You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Travel difficulties and wave overtopping likely tomorrow as multiple wind warnings issued

Met Éireann has said conditions will stay unsettled with wet and blustery weather at times over the weekend.

LAST UPDATE | 8 Dec 2023

IT’S SET TO be a wet and windy weekend ahead with a weather warning issued for three counties. 

A Status Yellow wind warning is in place for Clare, Galway and Mayo until 4pm. 

Another Status Yellow wind warning will kick in for all of Connacht, Clare and Tipperary tomorrow at 8am and will remain in place until 8pm. 

A third Status Yellow wind warning has been issued for Leinster, Cavan and Monaghan. This will be valid from 10am to 8pm tomorrow. 

Donegal will be under a Status Yellow wind warning from midday to 8pm tomorrow. 

In some of these warnings, Met Éireann has warned of strong and gusty west to southwest winds with the potential for wave overtopping.

It is also warning that the strong winds will cause disruption and travelling difficulties. 

In the North, the UK’s Met Office has issued a rain warning for Antrim, Down, Tyrone and Derry. This kicks in at 6am and will remain in place until 7pm tomorrow. A wind warning will also be in place for the six counties tomorrow. 

Looking at the general forecast, it will be windy today with widespread showers, merging to give longer spells of rain at times. 

Met Éireann has said the best chance of sunny spells will be in southern areas during the afternoon. 

Conditions will continue to be blustery tonight with showers confined to Ulster at first. 

However, a spell of rain is forecast to arrive in the southwest by around midnight, extending northeastwards across the country overnight. A clearance is due to follow into the southwest by dawn tomorrow and it will turn windy there. 

Temperatures are forecast to drop as low as 5 degrees tonight. 

It’s expected to be a very windy day tomorrow. 

Tomorrow morning, rain is due to continue to push northeastwards over the country, becoming confined to north Ulster by the afternoon. 

Sunny spells and blustery showers will follow across the rest of the country, and some of the showers are expected to be heavy with hail. 

There is a potential for showers to merge and result in longer spells of rain. 

Looking ahead, Met Éireann has said conditions will stay unsettled with wet and blustery weather at times. 

Winds are forecast to gradually ease tomorrow night as showers become isolated and mostly restricted to north Ulster. 

However, later tomorrow night, a further spell of rain is expected to push in across Munster and Connacht, extending across the rest of the country by dawn on Sunday. 

Temperatures are due to drop as low as 4 degrees tomorrow night. 

Sunday is due to see rain clear northeastwards during the morning, leaving a day of sunny spells and showers. 

Some of the showers are expected to be heavy and prolonged, especially in the west. 

It’s forecast to become windy on Sunday with fresh to strong southwest winds developing through the day. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

14 Comments
    Mute Steve M
    Favourite Steve M
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:22 PM

He is right about the music being played on the majority of radio stations nowdays…..utter tripe.

Mute An Ordóg Dearg
    Favourite An Ordóg Dearg
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:26 PM

Phantom FM plays good music, but like most stations there’s far too much talk on it these days, especially that poisonous Joe and Keith show in the morning.

Mute Eleanor Jordan
    Favourite Eleanor Jordan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:48 PM

I actually loved Joe and Keith in the mornings but Keith has left and joined 2FM for the morning show with Jennifer and Bernard (Republic of Telly) :(

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:20 PM

Getting old Steve?

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:50 PM

agreed. they should bring back pure morning with richie and Michelle. That was far and away the best morning show.

Mute An Ordóg Dearg
    Favourite An Ordóg Dearg
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:26 PM

Delighted to hear Keith has left, I might start tuning in again. And Pure Morning was brilliant, the best ever breakfast show in my opinion.

Mute Thomas Reilly
    Favourite Thomas Reilly
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:10 PM

Exactly, I liked his test in music I’m certain that John Clarke will not be off the air for long.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:32 PM

Try BBC 6Music or other online stations like KRCW Eclectic. There ARE great stations out there. I only discovered the itunes radio button a while back and it has been a revelation.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:33 PM

Is Keith gone? Good. They’re only half bad now. Nova’s breakfast show is grand. Phantoms lunchtime music is broadly excellent.

Mute Boo!-Fight the Board
    Favourite Boo!-Fight the Board
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:50 PM

Phantom plays awful music. Truely awful. Better than most of 2Fm and Spin(what ive heard of it) but thats not saying much. But it should be playing trailblazing music, not some of the so called “Indie” stuff it tries to pass off.

Jayney…John Creedon and even Late Date and Ronan Collins plays a better selection than Phantom does over any given 24hrs. You’re more likely to hear Gorkys Zygotic Mynci and rare outakes on their shows. And thats Radio 1. Saming Phantom. Phantom will give you The Killers on rotation.

Mute Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Favourite Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:39 PM

An Taobh Tuathaill on Radio na Gaeltachta – 9-11pm weeknights – quality stuff.

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Feb 10th 2014, 11:40 PM

That comment is almost entirely bullshit.

Mute feck'n voters
    Favourite feck'n voters
    Feb 11th 2014, 12:16 AM

Who is listening to that “$& and how is anyone making any advertising revenue. Under 35 and you are on spotify over it and you are either listening to podcasts or flicking channels vowing not to buy the stuff advertised coz the channel is so bad.

Mute Pat Clifford
    Favourite Pat Clifford
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:35 PM

At the very beginning 2fm had its finger very firmly on the pulse of the nation…now you would be lucky to find a pulse in 2fm

Mute Patrick Mooney
    Favourite Patrick Mooney
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:09 PM

RTE Pulse – I’ve heard of that! lol It’s actually a good dance music station. Some talk, but an alternative to those willing to change channels. Even RTE 2XM is better.

Mute Confused dotcom
    Favourite Confused dotcom
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:10 PM

Ha ha v good

Mute Pat Clifford
    Favourite Pat Clifford
    Feb 11th 2014, 12:02 PM

Oh dear! :$

Mute executioner
    Favourite executioner
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:05 PM

Taking on a talentless knob like Nicky Byrne is at the heart of all this uneasiness in 2fm ,he is been accommodated at the expense of a lot of experienced and professional dj’s who have kept that station afloat for 20 odd years and are now been axed and shifted to allow the celebrity brigade run the show.Radio may not have the following it once had due to the Internet but hiring some karaoke boy band moron ain’t the solution.

Mute Fintan O HEifernain
    Favourite Fintan O HEifernain
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:32 PM

Very true. I don’t listen to the radio much but when I heard Nicky Byrne was given a slot on 2FM I was astounded. I mean, what’s his background in media other than being a member of Westlife which, I suppose, is what it is. I wouldn’t listen to him; I imagine “Well, when I was in Westlife…” would get very tiresome within a week.

Mute Cecilia Byrne
    Favourite Cecilia Byrne
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:29 PM

Really, whats Nicky Byrne going to chat about between records? Im marrried to berties daughter?

Mute Ian Aston
    Favourite Ian Aston
    Feb 10th 2014, 7:33 PM

Is that not you Cecilia?

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:10 PM

An he was only part of westlife for a few years & then got to big for his boots & left the group & to be honest don’t hear much of him on radio or tv since… Won’t be listening to him anyway & colm hayes… Gonna just boycott 2fm now & find a new radio station to listen to as will, larry & john Clarke are all gone now more or less…

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:36 AM

a sure he needs the money???

Mute P1
    Favourite P1
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:31 PM

I’m not a 2FM fan but his show on a Sunday morning was quiet enjoyable and an escape from all the serious stuff and country music that every other radio station seems to do on a Sunday….best of luck to him in the future.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:00 PM

Yea you could almost smell the Sunday roast when you were listening to his show. He’ll probably end up on 4fm with a new Sunday show

Mute BoggerBlogger
    Favourite BoggerBlogger
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:06 PM

Yes, I found the Sunday show as perfect family time music. Lots of forgotten tunes, bit of cheese, a great relief from the constant sell, sell, sell of usual commercial radio stations. It provoked some nice memories and there were some great tunes to get the kids dancing whilst I cooked the dinner. Shame it’s gone.

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien

John Clarke was the only DJ I Listened to on 2fm in recent years. I genuinely hate Jennifer Maguire – the most awful/unfunny ‘celebrity’ of her generation and wow she has competition !!

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:40 PM

She’s a fine thing!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:43 PM

If she’s a fine thing then a radio job won’t exactly do justice. Ha

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:49 PM

She’s the opposite of Pat Kenny!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:15 PM

Boycott the broadcast charge!

Mute I love my County
    Favourite I love my County
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:19 PM

Jennifer Maguire + That Bernard eejit + Nicky Byrne = Zero Value for money

Mute An Ordóg Dearg
    Favourite An Ordóg Dearg
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:24 PM

Republic of Telly has being going downhill for years now, due in no small part to those eejits.
    And your man is right in what he days about too much talking on the radio. DJs seem to be in love with their own voices these days…

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:32 PM

Not being smart here Kevin, I agree with what your saying but how can the broadcast charge be boycotted? Isn’t it being directly taken out of wages?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

If they take it out if wages then send bills to rte requesting money back. Overwhelm them. Protest the donnybrook offices and make it impossible for them to operate. Save every family 160-200 a year

Mute Jimmy Vlad James
    Favourite Jimmy Vlad James
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:33 PM

I’m on my way Kevin – are you there now too ?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:35 PM

Have work in 1 hours. I didn’t call a protest just recommended one.

Mute Jimmy Vlad James
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:32 PM

Like most people – all talk no action

Mute Thomas Lynch
    Favourite Thomas Lynch

Well done to John Clarke for standing up for what he believes in 2fm is finished with all there big changes back to today fm hope John is back on the air soon

Mute Liam Lyons
    Favourite Liam Lyons
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:50 PM

The days of the radio DJ are over unfortunately. Today there are radio presenters who play music to satisfy corporate interests. These presenters have little or no knowledge of music. John Clarke was one of the last bone fide radio DJ’s

Mute Martin McDevitt
    Favourite Martin McDevitt
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:49 PM

100%

Mute Paddy Cassano
    Favourite Paddy Cassano
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:29 PM

Haven’t listened to 2FM in years. A talentless bint from RTE 2 and a has-been pop singer isn’t going to change that.

Mute Mark Kirwan
    Favourite Mark Kirwan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:47 PM

He’s right about Larry Gogan, shows what a mess 2fm is in.

Mute kyle flynn
    Favourite kyle flynn
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:32 PM

All I can say thank god for tunein!!!

Mute Sarah Tyrrell
    Favourite Sarah Tyrrell
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:49 PM

Nicky Byrne… Desperate.

Mute Karl Paul
    Favourite Karl Paul
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:55 PM

Shame to see John go. I remember him from his very popular breakfast show on the original Radio Nova. I wish him well and hope he’s snapped up by the competition.

Mute QhpFny3o
    Favourite QhpFny3o
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:07 PM

I can’t bare to even listen to the radio especially in the morning. It’s so unfunny and hackey crap. “Oh make a name of a band up incorporating a type of fish into a well know bands name” mind numbing stuff. Do ppl really find this stuff funny and interesting ? Play some music and shut up

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Feb 11th 2014, 3:15 AM

“Guess the sound.”

Flip off and play some music. No, not Beyoncé and One Direction. Back to Newstalk or podcasts.

2fm are dumbing down for the X Factor crowd.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:34 PM

Spotify – listen to what you want, when you want.

Mute martina
    Favourite martina
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:55 PM

Spotify is great, love it driving long journeys. Don’t have to listen to ads or stupid DJ’s. I find topics of conversations on radio pure nonsense

Mute lostintallaght
    Favourite lostintallaght
    Feb 10th 2014, 4:02 PM

Agreed Mark. Or Radio Paradise. An online station that just plays music, a really good selection imo.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:41 PM

Sadly I think they are only pandering to what a lot of people want these days. I like talk radio but generally more serious topics like current affairs and sport. Don’t like mindless chatter. Usually I can find stations or slots to meet this need. I like music too. Good music . It’s wrong to say all current music is shite because it’s not but it would be nice if they played more of the better stuff and plugged up and coming Irish bands more. I will miss Will won’t miss Hector that much. All that said I don’t think anyone wants Nicky Byrne. New blood is inevitable and welcome but it has to be the right new blood.

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:42 PM

I haven’t listened to 2FM in years , I’m fed up paying a licence fee to subsidise a loss making organisation that despite increases in the fee cannot balance it’s books .

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:57 PM

Well said John and good luck to you .

Mute Bartrude
    Favourite Bartrude
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:48 PM

Nicky Byrne. Lottie Ryan. That is all.

Mute Ruth Barry
    Favourite Ruth Barry
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:34 PM

This happened to one of my favourite radio stations last year only it happened all at once. Corporate lingo calls it progress. Everyday language, it’s known as being screwed over.

Mute michael collins
    Favourite michael collins
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:22 PM

Classy exit !

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:37 PM

I’m a Matt Cooper man meself. Who wants to hear DJ’s in love with themselves yapping over the music?

Times have changed. Music is widely accessible now. That’s what iPods are for.

Mute lostintallaght
    Favourite lostintallaght
    Feb 10th 2014, 4:04 PM

>>Times have changed. Music is widely accessible now. That’s what iPods are for.<<

Times have changed. No one uses iPods anymore, smartphones ftw! :)

Mute FDL_
    Favourite FDL_
    Feb 10th 2014, 4:35 PM

I’ve just deleted 2fm from my car stereo automatic selection. Nicky Byrne on the radio? Fบck off annoying little dub

Mute René Aungier
    Favourite René Aungier
    Feb 23rd 2014, 3:27 PM

I have no time for the idiot. I can’t stand his ascent.

Mute Andrew J Kneeshaw
    Favourite Andrew J Kneeshaw
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:03 PM

I have been involved with community radio for nearly twenty years, we have filled the gaps left by the main stations. This gap is getting much bigger and 2fm have probably just put the final nail in the coffin. Even Phantom have gone the way of the majors with their morning show. It doesn’t have to be all music and it doesn’t even have to be all chart/90s/hits. There is room for an intelligent talk/music/current affairs station aimed at the under 40s (admittedly not my demographic) but Rte don’t have the balls to do it and no commercial enterprise (ie Denis O’brien) will take the risk. I blame the BAI for giving the aforementioned too much control. Could be a good time for pirates.

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:38 PM

Come on we’ll set one up!

Mute Andy Neary
    Favourite Andy Neary
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:12 PM

Well said John, talk about burning your bridges like a boss!

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Favourite Gearoid O Machain
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:28 PM

always loved Johns shows, will be a loss to the station, bring back the pirates!!

Mute Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    Favourite Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:46 PM

Been listening to John on a Sunday for as long as I can remember, his was the only show on 2FM I would listen to. Why get rid of quality like this and keep the likes of Paddy McKenna? Sort it out 2fm

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:42 PM

2FM should be abolished, we don’t need it, this market is saturated and we can’t afford it. I can understand the argument that RTE (Government radio) fills the gaps that commercial stations say are not viable but “FM is nothing but more tripe (and costly tripe at that). Lets be honest RTE is irrelevant now, it has lost the respect of many due to it’s biased coverage of Government and lack of coverage of what this bailout has cost in human terms. I think RTE should be made stand alone and as the big noises in Ireland like to tell us “let the market decide”. The final straw for me was RTE paying out €85000 of our money to people who are homophobic whether they know it or not.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:36 PM

I object to talentless twits like Gerry Ryan’s sprog and Bertie’s clown of a son in law getting gigs

Mute Matt Byrne
    Favourite Matt Byrne
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:34 PM

Loved the show John…

Mute Butter bean
    Favourite Butter bean
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:37 PM

In fairness if you are listening to radio for the music you have issues.spotify, tunein and smartphones kill it of years ago.

Mute maguire
    Favourite maguire
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:33 PM

Best ever radio programme
    Wish you well

Mute John Gavin
    Favourite John Gavin
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:27 PM

Sorry to see the show go. Really loved listening to it on Saturdays and Sundays. I used to really look forward to turning on the radio and hearing something different that wouldn’t get a chance to be played during the week. Best of luck John and thanks for the music (pun intended).

Mute Jack Jones
    Favourite Jack Jones
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:36 PM

Valentines Day Protest – For the listeners who loved the Will Leahy show and John Clarke Show. Gates of RTE Donnybrook D4 14th Feb starting 4:30pm until 7pm

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:20 PM

RTE 2 should be shut down. It’s noting whatsoever to do with Public Broadcasting. I never ever listen to it but would be sent to jail for not paying for it. The government should only be involved in what cannot be done any other way.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:25 PM

Im sure he made plenty of hay during his time. why do we have to pay for this nonsense or they put a gun to our heads?

Mute Hyeon Bundeng
    Favourite Hyeon Bundeng
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:54 PM

I don’t listen to 2fm so this makes no difference to my life. They’re all overpaid for pushing buttons on a box anyway.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:59 PM

John Clarke was far more than a button presser, he actually knew and loved the music. I don’t know of any other show where you could ask for a song hardly anyone had heard of and he would go to his record collection, transfer it to digital and play it for you. And in the rare event he didn’t have a copy you could be sure one of the other listeners would. Spotify and the like are great, but it was the anecdotes and history which John brought that can’t be replicated. Work on Sundays is not going to be the same without the Jukebox playing in the background.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:57 PM

John Clarke always reminds me of heading to the Crescent Shopping Centre on Sunday afternoon to engage in some retail therapy. Thanks for the memories John.

2fm and RTE are ruthless. Larry Gogan should get outta there before they ruin him. They dont seem to put any value on the fabulous DJ s who established “radio 2″.. Dave Fanning, Gerry Ryan Rip,

Its a sad day indeed. Best of luck John. You were right to stuff it to em..

Mute Accord Moan Eye
    Favourite Accord Moan Eye
    Feb 10th 2014, 4:45 PM

Much as I am loathe to promote anything RTE do, the digital station RTE Gold is actually great. It’s like a constant John Clarke show. No ads, no DJ, just constant classic tunes.
    Fair play to John Clarke for sticking it to 2FM, his show will be sadly missed. A staple of Sunday afternoons in my house while we make the Sunday roast.
    2FM will never be on in the house again, except maybe for Larry.

Mute first_timer
    Favourite first_timer
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:44 PM

On line radio is the only way to go now, far too much supposedly funny jocks on that love to hear themselves, dedicated music stations on line have far less rubbish talk , shame really, grew up in an era where radio Luxembourg was listened to regardless of the gaps in reception, and the Innocence of TOTP … The tube , not saying RTE should remain in the past but a balance ..

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:30 PM

Absolutely- I recommend BBC 6music and KRCW eclectic24. There is some talk on BBC but it is always about music, not gossip rubbish. Great stations for discovering all kinds of music. RTE has never been interested in music – ever. Even LyricFM is totally off beam now. Maybe they try to save money by not paying royalties for new music and just get in a load of cheap tunes.

Mute David Cassin
    Favourite David Cassin
    Feb 10th 2014, 7:54 PM

loved listening to john most sundays a shame to hear he is gone

Mute Bronagh Bonner
    Favourite Bronagh Bonner
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:36 PM

He shouldn’t worry he did his best and that is the main thing.

Mute Claire Whelan
    Favourite Claire Whelan
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:00 PM

This won’t work for 2FM or music radio. Music radio in Ireland has been slipping for number of years especially since death of Gerry Ryan. They are slowly cutting off DJs who know their music and music history and have so much information on the subject and those that know their way round a studio. What is this really annoying thing of bringing celebs (hate that word) or retired boyband singers into slots in place of experienced people? The only thing I can think of is they are doing it for half nothing and RTE need to save cash. RTE have a habit of paying their staff way too much to start with and in other ways treating them badly and they have/wll lose some of their best people to stations abroad where they will at least be appreciated. As a listener to RTE radio for yonks and as a person who always pays my licence fee I do not agree with what is being done at the moment. Jennifer Maguire, Dermot yerman and Westlife ex………….not on my patch thanks. I will prob turn over to BBC or some other foreign station. One other complaint RTE… in either TV or Radio ye do not give enough air time to new bands or the older bands who have paid their dues. We have to wait for record companies or foreign stations to tell us about the discovery of yet other BRILLIANT musicians, song writers and singers from Ireland. Oh, and one more thing…….I do not rate RTE to choose anyone worth sending to the Eurovision…………let someone else choose pls or lets just give up the ghost on that one.

Mute Nick Phelan
    Favourite Nick Phelan
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:49 PM

Lot of people not happy with Nicky Byrne getting job and I get the point that would be better to have up and coming talent getting jobs than celebs but haven’t seen one person having a problem with Will Leahy having a full time job as a solicitor and d.j. ing on a so called public service station.

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:03 PM

2FM is poisonous and always has been. I don’t think anybody would miss it if it went away. Radio with an identity crisis. Thankfully with the internet I have a choice of music stations to listen to

Mute frank coleman
    Favourite frank coleman
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:48 PM

Are they going to be taking it out your wages now? Luckily I work of the books. So I will continue not to pay this embarrassment of a channel to the Irish.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:58 PM

I’ll stick with BBC 6 Music – really great music and zero ads. And people who know and love their music.

Mute Cathy Carolan Tully
    Favourite Cathy Carolan Tully
    Feb 10th 2014, 9:29 PM

Get rid of Ruth Scott too please!!!

Mute René Aungier
    Favourite René Aungier
    Feb 23rd 2014, 3:28 PM

I cannot stand that woman

Mute Nick Phelan
    Favourite Nick Phelan

Never liked Clarkes show. Same dinosaur mysic every week. Leahys show was good and it’s a mistake putting yet another talk show in that time slot. Think Nicky Byrne deserves a chance. Heard him standing in for Tubridy and thought he was a natural.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:44 PM

Nick Phelan tell that to the media studies student who will have to emigrate because there are no jobs because they have all be given to people we are sick to death of hearing and seeing.

Mute Gerry O Donnell
    Favourite Gerry O Donnell
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:15 PM

It was the only show on 2FM to accommodate the older listener or as john himself called it ‘dad rock’.
    It was also the longest running show on 2FM which showed just how popular it was.
    RTE, as a publicly funded broadcaster are obliged to accommodate ALL, and all this demographic got was 3 hours a week.
    And before you say what about Larry, he’s not allowed play anything pre 1990.

Mute Nick Phelan
    Favourite Nick Phelan
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:20 PM

Even though I’m in that age category myself, radio 2 aa it was then known WAS set up specifically for youth market

Mute Boleyn
    Favourite Boleyn
    Feb 10th 2014, 12:17 PM

Good

Mute tom pepper
    Favourite tom pepper
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:29 PM

As a loyal 2fm listener for over 20 yrs I will be switching off to another station. There are plenty of Spin type teeny stations and “funny ha ha” breakfast shows. The current day schedule was fine.
    Larry’s Golden Hour is the best hour of the day! Alan Swan has a good breakfast show and should be left to develop his own audience. Will Leahy should not be moved from drive time. Colm Hayes in the morning is an excellent show but it should not be moved. The 2 shows that improved in ratings( Hayes and Leahy) are to be axed. 2fm’s real target audience has been moving stations for years and I will be joining them.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:31 PM

2fm has had its day. Why the state is funding fm104 style pop radio is beyond justification.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:37 PM

RTE’s annual accounts showed that losses at 2fm exceeded €13m between 2010 and 2012.

Mute Jimmy Vlad James
    Feb 10th 2014, 7:01 PM

Colm Hayes is the most irritating man on the radio – the crap he plays too .

Mute Kathleen Walsh
    Favourite Kathleen Walsh
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:17 PM

Well said. I will miss lorry gogan

Mute Kathleen Walsh
    Favourite Kathleen Walsh
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:17 PM

Well said. I will miss lorry gogan

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Feb 10th 2014, 3:32 PM

Good guys but 2Fm was a response to pirate radio in the 80′s. The country is well services by a huge spectrum of music radio now which means 2FM is no longer needed. The tax money saved would be better spent on Health and Education.

Mute Mark Genocchi
    Favourite Mark Genocchi
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:49 PM

The worst show on radio has to the strawberry alarm that Jim Jim is a knob head and there is no chemistry between the two of them with the superstar Jim Jim always correcting noble

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:13 PM

lot of dolls been thrown out of prams for free advertising for a shite station

Mute Michael O' Riordan
    Favourite Michael O' Riordan
    Feb 10th 2014, 8:18 PM

Well done John. Nice guy and thanks for all those Bee Gees CDs. Good show and long time no see!

Mute Andy Murray
    Favourite Andy Murray
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:56 PM

Dave Lee Travis did that back in 93, if I remeber correctly. Also Smashie and Nicey (Harry Enfield and Paul Whitehouse) did a great parody of it too.

Mute Michael Ennis
    Favourite Michael Ennis
    Feb 10th 2014, 7:30 PM

Good luck John . Remembering the days back in the ( ATTIC )

Mute Alan Chapman
    Favourite Alan Chapman
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:22 PM

Wheter long journey driving , lying in bed or cooking ..scrolling through the channels …i hit the 2fm button… Should call it 2 seconds fm …..the same thump thump and bubble gum crap …exactly 2 seconds before i change channels.

Mute Liam Higgins
    Favourite Liam Higgins
    Feb 10th 2014, 10:07 PM

A sad loss to radio

Mute kathy
    Favourite kathy
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:36 AM

I hate 2fm but the line up is about to get a HELL of a lot worse! John Clarke is too good for it. Nicky Byrne and Jennifer Maguire??!! Enough already!!!

Mute Andrew Deegan
    Favourite Andrew Deegan
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:57 PM

Don’t listen to that on your phone, had to restart mine because it kept playing radio Luxembourg ads

Mute Martin J. McCarthy
    Favourite Martin J. McCarthy
    Feb 10th 2014, 2:41 PM

People can stream exactly the music they want now. But there must be a place for the shared music experience, where you hear something for the first time for example. I have little interest in radio friendly music but would have to say 2fm is the last place I’d go for music. RnaG at night or John Creedon are about it for me. Beyond that it’s online.

Mute Brendan Grehan
    Favourite Brendan Grehan
    Feb 10th 2014, 6:17 PM

Never underestimate the arrogance and bewildering self importance of dj’s. So he did a Dave lee Travis. So what. Never listened to him. Another smashey and nicey bites the dust.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Feb 11th 2014, 8:46 AM

Why am I reading this crap?

Mute John Crofton
    Favourite John Crofton
    Feb 28th 2014, 8:19 PM

John is very savvy when it comes to radio. Mel Brooks song , Its good to be the king was an obvious throw back to the real Nova who played that song on their final day. Clarke was there that day. Radio is too formatted. Dj,’s\ presenters should have more control. Today FM are starting to do the same. Just look at the early morning slot presenter being promoted to midday without the knowledge, skill or personality. Good on you John Clarke.

Mute David Moore
    Favourite David Moore
    Mar 1st 2014, 11:51 AM

John Clarke is true gentleman, I worked with him in Big d radio many years ago. Best of luck John

Mute Ellen Oneill
    Favourite Ellen Oneill
    Feb 28th 2014, 8:12 PM

RTE is I click like all of Ireland

Mute Daniel O Connell
    Favourite Daniel O Connell
    Feb 10th 2014, 5:20 PM

Bring back Pat Farrell..

Mute Brendan Grehan
    Favourite Brendan Grehan
    Feb 11th 2014, 5:47 AM

By the way RTE seems to be the only place in the world where you resign and get to keep your job. Clarke has been reassigned.

Mute Neal •IntoYourHead
    Favourite Neal •IntoYourHead
    Feb 27th 2014, 1:49 PM

So what? If they have a use for his talents, why throw him on the scrapheap? He has decades of experience in production and management.

Mute René Aungier
    Favourite René Aungier
    Feb 23rd 2014, 3:21 PM

It is a great pity as I listened to it from all over the world. Now I will be without something special. RTE will not be the same without John Clarke.

Mute Yvonne Kelly
    Favourite Yvonne Kelly
    Feb 22nd 2014, 7:30 AM

Good luck john no sentiment anymore
    It used to annoy me though for years john Clarke as left the building !! So you really did 4 sure