You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The sun was spotted in Dublin city this morning, prompting shock and awe Órla Ryan/The Journal

Yellow object spotted in the sky in Dublin, but how long will it last?

The sun has re-appeared after 10 days of grey skies.

THERE WAS A sense of cautious optimism in Dublin this morning as the sun appeared after 10 days of grey skies.

There were zero hours of sunshine in the capital in recent days, as reported by The Journal earlier this week.

Many parts of the country experienced little sunshine in the past 10 days, but Dublin and other eastern areas were particularly gloomy.

The weather was a lot brighter in the west (for once, says you) with Belmullet in Mayo getting 14.2 hours of sunshine over the week leading up to Monday.

The sun made a welcome reappearance in Dublin this morning, but it sadly may be fleeting. 

Forecast 

Met Éireann has said rain in Dublin will clear northwards throughout the morning with sunny spells developing.

However, thicker clouds and showery outbreaks of rain will extend from the southwest later this afternoon. Highest temperatures will range from 11 to 12 degrees.

More rain is expected in Dublin overnight and tomorrow. Thursday will be a mix of sunny spells and showers, some of which will be heavy. The showers will become more isolated in the evening. 

Nationally, this morning is generally dry with sunny spells in many parts of the country

Showery outbreaks of rain will move into the southwest later this morning, spreading across the country throughout the day. These showers will be heavy in places with hail possible. Highest temperatures will range from nine to 13 degrees.

Outbreaks of rain, heavy in places, will occur across the country tomorrow. Thunderstorms are possible, according to Met Éireann.

How is the weather where you are today? Let us know in the comments.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

17 Comments
    Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:04 PM

Technical groups and opposition parties have supported government policies but remained in opposition. This stroke is about being part of government and the opposition at the same time. You can dress it up anyway you want, but a stroke is a stroke and these cute hoors are pulling an almighty stroke and the wool over the eyes of those who bothered to go to the ballot box in November.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:46 PM

@Paul Linehan: Divide and subtract governance.

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:14 PM

Peadar Tóibín TD, the leader of Aontú, said the net migration figures showed a population the size of Galway city was being added each year, and called for a stricter immigration system.He said: ‘These are big numbers of people coming in. We are not seeing the infrastructure capacity increased to be able to facilitate this increased population. The reality is the government has to make sure the numbers, in terms of asylum… are those who are flee – ing war and violence and not for economic reasons.’…Well said Peadar, we need more sensible voices like this in the Dáil, not less!

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:36 PM

@Finn Barr: peadar actually speaks common sence and never since day one of hearing his voice has he ever changed his views or visions, rarity these days in any political arena, commendable.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:09 PM

@Darran Macken: Absolutely… I don’t know him personally but I am a member.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:10 PM

@Finn Barr: Couldn’t agree more Man.

Mute Daratheprofessional 1
    Favourite Daratheprofessional 1
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:19 PM

@Donna Fallon: Abortions for all!!

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:27 PM

@Donna Fallon: welcome to the 1950s,

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:14 PM

Fianna Fàil and Fine Gael pr9tecting democracy again, no actually, doing their best to stifle the opposition by taking spesking time with independents that are in government acting like the opposition.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:04 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Verona Poacher turned Gamekeeper

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:36 PM

@David Murray: she hadn’t a clue what was going on

Mute New Boy
    Favourite New Boy
    Jan 21st 2025, 12:55 PM

Same old …talking out of both sides of their Mouth’s

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:19 PM

@New Boy: it goes to show you what sort of donkey we have in the so called government we have

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:35 PM

@Alan Moloney: I think you meant snakes instead of donkeys,a donkey is a nice animal Alan

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:17 PM

Whats is it about?… it’s work? this is what our politician’s do, why we pay them a decent salary, to pretty much have chats with each other to no avail… maybe it’s a very least ‘content’ for media outlets, perhaps ‘creating employment’ as result. I don’t see very much in quality planning or infrastructure

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:51 PM

It was always going to go the legal route. It will not be quickly decided either.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 21st 2025, 3:27 PM

Perfect in the run up to the Easter break.

Mute New Boy
    Favourite New Boy
    Jan 21st 2025, 3:58 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: When will that start..Next Friday or Monday

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:35 PM

Lowery for taisoch…..he’s a genius already made mehole his b1t€h

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:38 PM

@David Cotter: a convicted criminal to lead the country??
    Anything that man touches turns to sh@@e

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jan 23rd 2025, 7:30 AM

@sean weir: except he isn’t convicted but that’s just more of your disinformation.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Jan 21st 2025, 3:09 PM

Our two puppets, Harris and Martin, it’s my turn now. No, you went last time. I never got a go. You can go next. No, I want to go now. Every other country in the world has one leader. Joke of a country

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:06 PM

Carol Nolan’s activity on social media is highly questionable, regularly sharing posts and interacting with the utter dregs of Irish racists on Twitter.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:15 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: And Toìbín, the statements he makes are constantly false

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    Jan 21st 2025, 1:18 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: get her cancelled so, u woke gimp…oops I forgot- those days are over, aren’t they? Lol

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Jan 21st 2025, 2:37 PM

@Finn Barr: Sorry my opinion has you so triggered Snowflake ;)

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Jan 21st 2025, 3:13 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: If we only had more carol nolans in power, we would have an amazing country. Common sense is not racist. Ye woke are not like it

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:15 PM

@N D K: she’s a fooking reactionary and you supporting her makes you one as well. This country has been run by reactionaries for decades and look where that led us.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:34 PM

@N D K: are you joking, another independent who will say anything so they get 30 seconds on the news , independents are a complete joke ,no one knows what they stand for ,it’s all about the parish and feck the country, Martin and co don’t have a clue what they are doing,wait until trump starts with his tariffs,we are fecked with this bunch

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jan 23rd 2025, 12:35 AM

@Mic JHintl: could you give an example of the social progress she is against? I’m not clued in with her Twitter contributions

Mute Gavan Hogan
    Favourite Gavan Hogan
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:32 PM

Verona Murphy out of Ceann Comhairle.
    The independents agreement should be scrapped. They are all useless already.
    Go back to square one … election.

Mute pee wee
    Favourite pee wee
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:16 PM

SF and the far left are squarely to blame for these appalling scenes we witnessed today, a dark day for Irish politics

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:39 PM

@pee wee: TROLL !!!!

Mute Pat B
    Favourite Pat B
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:48 PM

@pee wee: I would normally be a government supporter but SF & Labour can’t be blamed for prioritising democracy, democracy which is cherished but yet in peril by roughshod antics of prospective government.

Mute John Aherne
    Favourite John Aherne
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:13 PM

@pee wee: it was a primitive strike and a sad day for Irish politics. Shame on SF for this, so to disrupt the naming of a taoiseach,,,,, “we have the second biggest party, yada, yada, yada”, time of the month maybe? There was too much estrogen today on show. And they made a mockery of Ireland for the rest of the world to see

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:41 PM

@pee wee: thank god we are starting to see a real opposition at last

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Jan 23rd 2025, 12:51 AM

@John Aherne: “time of the month”?? Are you suggesting the entire opposition, including all the male deputies, had their period today, and that was the problem? Genuinely funny.
    FFG have brought Lowery into some disturbing devil’s triangle, it’s caused contagion among FFG, and they’ve gone completely out in the open with their contempt for the republic and her citizens. The mockery was averted, thankfully, by the opposition. FFG will need to back down on this one

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:00 PM

Today was to elect a Taoiseach, no speaking time, no other votes, no business outside of this. The opposition prevented this from happening. They have stopped a government being formed by blatantly breaking Dail rules, disrespecting the Dail and it’s chair and giving 2 fingers to everyone in Ireland. Perhaps this is going to be the tactic of them as it worked in the states.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:19 PM

@Anthony Curran: Both FF and FG have manipulated the Dail to suit their wants with no challenge or protest for a number of weeks now. They’ve had their ardfheiss and presented themselves to the press with their typical nod and a wink politics. They’ve done deals with crooks and gombeens to get this through and you don’t think the opposition should be up in arms on the first day back? What do you want the opposition of a morally corrupt government to do?

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:34 PM

@Bryan: 100%

Mute pee wee
    Favourite pee wee
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:42 PM

A sad day indeed, SF and the far left have once again highlighted to the world that Ireland is a backward country, full of thicks

Mute Enzo Maximuis
    Favourite Enzo Maximuis
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:07 PM

@pee wee: are u related to Dav doe Dav

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:43 PM

@Enzo Maximuis: same lad I would say

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:46 PM

@pee wee: Lowry was the chief negotiater with the govt ,now he is in opposition??
    Would you ever catch yourself on

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jan 22nd 2025, 7:53 PM

Tweedledum and Tweedldee resolved to have a battle as Tweedledum said Tweedledee had spoiled his nice new rattle @

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:49 PM

Micheal Martin will have to give something more to Lowry to get him to sit on the government benches, and that deal will be struck overnight

Mute Glen Kelly
    Favourite Glen Kelly
    Jan 22nd 2025, 9:19 PM

Ha ha ha ha this is great

Mute Matt Rogers
    Favourite Matt Rogers
    Jan 23rd 2025, 3:07 AM

If you’re in Opposition you can decide to support or not support a government depending any given situation. However it’s illogical and very worrying to demand that you have the right to be part of the Government and part of the Opposition simultaneously.

Mute Eamonn Hand
    Favourite Eamonn Hand
    Jan 22nd 2025, 8:42 PM

The technical group like a gang late for a comedy show “seats over in the corner lads, slide in round the side, they won’t notice. And if no one likes what the clown on stage is saying, just agree with them. The clown knows you already like him.”

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 23rd 2025, 12:47 AM

Right or wrong does not count with this.
    Morals never came into it. Protocol and Procedure and Rules and Regulations do
    People scream and shout and the game is not what they think it is.
    Aontu pulled the master stroke, said one thing and then did the other.
    Politics, a dirty game!