You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

How much has Garda overtime cost so far this year? It's the week in numbers

Plus: Where did Leo Varadkar come in Fortune’s 40 under 40?

EVERY WEEK, TheJournal.ie offers a selection of statistics and numerical nuggets to help you digest the week that has just passed.

5: Taoiseach Leo Varadkar’s entry on Fortune’s 40 under 40 list.

$26 million: The amount of money Emma Stone made in pre-tax profit in the year to June making her the world’s highest paid female actors.

12: The number of years children are waiting up to for their first dental screening.

€60.5 million: The amount of money that Garda overtime cost the state in the first six months of 2017.

4: The number of James Bond films Daniel Craig  has starred in so far. The actor confirmed he was reprising his role this week.

89: The age of veteran entertainer Bruce Forsyth before he passed away this week.

435: The number of weapons seized from inmates in Irish prisons last year.

102: Ireland’s consumer confidence score in the second quarter of this year, the highest point since 2007.

63: The number of clamping complaints Dublin City Council received in a single year.

Read: Like our weekly numerical breakdown? Check out more >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Dec OR
    Favourite Dec OR
    Aug 19th 2017, 8:24 PM

So just to put this into some perspective, 60.5M X 33.25% leaves 20.65M, which is the actual monies (Net) paid from the tax pot. This paid for 1.72M man-hours which equates to €12 per hour (In real terms).
    Cheapest form of labour available to the tax payer I would hazard a guess. The budget for this should be tripled at least, get them out and on the street, bargain absolute bargain..

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Aug 19th 2017, 7:35 PM

A question for the publisher since ye are mentioning pay and overtime , what is the average weekly take home pay of a Government minister.

Mute Scott Crossfield
    Favourite Scott Crossfield
    Aug 19th 2017, 7:09 PM

If only we knew which party put a ban on recruitment and is now chasing itself while numbers of Guards shrunk.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 19th 2017, 7:58 PM

If there were enough Gardai in the country the OT bill would be a lot lower, but to combat the serious crime in Dublin is taking a lot of money.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Aug 19th 2017, 10:23 PM

Close some stations, stop recruiting. Pay loads of overtime instead.
    Save no money, have less guards on the job at any one time, and overwork the guards that investigate the serious crimes.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 20th 2017, 12:51 AM

@John Doe: you are on the ball there lad, but they did not factor in the overtime when they decided to close the stations and stop recruiting. Just a pity that Commissioner Callanan did not stand up for the Force and oppose the proposals by Shatter back then, but sure the auld saying ” yes Sir no Sir three bags full sir ” comes to mind here. A gutless man thinking only about himself.

Mute B Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite B Ó Raghallaigh
    Aug 19th 2017, 10:57 PM

Typical of the media, blame the frontline staff for the problems and not the inept management and government.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Aug 19th 2017, 9:35 PM

I didn’t see too much of a fuss made when the detested Enda paid 216 times 60M to non entity Banks. Typical mindset of the Irish, can comprehend 60M but not 13,000,000,000 (maybe theres too many zero’s). We are a diluted nation, no more ardency, no more heroes.

Aug 19th 2017, 8:10 PM

Either the garda are busy monitoring the English spooks that are monitoring the potential terrorists, or their pay is so bad they all need the overtime just to survive!

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 20th 2017, 12:45 AM

@Adrian: now you would be better not making any remarks if that is all you can come up,with.

Mute B Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite B Ó Raghallaigh
    Aug 19th 2017, 10:57 PM

Typical of the media, blame the frontline staff for the problems and not the inept management and government

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Aug 19th 2017, 11:52 PM

Question should be how much have those engaged in civil disobedience has caused normal law abiding tax paying citizens

Mute Paul O Riordan
    Favourite Paul O Riordan
    Aug 19th 2017, 7:05 PM

Does Garda commissioner Noreen get paid overtime. How the fcuk did she end up with 5 weeks holidays. 5 weeks.
    Only in good old Ireland

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 19th 2017, 7:56 PM

@Paul O Riordan: she is entitled to about 33 days Annual Leave, just as every other Garda. 5 day week, 5x 6 = 30 OK. Does that make sense.? Have you a problem with that?

Mute Paul O Riordan
    Favourite Paul O Riordan
    Aug 19th 2017, 8:32 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: yes I do Garda comaskey.

Mute Jimmy Ireland
    Favourite Jimmy Ireland
    Aug 19th 2017, 9:36 PM

@Paul O Riordan: So you have a problem with annual leave entitlement? Or just hers?

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 20th 2017, 12:41 AM

@Paul O Riordan: her annual leave is just the same as everyone else in Public Service Mutt.

Mute Paul O Riordan
    Favourite Paul O Riordan
    Aug 20th 2017, 12:23 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: well Garda comaskey, who takes their entire annual leave all together. Will I tell you or have you enough brain cells to work it out for yourself

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Aug 20th 2017, 8:45 AM

Employ more to reduce that bill.