You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of United States Secretary of Defense Pete Hegseth speaking to the media at the White House in Washington DC. Alamy Stock Photo

White House confirms Defence Secretary accidentally texted journalist US plans to strike Yemen

Editor of The Atlantic, journalist Jeffrey Goldberg, published a story today in the magazine titled: ‘The Trump Administration Accidentally Texted Me Its War Plans’.

LAST UPDATE | 24 Mar

A US JOURNALIST was inadvertently included in a group chat in which Defense Secretary Pete Hegseth, Vice President JD Vance and other top American officials discussed upcoming strikes against Yemen’s Huthi rebels, the White House confirmed Monday.

President Donald Trump announced the strikes on 15 March, but in a shocking security breach, The Atlantic magazine’s editor-in-chief Jeffrey Goldberg wrote that he had hours of advance notice via the group chat on Signal.

“The message thread that was reported appears to be authentic, and we are reviewing how an inadvertent number was added to the chain,” National Security Council spokesman Brian Hughes said.

The White House said Trump “continues to have the utmost confidence in his national security team,” after the US president earlier said he did not “know anything about” the issue.

The leak could have been highly damaging if Goldberg had publicized details of the plan in advance, but he did not do so even after the fact.

He did, however, write that Hegseth sent information on the strikes, including on “targets, weapons the US would be deploying, and attack sequencing,” to the group chat.

“According to the lengthy Hegseth text, the first detonations in Yemen would be felt two hours hence, at 1:45 pm eastern time,” Goldberg wrote – a timeline that was borne out on the ground in Yemen.

Goldberg said he was added to the group chat two days earlier, and received messages from other top government officials designating representatives who would work on the issue.

On March 14, a person identified as Vance expressed doubts about carrying out the strikes, saying he hated “bailing Europe out again,” as countries there were more affected by Huthi attacks on shipping than the United States.

‘Stunning and dangerous’

Group chat contributors identified as National Security Advisor Mike Waltz and Hegseth both sent messages arguing only Washington had the capability to carry out the strikes, with the latter official saying he shared Vance’s “loathing of European free-loading. It’s PATHETIC.”

And a person identified as “S M” – possibly Trump advisor Stephen Miller – argued that “if the US successfully restores freedom of navigation at great cost there needs to be some further economic gain extracted in return.”

The security breach provoked outrage among Democrats, with Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer describing it as “one of the most stunning breaches of military intelligence I have read about in a very, very long time” and calling for a full investigation.

Senator Jack Reed also slammed the leak, saying: “The carelessness shown by President Trump’s cabinet is stunning and dangerous.”

And Hillary Clinton – who was repeatedly attacked by Trump for using a private email server while she was secretary of state – posted the Atlantic article on X along with the message: “You have got to be kidding me.”

Huthi attacks

The Huthi rebels, who have controlled much of Yemen for more than a decade, are part of the “axis of resistance” of pro-Iran groups staunchly opposed to Israel and the United States.

They have launched scores of drone and missile attacks at ships passing Yemen in the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden during the Gaza war, saying they were carried out in solidarity with Palestinians.

The Huthis’ campaign crippled the vital route, which normally carries about 12 percent of world shipping traffic, forcing many companies into a costly detour around the tip of southern Africa.

The US began targeting the Huthis in response under the previous administration of president Joe Biden, and has launched repeated rounds of strikes on Huthi targets, some with British support.

Trump has vowed to “use overwhelming lethal force until we have achieved our objective,” citing the Huthis’ threats against Red Sea shipping, and US strikes have continued over the past 10 days.

View 150 comments
150 Comments
    Mute Patrick Moran
    Favourite Patrick Moran
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:38 PM

It’s a term that will always get Irish backs up. Look just in the interests of harmony and putting the issue to bed, lets refer to the whole lot as the Irish Isles.

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:13 PM

after a few years living abroad, where 95% of people think Ireland is part of Great Britain, I’m quite happy when someone refers to Ireland as part of the British Isles, but understands Ireland is a republic.

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:43 PM

Irish Isles are smiling, question should be as follows! Are the British Islands part of Ireland, kick out the Queen and put Enda in there!

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Declan Conway
    Favourite Declan Conway
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:56 PM

There was actually a British proposal some 30 years ago (Conservative MP) to rename the British Isles ‘ IONA ‘ (Islands of the North Atlantic), but it gained no traction.
    Geographically acceptable to both sides, but the entire question is long-poisoned by politics.
    The reason the term ‘British Isles’ stocks is due solely to the six counties that make up Northern Ireland.
    Until – if ever – there is a united Ireland (or a massive jump in population) then you’re going to have great difficulty in getting the British Isles redrawn in any official capacity.
    In other words, carry on as we are and the British will have a bigger say as there’s much more of them and they have a bigger voice.

And now for something completely different….

Mute joe traynor
    Favourite joe traynor
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:06 PM

Ireland is part of the British isle , it is not part of Great Britton because the Great in great Britton refers to the larger island of the British Isle, it’s not political, these islands off Europe existed long before Irish , English , Scots or Welsh existed and will be here long after were gone. It is a name to describe a pair of Islands in close proximity nothing else.

Mute Joe Bet
    Favourite Joe Bet
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:44 PM

Great stuff Stephen, very funny and witty comment there

Mute Liam Wolfe
    Favourite Liam Wolfe
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:17 PM

You have made a mistake here Joe. The Great in Great Britain refers to Britain being bigger than Brittany in France. Previously these two regions were called greater Britain (now simply Great Britain) and lesser Britain (Brittany) as they were both occupied by celts known as Bretons. Ireland is in no way a british isle. Calling the archipelago the Celtic isles would make more sense in my opinion as it includes Bretons, scotish, manx, welsh, Cornish and irish and so the entire area has a connection to the historical celts.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:33 PM

So what you are saying is 95% of the people are stupid are you?
    Do Americans think Canada and Mexico are different ? Do all the countries of Europe or Africa see them selves as different countries?
    Me thinks if is you that is stupid

Mute Carthage Buckley
    Favourite Carthage Buckley
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:37 PM

We need to send Enda over to DerryLondon so that he can tell Lizzie Windsor that its the Irish Isles.

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:48 PM

Australa and New Zealanders, especially as a united military force are called Anzacs. Both countries are proud of the name. Terms like B&I or Celtic Islands can benefit the minor island, being Ireland… I have no time for the expression British Isles… It reminds me of the old term British Lions… Ireland is respected all over the world…and yes we are equal to the “poms”!

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:52 PM

When Australia and New Zealand combine, especially in the theatre of war they are fondly called the Anzacs. I like the term Celtic Islands or B&I. Ireland is well respected all over the world, and equal with the “Poms”. We don’t need to go backwards!

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:38 AM

Only certain Irish could get themselves so upset over nothing. The British Ordnance Survey view is the one most people throughout the world go by hence the Google results, they are the British Isles. It’s geographic but the usual Republican types want to make it political and a problem.

Mute Shane McDaniel
    Favourite Shane McDaniel
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:41 AM

95% Mal how did you get that figure ? Did you do a poll of everyone you ever spoke to or are you just another one of those people that can’t distinguish between anecdotal evidence and fact.

Mute DaVe O'm
    Favourite DaVe O'm
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:55 AM

I think great Britain only referred to England and Wales as they hadn’t taken over the Scottish at that stage

Mute DaVe O'm
    Favourite DaVe O'm
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:58 AM

Most people think “America” only refers to the United States of America.
    Eg. If I said in from America you would not think I’m from brazil.
    People generalise, they may not be totally stupid.

Mute Declan Duffy
    Favourite Declan Duffy
    Oct 29th 2013, 1:17 AM

What we are
    And how we see it,
    Has a way of affecting
    The way we define it.
    As long as the peace
    Nips PSNI piecemeal
    Simmering Pud for the DUP
    Fading bling, the GBNI bing
    While hope in the IRA SF Fairs;
    To mould our land, the people who dare.
    So we want our own union, not to share,
    And their Union, they keep it there.
    Our tribe be united, totally at ease
    For us to divide up, as we please
    By province, by county,
    By Town, by team.
    Now where’s the auld enemy, borders unseen.
    This political divide is not for me,
    The pomp has plagued my view you see.
    While our geography is easier to map
    It’s rock and water, so who gives a crap.
    The cultures we share, our points of view
    Not a million miles, not far askew.
    Call me and Isle, call me Iona
    I don’t give a feck, you can me Fiona.
    I love this land, being part of the clan,
    But taking it seriously; there should be a ban.

Mute Anthony Carroll
    Favourite Anthony Carroll
    Oct 29th 2013, 4:10 AM

So we’re back to trying to ruin England then?!

Mute Des O'Leary
    Favourite Des O'Leary
    Oct 29th 2013, 7:33 AM

And if they existed long before England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales or Britain, why call them British? Could just as easily call them the French Isles.

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:19 AM

@Shane, yeah, your right, I should have said “most people I speak to”.
    In any case, the point I was making is as the majority of people I’ve spoken to outside Ireland think of Ireland as part of Britain.

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:27 AM

European Isles?

Mute Barra Flynn
    Favourite Barra Flynn
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:01 AM

Great Britain actually comes from Grande Bretagne referring to the province of Brittany in France..

Mute Rory McCann
    Favourite Rory McCann
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:20 AM

I call them the Celtic Isles. 3 of the 4 countries in it consider themselves Celtic.

Mute howzat
    Favourite howzat
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:45 AM

You must be the brains of the group mal must be stimulating conversations with the other sharp pencils

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Oct 29th 2013, 10:56 AM

And the one that has more population than the “celts” put together isn’t. So it’s a stupid idea.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Oct 29th 2013, 2:01 PM

Here’s another nugget to confuse you all. While Ireland shared aspects of Celtic culture, there’s no evidence that the Celts ever actually came to Ireland. The research at Trinity College Dublin (TCD) into the origins of Ireland’s population found no substantial evidence of the Celts in Irish DNA, and concludes they never settled here en masse.
    http://www.davidicke.com/forum/showthread.php?t=119605

In fact the more you delve into it the more you learn that Ireland was/ is not a Celtic country. The term was allegedly assigned to Ireland in the eighteenth century by a Welsh linguist- and was seized by the Irish nationalist movement as evidence of an us and them heritage.
    The original inhabitants of Ireland pre-date the Celts. It seems that Ireland and Britain copied aspects of Celtic art and culture via trade links and this has later been misinterpreted. Rather like Europeans who take on aspects of American culture via TV and media.

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:03 PM

That mean we have to include Corsica, Sardinia, Malta, Cyprus, the Greek, Italian and Balkan islands not to mention the Scandinavian, Iberian and Portuguese. Won’t work.

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:05 PM

Wouldn’t us David Icke as reference for anything however check out a tv series from RTE/Cinegall in the 80′s called Atlantean and your eyes will be opened.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:14 PM

There are more references and scholarly articles that all seem to have a consensus about the Celtic heritage. I had a look at references to Atlantean – looks very interesting! Thanks for that.
    The idea of being part of a common ‘Atlantean’ culture including the western seaboard of Europe and North Africa is intriguing and attractive. What parallels to the British Empire then EU Federacy much later? Interesting….

Mute Graeme Gregg
    Favourite Graeme Gregg
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:53 PM

That is just not true. The “great” part comes from French and is used distinguish between big bretagne and little bretagne. The Islands existed a long time before the English, Welsh, Scottish and Irish arrived, however the term British Isles was invented a long time after their arrival and can be changed as and when people want to change it.

Mute Niall Gilmartin
    Favourite Niall Gilmartin
    Oct 29th 2013, 7:51 PM

Personally I don’t really care all that much, you rarely if ever hear the term ‘British Isles’ being used these days so it’s not really a live issue. Obviously it was a very slow day at journal.ie so they decided to wind up those who are very easily wound up by making up a non story.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:26 PM

You sound a bit wound up, Niall.

Mute Tory Ireland
    Favourite Tory Ireland
    Dec 30th 2013, 12:18 PM

The ‘Great’ in Great Britain does not refer to the larger island of the British Isles. ‘Great’ or ‘Greater’ Britain was used to distinguish the isle from ‘Britannia minor’ or ‘Lesser Britain’, the continental region which approximates to modern Brittany.

Mute Gavin Healy
    Favourite Gavin Healy
    Apr 28th 2014, 5:02 AM

Incorrect. Great Britain is the island of England, Scotland and Wales. The term “great” was used to distinguish it from what is now Brittany. No connection to the island of Ireland

Mute Gavin Healy
    Favourite Gavin Healy
    Apr 28th 2014, 6:45 AM

No, that s not correct. Great Britain is the island of England, Scotland and Wales. The term “Great” was used to distinguish it from “lesser” Britain, what is modern Brittany. No connection to the island of Ireland.

Mute Khalifa Al Kuwari
    Favourite Khalifa Al Kuwari
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:58 PM

Ireland is a different and independent from Britain and should be referred to as Ireland and by no means part of the British Isles.

Mute Rhona Ray
    Favourite Rhona Ray
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:49 PM

This caused a row in our house 2weeks ago,our 11yr old son had to answer this for his homework,living in England,born to Irish mother and English father,the poor child just let us argue it out!!!

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:09 PM

What was the answer (based on what they teach in Britain)?

Mute PFA1437
    Favourite PFA1437
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:33 AM

River Shannon

Mute Martina Murray
    Favourite Martina Murray
    Nov 7th 2016, 2:12 PM

@Niall H: the wrong answer.they teach the wrog answer in Britain,apparently.

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:51 PM

Isle be back

Oct 28th 2013, 8:36 PM

I came here straight away to say let’s not have a row. Let’s have a load of jokes?

Oct 28th 2013, 9:08 PM

I have a hape of jokes. Someone tell a funny one before I end wrecking yisser buzz with some mad spiel.

Mute Marc Metcalfe
    Favourite Marc Metcalfe
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:10 PM

Did you hear about the magic tractor?it drove down the lane and turned into a field…hope that helped

Oct 28th 2013, 9:12 PM

*end up. that’s me for tonight on here, I’ve made a show of myself.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:21 PM

Britain is an island off the east coast of Ireland so why not refer to us collectively as the Irish isles………….

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy

That field the farmer turned into there was a scarecrow who won an oscar for being outstanding in his field. Deliver is all over the shop. Sorry

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:19 PM

There was a mouse living in the tractor tyre. The tyre got a puncture, now the mouse lives in a flat.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:15 PM

Feck off with yizzer ‘British Isles’ …. If they haven’t got the boot on our throat, it’s NOT the British Isles, it’s the island of Ireland and some offshore islands…

Mute Gerard McCauley
    Favourite Gerard McCauley
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:28 PM

I have a question for anyone viewing this, do you have any holes in your socks? If not, how do you get your feet into them?

Mute Anthony Carroll
    Favourite Anthony Carroll
    Oct 29th 2013, 4:24 AM

Haven’t seen the new tractor film? Just watch the trailer

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 29th 2013, 7:39 PM

When he got out of the tractor the farmer was out standing in his field….
    I’ll get my coat…

Mute Vinny
    Favourite Vinny
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:36 PM

The question should be is Britain part of Ireland

Mute Kevin Mannion
    Favourite Kevin Mannion
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:55 PM

Constitutionally speaking?

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:10 PM

Top right hand corner is.

Mute Martina Murray
    Favourite Martina Murray
    Nov 7th 2016, 2:13 PM

@Vinny: it could be,because of all the Brits with Irish grandparents….

Oct 28th 2013, 9:34 PM

I thought of this one years ago and my Scottish housemate at the time thought it was gas craic… Let’s just call the place F.U.C.K.O.F.F. ie the Federal United Celtic Kingdom Of Four Fiefdoms. Anybody?

Mute Lorna Haller
    Favourite Lorna Haller
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:41 PM

I like Ireland better than Britain the peoples here are more friendly and nice.I live in London once and glad I come to Ireland.

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Favourite Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:29 PM

What a fascinating story Lorna, tell us more!

Mute Peter Forde
    Favourite Peter Forde
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:57 PM

Aka the dole is better here :-)

Mute howzat
    Favourite howzat
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:48 AM

That’s wonderful Lorna is there any point to your point or is it pointless

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:56 PM

As one who always refers to our Dyson as a vacuum cleaner not a Hoover, in my opinion the Islands should be referred to as “The British and Irish Isles” We should always correct and/or ignore those who are not smart enought to say more the 3 words at the same time.
    “In my opinion” Of course opinions are like bellybuttons, everyone has one…..

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:21 PM

Brendan, hoe about just “the isles”. I say vacuum too, but I’m a yank :)

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:22 PM

That would be “how”

Mute Anne van Veen
    Favourite Anne van Veen
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:29 PM

If someone asked me if I was from the British isles,I’d swiftly correct them and say,NO!,I’m Irish therefore I’m from the Irish isles!,would you dare tell a dutch person that they are the same as the Germans?,NO, so why do this upon us Irish?!.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:07 PM

Or when you go on holidays in Europe and the locals say Irish/ english the same all British. That’s what they think.

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:08 PM

Irish Isles? So that would be the island of Ireland…and?

Mute John Harrington
    Favourite John Harrington
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:04 PM

There are many other small islands on the west coast

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:14 PM

And all the other Islands off our coast…

Mute howzat
    Favourite howzat
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:49 AM

Matt that’s all you’ll get in Santa Ponza

Mute Jean Martin
    Favourite Jean Martin
    Oct 29th 2013, 11:39 AM

When you do tell them your Irish…..you get better treatment and service…..

Mute mi dowds
    Favourite mi dowds
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:03 PM

Look a lot of Irish blood and pain over the centuries to achieve our status Ireland is Irish and always will be

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:54 PM

Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah! Lot of good it did us, we belong to Germany now!

What exactly is “Irish blood”? Most of us living on this island have some Saxon, French, Scandinavian, Spanish, Portuguese and god knows what else rushing through our veins. And the next generation is going to be much more *mixed* (thank goodness!) I wish more Irish people had more awareness of their own history. There seems to be some sort of weird nationalist notion that our ancestors were here 5000 years ago and built Newgrange, um, actually, no. Most of our ancestors are blow-ins and most of us are part-Brits. Cop on to yourselves and stop spouting off that nationalist nonsense.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:55 PM

And then you signed it all over to Europe. Britain and Ireland are closer today than ever before.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay

Em there aren’t any Irish people running around with Spanish or Portuguese blood. The Americans just propagated the inane term “black-Irish” because they cannot/refuse to accept the fact that all Irish people don’t have red hair and speak like this “begorrah”.

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:23 PM

Yes, you’re right Art, no Spanish person has ever got on a boat and traded with Ireland, or was on a boat that was shipwrecked off the Irish coast, that never, ever happened! *sigh*

It’s nothing to do with America – do you know anything about the connections between Ireland and Spain in medieval period? The level of trade that occurred between both areas? The fact that thousands of pilgrims from Ireland visited Spain? Seriously, don’t try that shite with a historian!

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:26 PM

Things aren’t as linear as dumbass Americans think.

There are plenty of Spaniards and Portuguese with fair features and light hair. Red hair originated in Scandinavia. Irish people are capable of having black hair without having had a Latin ancestor.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:33 PM

There are plenty. Have you never been to Galway? My own name, when translated from Irish is ‘dark foreigner’. Get real.

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:41 PM

I hate to burst your bubble but this myth was debunked.

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:44 PM

Art why are you banging on about America and Americans? There is plenty of evidence of interactions between Ireland and continental Europe, including Spain.

And I think calling Americans dumbasses says much more about you than it does about Americans.

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Favourite Patrick Gormley
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:54 PM

What difference does it make, The asteroid is on it’s way in 2029 . We’re all doomed Mr Mannering.

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:01 PM

I’m not a dumbass,…….dumbass

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:12 PM

We are strangers at home,
    We are exiles in Erín.

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:12 AM

The whole black haired Irish people are descended from Spaniards myth originated from the sinking of the Armada fleet. Problem is most of the Spanish died in that assault and only a proportionally tiny amount of them survived the wreck. The Spaniards that survived the wreck were hanged once they got on mainland soil. The rest didn’t hang around in Ireland.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:43 AM

Galway and west cork are full of people who share a common genetic pattern with French and Spanish bretons. These researches, by DNA sampling, have been carried out in recent years and have nothing to do with who did, or did not, survive the wreckage of the Spanish armada.

Mute Paddy Noone
    Favourite Paddy Noone
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:45 AM

Ah mark how’s about you stop spouting your f#cking shit. What’s wrong with an Irish person being proud of where they are from and having everything belonging to it been called what it should. You tosser!

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:31 PM

Well said Mark, the Irish are just another mongrel nation made up people from other parts of the British isles, mainland Europe and beyond. There is no such thing as pure Irish or English for that matter. Irish people have iron age ancestors the whole ‘Celtic’ thing is a nonsense, Ireland has less claim to being a Celtic nation than Poland or even Switzerland. The ‘Gaelic revival’ in the early part of the 20th century saw the whole Celtic mythology and romanticism as an opportunity to differentiate the Irish from the British for political reasons, which in itself is absurd given that a big number of British are in fact ‘Celtic’ according to themselves, ie Scots, Welsh, Cornish, Manx and even the pre Roman ‘Britons’ who shared a common language, religion and society with their Irish counterparts. All of this nonsense over a geographic term is pathetic and just shows how some Irish people just can’t get this inferiority complex out of their heads, the chip on the shoulder must weigh heavy on some people to the point that they are bent over. Ireland is in the British Isles, we were (are) also in Europe geographically long before we were ever in the EU but then that doesn’t matter does it, because it hasn’t got “British” in the title. How ironic that the word British derives from Bretonic/Brythonic which is in fact just another word for ‘Celtic’. A name in itself which merely describes a language not a race of people, Keltoi in Greek referred to the language(s) spoken by Northern tribes in mainland Europe.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 30th 2013, 2:56 PM

@Art “The Spaniards that survived the wreck were hanged once they got on mainland soil. The rest didn’t hang around in Ireland.” – Complete bull crap. May I suggest reading up on the Battle of Kinsale. 15 years after the sinking of the Armada, 35,000 Spanish troops arrived into Kinsale to help the Irish fight the English. At the time many Irish were also spreading across Europe to fight for other countries too.

Mute Graham O'Brien
    Favourite Graham O'Brien
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:04 PM

Ireland will always be Ireland until they find that oil and gas off of Dalkey and the West. Then we can buy our own geopolitical landscape..with blackjack..and hookers..

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:06 PM

Ah, forget the blackjack :)

Mute Roxy Blue
    Favourite Roxy Blue
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:25 PM

The way I see it, is that it’s a bit like Czechoslovakia. That country and name no longer exist, just like Ireland is no longer part of GB (and therefore shouldn’t be associated as such). Now we say Czech Republic and Slovakia. They are both independent countries as are GB and Ireland.

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:57 PM

Ireland was never part of Britain. It was Britain and Ireland.

Mute Sean Baylon
    Favourite Sean Baylon
    Oct 29th 2013, 1:59 PM

Its a geographic reference plain and simple.. Like the ‘nordic’ region which simply refers to Sweden, Norway, Finland and sometimes Denmark or the term benelux.. That’s a place and when referenced to you know exactly what part of Europe it is.. Or the middle east.. Israel is very clearly part of this location but they don’t don’t consider themselves middle eastern.. The term is geographic and when someone says ‘the British isles’ and educated person would ask ‘where exactly, UK or Ireland?’

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:22 PM

What has the pavee point representative got to say?

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:12 PM

Their culture has been denigrated. They have been marginalised. We are all racist.

Mute Taghash Fortwitte
    Favourite Taghash Fortwitte
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:22 PM

My research tells me that a pavee was a native of South Armagh in Ireland who, on a seasonal basis, would travel round Britain carrying cloth and clothing for sale. Why is it now connected with Bulgarians?

Mute Gary Guilfoyle
    Favourite Gary Guilfoyle
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:54 PM

Britain looks like a paedophile priest reaching down to grab a running child

Mute Anna Gram
    Favourite Anna Gram
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:45 PM

Lmfao!!

Mute David Mulholland
    Favourite David Mulholland
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:26 PM

Ireland is definitely not part if the British Isles. Let’s knock this one on the head straight. My head nearly exploded when I had someone recently refer to England as the “mainland”!!

Mute Northern Whig
    Favourite Northern Whig
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:55 PM

As far as I’m aware the first reference to these islands comes from the Greeks, who referred to them as the “Pretanic Isles”, from the word “Brythonic”, a Celtic cultural/linguistic group. Welsh, Cornish, and Breton are all Brythonic Celtic languages. “Pretanic” then evolved into “Britannic” and then into the modern “British”, so technically the word “British” means Celtic, if that satisfies any nationalists. Although I don’t see the point in tying yourself in knots about it.

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:17 PM

So basically what you are saying is that the British isles are named after us all along and we didn’t even know it. Brilliant.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 29th 2013, 6:21 AM

Actually the Greeks knew multiple groups of Celts and had names for the various tribes. The Illyrians, the Thracians etc. So the name Brytons would not be a generic Greek name for celts.

Mute Éirainn Hail
    Favourite Éirainn Hail
    Feb 3rd 2014, 11:40 PM

the orginal term the greeks used was the tin islands . not sure how they messed this one up . they even mis translated Ireland name mutible times , and got it wrong evertime lol they called itHibernia the real name was Lerne , which is related to Éiru and Éire . also Irish arent Byrtonic there Goidelic so it dosent even make sense . Brytonic and Goidelic are completly differnt brances of the indo european and are barely related only the fact that there celtic . so calling it Brythonic is not correct . Góidelic is not Brytonic

Mute John Coleman
    Favourite John Coleman
    Aug 22nd 2014, 10:04 PM

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albion
    Albion (Ancient Greek: Ἀλβίων) is the oldest known name of the island of Great Britain.
    Judging from Avienus’ Ora Maritima to which it is considered to have served as a source, the Massaliote Periplus (originally written in the 6th century BC, translated by Avienus at the end of the 4th century), does not use the name Britannia; instead it speaks of nēsos Iernōn kai Albiōnōn “the islands of the Iernians and the Albiones”.[6] Likewise, Pytheas of Massilia (ca. 320 BC), as directly or indirectly quoted in the surviving excerpts of his works in later writers, speaks of Albion and Ierne (Britain and Ireland).

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:55 PM

The British and Irish have so much in common that it don’t matter if Ireland is in the British isles or not.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:03 PM

I’m sure the millions who have died on this island due to British occupation would tent to disagree with you.

Mute Billie Murphy
    Favourite Billie Murphy
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:08 PM

We watch their telly, support their soccer teams, read their tabloids and basically look more towards British modern day culture! It’s hilarious that we think we’re so different, we have differences indeed but we are infact more similar than we dare to admit.
    Time we stopped pretending!

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin

I’m sure the millions who have died on this island due to British occupation would tent to disagree with you.”
    – if they saw the country today that they gave their lives for I doubt they would do it again – ie die for ” Ireland ” .
    Anyway the idea of countries is old hat – the people who rule us the MNC – the bankers – they do not care about nation states etc – except to use them as tax havens or sources of cheap labour .

Mute Billie Murphy
    Favourite Billie Murphy

Outdated pathetic ramblings. Those who died blah blah. Maybe be a little more worldly and concentrate on relevant issues that effect people day to day….
    Potatoe potato who gives a hoot what were called, let’s be mature and work together as universal people and not focus on past rivalries

Mute Donal Mullen
    Favourite Donal Mullen
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:24 PM

Have some respect would you.

Mute Billie Murphy
    Favourite Billie Murphy
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:31 PM

I’m really trying Donal, but when thickos waffle on about occupation in 2013, it really makes me question the intelligence of us paddy a

Mute Donal Mullen
    Favourite Donal Mullen
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:34 PM

You make fair points but just think we need to respect those who died is all Billie!…no offence…

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:37 PM

Millions who have died? It’s not Rwanda we live in

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:37 PM

“Millions died on this island due to British occupation”

Really? Where did you get the stats for that little throwaway observation? Please don’t dredge up the famine – the British government reacted badly to it, but the cause of it was centuries of breeding, having too many children and dividing up plots of all between all these children until holdings were too small to sustain everyone. Plus, relying on one crop was also a bit idiotic.

The problem with the Irish then and now is that it’s always someone else’s fault. We’re great at complaining but really quite crap at rolling our sleeves up and doing something about it. We secretly enjoy being victims because it gives us the opportunity to piss and moan about it.

Mute Fuh Qiu
    Favourite Fuh Qiu
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:04 PM

That form of inheritance was part of the penal laws, Protestants were allowed to pass on the farm to the eldest son, not allowed for Catholics. The desired result may not have been the famine, but the impoverishment of the natives who refused to convert was very much a foreseen and intended consequence.

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:18 PM

Did the penal laws also insist that we breed like rabbits?

Guess what happens when there are more people than the land can support? Guess what happens when a population becomes over-reliant on one crop that is quite susceptible to disease?

The British government may have supplied enough lifeboats, but we’re the ones who crashed full-speed into the iceberg.

Mute pat mustard
    Favourite pat mustard
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:24 PM

Mark you do realise that there was more than enough food produced on the island of Ireland during the famine to feed the entire population. Food was exported while millions died or emigrated, and we were part of the UK back then with no Dublin parliament, but the London government did very little compared to what it could have done. Some British politicians at the time claimed it was Gods punishment to the Irish and they were better off doing nothing so the population growth could be halted.

There were several famines in Scotland similar to the Irish one and minuscule amounts of people died compared to in Ireland due to the efforts of the authorities. This is not about the Irish always blaming others, it is fact that the effects of the Great famine could have been far less severe if the authorities had put their full effort into feeding the victims but it is fact the they didn’t. Obviously you are going to blame the government (which happened to be in London) for not doing as much as they could have done.

Mute Fuh Qiu
    Favourite Fuh Qiu
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:27 PM

And how did a population become entirely dependent on Mexican food? Malthusian population capacity is part of it but there has never been a famine in a democracy. They aren’t naturally occurring phenomena.

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:30 PM

Billie, New Zealand has the same relationship with Australia. It doesn’t make them Australian, does it?

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:36 PM

I said in a previous post that the British government handled it badly – I’m a historian, so I’m well aware of the effects of famine. The food that was produced in Ireland belonged to someone (not the British government). Are you saying it should have been removed from it’s owners?

Mute Fuh Qiu
    Favourite Fuh Qiu
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:45 PM

Yes. When millions are starving that’s what a responsible democratic government should do. In a national emergency that’s what happens.

Mute Andrew Flood
    Favourite Andrew Flood
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:52 PM

Mark for a historian you certainly are over simplifying the Irish famine!

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:57 PM

http://www.irishholocaust.org/officialbritishintent

http://www.irishholocaust.org/thefoodremoval
    “In Belmullet, Co. Mayo the mission of 151 soldiers 5 of the 49th Regiment, in addition to escorting livestock and crops to the port for export, was to guard a few tons of stored meal from the hands of the starving; its population falling from 237 to 105 between 1841 and 1851. Belmullet also lost its source of fish in January, 1849, when Britain’s Coast Guard arrested its fleet of enterprising fishermen ten miles at sea in the act of off-loading flour from a passing ship. They were sentenced to prison and their currachs were confiscated.”

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:06 PM

I dont think too many priests died during the famine.

Mute pat mustard
    Favourite pat mustard
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:13 PM

Are you actually serious Mark, of course the government should have taken all necessary measures to ensure that people did not die of starvation. In a national emergency all resources should be diverted to alleviate the problem so of course they should have stopped food stuffs from been exported in a famine. Similarly in a state of war or after a natural disaster you divert everything at your disposal to help in the effort. The British government of the time exasperated the problem by their negligence and most politicians were not willing to believe that the famine was as bad or widespread as it actually was.
    If the same famine had occurred in England you would have certainly seen a wholly different response.

Mute pat mustard
    Favourite pat mustard
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:19 PM

Your right there Paul, as Bull McCabe says in The Field no priests died of hunger in the famine!

Mute Conall Mac Loingsigh
    Favourite Conall Mac Loingsigh
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:12 AM

“The Famine Plot” by Tim Pat Coogan should educate you. It’s written by an actual historian, not a self-professed one.

Mute Jack Northwood
    Favourite Jack Northwood
    Oct 29th 2013, 7:58 AM

Alan Carroll; “Australia has the same relationship with New Zealand” …. what are you on about? Australia has never occupied or ruled NZ, and Australia has never been attacked by NZ terrorists. In fact, there has never even been any serious political disagreement between the two countries. They’re also not even that close to each other – Sydney to Auckland is about the same distance as Dublin to Moscow!

Mute Billie Murphy
    Favourite Billie Murphy
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:14 AM

Well done Alan! I never said we were British I said we are very similar. British isles is a geographical term, I live in 2013 and have bigger things to worry about than what a collective group of Islands are called. People talking about the past and holding onto to grudges still makes us look like a bunch of bitter backward paddys. Think beyond the past and focus on what’s important!

Mute Jean Martin
    Favourite Jean Martin
    Oct 29th 2013, 11:56 AM

“Did the penal laws I sit that we breed like rabbits?”………no they didn’t but the RCC did!

Mute Taghash Fortwitte
    Favourite Taghash Fortwitte
    Oct 29th 2013, 1:04 PM

It belonged to English invaders who stole the land from the Irish natives and kept the natives in effective slavery by allowing each slave family one acre on which to grow the alien crop potatoes. In return for the one acre the native slaves had to work on what used to be their own land to grow the cash crops for export by the new “owners”. Laissez faire colonisation!

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:40 PM

“New Zealand has the same relationship with Australia” Please explain this or did you just make it up?

Mute Martina Murray
    Favourite Martina Murray
    Nov 7th 2016, 2:20 PM

@Denise Friary: NOT very much in common,apart from speaking English and being Caucasian.

Mute Rhona Ray
    Favourite Rhona Ray
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:14 PM

Niall H,like the article above it depended on what website we went on!! No definitive answer but I won the argument at home,Ireland does not belong to British Isles!!

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:40 PM

Just sticking on the popcorn. I’m going to enjoy this one. I have my own view, but not a hope am I going to get involved.

Mute Frank Kelly
    Favourite Frank Kelly
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:23 PM

We are separated from the British Isles by the Irish Sea which by the way is also ours because if you look at the map it has our name ‘wrote’ in it !

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:54 PM

Not sure about that Frank. Do the Brits not fund Irish light houses?

Mute Andrew Flood
    Favourite Andrew Flood
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:42 PM

No they don’t Irish lights look after Irish lighthouse’s which is branch of the opw. Maybe your thinking of the RNLI

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 29th 2013, 2:00 AM

I always thought brits funded irish lights … maybe not. Thanks.

Mute Richard Hammond
    Favourite Richard Hammond
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:10 PM

Celtic Archipelago!

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:23 PM

What about the Anglo Saxons who outnumber the celts?

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:58 PM

And a lot of those Anglo-Saxons live in Ireland, and have done for 800 odd years.

Mute Bedwyr Owen
    Favourite Bedwyr Owen
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:29 PM

You are pretty close to the mark there, Richard.
    The term British refers to the Brythonic people that were the original natives of the islands. Breton or Brythoneg, the language spoken by these early inhabitants, still exists today in Wales and Brittany.
    It is quite probable that it was the Celts themselves that coined the term Britain (Breton, land of the welsh) long before there was any suggestion that it would come to refer to a very different people.

inhabitants

Mute Conor Geraghty
    Favourite Conor Geraghty
    Oct 4th 2014, 8:11 AM

TRY AT LEAST 7 MILLION in England who are of Irish ancestry.

Then take into account the disproven anglo saxon theory of who the so called English are.

NBo surpise Bernard and ‘Padriag’ have not pulled you up on that myth.

anglo Saxons never were a majority in what is now England,try 10% at best!

Away and read and stop accepting little Britain BS

Mute Justin Gabriel
    Favourite Justin Gabriel

I’m going for a pint,,,

Mute anton de buitlear
    Favourite anton de buitlear

Why are Irish maps all printed in England.???

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:12 PM

Why is everything else made in China? ;-)

Mute Randy Fisher
    Favourite Randy Fisher
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:37 PM

Why did god make stupid people? Lol

Mute Michael Lee
    Favourite Michael Lee
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:00 AM

The term ‘British Isles’ isn’t British, or even Latin, and long predates any modern notion of ‘Britain’: instead it’s a transliteration of the name coined in the 4th-century BC by the Greek geographer Pytheas – Πρεταννικαὶ Νῆσοι (Pretannikai Nesoi). This included Albion, Ierne, Thule (which was possibly Iceland), and various other north Atlantic islands and territories, as much as they were known at the time. The term Pretannikai was probably based on the name of one of the indigenous peoples of the region known to early Greek scholarship, the Pretani or Priteni, who were indeed most associated with Ireland. The idea that ‘Britannia’ (as the Romans updated it) could refer to a single political – and, by implication, colonial – entity only dates from the late 17th century at the very earliest, and before then it was a historical geographical term. I accept it’s certainly not an innocent term now (even if that’s partly due to the ambiguous grammar of the English language, blurring possessives), though it is good to talk about about the history of the geographical terminology of these islands. Names are important, and the naming of places has been a tool of colonialism in many parts of the world for a long time.

Mute Conor Geraghty
    Favourite Conor Geraghty
    Oct 4th 2014, 8:42 AM

Well if that’s all historically accurate / and it aint because one would have to accept as literal translations from people who lived thousand plus years ago who almost certainly spoke in long extinct dialects by time of much later translation, and beside would have known all but f all of the wider world as we know it today!

The islands people imagine / assume selectively / conveniently could as well be the isle of wight.
    Bear in mind there are no maps that prove the Romans had any idea of the size or existence of Ireland.
    The much quoted Agricola for example had this assumed Ireland as laying somewhere between Roman conquered southern England and Roman conquered northern Spain.

As you correctly state, the pretanic means british is nonsense.

FFS people would not accept the word of a politician spoken today let alone last week!
    lol but when it suits somehow they just accept the word of some f who was supposed to have existed near 2000 years ago, writing under authoritarian regime, and then their words we only know because they are translated several times until some other f hundreds of years later who never even spoke the language gives us the final translation of what the ancient really meant!

If anyone really imagines these ancients of Greece did know Ireland and can describe exactly how, you should save your work here and go work for Disney.

That aside accepting the selective & convenient translation for conjecture.

If there really is a need for a collective name for the two clearly distinct islands of the world known as Ireland and Britain, then we should of course claim them for the Greeks or who ever first ‘apparently’ noted them as a collective.
    An amazing feat one I can not remotely imagine, even though having been on board ships around these waters for several months all told!

More realistically the Franco Norman Islands then.

But be serious,.no one gives a f do they.
    Not as if Britain is really united anymore or remotely distinct or as one, let alone complicate it further by looking for a supposed other non distinct but distinct island to claim as a distinct geographic area.

Brutish isles is a political term, a 18th century colonial term, a outdated & misleading quite useless term
    As misleading and outdate and as useless a claim as britainia rules the waves.
    They don’t and it isn’t

that game is over.

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:59 PM

Britain is going to the United Nations to stop the ‘Irish’ Sea lapping up on Blackpool beach.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:15 PM

I guarantee no one in Britain gives a flying fcuk. Also they don’t think the “republic” of Ireland is British. Only a debate on this side of the water.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Oct 29th 2013, 6:26 PM

Padraig,
    Correct

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:34 PM

What about we call it The Eastern Pacific Isles. That would confuse everyone

Mute Seán Mór
    Favourite Seán Mór
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:23 PM

I once informed a man from North Wales that the Irish for Wales was ‘An Bhreatain Bheag’, and that I suppose a literal translation might be ‘little Britain’…. and he nearly went ballistic. :-)

For me personally, I’d never ever refer to Ireland as being a part of a ‘British isles’. I probably wouldn’t even have the willpower to enter a discussion about it. Cut and dried case, as far as I’m concerned.

Mute Proinsias
    Favourite Proinsias
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:01 PM

I think we have more to worry about like geting a wage to pay the bills,so I don’t care what they call this forsaken land at the moment.

Mute Barry Farrell
    Favourite Barry Farrell
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:19 PM

Why can’t we just refer to “Britain and Ireland” instead of the “British Isles”? It’s not that much longer! You often hear people referring to “Spain and Portugal” but rarely to the “Iberian Peninsula”…..

Mute Joe Kinnane
    Favourite Joe Kinnane
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:59 PM

British is a political term
    We are not part of Britain politically
    Simples

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:03 PM

Eh what about Northern Ireland

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:31 PM

It’s a British garrison in Ireland. So what?

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:46 PM

Jaysus wake up.

Mute Tony Hetherington
    Favourite Tony Hetherington
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:47 PM

UK passports say the “United kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland” so the six counties are not part of Britain either

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:53 PM

I was responding to the comment above saying Ireland is not a part of their political system. Stop trolling.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:16 PM

You mean the six counties.

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:28 PM

Who named it the British Isles?

British people. Not God.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:00 PM

Who is this god you speak of??

Mute Clinton Daly
    Favourite Clinton Daly

We could call it the “Irish Isles”

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:25 PM

I always considered it a handy geographical term.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:38 PM

Is it Batman or The Batman?

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:23 PM

Ireland says no

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:06 PM

Let’s face it – if Britain was a Republic, Ireland would be a Monarchy. So geography can bugger off.

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:02 PM

Who cares, it was the Romans that gave Britian it’s name and at that time the Saxon and the Anglos were over deep in Russia or some where like that.

Nationalism is a fairly new concept and I have no problem with the term the British Isles.

Mute John Rice
    Favourite John Rice
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:57 AM

It’s like “Londonderry”. The British decide on what they want to call a place or group of islands and we’re expected to meekly acquiesce to it.

Mute Steve501
    Favourite Steve501
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:48 AM

A young american lad sitting beside me a few years ago was on his way to london via Dublin. When we landed he said he was delighted to be in the UK….I had to correct him and said he would need to keep the celebration on hold for a while.

I think we irish are very outward looking and know a lot about other countries mainly due to our migrant history which continues today. Other countries are far too inward looking or just don’t care.

Mute Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Favourite Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:42 PM

Seeing as the maps are wrong and the countries out of position it matters little whether it’s Oceania or Eurasia been referred to http://www.buzzfeed.com/mariasherm/every-world-map-youve-ever-looked-at-is-wrong

Mute Philip Farrelly
    Favourite Philip Farrelly

They should change the name of the Wicklow mountains to the Tallaght mountains.

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:48 PM

You’re thinking of the Dublin Mountains.

Mute Jarlath Corrigan
    Favourite Jarlath Corrigan

This site is full of west Brit green Tories tramps !

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti

It is a purely geographical term, I have never had a problem with it – and yes, I am Irish, back to before records began.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:34 PM

As long as they dont call our country as Southern Ireland I dont mind

Mute Justin Gabriel
    Favourite Justin Gabriel
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:00 PM

Proud to be Irish , who’s going out for scoops?

Mute Nydon
    Favourite Nydon
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:48 AM

with Tescos at every crossroads, we are now the most lucrative part of the British aisles.

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Favourite Anti_Social_Network
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:43 PM

With possible Scottish independence, hopefully the question becomes less inflammatory.

”England & Wales”, stands alright, their laws are very similar. Scotland has a lot of different legal customs. The term British will lose importance and who knows maybe less of the imperialism.

The only er problem is that the term UK requires northern ireland. Only violent tank spotting war fanatics really insist on being called ‘British’. The scots say often they are scots first then british. The English probably likewise if there are no scots about in ear shot. The welsh just take what they can get.

They should divide them up into two islands and call them ‘the islands’ Western isle and ‘the other one’

There is no reason to refer to them as one group other than to appease unionists on the island of Ireland imo.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 29th 2013, 6:42 AM

How does the term UK rely on N. Ireland? The term comes from the fact that each member of the UK is itself a kingdom. The Queen sits on the throne of the Kingdom of England and from there is supposed to be the Queen of the Kingdom of Scotland, Wales etc. If Scotland and N. Ireland left it would still be a United Kingdom.

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:55 AM

Each member (state) of the uk is not a kingdom . That is just silly. There is one kingdom hence one king.

The united kingdom was only formed in 1801 to incorperate ireland ,and modifed when ‘northern ireland’ was ‘retained’ in the 1920s . It was always Britain under the acts of 1707 union between England and Scotland.
    Wales is a principality in a modern sense one might say constiutent country , and not a kingdom.
    If Scotland AND northern irelad left it would not be a united kingdom . It would be probably just called England and Wales. Since Scotland is required for britain, and Ireland in some shape or form is required for united kingdom

Mute James Stratford
    Favourite James Stratford
    Oct 29th 2013, 10:50 AM

Not exactly, Wales is a principality of England, not a kingdom in itself. Scotland yes. NI historically part of the kingdom of Ireland perhaps?

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:08 PM

Wrong, again!

Mute Jarlath Corrigan
    Favourite Jarlath Corrigan

This site is full of west Brit green Tories tramps !

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Oct 29th 2013, 1:06 AM

Call it Celtic Isles in recognition of the six Celtic nations that make up this region. Besides there is a growing interest in Celtic civilisation in some parts of the world–more mystique than Anglos. Make a new twist on the gathering.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Oct 29th 2013, 11:02 AM

But it isn’t the Celtic isles. There are celts there, but they are a minority. Be like calling America “Mexico” because there are some Mexicans there.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:01 PM

Plus research from Trinity shows Ireland isn’t even a Celtic nation. The peoples who first settled the island of what is now Ireland predate the Celts and later borrowed or adapted aspects of Celtic culture – much like an eastern European adopting American culture they get from the TV – although there is no evidence the Celts moved to this island en masse.

Mute Conor Geraghty
    Favourite Conor Geraghty
    Oct 4th 2014, 8:07 AM

Trinity study LOL that is for certain not led to be bias!

Regardless what did they conclude in their small sample no scientific study ?

They concluded that the Irish had much in common with the Iberian peninsula!

Which matches the story of the Milesian Gaelic culture!
    Which is interpretated today whether you or Trinity like it or not as Celtic.

btw, all words are made up!

As for your double act ‘Padriag’ the parrots assumption on the English not being Celtic

1. As outlined above – Celtic like all cultural or racial claims are not organic or pure or direct from some / the God or nature.

2. Millions of the so called English of England are genetically Irish, so no wonder we match them,
    Millions are just 1 or 2 steps away from full or mostly Irish ancestry.

Millions of them!

so forget your assumptions matey

I one of the millions was born and bred there and I am Irish, not Irish and British. Just Irish.
    There is no need the world over to distinguish Ireland or the Irish.

No need to add some old 18th century colonial term like british isles or new colonial term like European union.

It is a outdated term that no one uses.
    You little Britain lovers should be more concerned about another outdated term, the most ironical ‘united kingdom’ lol

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Oct 4th 2014, 1:48 PM

Conor, seriously?
    The island of Ireland is and always has been part of the British Isles. The people of the British Isles share ancestral and family links.
    You’re “Irish”. Although I take it you’re born in England? (making you English?) Bravo and whoopee for you. That doesn’t have to mean in the report card of nationalities “does not play well with others, does not work as part of a team, does not make friends easily, holds grudges” just to assert some cliched notion of Irishness.
    It’s 2014. England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, Ireland (and Jersey, Guernsey & Isle of Mann) get along just fine. Vive la difference!

Mute Pauric McKenna
    Favourite Pauric McKenna
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:18 PM

How about just calling it “The Isles”?

Mute Mark O'Sullivan
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:02 PM

It would be confused with “The (Scottish) Isles”

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Favourite Patrick Gormley
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:57 PM

As Father Ted would say ” ,that’s an eck umenical question “

Mute Andrew Flood
    Favourite Andrew Flood
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:17 PM

Let’s just call it the British and Irish isles ! Problem solved ! Two separate identities one geographic location :)

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor

Thanks for the “hat tip”, Nickie. I was going to suggest a “myths debunked” article on the subject. A better place for people to thrash it out than on an article about spiders!
    Good article and I think one that really takes the wind out of all sails. But I am sure there will be plenty of Unionists, Partitionists, Republicans, Fenians, Ulster Scots, etc etc who will have a good barney tonight!

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:07 PM

“Ulster Scot”. That’s another absolute pile of steaming crap. There is no such thing. You are Irish with Scottish blood going back 400 years.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:27 PM

Art – so are you a Republican or a Fenian? Or are you angry I missed out your particular political leaning?

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:43 PM

What?

I’m just saying the “Ulster Scrot” thing is preposterous.

I have a more recent English bloodline than these jokes and I don’t go around calling myself English Irish.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:52 AM

Ulster scrote!?!

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:45 PM

Freudian slip.

Mute Siobhan McDonagh
    Favourite Siobhan McDonagh
    Oct 29th 2013, 1:20 AM

Your seven minutes late? We waited 700 hunderd years for this u can have your 7 minutes!!!! Were Irish! Just Ireland no British Isles

Mute Billie Murphy
    Favourite Billie Murphy
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:15 AM

Cringe

Mute Brian Hennessy
    Favourite Brian Hennessy
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:14 PM

Is Britain an Irish island? No! Is Ireland a British island? No? The West Indies are called the West Indies for 500 years but that still does not mean that Christopher Columbas made it to India even though a map from the 15th or 16th century names it as India. The West Indies are still neither geographically or politically Indian. Ireland is an island and the mainland is Europe. I’ve heard foreigners wonder why Ireland has been referred to as part of the British isles. They know it does not make sense. Its simply a falsehood.

Mute Mick Rooney
    Favourite Mick Rooney
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:49 PM

Typical Journal.ie stuff. Let’s post something controversial on a bank holiday quiet day and see if we can drum up some traffic and annoy the natives.

Mute Mick Rooney
    Favourite Mick Rooney
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:13 AM

… and like lemmings, 140+ comments in, too busy fighting and arguing among themselves, they all followed each other over the clifftop.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 29th 2013, 6:42 AM

Welcome to the Internet, you must be new here.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:00 AM

Ah Mick, what’s wrong with a bit of debate?

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:56 AM

How about just call it “Home”…?

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:20 AM

This article was interesting, but it answered absolutely nothing.

Mute Oliver Walker
    Favourite Oliver Walker
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:48 PM

What makes Britain so Great anyway?why didn’t they call it Brilliant Britain or Magnificent Britain?

We could call ourselves the Radical Republic of Ireland

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:51 PM

Dear Liz please take us back we give it a go but fu*ked up being a country so please we are sorry.
    Regards
    Ireland

Mute Gerard Byrne
    Favourite Gerard Byrne
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:44 PM

Sure as a former colonial power, their element of ownership includes Islands as far away as the Falklands,including the island continent of Europe,Russia China ,India combined,,,as Ronnie Drew sang years ago,thank god, were surrounded by water

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:14 PM

Ireland might as well be in Great Britain.

Nobody even knows Ireland isn’t part of Great Britain and even if they do, they still say we’re British.

Mute Peter Carvill
    Favourite Peter Carvill
    Oct 29th 2013, 11:30 PM

Great Britain is a geographical name for our neighbouring island. The Britons were the celtic speaking inhabitants of the southern part of that island, broadly speaking England and Wales of today. The Picts occupied what is now Scotland, until the Irish (the Scotii) moved in from the west bringing the Gaelic language with them, and in time giving their name to that land. Interestingly the term British ignores the Romans, Danes, Saxons and Normans who established their power principally in England, referring rather to the original Celtic speaking Britons, of whose language Welsh and Breton are surviving forms.

Mute Darren Callaghan
    Favourite Darren Callaghan

How bout just putting up a big sign saying wtf are our government doing selling our souls to Angela and co therefore name of country May as we’ll be FOR SALE !

Mute John Mullen
    Favourite John Mullen
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:01 PM

The British Isles ends at Isle of Mann. Western European Isles for the collective.

Mute Patrick Jackman
    Favourite Patrick Jackman
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:04 AM

Actually the Isle of Man is part of Great Britain but not part of the United Kingdom….go figure!

Mute Thomas Bourke
    Favourite Thomas Bourke
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:56 AM

Corporate whoring is the solution. How about the “Aldi or Aviva Isles”- Think of all the sheckels for the exchequer!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward

It seems we live in the land of ire regarding this matter!

What’s in a name? that which we call a turd
    By any other name would smell as sweet;

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Oct 28th 2013, 10:35 PM

And why did the name Scotland come from the Irish, who, who may have borrowed it from the British??.. That’s why I always think same/same

Mute Fong Wannapho
    Favourite Fong Wannapho
    Oct 28th 2013, 9:59 PM

I’m afraid so.

Mute Brian Larkin
    Favourite Brian Larkin
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:07 AM

I only remember the term being used when speaking of climate in geography classes in school

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Oct 29th 2013, 6:53 AM

This really isn’t that important

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:03 AM

Well, while I’d call it Ireland and Great Britain, I can’t help but try and forget the politics. Lets face it, we’re all European (German) now. What I really wanted to comment on is that map, stunning, I have saved to my hard drive, thanks :)

Mute Tomás Havana Kavanagh
    Favourite Tomás Havana Kavanagh
    Oct 29th 2013, 4:20 PM

Briarish Isles. Simple.

Mute Brendan Martin
    Favourite Brendan Martin
    Oct 30th 2013, 2:38 PM

The term British Isles and Ireland is also incorrect. Not all the islands around the two countries are British. The Aran Islands, Dalkey Island, Ireland’s Eye, the ones off Kerry, Cobh, the island in the middle of the lake in Blackrock Park, etc. are all Irish So to be accurate it should be the British and Irish Isles. A bit like the British and Irish Lions

Mute Peter Branigan
    Favourite Peter Branigan
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:54 PM

What is the point in using a term like “British Isles?” If it causes offence to so many people, then it should be disregarded.

In the same way that I wouldn’t go over to Britain and refer to myself as being in the “Irish Isles”, even if many Britons see themselves as Irish.

Mute Ciaran De Ceol
    Favourite Ciaran De Ceol
    Oct 29th 2013, 2:29 AM

My understanding was:

Ireland – Ireland is not a country but refers to the island where the countries of The Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland (under British rule) exist.

U.K. – Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England and islands found within.

Britain – Britain is not a country like ‘Ireland’ but refers to the large island containing Scotland, England and Wales.

British Isles – synonymous with U.K. But excluding Northern Ireland as it’s not an island.

Mute Susie
    Favourite Susie
    Oct 29th 2013, 7:58 AM

Almost, but Ireland IS a country, and an island. The island contains Northern Ireland, the country does not.

The ‘Republic of Ireland’ isn’t the name of this country, it’s the description. The official name is Ireland.

Mute Ciaran De Ceol
    Favourite Ciaran De Ceol
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:06 AM

Interesting. I didn`t think Ireland was classified as a country. I assumed the Republic of Ireland was wrongly shortened to “Ireland”.

Mute Stephen Turner
    Favourite Stephen Turner
    Oct 29th 2013, 1:42 AM

Sure look at music, any of the famous bands that leave Ireland end up being called a British band in all the foreign papers!!
    Sure I was born there, I’ve lived here nearly 3/4 of my life, two words describe it all ‘who cares?’.

Mute Gerard Aherne
    Favourite Gerard Aherne
    Oct 29th 2013, 11:00 AM

Why not forget all this fuss and call them something new… The Irish Isles?

Mute Fionn O' Neill
    Favourite Fionn O' Neill
    Oct 29th 2013, 3:01 AM

British isles but not United Kingdom I believe….
    Really not bothered either way! Shouldn’t be an issue really

Mute Michael Skellig
    Favourite Michael Skellig
    Oct 29th 2013, 2:27 PM

Sounds like another PR attempt at looking into the reunification of Ireland and Britain. Lots of underhand stuff going on the last five years in Irish media, all around the idea of closer ties between Ireland and Britain (including blasting the British royals all over Irish papers and television). Most people don’t see it but anyone who watches media can see it clearly.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:03 PM

I can’t see that being a bad thing…

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 29th 2013, 7:13 PM

I hate to be the one to break it you Michael, but this article isn’t a “PR attempt at looking into the reunification of Ireland and Britain”. To the best of my knowledge, that isn’t happening in any Irish media.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 29th 2013, 1:49 PM

I have one thing to say only,its like saying Japan http://www1.american.edu/ted/ice/images5/mk_map_of_east_asia.gif belongs to china. Argument is rubbish.
    Ireland is no apart of british isles just because they named it so doesnt make it British isles either.
    Irish isles or sea our jurisdiction etc.. etc.. Move along nothing to see here.

Mute David Brady
    Favourite David Brady
    Oct 29th 2013, 5:44 PM

I always assumed the term referred to Britain and the Falklands!

Mute Sheena Ní Mhurchú
    Favourite Sheena Ní Mhurchú
    Oct 29th 2013, 4:07 PM

I have no problem with people saying we’re in the British Isles, it’s just a geographic term. Now, someone calls us British and it’s a different story. But folks getting their backs up over the British Isles? Send them back to Geography class IMO.

Mute Michele Hill
    Favourite Michele Hill
    Oct 29th 2013, 11:42 AM

Anyone see that in the coloured lines pic the whole thing likes like an embryo with Ireland being the placenta….

Mute Rory McCann
    Favourite Rory McCann
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:19 AM

The British Queen & Royal Family doesn’t consider the British Isles to include Ireland.

Look at Q9 on the British Royals FAQ: ( http://www.royal.gov.uk/FrequentlyAskedQuestions/20%20most%20asked%20questions.aspx ):

> Q9. In how many countries is The Queen Head of State?
    >
    > A. Including the British Isles, The Queen is Head of State in 16 Commonwealth countries. Her Majesty is head of the Commonwealth which includes 53 countries.

Mute billtipp
    Favourite billtipp
    Oct 29th 2013, 11:42 AM

Jaysus .some strange effects of coastal erosion since that 1459 map was made.

Mute James Stratford
    Favourite James Stratford
    Oct 29th 2013, 11:04 AM

I see it as colloquial, common in England though obselete if it was ever really used here. I’d agree with the British OS that It’s handy to have a geographic way to describe the Islands forming an archipelago off the northern coast of the European continent. If we were to come up with something now, it would probably be something totally different. Blame the ancient Greeks perhaps. America is a case and point example of the curious opposite problem. I’ve met a lot of Argentinians/Cubans/Panamanians etc who consider themselves American. The problem is the confusion of politics and nations, with the need for a way to describe the physical geography. The latter often sits uncomfortably alongside the former as it hasn’t kept up with the faster pace of political change.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jun 14th 2014, 2:01 PM

Obviously a geographical term nowadays predicated in the fact that the biggest island gives the collection of Islands a name. If Ireland was the biggest isle then the collection would probably have been referenced as the Irish isles. Also the biggest island is next to mainland Europe so Europeans would see the British Isles as a suitable description. No doubt in its earliest sense there was an element of political geography. I wonder had the Romans a collective name for this group of Islands or maybe Ptolemy could throw some light on it. Could be compared to the “naming rights” for stadia in modern times. We all know where the Aviva is but when another sponsor gets the naming right in the future it could be the VHI stadium!!!!!! Then we might have Corporate Beds there instead of Corporate Suites!!!!

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Dec 28th 2013, 11:12 AM

The British Isles is a geographical term not a political term. That is where the confusion lies

Mute Steve Duggan
    Favourite Steve Duggan
    Oct 28th 2013, 11:49 PM

Putting my PR hat on, we should give it an acronym and can be said as a word. Something like UKIRL (pronounced You Curl)

No political difficulties there

Mute Peter Carvill
    Favourite Peter Carvill
    Oct 29th 2013, 12:17 PM

The best is the oldest. The ancient world knew these islands as the Cassiterites; the tin islands.

Mute Sheena Ní Mhurchú
    Favourite Sheena Ní Mhurchú
    Oct 29th 2013, 4:09 PM

I didn’t know that, thanks for the interesting fact!

Mute Peter Carvill
    Favourite Peter Carvill
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:39 PM

Sorry, a typo, it should be Cassiterides.

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:27 PM

I never really had a problem with it. It’s like the Canary Islands, and the biggest one is Big Canary – you name the group after the largest one. No biggie. Wouldn’t use it myself but, I don’t assume someone’s being all imperialist when they use it.

“These Islands” is a bit weak and “Britain and Ireland” leaves out the likes of the Isle of Man.

Mute Conor Geraghty
    Favourite Conor Geraghty
    Oct 4th 2014, 8:49 AM

So in summary you are absolutely fine with what ever anyone wants to call it as long as the Isle of man is not left out.
    Who could forget the isle of man.

How about the eejit isles.

Mute Patrick McKee
    Favourite Patrick McKee
    Nov 1st 2013, 10:57 AM

Menu from the recent G8 meeting in County Fermanagh “Selection of cheeses from the British Isles”…..https://twitter.com/David_Cameron/media

Mute Feargal Deery
    Favourite Feargal Deery
    Oct 29th 2013, 7:20 PM

Brirish Isles

Mute Daniel King
    Favourite Daniel King

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rNu8XDBSn10 A really good breakdown of the United Kingdom in all it’s forms.

Mute Garvan Lynch
    Favourite Garvan Lynch
    Oct 29th 2013, 9:12 AM

They belong to who owns them,financially?so….Germland

Mute Joe O Sullivan
    Favourite Joe O Sullivan
    Jan 10th 2016, 6:18 AM

If the governments, who could come up with nothing better than ‘these islands’ (lol), had any imagination at all they might be able to create some sense of unity by giving the isles a decent name.

Mute Graeme McCann Mockler
    Favourite Graeme McCann Mockler
    Oct 29th 2013, 8:37 PM

Let’s just call them the Western Isles of the Almight German Empire !