State. Her personal ambition knows no bounds and her behaviour in certain committee hearings is atrocious.

Mute Ken Curran
    Favourite Ken Curran
    Jan 28th 2020, 11:05 PM

This politician should stand down from the election. Her apology was offered only after she realised her comments were recorded, otherwise she would have continued to deny she uttered the word.
    How can she be trusted to represent any constituency when she shows such a lack of common sense and judgement.
    Will she also apologise to people who are autistic and their loved ones or will she commit to further educate herself about the condition?
    If it wasn’t a general election campaign she’d have been shown the door by the FG hierarchy just as Maria Baily and Verona Murphy were.
    Hopefully, people in Dublin Bay North will reject her at the polls on Saturday week.

Mute HuffnPuff
    Favourite HuffnPuff
    Jan 28th 2020, 11:45 PM

@Ken Curran: oh for god sakes, get a life. Personal correctness has gone mad. She was having a private conversation that was overheard by a reporter. She didn’t stand in front of a mike and announce it to the world. How many of your off the record conversations would you like published?

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary

Silly woman. Put on thinking cap. Don’t be negative

Mute ApexSnow
    Favourite ApexSnow
    Jan 28th 2020, 12:15 PM
    Mute Condorcanqui
    Favourite Condorcanqui
    Jan 28th 2020, 5:03 PM

She’s an idiot and I apologise to all idiots out there for my unfortunate use of a condition and classing her as being from among you.

Mute Anna69
    Favourite Anna69
    Jan 29th 2020, 5:45 AM

my hot photos are here…

http://69-chat.club

only 18+