You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Niall Carson/PA Images

Woman (80s) seriously injured by tractor in hit-and-run incident in Co Tipperary

The pedestrian was struck by the tractor in Carrick On Suir on Friday afternoon.

AN ELDERLY WOMAN has been seriously injured after being struck by a tractor in Co Tipperary. 

Shortly after 3.30pm on Friday afternoon, gardaí and emergency services were alerted after a pedestrian was struck by a tractor at Sean Kelly Square, Carrick On Suir.

The driver of the tractor failed to remain at the scene.

The pedestrian, a woman in her 80s, was taken by ambulance to University Hospital Waterford, where she is being treated for serious injuries.

Gardaí are appealing to anyone who may have witnessed this collision or has any relevant information to come forward and assist with the investigation.

Those with camera footage (including dash cam) of the location at the time are asked to make this available to investigating Gardaí.

Anyone with information is asked to contact Clonmel Garda Station at 052 6177640, the Garda Confidential Line at 1800 666 111 or any garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

12 Comments
    Mute Allo Allo
    Favourite Allo Allo
    Mar 3rd 2024, 8:20 AM

Hope she is OK, 80 years old bless her, tough at that age. What is going on in Tipp these days? No enforcement, culture of Devil may care on The roads. Yet the speed vans will be on the 5 lane 80kph safe roads of major cities making money today while people die where the vans are needed.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Mar 3rd 2024, 8:45 AM

@Allo Allo: very true. It’s shooting fish in a barrel for them. The number of vehicles on the road is rising and they are baffled as to why the stats are rising. The only way to achieve vision zero is to take everyone off the roads. That man/woman probably doesn’t even know that he struck that woman, she might’ve been just caught by the end of the trailer attached to the tractor.

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Mar 3rd 2024, 7:47 AM

There will be no problem catching him/her in a small place like Carrick.

Mute Del Boy
    Favourite Del Boy
    Mar 3rd 2024, 11:29 AM

I see young lads flying around in tractors where I’m from. Terrible hope she makes a full recovery. They shouldn’t be allowed drive them till 21 there gone more powerful and bigger than ever.

Mute Be Lucky
    Favourite Be Lucky
    Mar 3rd 2024, 9:25 AM

I spend the majority of my time working in LDN, I can’t believe how congested not just Dublin but the majority of Ireland has gotten. 15 years ago when i met my then girlfriend from my home in N Dublin it would take on avg 15 mins to get to her family home now it’s closer to 30 mins rush hour 45 minutes to an hour / 20 minutes. Now it closer to 2 hours. And what’s is more crazy we have family from and others whom now have moved up to 80 miles from Dublin whom now commute and this has become normal for so many that’s ridiculous. I m sure most on a normal day would find that tiring never mind doing a full days work Monday to Friday. This is the reason we have such increase added with social media and ph usage while driving.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Mar 3rd 2024, 2:37 PM

@Be Lucky: So happy you managed to get all that off your chest, hope you feel much better now. You might even be coherent in your next post.

Mute TC Murphy
    Favourite TC Murphy
    Mar 3rd 2024, 2:49 PM

@Michael Burke: Does it make you feel better to be smuck.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Mar 3rd 2024, 9:28 AM

Roads are barely big enough for cars around there. Unfortunate incident… I wonder is there a farm in the country that has suitable road access for the vehicles that it uses? Doubt it.

Mute I can see clearly now
    Favourite I can see clearly now
    Mar 3rd 2024, 11:28 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: Unfortunate incident? A tractor driver that fails to remain at the scene, cop on. Have some consideration for the poor lady rather than the width of the road.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 3rd 2024, 9:08 AM

Any truth in the story that her groceries were stolen while she lay on the road?

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Mar 3rd 2024, 4:54 PM

@John Mulligan: you mean the messages, to that generation.

Mute Ann neylan
    Favourite Ann neylan
    Mar 3rd 2024, 5:11 PM

@P. V. Aglue: what do you mean ‘that generation ‘?…. here in galway, we still stay messages!!!