You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Lots of people say they won't pay their water charges

An Ipsos MRBI poll in this morning’s Irish Times finds that less than half of voters intend to pay.

A THIRD OF households will refuse to pay their water charges next year, according to a new poll.

This morning’s Ipsos MRBI poll in the Irish Times says that 33 per cent of households have said they will not pay the charges while less than half – 48 per cent – intend to pay.

Eleven per cent are undecided and 8 per cent said the issue does not apply to them.

Unsurprisingly the poll shows that better off voters are more likely to pay with those at the other end of the income scale less likely to comply. It also shows that older people are more likely to pay with younger people less likely to pay their Irish Water bill.

Responding to the poll findings this morning, Environment Minister Alan Kelly told RTÉ that over 920,000 people had been in contact with Irish Water with a dramatic increase in registrations in the last two weeks.

“For those who don’t pay their bills, there will be fines, they will be active after 15 months,” he said today of sanctions facing those who don’t pay when water bills arrive next spring.

The poll also found that 60 per cent of voters did not believe the protest against Joan Burton in Jobstown last month was peaceful.

Only 24 per cent said the controversial protest was peaceful. Sixteen per cent had either no opinion or were unaware of the protest.

The Right2Water campaign is planning a mass demonstration against water charges in Dublin next Wednesday.

The Anti-Austerity Alliance/Socialist TD Ruth Coppinger told Morning Ireland said the “vast majority of people” are opposed to water charges.

She said: “Just because people intend to pay doesn’t mean they support the water charges. May of them are paying out of fear because we’ve had a government that has been trying to impose fear on people.”

Read: Alan Kelly cancelled a meeting with councillors about homelessness because of water charges

Read: Here’s how much money local authorities have given to Irish Water

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

196 Comments
    Mute Conor Flood
    Favourite Conor Flood
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:37 PM

A clever take on legislation and another reason to celebrate . Brilliant congrats and “f” the begrudgers

bmul
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:07 PM

@Christian White: so no straight people ever married for money

Mute Christian White
    Favourite Christian White
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:16 PM

@bmul: not that I am aware of no.

See 32 more replies ▾
    bmul
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:17 PM

@Christian White: so all those young models with 70 odd year old millionaires is love

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:19 PM

@bmul: Lol

Mute Skinnerbot
    Favourite Skinnerbot
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:20 PM

@Christian White: “not that I’m aware of”

Mute Trevor Gardiner
    Favourite Trevor Gardiner
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:25 PM

@Christian White: and if he was an old woman?

Mute Christian White
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:27 PM

@Skinnerbot: if you are aware of a similar case involving a straight couple then by all means please link to it.

Mute Skinnerbot
    Favourite Skinnerbot
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:29 PM

@Christian White: Henry XIII right up to Hugh Hefner, and millions in between made a mockery of marriage by your logic

bmul
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:33 PM

@Christian White: so it has to be spelt out for you no independent thought

Mute Christian White
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:34 PM

@bmul: I can’t speak to the motives of unknown hypothetical cases but we do know for fact that the introduction of gay marriage has enabled these two men to commit fraud.

Mute Skinnerbot
    Favourite Skinnerbot
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:36 PM

@Christian White: hahaha of course you can’t you muppet

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:40 PM

@Christian White: fraud lol would you cop on.

Mute James Kearney
    Favourite James Kearney
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:42 PM

@Christian White: thats plainly not true, from hearing them discuss it there is clearly a great deal of love between these two men. The only difference between this and a more conventional marriage is the stated intention not to partake in sexual congress.

Mute Skinnerbot
    Favourite Skinnerbot
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:44 PM

@Christian White: not sure the feeling was always mutual though. I love my best mate as much as any girlfriend, so just shut it and get to your homophobic nuances already. ‘‘Twas the gays that did it, old man yells at cloud

Mute Tedser
    Favourite Tedser
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:45 PM

@Skinnerbot: no,because they didn’t marry to evade tax,try to stay on topic

Mute WJ Dunphy
    Favourite WJ Dunphy
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:45 PM

@Christian White: Um, it’s a same sex marriage, not a gay marriage

Mute Skinnerbot
    Favourite Skinnerbot
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:47 PM

@Tedser: aye because marrying for tax purposes has never been done before? You’ll find I’m bang on topic

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:48 PM

@Conor Flood: Is their stated reason not “an impediment”?

Mute Tedser
    Favourite Tedser
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:59 PM

@Skinnerbot: you cited Henry 8th and Hugh Hefner as your examples,neither married for tax purposes,

Mute Skinnerbot
    Favourite Skinnerbot
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:05 PM

@Tedser: I’m aware of that ye, but surely they made a mockery of marriage? No?

The claim my good friend above is making is that the gays have gone and opened the floodgates by demanding equality; which misses the mark as it’s a case of loopholes in archaic tax laws around marriage that are the issue here, not the equal treatment of the LGBT community leaving a stain on my friends interpretation of marriage

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:49 PM

@Skinnerbot:
    King Henry XIII
    To six wives he was wedded
    One died,One survived
    Two divorced, two beheaded.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:00 PM

@Christian White: Henry beheaded two of them.

karl
    Mute karl
    Favourite karl
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:14 PM

@Christian White: you should have asked god to stop it then !

Mute Tom Malone
    Favourite Tom Malone
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:22 PM

@Aine O Connor: Beheaded two of them? That must have been ok so … for some commentators lol

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:30 PM

@Christian White: Christian White, you truly are the definition of a jackass.

Mute Fintan O'flaois
    Favourite Fintan O'flaois
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:34 PM

@Conor Flood: Inheritance tax is a legitimate tax and this is an illegitimate use of the law to avoid paying what is correctly owed which has nothing to do with begrudgery.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:36 PM

@Christian White: The catholic church tells us marraige is the only game in town. everything else is a sin.

Mute ☀David Grogan✈
    Favourite ☀David Grogan✈
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:41 PM

@Christian White: why are you pointing the finger at gay people? The two men in question have openly said they are straight. It’s the straight people making mockery of marriage if anything. If they mean that much to each other and care that much about each other, as far as I’m concerned, good on them and the best of luck to them both.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott

@Christian White: well you should talk to the straight people who are abusing the system. Neither one of them is gay. So it wasn’t the gays that debased marriage.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Dec 22nd 2017, 7:32 PM

@Christian White: One man can’t afford to pay his friend to look after him in his old age so instead gives him his house after his death and doesn’t want him losing hundreds of thousands in tax… What a scam. Oh and Christian, the example you’re looking for is Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Dec 22nd 2017, 8:26 PM

@Christian White: your 100% wrong, they have not broken any laws whatsoever according to the revenue & lawyers. So stick that in your pipe & smoke it. If your such a devout catholic why do you think is up to you to judge people? Lead your own life the way you want and leave others to do the same. Your not god & have no business in other people’s decisions!

Mute David Mong-oose Mc Gowan
    Favourite David Mong-oose Mc Gowan
    Dec 22nd 2017, 9:29 PM

@Christian White: Marraige has debased itself, in Ireland it happenesd in 1996 when we made divorce legal, if you want marraige to be sacred then move to the Vatican where they have no proceudre for divorce and you can live by your vows knowing that they actually mean something.

If you’d rather stay in a millennial Ireland then grow with the times, the tax is the flaw in this instance, everyone should have the right to leave what they have worked their entire lives for to whomever they chose, and be allowed to die knowing that that loved one will not iccur any financial burden as a result.

I havent read the other replies to your bias statement, that I can only assume comes from a homophobic individual, but I hope your attention has been brought to the fact that this isnt the first marraige that is soley for tax purposes, and they were certainly happening long before the state decided to recognise the rights of our homesexual citizens.

Mute Noj Nikrub
    Favourite Noj Nikrub
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:49 PM

@Christian White: moron

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:14 AM

@Sean Conway: Most religions agree.

Mute Hank_Scorpio
    Favourite Hank_Scorpio
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:34 PM

Makes a mockery of the whole equality legislation. It wasn’t passed for that.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:37 PM

@Hank_Scorpio: it makes a mockery of archaic tax laws not gay marriage

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:38 PM

@Hank_Scorpio: There’s probably been countless straight couples marrying for this exact reason before – they just didn’t broadcast it on the radio!

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:52 PM

@frank murphy: Just because you’re sexually attracted to your dog, doesn’t mean anyone else is! Don’t lump us all in with you…

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:58 PM

@Hank_Scorpio: marriage is primarily about property, money and social standing more than transient romance. Nothing wrong with what they’re doing, perfectly in spirit with marriage.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:07 PM

@frank murphy: Whatever you’re into, you weirdo.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford

@Hank_Scorpio: I think it’s brilliant. The average joe pulls one over on the gangster government.

Mute WJ Dunphy
    Favourite WJ Dunphy
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:42 PM

@Hank_Scorpio: If they consummated the marriage, would you be happy then Hank? It’s none of your business. The advantages as well as the disadvantages of marriage are available to everyone equally in a progressive society. Your bigotry (or maybe just ignorance) is part of the past.

Mute Hank_Scorpio
    Favourite Hank_Scorpio
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:08 PM

@WJ Dunphy: I don’t care what they do. However the equality legislation was passed so same sex couples could marry. They are the same sex but not a couple. They are using the legislation to avoid tax.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:42 PM

@WJ Dunphy: Hang on now, your the second person to accuse Hank of bigotry. I say more luck to the two lads and I’m not familiar with Hank’s comment history but how is what he is saying bigoted? Surely the intention of the marriage equality referendum was to allow gay people to marry, not straight friends to avoid inheritance tax? “Bigot” and “racist” are thrown around so much they’ve lost meaning

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:43 PM

*you’re

Mute Hank_Scorpio
    Favourite Hank_Scorpio
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:01 PM

@John Doe: spot on. Fair play.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:27 PM

@Misanthrope: Marriage is about giving families additional protections under law. People get married to protect their families and the state recognises that through incentives and rights not available to those who are unmarried.

These blokes are not acting in the “spirit of marriage”. They are acting in the spirit of preserving wealth.

The vast majority of marriages in Ireland produce children. That’s the spirit of marriage.

Mute Fintan O'flaois
    Favourite Fintan O'flaois
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:38 PM

@Daniel Wilson: Our tax law applies applies inheritance tax to non related persons and to non spouses – I don’t know what’s archaic or dysfunctional about that. Moreover this has nothing to do with ‘gay’ marriage, it would be equally wrong if this was a marriage between and man and woman. If tax is owed it should be paid.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:39 PM

@Niall Sullivan: not if your male, zero protection unless your married to another man.

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham

@Hank_Scorpio: and your point Is? At least this way the government doesn’t get to ride the gentlemen.

Mute WJ Dunphy
    Favourite WJ Dunphy
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:25 PM

@Hank_Scorpio: it was passed so anybody regardless of gender could marry and anybody, male or female, gay or straight can take advantage of the tax exemption for whomever they choose as a spouse.
    I bet you don’t question the motives of opposite sex marriages.

JMac
    Mute JMac
    Favourite JMac
    Dec 23rd 2017, 2:50 AM

@Hank_Scorpio: why do people refer to the “marriage equality” referendum? It was nothing of the sort. The correct title is the “same-sex marriage” referendum. Nothing to do with equality. Marriage Equality was a lobby group set up to lobby for men to marry other men and women to marry other women, mostly for tax, property and inheritance reasons. That is why these two men have legally married. Equality? Love? Nah! Just tax.

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:42 PM

Fair play as half the world and his wife get married for financial reasons.

Mute James Grant
    Favourite James Grant
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:47 PM

@Mick Tobin: Only if they’re already boyfriend/ girlfriend, so, no, you’re wide of the mark Micko.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:00 PM

@James Grant: boyfriend and girlfriend is just a trial period for marriage

bmul
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:08 PM

@James Grant: even the mail order brides

Mute Thee Orson Welles
    Favourite Thee Orson Welles
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:18 PM

@Mick Tobin: Oh Michael has mr or mrs right not landed into your arms with that charming recant

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:45 PM

Tax evasion is wrong, tax avoidance is not.

Heterosexual couples have been getting married for questionable reasons for eons and nobody bats an eyelid. Why does it bother people so much when two guys do it?

Plus they’re not complete strangers, they are obviously very close friends. Much closer than many heterosexual couples that age.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:50 PM

@Tweety McTweeter:

Spot on. Perfect way to close this thread.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76

@Tweety McTweeter: Can I assume you have zero issue with tax avoidance, irrespective of who is pursuing it?

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:30 PM

@MK76:

Absolutely. If it’s within the letter of the law, I’m sure you would try to avoid tax too. It’s up to the legislature to close tax loopholes and implement a reasonable and enforceable tax system.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:54 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: You have no issue with vulture funds having charitable status and Facebook and Google’s effective tax rates in this country because it’s within the letter of the law?

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:54 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: I’m with you, but wasn’t sure if you were another one of the keyboard heroes who think its okay for the guy like them to do it, but not the other guy.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Dec 22nd 2017, 7:07 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: And it’s not cast in stone that the older guy will die first anyway (although it’s statistical likely) . The younger guy should prepare a will or all his assets would go to the older lad and then onto his extended family by default.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:08 PM

Friends for 30 years but not in a sexual relationship, it’s just like my marriage.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:24 PM

@Ron North:

And it was all for the money too

Mute Hey There Lovely!
    Favourite Hey There Lovely!
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:40 PM

Should have voted No.

Mute Christian White
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:54 PM

@Hey There Lovely!: no campaigners certainly proven right in this regard anyway.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:09 PM

@Hey There Lovely!: Why didn’t you so?

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:16 PM

@Hey There Lovely!: are you single, aging and have a property?

Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:49 PM

Great jesture , haven’t big business being finding tax loopholes for years ,rubbing everyone’s nose in it .apples will be apples .Go for it and enjoy .

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:59 PM

Love the tongue in cheek kiss lol..two fingers to the taxman lol

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:18 PM

Congratulations.

Mute Christian White
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:38 PM

Tax evasion is wrong whether it’s DOB or these guys.

JJ
    Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:43 PM

@Christian White: I bet you’d try to evade tax too if you got half a chance. If not your the fool. The government wastes our money left, right and centre. And besides, why should we be taxed on something that’s rightfully ours. Inheritance tax is one of the most scandalous taxes.

Mute Christian White

@JJ: then lobby to have the law changed, don’t break it.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche

@Christian White: You should tax your own advice. Under current law these guys are doing nothing illegal. If you don’t like that, then you obviously know what you need to do.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche

@Tommy Roche: take*

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:57 PM

@Christian White: paying the government a huge tax bill to inherit something that a loved one has worked hard for and paid tax as they earn…is a crime. Its completely sick the amount the government can screw you for! Imagine paying the government €100,000 to continue living in a house you’ve been living for years in already!! Money for nothing for them. It’s an absolute scandal!

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:57 PM

@Christian White: correct – but this is tax avoidance. All legal.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:10 PM

@Christian White: It’s NOT tax evasion.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:15 PM

@Anne: I get your point but when very wealthy people distribute their estate to their children then same rules should apply? There are limits in place and this tax does fund health etc – then – in effect the non wealthy will need to stump up more. This is a careful what you wish for scenario!

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:35 PM

@Anne: So, a business man invests in property, makes a killing, and his children can inherit 10s of millions………….and it’s ok?

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:54 PM

@Christian White: There’s a difference between tax evasion and tax avoidance. It seems you just troll for attention.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs

@Christian White: It’s not tax evasion you eejit. Tax evasion is a crime. These two gentlemen are totally within the law.

Mute Cde Bru
    Favourite Cde Bru
    Dec 23rd 2017, 2:49 PM

@Christian White: avoidance not evasion

Mute Ray Muller
    Favourite Ray Muller
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:35 PM

This is what happens when a country votes for the pretense of gay marriage and fair play to them for exposing the so called “marriage equality referendum” for the nonsense it is. Why shouldn’t they take advantage of the farcical nonsense this state made out of the institute of marriage?
    Real marriage will always be the union of one man and one woman.
    President Lincoln once asked his cabinet “How many legs does that dog have” pointing at a dog in the room. “4″ was the bewildered reply. “How many does it have if you count the tail as a leg”? Lincoln added. “5″ was the reply.
    “No” said Lincoln. “calling a tail a leg doesn’t make it so”.
    Dito with the modern farce we have made of the institution of marriage.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:24 PM

Best of luck to them both may they have many happy years together

Mute Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Favourite Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Dec 22nd 2017, 7:08 PM

Watched their interview on “Claire Byrne Live” , the older man made the point that if he were to go into a nursing home , as he would otherwise need to , he would be costing the state thousands a month. The younger man was effectively homeless – so again, a saving on the state not to have to pay emergency accommodation for him .

I say good luck to them.

Mute James Grant
    Favourite James Grant
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:44 PM

So many people are thrilled to see two supposedly hetero men being gay. It’s very strange.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:11 PM

@James Grant: I don’t think they ever mentioned anything in their interviews about being gay?

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:16 AM

@Jack O’Connell: They might ‘catch the gaye’

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:42 PM

The World is in the middle of a nervous breakdown me thinks..

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:46 PM

Does this mean we should now legalize ‘sham’ marriages? Why should Abdul be deprived of the right to marry his Latvian princess, whom he has never met before?

Mute WJ Dunphy
    Favourite WJ Dunphy
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:51 PM

@Liam: that makes sweet FA sense

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:30 PM

@WJ Dunphy: Sham marriage for tax reasons, sham marriage for immigration reasons. Both equally sham and both equally illegal, one would assume.

Mute WJ Dunphy
    Favourite WJ Dunphy
    Dec 22nd 2017, 10:29 PM

@Ron North: Not the same thing. Your rights as an Irish citizen always trump the rights of any would-be immigrants.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Dec 23rd 2017, 8:48 AM

@WJ Dunphy: Your comment seems random and unrelated to the comments made so far, it is also incorrect.

Mute Cde Bru
    Favourite Cde Bru
    Dec 23rd 2017, 2:44 PM

@Ron North: No a real relationship exists between these two, a sham is when no real relationship exists, but people are marrying for some other benefit, like immigration, if he was marrying a woman he had no intention of ever having sex with and wasn’t sexually attracted to but had been his friend for 30 years no one would bat an eyelid

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer

The big winners are Michaels there children. It’s a situation that needs more evaluation for sure

Mute Eóin Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Eóin Ó Raghallaigh
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:38 PM

Sure why not..fair play to them i say

Lily
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:18 PM

And they lived happily ever after!

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:12 PM

I have a long term friend ,we go everywhere together and when the same sex marriage referendum was passed we laughed as it is now technically legal for us to marry, except I quickly told her,
    “I would do anything for you but I won’t do that” House or no House.
    I think most straight people just think it’s a step too far as the only reason it’s happening is to get around inheritance tax.
    If the revenue want to do something about it they have the power. Broadcasting what they are doing might backfire on them yet.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:03 PM

It’s all BS.
    If they wanted inheritance rights they could have had a civil partnership a few years ago.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:28 PM

Muppet Show

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:39 PM

@Michael Maher:

And your the main STAR

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Dec 22nd 2017, 8:41 PM

@Casper:Come out from your hiding place

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 22nd 2017, 9:16 PM

@Michael Maher:

LOL

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Dec 23rd 2017, 1:42 AM

@Casper: I’m laughing

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 23rd 2017, 9:56 AM

@Michael Maher:

Lololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololol

ME TOO

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Dec 22nd 2017, 7:11 PM

Why Not?I’m delighted for them.They look like they are very happy and that’s all that matters isint it?

Mute Doh
    Favourite Doh
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:11 PM

They “fudged” the tax system……lol

Mute Catherine cahill
    Favourite Catherine cahill
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:57 PM

Why tell every one?

Mute Cde Bru
    Favourite Cde Bru
    Dec 23rd 2017, 2:46 PM

@Catherine cahill: maybe to highlight the issue that someone should be able to leave a house to someone they shared it with, without having tax implications because they aren’t married irrespective of what their sexual orientation or gender is.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:47 PM

Marriage !!!!, a pagan ceremony, if u happen to believe in the sanctity of marriage then thats worse, u give urself to someone for life in front of God knowing that u cant promise a commitment like that, why wud anyone do that?? The virgin Mary wasnt married and had a child out of wedlock from a different man, so if any of ye ever strayed ur in good company, u can be married now for lots of reasons which makes a mockery of the whole thing, as for living in sin, well we all do that..

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:28 PM

@Slim Browne:

Obviously you’ve never met the right person yet so until you do stop talking shite

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:57 PM

@Casper: casper. U dont come across as a friendly ghost , fyi ive been happily married since 1986, 2 kids, 6grandkids and a loving wife, not all are as lucky as me and it wasnt the fact that I was married that made our relationship it was both of us on the same page , we raised our kids the best we cud , we asked for nowt and we got nowt we just went along with reality and I didnt need to be married to do that, if u love someone ul know it, if u fall out of luv ul know it, and ul move on and u wont have broken a promise that u cud never keep, did u know that crows stay together for life, never seen a crows wedding tho.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:04 PM

@Slim Browne:

Very well said, and I wish you your wife and kids a happy Xmas and all the best for the New year

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:27 PM

@Casper: same to u my friend

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:43 PM

You can bet the gov and revenue will fnd a way around this and change the law..but fair play to them

Mute Bortoli
    Favourite Bortoli
    Dec 22nd 2017, 9:31 PM

@James O’Brien: they’ll send someone around to your house to make sure you consecrate the marriage. Or no new status.

Mute Christian White
    Dec 22nd 2017, 3:56 PM

If you are a man marrying another man then you are gay as christmas.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Dec 22nd 2017, 4:06 PM

@Christian White: is Christmas gay?

Is Santa Clause code for something?

Does it really matter at all?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:00 PM

@Christian White: Christmas celebrates the birth of Jesus, an unmarried man who hung out with a harem of other men. Mary Magdalene was probably written in to make him look het.

Mute RU 486 SAVES LIVES
    Favourite RU 486 SAVES LIVES
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:03 PM

@DaisyChainsaw: don’t you just “love” the “love both” crowd that are on here commenting :-) there is soooo much “love” coming from them :-)

Mute Fiona Gregg
    Favourite Fiona Gregg
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:33 PM

If you put aside the tax and inheritance issues, in my very humble opinion the spiritual basis of this marriage is misguided. Its a decision motivated by money and I know there s a lot of actions motivated by money but the intention of marriage is supposed to be a declaration to the world of a long term commitment to each other in principle. Gays, lesbians,etc… Fought to have that right enshrined in Irish law because they want to have that equality of recognition. To me this lessens the spiritual union of marriage n I m not religious. Anyone can disagree n have a totally different opinion n that’s life.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:01 PM

The ball sacs will be bashing together tonite !! :-)

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:09 PM

Enjoy the wedding night

Mute David Saunders
    Favourite David Saunders
    Dec 22nd 2017, 7:45 PM

Congratulations lad’s

Mute Charlie Farrell
    Favourite Charlie Farrell
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:24 PM

Distill off all the crap like love and hearts and confetti and romance and face up to the fact that marriage is a contract. Full stop.

Marriage should take place with both parties wearing dark business suits, carrying briefcases, in a boardroom with their solicitors present. Just to ensure they understand the gravity of what they’re about to sign up to.

Mute Casper
    Favourite Casper
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:26 PM

@Charlie Farrell:

Live and let live

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:48 PM

@Charlie Farrell: Amazing isn’t it. You buy a house, you go get legal advice, you start a business, you get legal advise, but you enter into a life long legally binding contract that will cost you a fortune to get out of (marriage) and no one goes and gets any legal advice.

Mute Bortoli
    Favourite Bortoli

@Brian McDonnell: love is blind. But these guys have their eyes wide open.

Mute peter crew
    Favourite peter crew
    Dec 22nd 2017, 5:51 PM

I bet they were watching the last couple of episodes of Boston Legal and thought we can do that

Mute Jaune Fujisawa
    Favourite Jaune Fujisawa

Lots of comments. Some judgmental and not though through. But mostly good. I hope. Me, I say what legends. Hope it works out. Legends

Mute Pat Redmond
    Favourite Pat Redmond
    Dec 23rd 2017, 10:15 AM

The first 16k only would be free from inheritance tax and the rest would all be taxed at 33 percent. In America people can inherit 1 million without any tax. Ireland has one of the meanest inheritance tax regimes in the world. It’s another mean tax grab by the government.Fine Gael promised to review inheritance tax in the last budget and failed.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Dec 23rd 2017, 7:50 AM

I have no problem with what they’ve done, but I thought openly admitting it on tv and radio might cause them problems. Sham marriage legislation has been introduced to prevent marrying just to achieve citizenship. I’d say the relevant government department is stroking their chins……
    http://www.thejournal.ie/sham-marriages-ireland-3724543-Nov2017/

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Dec 22nd 2017, 8:45 PM

SWEET DEAL

Mute Una Nolan
    Favourite Una Nolan
    Dec 22nd 2017, 11:29 PM

Delighted for u both, congrats

Mute Joseph Caulfield
    Favourite Joseph Caulfield
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:20 PM

Imagine Victor and Jack getting hitched in Still Game and thats it.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:04 PM

Arseholes

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Dec 22nd 2017, 6:29 PM

@James: This isn’t the place to expose your rinming fettish James :o

Mute Bart
    Favourite Bart
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:22 PM

Walden and Alan Harper Schmidt