You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Another €500 million EU arms fund for Ukraine proposed, as von der Leyen travels to Kyiv tomorrow

“The Ukrainian people deserve our solidarity,” the European Commission President said.

LAST UPDATE | 7 Apr 2022

EUROPEAN COUNCIL CHIEF Charles Michel has backed a proposal to release an additional €500 million to provide arms for Ukraine.

“Once swiftly approved this will bring to €1.5 billion the EU support already provided for military equipment for Ukraine,” Michel tweeted, thanking also EU diplomatic chief Josep Borrell for proposing the extra funding.

In the previous €500 million fund given after the invasion of Ukraine began on 24 February, Ireland contributed 1.9% of the total, or about €9 million overall.

Ireland has committed to funding non-lethal military support only as part of this fund – this involves supplying military materials like body armour and fuel.

The proposal was agreed by the 27 EU nations at ambassador level.

“This may seem like a lot, but €1 billion is what we pay Putin every day for the energy he provides us,” Borrell said.

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen announced earlier today that she would travel to Kyiv tomorrow to show Europe’s “unwavering support” for Ukraine in its fight against Russia, she said.

“The Ukrainian people deserve our solidarity. That’s why I will travel to Kyiv tomorrow,” she told reporters during a visit to Stockholm.

“I want to send a very strong message of unwavering support to the Ukrainian people and their brave fight for our common values”.

The EU had earlier this week announced that Von der Leyen would travel to Kyiv sometime “this week”, accompanied by EU diplomatic chief Josep Borrell.

The pair are to meet with Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, before attending the Stand Up For Ukraine event in Warsaw on Saturday.

Their visit is to come after one made last Friday by the speaker of the European Parliament, Roberta Metsola – the first trip to Ukraine by the head of an EU institution since the war began.

The Czech, Polish and Slovenian prime ministers on 15 March visited Kyiv in the first trip by European Union leaders since the start of the Russian invasion on 24 February.

© AFP 2022

View 20 comments
20 Comments
    Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:02 PM

How about some respect here for this woman risking her life to show solidarity….
    You’re a class act Ursula

Mute Gurunandan Shettigar
    Favourite Gurunandan Shettigar
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:57 PM

@David cotter: wtf

Mute Gurunandan Shettigar
    Favourite Gurunandan Shettigar
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:58 PM

@David cotter: you’re a joke aren’t you mate?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:04 PM

@David cotter: I’m not sure about that as she has been very vocal over the years for an EU army. She strikes me to be the type that would piggyback of the Ukraine crisis to get what she wants.

Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:06 PM

@Gurunandan Shettigar: are you Richie sunacks billionaire brother in law

Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:11 PM

@Will: we need an eu army……putin could come for us wake up there’s a madman cut loose

Mute Matthew Donoghue
    Favourite Matthew Donoghue
    Apr 8th 2022, 9:56 AM

@David cotter: we need a federal EU hopefully with some amendments to make it more transparent and with directly elected top positions such as presidents and commissioners.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Apr 7th 2022, 9:25 PM

Fair play to her, wouldn’t fancy that trip myself

Mute Fandandi
    Favourite Fandandi
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:39 PM

Good luck with that Ursula love

Mute LaoisWeather
    Favourite LaoisWeather
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:11 PM

@Fandandi: Amazing how €500mln can be found to prop up Biden’s big donors. Peas in a pod.

Mute O'Brien Michael
    Favourite O'Brien Michael
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:25 PM

That’s it give them more weapons and create more war and more death.

Mute David Hammond
    Favourite David Hammond
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:39 PM

@O’Brien Michael: Good point Michael, they should just surrender and let Putin do what he wants with the whole country. What could possible go wrong?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:45 PM

@O’Brien Michael: Or give them more weapons to defend themselves against the devil himself Putin.

Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:13 PM

@O’Brien Michael: your not a fight them on the beeches type are you Michael

Mute v39e84kK
    Favourite v39e84kK
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:54 PM

Is it a bit strange how many people feel quite okay to travel to Kyiv during this war?

Mute LaoisWeather
    Favourite LaoisWeather
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:12 PM

@v39e84kK: Tis like the Taoiseach visiting Belfast on July 12th like.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Apr 8th 2022, 5:55 AM

@v39e84kK: How do you know they are feeling okay about it? They might do it, but could be planking it.

And what do you mean by strange? From your statement it sounds like you’re questioning that there is a war on, but only a blind f00l would think that. So what exactly are you trying to say but don’t have the guts to say outright ?

Mute Ronnie Smith
    Favourite Ronnie Smith
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:59 PM

Don’t touch any door handles

Mute Anthony Horan
    Favourite Anthony Horan
    Apr 8th 2022, 7:21 AM

I have huge respect for this woman

Mute Mark Dit
    Favourite Mark Dit
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:10 PM

Yes