You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If the suit fits... Michael D got fitted for a swish new suit by tailor Louis Copeland on his campaign bus last weekend. It will get a good airing now... Stephen Kilkenny

What's in store for the presidential losers?

Along with a new house, Michael D Higgins has won financial security for life. But what are the prospects for the other six candidates?

MICHAEL D HIGGINS WILL BE celebrating today after bagging the highest office in the land – and securing a ticket to lifelong financial security.

The new President will enjoy at least seven years at a salary of almost €250,000. And even if he’s sore about the planned reduction from the current salary of over €325,000, he won’t be showing it. The position also comes with an additional allowance of €317,434 annually for official entertainment and other expenses, plus a generous pension.

But what awaits the six candidates who were pipped to the presidential post? Here TheJournal.ie looks at the earning prospects of those who didn’t quite make it…

David Norris is likely to go back to the cut and thrust of the Seanad chamber. He has said spending on his presidential campaign has left him “in the red”. But Norris does have a comfortable Seanad salary of more than €60,000, plus allowances, to return to – and previously told TheJournal.ie that he is “not going to bellyache” about his finances.

Mary Davis is still listed on the Special Olympics website as their MD for Europe and Eurasia. Her salary there is hardly presidential, but she certainly has earning potential: tax forms released by her campaign show that she was paid in the region of €150,000 gross in 2009 and 2010 from her job and various board positions.

Seán Gallagher‘s future is more uncertain. His career on Dragon’s Den appears to be over, with the Evening Herald reporting this week that he had pulled out of the show in February. And P60 forms released by his campaign show that he earned just €12,133 last year. Presumably he’ll be hoping that some of his investments pay off.

Martin McGuinness will return to his position as Deputy First Minister in the North. The job comes with a salary of almost £112,000 (€127,000), but McGuinness has said he lives on the average industrial wage, donating the rest to Sinn Féin. He has released bank statements showing that he receives a monthly wage of £1,605 (€1,820) from the party.

Gay Mitchell is sitting pretty: his term as an MEP lasts for another three years, during which he will draw the standard salary of €91,984 plus €298 per day in expenses for attending the parliament. However, his earnings aren’t as handsome as they might be: he has donated his pension entitlements as a former minister and TD to the State.

Dana Rosemary Scallon‘s prospects are not clear. The announcement that the All Ireland Talent Show will not be returning to our screens left her with no regular TV job; while she lost her MEP’s salary along with her seat in 2004. According to her website, Dana currently has no concerts booked. However, she will of course still earn royalties from the no fewer than 41 albums she has released since 1970.

And IF Michael D hadn’t made it to the Áras….

…he still could have retired as gracefully as he wished. Having stepped down as a TD in February to contest the presidential election, the 70-year-old had no salary to draw on – but pension entitlements of some €110,000 a year would have kept him warm at night.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

68 Comments
    Mute Vinny Doherty
    Favourite Vinny Doherty
    Oct 30th 2011, 9:52 AM

I must say for a fella who was opposed to Norris, i thought he came out of the election campaign with enormous dignity. It was hard to listen to him at times, but he brought great humour and is a very articulate man. All the best to him. We are a nation of begrudgers, which is sad. I think we have elected the right man though, and it’s great when you see what’s happening across the world that we have such freedom of expression as a result of our founding fathers, Padraig Pearse, Michael Collins, Dev etc we don’t say it enough but we are eternally grateful. Even if some people ruined this country,we are here forever. Eire Abu. I love my country

Mute Paul C
    Favourite Paul C
    Oct 30th 2011, 10:05 AM

Well said.

Mute Marian Lenehan
    Favourite Marian Lenehan
    Oct 30th 2011, 10:07 AM

Well said Vinny.

Mute Simon Power
    Favourite Simon Power
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:26 AM

Dear Vinny are we talking about the same Dev that penned Article 44 ensuring a “special” place for the Catholic church to censor and abuse with impunity in Ireland for 70 years. Or the same Padraig Pearce that believed that the, “soul of Ireland could be cleansed by the spilt blood of it’s youth”. Or indeed Michael Collins, who acquiesced to Churchill and signed the treaty in 22′ ensuring the worst episode of Irelands history by agreeing to partition. James Connolly was the true visionary of his time and commander in chief on the day of the Rising. He deserves a mention.

Mute Feargal Garvin
    Favourite Feargal Garvin
    Oct 30th 2011, 9:35 AM

Seanie needs a dig-out.

Mute foggy_lad
    Favourite foggy_lad
    Oct 30th 2011, 9:47 AM

He dug his own grave being part of fianna fail the most toxic political party in Ireland’s history. He is no better than the parasites that destroyed the country with their shady money deals.

Mute Simon Powderly
    Favourite Simon Powderly
    Oct 30th 2011, 1:25 PM

“the most toxic political party in Ireland’s history” now I’m definitely no fan of FF but… Surely they can only be the second worst party, given that they robbed us all blind, they didn’t blow up streets full of innocent people and individually murder countless more, many of whom are still missing… Yet the Irish people in our wisdom give SF more and more votes every year? Scary to think what may happen in 15/20yrs

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 31st 2011, 8:19 PM

Of course, Fianna Fáil have never been involved in political violence?

Mute Derek Larney
    Favourite Derek Larney
    Oct 30th 2011, 9:47 AM

Can someone ring Paddy the Plasterer?!

Mute Eoin Gildea
    Favourite Eoin Gildea
    Oct 30th 2011, 9:51 AM

Fianna Fail still think they can dish out blatant lies and the gullible public will lap it all up. FF selling the fantasy yet again.

Mute Vinny Doherty
    Favourite Vinny Doherty
    Oct 30th 2011, 10:45 AM

Disagree. How SF are gathering votes is beyond me. If they were truly a republican party they would treat the citizens of this country with respect and not contempt. We are all republicans, yes we made a huge error of judgement when we elected these people, but people make mistakes, that’s always been a flaw in our makes up,were human, look back in history. However i take issue with the fact about martin mc guinness is a great man because he was about to take people off the dole to give them a job in the aras. Are people mad? This is a man that was part of an organisation that murdered people. Innocent citizens of this state, who left their country because of different issues and were blown up, How dear that man get up on national TV and not admit that the death of Jean mc conville and Garda Gerry Mc Cabe were not murders. If this country is reduced to people like mc guinness, who swear an oath of allegiance to their own party instead of their own state, they shouldn’t even get the right to vote, never mind run for the presidency of country.

Mute Simon Power
    Favourite Simon Power
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:33 AM

I am far from a Sinn Fein supporter but I see some hypocrisy in you condemning all of the actions of the IRA in one stroke and heralding Michael Collins as hero in another.

Mute Adrian De Cleir
    Favourite Adrian De Cleir
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:15 PM

I agree Simon, the war of independence included alot of civilian killings. Even during the rising, the rebels were known to have killed several civilians that were approaching them. Let’s not forget how hugely unpopular that rising was also. @vinny he never said mccabe wasn’t murder, stop putting words in his mouth. I’m not an avid sf supporter but the contribution from the likes of Mcguinness to peace is undeniable. Even if he is spoofing about how long he was in the ira. I wish people would stop denying the murders and atrocities that took place during the war of independence.

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Oct 30th 2011, 4:27 PM

wot about the innocent the uvf/uda/ruc/brit army/mi5 killed the ira were not the only force at work but so many people seem to forget that if the brits hadn of invaded us in the 1st place we wud have never needed a revolution or a fight for equal rights in our own country

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:45 PM

@philip, Christ, the ‘Brits’ never invaded us, it was the Normans. What about the tuatha dé danann and the Milesians? What about the innocent victims of your spelling?

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 31st 2011, 9:49 PM

The British only set up a repressive, sectarian state in Northern Ireland.

Mute Ciaran O'Hare
    Favourite Ciaran O'Hare
    Oct 30th 2011, 10:24 AM

I think the fact Martin earns so much but is paid a fraction is a model all our political parties should adopt. No money grabbers in SF by the looks of it.

But I’m sure there are those who will say they rob banks etc muppets.

Mute Keith Colton
    Favourite Keith Colton
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:40 PM

Doesn’t he accept his wage as deputy first minister and just give it to the party?

Mute Ryan Allen
    Favourite Ryan Allen
    Oct 30th 2011, 1:29 PM

It just goes to SF instead. Doesn’t save the state anything! Also I’m surprised more wasn’t made of those accounts. His wife owns a café business yet she never paid in anything to the joint account for example.

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Favourite Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 30th 2011, 4:02 PM

What wrre the lads doing in Adare, grabbing stamps?

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:59 PM

Mitchell on nearly €300 A DAY for expenses. Sick anyone?

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 30th 2011, 4:12 PM

It’s ok, he’s not on active service every day

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Oct 30th 2011, 10:49 AM

Once again well done Michael D. I disagreed with a lot of the candidates political and religious views and their inability to keep the church and state separate. This was especially true with Dana and Gay Mitchell due to their close ties with ultra right wing catholic/Christian organizations.
    Everybody without exception has the right to their political,religious or ethical beliefs and there is nothing wrong if these are expressed openly when going for public office, Mitchell was less than open about his connections to such organizations. Dana was simply detached from reality and failed to realize that the secularization of Irish Society is irreversible.
    The highest and lowest point of this whole election was the exposure of Sean Gallagher and hopefully it will serve as an example to all aspiring politicians.

Oct 30th 2011, 11:44 AM

yeah its hard to believe he earned just over 10k..

Mute ponythegringo
    Favourite ponythegringo
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:44 AM

It would be a bit silly to see Gallagher on dragon’s den anymore, I mean if he criticised any of the people on the show they could turn round and say they feel stupid having their business idea judged by a failed businessman.

Mute Andrew Canavan
    Favourite Andrew Canavan
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:49 PM

Good point ponythegringo. I’d be very interested to see how successful the other lads on Dragon’s Den really are.

The show already paraded an unsuccessful one around as a big shot entrepreneur who was apparently making less than lads on the scratcher!

Mute Oskar Fritsche
    Favourite Oskar Fritsche
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:09 AM

This is the end for some wasters and Dragons Den

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:45 AM

BA (Brown envelopes Anonymous) will be meeting every Tuesday at 7:00pm.

Mute Marian Lenehan
    Favourite Marian Lenehan
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:53 PM

As always correct me please if I’m wrong. Wasn’t the Irish war of independence a war, whereas IRA and Unionist violent activity after 1922 was not backed by either the UK or the Irish Republic and therefore was not a ‘war’ but an illegal conflict where every who died on both sides was a murder and not a victim of war.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 30th 2011, 1:48 PM

The Irish War of Independence was considered illegal by the UK government of the time. It was categorized in the same way as the Troubles have been categorized today. Every death inflicted by the British government in the 1919-1921 war was considered legal, whereas every death inflicted by the illegal Irish Republic (a defunct entity which ceased to exist upon the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty) and its collaborators was considered murder, in the same way that today the vast majority of deaths inflicted by British security forces are considered legal whereas those inflicted by Unionist and Nationalist paramilitary organisations are considered illegal.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:34 PM

Death is death, and over hocus pocus like religion and nationalism, is a sad waste.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 31st 2011, 8:28 PM

Donncha, respectfully, I think that the troubles stemmed not so much from nationalism or religion, but the British/Loyalist establishment’s de facto apartheid state, which they maintained by force.

The legality or otherwise of armed conflict is always problematic – look at Iraq. Legality and legitimacy are not necessarily coterminous. Brian is absolutely correct on the point.

Mute Dylan Dublin
    Favourite Dylan Dublin
    Oct 30th 2011, 9:38 PM

McGuinness – once a thug , always a thug – a leopard never changes his spots !

Different dirty tricks this time !

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 31st 2011, 8:35 PM

The only dirty trick that we need be concerned with is Gallagher and Fianna Fáil’s attempt to hoodwink the Irish people, an absolute disgrace.

All this mudslinging at Sinn Féin is only a sideshow, and an attempt to distract from the real issue here.

Oct 30th 2011, 12:48 PM

is louie (desperate to be celebrity) copeland the ONLY tailor in this country??

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 30th 2011, 4:05 PM

not a patch on Katie

Mute Charles Mark
    Favourite Charles Mark
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:04 AM

Excuse me, but didn’t Michael D Higgins already have a ticket to financial security courtesy of his various pensions?

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:41 PM

would make you wonder why he bothered running. I For one am proud to have someone with his integrity, intellect, vision and passion as President.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:32 PM

You’re excused, not everyone is in this for the money.

Mute naomi kavanagh
    Favourite naomi kavanagh
    Oct 30th 2011, 1:50 PM

It is now been said by a certain Co Louth fuel merchant that it may have been another FF man who came to see him not Sean Gallagher.

Mute CMD
    Favourite CMD
    Oct 30th 2011, 3:37 PM

I think in next few days the skullduggery of McGuinness will be revealed for all to see and Gallagher will ultimately be vindicated Only high point is MMG gained nothing from it a little over 13%of votes. Hee! Hee! Hee! Away back to “Dairrry” with u wee mairtin. Slan!

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 30th 2011, 4:08 PM

Curious ok, but also curious why gallagher had no clear idea on what he did, Perhaps this kind of thing was considered routine.

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 30th 2011, 4:11 PM

MMG, has probably has left himself and some of his former comrades open to similar tactics in the future

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Oct 30th 2011, 4:36 PM

mmcg has helped gain support for sf and has always been open for attacks regarding the past its funny how people can welcome the queen wit open arms after wot her country and armed forces have done around the world but they cant seem to welcome mmcg …………………………typical

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:36 PM

@philip, I doubt if the queen would have got more votes than Marty Mac. Your argument is nonsense.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 31st 2011, 8:33 PM

Please.

Gallagher admitted in the course of the Primetime debate, and more specifically on Pat Kenny the next day, that he solicited donations “up to €5k” from businessmen he invited to this dinner.

This is after a categorical denial of taking part in Fianna Fáil fundraising.

He then backtracked and said that the 2008 event was his first FF fundraiser, only for a photo surfaced of his good self and Albert Reynolds at a 1992 fundraising event.

Please don’t think you can wriggle out of this by throwing muck at the Sinners.

His campaign was nothing less than an insult to the Irish people.

Mute Simon Cunnane
    Favourite Simon Cunnane
    Oct 30th 2011, 1:17 PM

“Dana…will of course still earn royalties from the no fewer than 41 albums she has released since 1970.”

I’m sorry, did I read that correctly? 41 albums????

Mute Gavin Yore
    Favourite Gavin Yore
    Oct 30th 2011, 9:50 PM

So that’s about €3.40 then.

Mute Dominic Achom
    Favourite Dominic Achom
    Oct 30th 2011, 6:55 PM

Michael D Higgins our president. I am wishing you the very best, God blessing and good luck during your presidency. From Dominic and Breda Achom.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:31 PM

yeah, must be true though.LOL

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Oct 30th 2011, 9:11 PM

There’s always Eurovision.

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 30th 2011, 4:09 PM

there has to be an opening in the dodgy diesel sector for him

Mute CMD
    Favourite CMD
    Oct 30th 2011, 5:02 PM

Doubt it. Mcguinness & co have that sector well tied up.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Oct 31st 2011, 1:14 AM

@ CMD. sounded to us like FF had it all sewn up

Mute Martin Mc Cormack
    Oct 31st 2011, 3:02 PM

SF and FF will soon be one.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:58 PM

So did Smarthomes stop paying him rent for the building he part owns and rented to same? I noticed that no m

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Oct 30th 2011, 3:36 PM

Baldy Bertie will survive – he only needs to keep his motivational speaking at 2000 Euros a time. As a past director of FAS it would be interesting to know how many he did for FAS. I attended one. How many FAS centres are there? Nice work if you can get it. 1 hour for 2000 Euros who needs the presidency.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Oct 31st 2011, 8:51 AM

I’m intrigued by Dana’s 41 albums. Is that all she has sold, 41 copies? Makes sense, I suppose!

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Oct 30th 2011, 12:57 PM

Maybe Joan Burton could help out the losers with an internment somewhere, or jobseekers…

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 30th 2011, 11:44 PM

Internment, good one but intentional?

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Oct 31st 2011, 12:06 AM

Well, some of them. Internship for the others will do.

Mute Rachel Walsh Howe
    Favourite Rachel Walsh Howe
    Oct 31st 2011, 12:34 AM

Unfortunately if you chuck enough mud some of it sticks.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Oct 31st 2011, 8:36 PM

Rachel, really? Are you still trying to defend the indefensible?

Mute Madeline Angela Hind
    Favourite Madeline Angela Hind
    Nov 1st 2011, 10:54 AM

no Niall, you’re the one defending the indefensible. Repeatedly.

Mute Niall Mulligan
    Favourite Niall Mulligan
    Nov 1st 2011, 7:34 PM

I think you’ll find that I’m taking issue with Fianna Fáil and cryptoFF’s repeated attempts to spin the Gallagher story into some kind of Sinn Féin “ambush”.

Mute Brno Barking
    Favourite Brno Barking
    Oct 30th 2011, 2:58 PM

Hairy Bertie?

Mute Fieldo
    Favourite Fieldo
    Oct 31st 2011, 9:02 AM

Nobody needs all that money. Pure greed.

Mute Bláthnaid Belladonna
    Favourite Bláthnaid Belladonna
    Nov 3rd 2011, 3:17 AM

It is pure greed. No wonder the people of Ireland are broke with there big fat checks every month. There rich while making d people poorer every year when the budget comes along.