You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell

Poll: What Government coalition do you want next time around?

Fianna Fáil TDs appear to be softening their opinion of going in with Sinn Fein – is it a runner?

DESPITE ANOTHER ELECTION probably being a long way off for now, there’s been chatter about what the next government might look like recently.

Fianna Fáil’s Jim O’Callaghan when asked about potential coalition talks with Sinn Féin this week said: “Fianna Fáil should neither rule in, nor rule out, any other party in respect of coalition, in advance of the next General Election.”

His comments come after The Irish Times reported this week that almost 20 Fianna Fáil TDs have said they would not rule out holding coalition talks with Sinn Féin in the future.

With the polls continually on the up for Sinn Féin, it is likely the next general election will be a three-horse race. 

So, today we’re asking: What Government coalition do you want next time around?

Poll Results:

Sinn Féin-led coalition with smaller parties (6139)
Fine Gael-led coalition with smaller parties  (3807)
None of the above (2992)
Same again. Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael-Greens (1469)
Sinn Féin-Fianna Fáil coalition with smaller parties (1207)
Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael with some other smaller parties (1058)
Fianna Fáil-led coalition with smaller parties (818)
 Fine Gael-Sinn Fein with smaller parties (671)

(We’re probably not going to get a one-party government, so we left that option out, but if you have other fantasy coalition governments, let us know in the comments below)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

179 Comments
    Mute Robert Edwards
    Favourite Robert Edwards
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:09 AM

The Shinners are coming make no mistake. A number of things will likely happen, they will break the country financially, they will drive industry and highly skilled professionals out of the country on foot of stupid taxation policies for the upper earners, they will push a united Ireland stoking the embers in the North and it will be a giveaway great 4 years. The larger parties will have some job trying to fix the damage. Once the extent of the damage is felt in people’s pockets they will reduce back to the smallest party. OR they won’t follow through with any of their fantasy policies and evidence that they are experts at critising others and nothing else.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:13 AM

@Robert Edwards: they will break the country, I thought that was already done.

Mute Kieran Campbell
    Favourite Kieran Campbell
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:14 AM

@Robert Edwards: this is The Journal Robert, sensible commentary not allowed….free stuff for those who voted for us…..

See 51 more replies ▾
    Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:16 AM

@Robert Edwards: That’s exactly the way this government have us now!

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:22 AM

@Robert Edwards: And FF didn’t destroy us in 2007/2008 and now they are making a bags of it again.

Mute James Mccartan
    Favourite James Mccartan
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:28 AM

@Robert Edwards: That sounds like FF to me not SF

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:30 AM

@Robert Edwards: that’s one thing for certain – a SF led Irish govt will set back any rationale unity with the North.

Mute Mick Andrews
    Favourite Mick Andrews
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:36 AM

@Robert Edwards: Now there Robert Edwards your tolal biased view is plain for all to see. Remove those blinkers and see the green.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:38 AM

@Paul Power: Boom

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:40 AM

@Robert Edwards: the country is already broke. They will be blamed would be more accurate.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:44 AM

@Kieran Campbell: The standard cult response, may I remind you that the only ones giving out free stuff are FFG. They have always controled the purse strings but that fact doesn’t suit your narrative, does it?

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:45 AM

@Robert Edwards: Any chance you have tonight’s lotto numbers as well in that crystal ball??

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:52 AM

@Robert Edwards: FFG BOOTLICKER!! Your time is over. Zero integrity. Vote Sinn Féin!

Mute Realist
    Favourite Realist
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:55 AM

@Carlin Ite: the country isn’t broke, far from it… But it will be with Sinn Fein in power… They are only good for whinging in opposition

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:58 AM

@P Mc G: Sinn Fein also have zero integrity. To be honest it appears all TD’s loose their integrity as soon as the walk through the doors of the Dail.

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:04 AM

@Robert Edwards: Wow. You just described Fine Fail and Fine Gael perfectly, down to a T!

Mute Marcus Kittel
    Favourite Marcus Kittel
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:05 AM

@Jack Cass: here here, but didn’t you know that sort of logic doesn’t factor into the whole Sinn Fein bashing narrative, it’s far better to give out about them giving out ;)

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:15 AM

@Robert Edwards: and has fffg not run the country into the ground with their corruption

Mute Robbie Redmond
    Favourite Robbie Redmond
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:33 AM

@Robert Edwards: sure thats just our recent history

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:34 AM

@Robert Edwards: Isn’t that what FFG/Lab have done for the last 100 years?

Mute Shay Redmond.
    Favourite Shay Redmond.
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:35 AM

@Robert Edwards: Break the country? Have you been asleep since 2008 when FF and the Greens bankrupted the country? How did you get on after that when FG absolutely tore the life from the country’s working classes with crippling austerity?

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:52 AM

@Robert Edwards: Break the country financially? Joke of the year so far with FFG having us up €250 billion and counting. Go back to bed.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:53 AM

@Shay Redmond.:

Funny that during Austerity, while FG were doing the EU/IMFs bidding of cut cut cut, Sinn Feinn were ridiculed for suggesting we should spend out of a recession. Meanwhile, the next recession hits and the narrative from EU, FG/FF is that “the only way to recovery is to borrow and spend spend spend” exactly what they called SF loonies for suggesting.

Mute Marty H
    Favourite Marty H
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:59 AM

@Robert Edwards: hope you’re not too badly hurt when you fall from that high horse you’re on

Mute Brendan Hoey
    Favourite Brendan Hoey
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:01 AM

@Robert Edwards: or they could be the best thing to happen to this corrupt country in 100 years………

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:02 AM

@john doe: The main difference is, we can borrow cheap money now, we couldn’t even go to the bond markets then. So unlike this time, spending out of the last recession was a financial impossibility.

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey

@Robert Edwards: Unfortunately its to late for that the country is already broken. No matter who is in power for the next 10 to 20 years it will make no difference. We will be paying dearly for a long long time. If you can’t see or understand that you and people like you are just as much a part of the problem we now and will have in the near future.

Mute Jess Delahunt
    Favourite Jess Delahunt
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:21 AM

@Robert Edwards: I have no idea why a left wing party is so terrifying for the right and satisfied middle in ireland
    A government as its core duty should provide 3 essential things, health, housing and education. 2 of those are incredibly broken in Ireland and the left cannot be blamed as the right has ruled for my entire adult life of 25 yrs, and really since the 80s
    This is unarguable. We need a fairer society and the market obsessed right won’t and haven’t provided this as the seem to always believe the scorpion doesn’t sting!!

Mute Brian Stafford
    Favourite Brian Stafford
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:30 AM

@Robert Edwards: because the current mob have done so well. I mean, we’ll only have the world’s most expensive hospital in such a small country. We could have had 10 hospitals for the same price or wiped out homelessness amongst other things. You have people on here cribbing about the 20m for the white water rafting facility in Dublin and the cost of the hospital just down the road dwarfs it. We can have nice things too you know, just stop pissing millions and millions up against the wall. Whoever gets in next is in trouble because of the pandemic regardless.

Mute Mock the week
    Favourite Mock the week
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:45 AM

@Robert Edwards: Break the country financially that was already broken financially…..sure.

Mute Sara McS
    Favourite Sara McS
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:47 AM

@Robert Edwards: or else when they get in, they’ll see populism doesn’t work when you’re on the governing side of the house and they’ll have to make hard choices that their newer followers in particular won’t like. Their main focus will be a United Ireland in any case. They have about two TDs that I could see grasping a ministerial brief well but aside from that I wouldn’t be confident. But maybe the time has come that they should see what being in government on this part of the island is like.

Mute IAmSCozzie
    Favourite IAmSCozzie
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:58 AM

@Robert Edwards: FFGG are driving health care professionals out of the country

Mute Shay Redmond.
    Favourite Shay Redmond.
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:05 PM

@NotMyIreland: not of course loosing sight of the fact that FF/Greens drove the economy off a cliff at the time and had us in that predicament. It never ceases to amaze me how short people’s memories are. Michael Martin was a government minister then. His party bankrupted the country and now he’s Taoiseach. In any other developed country he’d probably only be getting out of prison now..

Mute Mick Andrews
    Favourite Mick Andrews
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:31 PM

@Kieran Campbell: That’s democracy Kiernan. Manifestos are usually full of false promises. 100 yrs of them. Time for real change I can sense.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:37 PM

@Robert Edwards: political experts Robert Edwards with his Nostradamus-esque predictions here.

Mute Marty H
    Favourite Marty H
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:39 PM

@John McCann: the real criminals in this country are already in power…… And of course the journal finds this comment toxic… Typical

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:41 PM

@Robert Edwards: status quo then yea

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:16 PM

@Robert Edwards: as long as everyone gets the 4 bedroom house, 5 doors up from their mother’s house with the indoor swimming pool that SF promised every using the money borrowed from the bankers that they said they would burn so we won’t have to pay a cent back we will all be happy.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:19 PM

@john doe: and who would give SF money to when for 10 years they wanted to burn the bankers? Or were they only messing and they really would pay back money they borrowed

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:46 PM

@Robert Edwards: Fianna Failure broke us. Everything you say is mere opinion and pure speculation without any basis in fact. Everything you’ve described is exactly what Fianna Failure has done to this country. Fine Gael makes the wealthy even wealthier. You and your ilk have some kind of self abusing notions about who and how this country is run. Every single recession and boom bust economic rollercoaster has happened under FF and/or FF but facts don’t matter to the likes of you.

Mute Verners Tess
    Favourite Verners Tess
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:50 PM

@Robert Edwards: When it comes to stupid taxations policies in the future, they will not just apply to upper earners. Regardless of who is the government, everyone will be taxed more to pay for the lockdowns.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:24 PM

@Robert Edwards: “they will break the country financially” I stopped reading at this point… Like the country is not broke already after that is in place now and previously.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:36 PM

@Shay Redmond.: Yeah no argument there. I was only pointing out that the spend out of recession wasn’t an option last time. Just a different set of financial circumstances.

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 13th 2021, 4:18 PM

@Robert Edwards: what absolute twaddle, and even if as you think, sinn Fein broke the country,? ha ha, they would still have a long way to go to equal FFs record of bankruptcy 3 times, and counting, there are none so blind, as those that will not see !

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Feb 13th 2021, 4:31 PM

@Robert Edwards: Congrats – that is probably the most desperate and partisan post I’ve read in a long time. Your opening sentence was the only factual part of it.

why is it you Fianna Gael boys and girls just dont get it, that people are buying your anti change scaremongering anymore. What they are really scared of is the thought of further life under Fine Fail rule!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 13th 2021, 5:04 PM

@Robert Edwards: Think F.F./ Greens when last in power broke the country financially. Replaced by F.G. and the so called Labour party who added to the mess. Now we have a an unholy alliance of FFG/ Greens .Sweet Jesus. And you criticise Sinn Fein.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Feb 13th 2021, 5:48 PM

@Robert Edwards: people are tired of the same liars and charlatans in the form of ffg time after time. They insulted a large number of the electorate after the last election by choosing to ignore SF. That won’t be forgotten

Mute padar
    Favourite padar
    Feb 13th 2021, 6:53 PM

@Robert Edwards: this country is broke for the many but for the few that FF/FG protect its all good. People have had enough. Time for real change.

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 7:21 PM
    Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:16 PM

@Robert Edwards: Whatever you say Concannonbot

Mute Mary Ward
    Favourite Mary Ward
    Feb 14th 2021, 12:39 AM

@Paul Power: now u said it. The, question is if they can change it in GOVT and I say no. They can’t cos it guvt deal with EU commission who have that treaty.

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Feb 14th 2021, 8:46 AM

@Robert Edwards: ff have already broke the country like nobody else will ever do and still muppets vote them back in

Mute batcollins
    Favourite batcollins
    Feb 14th 2021, 10:46 AM

@Robert Edwards: unfortunately that is what every other party has done for the last 100 Years. If you are a Fiann a Failure or a Blueshirt then have the courage to admit it. Corruption is built into Fianna Fail and Fine Gael as we’ve seen by countless ” Tribunals” presided over by corrupt party installed judges. Looking forward to Sinn Fein government when all the dirty little deals will be exposed. Is that what you’re panicking about

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Jul 18th 2021, 10:05 PM

@Robert Edwards: FFG are bleeding the coffers. SF won’t be able to borrow the money to do anything…. thankfully… but the country will be forced to start paying off it’s debt when SF take office. ‘Tax the rich, they have money’ isn’t a feasible policy.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:12 AM

Irish people deserve better than FFG. They have destroyed the lives of so many since independence with no accountability of themselves or their cohorts as recent events confirm.

Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:26 PM

FF/FG have us broke. So financially irresponsible. They grossly mismanage funds with their magic money tree deals. A new first-term party will have some job.

Then FG offer the Irish workforce as free labour to businesses with all the unpaid positions that’s rampant in Ireland. 3rd highest in EU.

Pay workers for working, whether interns or trainees. They’ll soon have us paying bosses just to work for them. They’re so anti-worker.

Mute Mary Ward
    Favourite Mary Ward
    Feb 14th 2021, 12:41 AM

@Dean: they THEY mismanaged money. The td in Dail and senate, made, a, law, s67 of the, credit inst stab act and that charge. On fir finance with job of managing. Kney on accord with loan terms.

Mute Jonny Doyle
    Favourite Jonny Doyle
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:07 AM

SF on their own. Give them a term. Long enough giving out about the rest. Give them a chance. If they mess it up then we know they are all nothing but a showing of wasters.

Mute Marcus Kittel
    Favourite Marcus Kittel
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:02 AM

@Jonny Doyle: lol a gas comment ;) considering the crises that 100 years of FFG governments have delivered

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:42 AM

@Jonny Doyle: Just to get a gauge on what you will consider “messing up” … how would you rate the other parties as of right now factoring everything in their history of being power?

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:32 AM

We have had 100 years of fianna fail and fine Gael governance. The public services are grossly mismanaged and underfunded. As a nation we are over 200,000000000 euro in debt. Why are ppl terrified of a Sinn Fein lead government???

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:50 AM

@Benny Dowling: The FFG bootlickers are afraid of their lives that SF will succeed. They know leaky Leo is finished, zero credibility and integrity. They have to deflect somehow! Vote Sinn Féin!

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:11 AM

@Benny Dowling: have you looked at the state of NI where they are in power? Mary Lou is FF anyway.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:40 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: It’s a mandatory government sharing power with the DUP. Nobody can work with the DUP. Even Leo said they were hard work.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:03 AM

@Teresa Ryan: that’s the problem. Blame the DUP for everything even though SF have 4 seats on the executive and the Deputy FM post. It’s the same blame culture that exists in their politics in the south and their abstentionism in Westminster. Always blaming or obstructing but never actioning. It’ll take another generation of SF politicians before anyone can take them seriously.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:15 PM

@Benny Dowling: maybe because they support militia who rob banks?

Mute Margaret Doyle
    Favourite Margaret Doyle
    Feb 13th 2021, 1:57 PM

@Benny Dowling: When Government grants are given to eejits who imagine they can run organizations Human error kicks in, they employ too many Managers to do what they can’t or won’t do and the organization becomes top heavy with little or no money going where it’s supposed to – into the Public service. Just take a look at how CEOs run Councils and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

Mute Seamus-James
    Favourite Seamus-James
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:38 PM

@Benny Dowling: Something to do with all the terrorism probably. And the people “disappeared” by the recent leaders of the party? All in living memory.
    By the way, FG were only founded in 1933.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Feb 13th 2021, 6:04 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: you really are a grumpy old fella arent you? How dare SF behave like they are in opposition. But unfortunately for you and others you defend, more and more people are turning towards them with support, and in stark contrast to your outdated view, it will not be another generation before people take them seriously – one year on from the last election when Fianna Gael teamed up to keep SF out, FF have now decided amongst themselves to consider coalition with them after next election.

However, as the above poll figure suggests, many peoples preferred option would be SF to lead a coalition with parties other than FF or FG.

thats the real worry for you guys – go deal with it!

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:25 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: So basically what FF and FG have been doing to each other for the past 100 years until they were forced to jump into bed with each other because people are now seeing them for who they really are, a bunch of wasters

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:04 AM

Shinner bots. Transform and hit that button as many times as possible. Use all your accounts. This is your time.

Mute Amen Limes
    Favourite Amen Limes
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:20 AM

@Dave Connolly: I look forward to Paddy Holohan being Minster for Defence.

@Amen Limes: they might bring back kinehan from exile as minister for justice while they’re at it – second chances and all that.

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:41 AM

@Dave Connolly: wrong their time will be the next ballot box

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:09 AM

@Brynþór Patrekursson: Bit like FG and Lowry

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:25 AM

@Amen Limes: minister for throwing hands

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:42 AM

@Dave Connolly: D is for Dave. D is for Denial

Mute Mock the week
    Favourite Mock the week
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:48 AM

@Amen Limes: As opposed to Gun Totin Willie O Dea or Charlie the Tan Flanagan ?

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:52 AM

@Dave Connolly: The last election didn’t demonstrate to you that there are real life people who support SF, no?
    Yeah, must be just the bots.

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:04 PM

@Dave Connolly: SF received over 700,000 first preference votes in GE2020… but yeah shinner bots…

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 13th 2021, 4:12 PM

@JustMeHere: no. 535k. So 150k bots

Mute HoneyGold
    Favourite HoneyGold
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:46 AM

I predict a Sinn Féin landslide.
    Since the foundation of the state every government has been led by Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael in one form or another. We have re-arranged the deckchairs every five years but we are dancing to the same tired old tunes. 100 years of civil war politics is enough. Time to move on.
    For the first time there is an opportunity to shake things up if Sinn Féin run enough candidates to form a government.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland

@HoneyGold: A coalition between the civil war parties put an end to civil war politics, wouldn’t you say?

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Feb 13th 2021, 1:06 PM

@NotMyIreland: They’ll return to being old enemies after this government. They’ll have no choice. There are no discernible differences between them and they can’t both remain relevant. So it’s a case of either cosy up and merge, which won’t happen, or go back to pretending they each have something different and new to offer the electorate.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Feb 13th 2021, 6:09 PM

@NotMyIreland: I always thought the civil war put an end to civil war politics.

Mute Dissisus Corr
    Favourite Dissisus Corr
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:21 AM

Looking like none of the above a most likely SF going on there own “maybe” but hopefully. And lot of support for SF with other smaller parties. No matter how we look at it I’m going to call it now ..SF will be in government next election.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:25 AM

@Dissisus Corr: who knows what the political landscape will be like in 4 years time. Far to early to call

Feb 13th 2021, 9:35 AM

@Hector Son: I think they are celebrating too early – the young people who protest voted for them last time around will have matured and seen the value of secure jobs, while the older cohort who have them a chance will have seen them taunting communities in the North with the blatant IRA support from the leadership. Less than 12% of eligible voters voted for them last time, lower next time around.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:57 AM

@Brynþór Patrekursson: Those same young people that have no chance of owning their own houses and blame FG for that while Leo lectures them about a war they don’t remember or care about ? Good luck with that.

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:10 AM

@Brynþór Patrekursson: The young people who voted for them last time around have matured and found that the ever increasing cost of living driven primarily by allowing speculative investment funds to hoard property and use young tenants as cash cows means that no amount of career security, hard work or promotion can possible result in an income which keeps up with cost of living inflation. Any of them that I’ve spoken to are, if anything, more steadfast in their resolve to seek a left-wing alternative to rentier capitalism.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:15 AM

Seriously? FG again? 100% of the lack piss poor gov and 50% of this one but ye want them again?

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:23 AM

@Graham Manning: Seriously? SF led coalition ? Don’t fall for the BS.

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey

@Graham Manning: we have seen provisional sinn feint operate in the North for 20 plus years so I certainly don’t want that here.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:48 AM

@Hector Son: oh no SF can do one as well. All of SFFG can.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:49 AM

@james comiskey: completely agree

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:49 AM

@james comiskey: you do realise that the North was and is an unviable political entity since partition. Just look at Unionist handling of Brexit to see how they adhere to democracy.
    1/ Brexit was a “uk wide” election, and although the north voted remain they MUST adhere to that uk mandate.
    2/ Current Boris government has a massive “ uk wide” mandate and signed up to the Irish Sea border protocol, unionists now shout about “ majority within the north “ against it.
    How can anyone govern with this double standard style democracy????

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G

Vote Sinn Féin

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:41 AM

@P Mc G: The fact is we will never have one party with a clear majority to ģovern. It’s a coalition government for decades to come.

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:13 PM

@P Mc G: the country would be an international embarrassment if SF were in power, the only Western European country run by a criminal organisation. Not only that they would decimate the economy and destroy our FDI, the only beneficiaries of their policies would be layabouts and criminals when they get rid of the special criminal court. They support witness intimidation because it’s mainly their supported who are before the SCC. What we have at the moment is bad but SF would be a disaster. Their politicians are not the decision makers and I don’t want criminals in Belfast deciding policy here.

Mute John O
    Favourite John O
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:49 PM

@John McCann: Well said John you called it exactly as it is

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 1:09 PM

@John McCann: Clown, FFG failure denier

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Feb 13th 2021, 1:30 PM

@P Mc G: didn’t I say the current lot are bad? My point is be careful what you wish for, SF are incompetent and criminal, only have to look up north for the proof

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Feb 13th 2021, 6:20 PM

@John McCann: time for your meds John.

Mute Gearóid Ó Tuama
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Tuama
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:19 AM

Fine Gaelers here really do sound like Trump ? Basically saying if Sinn Féin get a big number here the counting has been a fix LOL. Have a look in the mirror please.

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:57 AM

@Gearóid Ó Tuama: it wasn’t FG holding rallies saying the election was stolen.

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:07 AM

@james comiskey: Neither did Sinn Fein. They held public meetings to ask voters what the voters felt they should do regarding coalition negotiations and policy priorities. The meeting in Dublin was an extremely amicable event at which a group of SF politicians set out their own policy priorities if in government and then took questions, suggestions or comments from people in the audience much like an episode of Tonight with Vinnie B or the Frontline back in the day.

An approach to politics involving genuine, meaningful engagement with the community. Something which perhaps the other parties could benefit from. These rallies were not SF politicians talking down to or dictating to the public in attendance, they were public-led meetings at which the politicians took suggestions and answered questions.

Something FFG are sorely lacking in, to put it bluntly. Engagement. And that’s why they’re always so blindsided when the macroeconomic figures they rely on at the be all and end all from their ivory tower do not translate into a decent quality of life for the people they feel entitled to the votes of.

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:33 AM

@Fionn Darland: poor simple Simon

Mute Marty H
    Favourite Marty H
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:06 AM

@Fionn Darland: id1ot

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:13 AM

@james comiskey: All the articles on the Journal this morning yet not a word about Gardai investigating Varadkar. People in glass houses etc etc

Mute Gearóid Ó Tuama
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Tuama
    Feb 13th 2021, 1:30 PM

@Fionn Darland: it was actually Leo the leak who encouraged people to make fake accounts to praise FG

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Feb 13th 2021, 6:17 PM

@Patrick FitzGerald: Spot on – a report in one of todays papers said a recent FG parliamentary party turned into a hostile shouting match where Leo was accused of losing his mojo and perhaps to lose his position as leader if things dont change.

So it not just FF who are suffering with leadership problems. Is this whole bockedy administration about to implode?

meanwhile the shinners are lining up their new additional candidates and getting ready for the off.

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:51 AM

Leaky Leo out! Mehole out! FFG cronies out! Vote Sinn Féin!

Mute Fred the Muss...
    Favourite Fred the Muss...
    Feb 13th 2021, 1:33 PM

@P Mc G: Could you imagine SF in Government and having to actually make a decision and live with the consequences?. Up the Ra Cullinan being Minister for Health and Fierce Pearse actually planning a budget? And all governed by the Winbag Binbag. Laughable.

Mute UltraToons -Kel-
    Favourite UltraToons -Kel-
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:25 AM

ONLY Sinn Fein

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:11 PM

@UltraToons -Kel-: only sinn fein has its leadership outside the state and appoints puppet leaders that fit a particular template. Mary Lou McDonald and Michelle O’Neill were picked by the same controllers, have their speeches written by the same people.
    Be careful what you wish for. You may look back with regret at an era when we had democracy. Ask anybody from Venezuela.

Mute reginald
    Favourite reginald
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:34 AM

Democracy is a joke in this country.FFG confidence and supply last government,this government power sharing,what’s the next one going to be called,they are completely playing the system to suit themselves and nobody is held accountable to the daily cock ups they create.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

It would be great for democracy and the political process in this country to see a change from FF/FG. I think it’d improve both parties greatly to finally snap the arrogant attitude they hold that they have divine right to rule.

SF will bring their own issues I’m sure and they the idea of them in government doesn’t exactly fill me with joy but I think the prospect of a coalition with Eoin Ó Broin in housing, Róisín Shortall on health and Richard Boyd Barrett in social protection could really be the kind of game changer that ordinary people in this country so desperately need.
    Imagine a country with affordable housing, no hospital trolleys and a living wage for everyone? We know by now we’ll never see those things under FF/FG and it’s worth taking a risk on an alternative to see if they can deliver.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:07 AM

@Rochelle: The odd new train-line thrown in. It could really be the best country in the world, if we could get it all done. Referendums are the only way.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:15 AM

@Rochelle: well what we do know s that these things don’t exist in NI. Anyway, to provide for these things will cost billions of tax payers money. That’s why their manifesto was laughed at when published. Free transport, education, healthcare and 100,000 social housing units in 4 years are great ideas. Who wouldn’t vote for that? But there are no magic money trees on the lawn of govt buildings and especially not now. It’s easy to make these promises when you know that you won’t have to fulfil them. Would SF confront the public sector unions if in power to sort the health service? No chance. Would they abolish the SCC? Likely. They want to abolish LPT which will cost the state €500m. More borrowing. Fantasy policies.

Mute Thommo's Nose
    Favourite Thommo's Nose
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:12 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: funny that we’ve only had 14 budgets surpluses since the foundation of the state. There always seems to be a magic money tree when needed for FFG, time to wipe the slate clean of cronyism. Leo will have to change the record since Karolinska Hospital is on coarse to be the 2nd most expensive hospital in the World!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:21 AM

the shinners should be given a shot at government, if they’ll excuse the term. They’ll be a one-term party that will pretty much disappear after that, which will achieve a number of things. Firstly, they are a distraction in the Dail but make no real contribution, and have damaged genuine centre left parties like labour by pretending to be left wing and promising things that are financially impossible. Secondly, the waning of the influence of sinn fein on the island of Ireland will help move towards unity; there is no doubt that Sinn Fein is the biggest obstacle to a united Ireland.

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:36 AM

@John Mulligan: The FG Bootlicker BOTs are out in force today! You’re doomed and you know it! But but IRA!! Laughable

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:55 AM

@John Mulligan: who other than Sinn Fein will take up the mantel for unification in your opinion then?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:14 PM

@M Bowe: while sinn fein and their nemesis, the DUP have the majority voice in NI, unity is impossible. Both are sectarian parties whose every move and pronouncement just deepens divisions.
    Unity can’t come out of the barrel of a gun; some sinn fein strategists have finally figured that out, although many clearly still hanker after blood on both sides. But neither does unity come from division or triumphalism, or indeed from winning a border poll.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:16 PM

@John Mulligan: a united Ireland can only happen when divisive forces have left the stage and moderates are in the ascendancy. And none of that will happen overnight.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:02 PM

@P Mc G: I’m no great fan of FG, but I’m a democrat. There’s no doubt that sinn fein will be part of the next Dail, probably along with FF and some of the loopers.
    They will however be like a dog that spent its life chasing cars and finally caught one. They will do a lot of damage financially, but that can mostly be fixed if they don’t attack FDI to pay for Ceausescu style projects. The bigger threat is the damage they will do to the prospect of eventual Irish unity; their sectarian stance can only move that aspiration backwards.

Mute Mr Bordello
    Favourite Mr Bordello

Wow..all the faceless/troll accounts out in force today , no days off for the young gaelers

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:12 PM

@Mr Bordello: says the guy who uses a pseudonym.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:49 AM

The Shinners are a bit like Trump. They thought they won the last election!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:13 PM

@For Goodness Sake: plus they have most of the guns.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:34 AM

FF led coalition!!! someone at the Journal is very optimistic.

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:44 AM

@Jack Cass: Not to be outdone by a FG led coalition! Laughable.

Mute padraig mcgill
    Favourite padraig mcgill
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:40 AM

Have you seen some of the candidates SF run!? My god… If they got into government I’d seriously consider immigration!

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:52 AM

Anything left of Fine Gael/Fail. If those two smug parties keep juggling power in this country for the next few decades, there is simply no motivation for much needed change. The smug attitude (especially from FG) has failed the country. From healthcare and housing, all the way down to public transport. We have the worst quality public transport infrastructure when put beside European democracies of comparable wealth. There’s no motivation to do anything when those two parties are just juggling the power. Agree or disagree?

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:00 PM

@Tomo: 100% I agree

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:54 AM

So many FFG bootlickers.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:47 AM

“If the virus ever comes to Ireland, and FFG are in power, all you will get are overcrowded hospitals and flat 7up will be your only assistance”
    Me before election watching from Asia.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:25 PM

We desperately need change. We were promised it in 2011. People bought the lies and FG failed to deliver. Leo promised it again in 2017, the same people bought it and once again, they failed deliver. It’s got so bad now that blatant lies and confidential leaks are being tolerated at the highest levels in government. SF’s rise is not so much for anything they’ve done but for the consistent failure of FFG to deliver on any of their promises. More and more people are turning to SF, not because they want to see them in government but because they feel like they have no other choice.

Mute Tommie
    Favourite Tommie
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:22 AM

The fear from those commentators who have consistently voted FF/fg who ruled the country for 100years and ruined it with their antics and gombeenism. And also, give out about FF/FG when they make bad decisions (tribunals, children’s hospital etc)
    Yet the very same commentators cry out about SF and “the shinnerbots be out in force” and how bringing the country to ruin.
    Sake!
    Let the SF in, we will judge them, but remember, if they do make mistakes, are you going to jump in and defend FF/FG “all is forgiven etc”, honestly, fœœk sake.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland

The guys at the journal fancied a spot of fishing today with this poll.

Mute Heisen berg1
    Favourite Heisen berg1
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:18 AM

The sinners will get a new man at the top, Trump! He will help them run the place into the ground.

Mute Padraig O'Shea
    Favourite Padraig O'Shea
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:56 AM

Robert Edwards.. everything u described was done by fg and ff.. so ur argument is to let the same partys that have financially crippled the country in the past to to continue on doing so.. instead of giving another party a chance.. u say sf they do nothing and yet u don’t want them b in power.. oxymoron

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:58 AM

Best of luck with it Mary cant be much worse than Fianna Fail or Fine Gael at the moment

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:14 PM

@Damo: we won’t be dealing with her. She’s just a spokesperson.

Mute Full Circle
    Favourite Full Circle
    Feb 13th 2021, 9:09 AM

You would be mad to go into government now with the debt and ridiculous spending over the last 12 months.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:14 PM

Surprised mehole has survived this far.
    Same faces different positions, same brown envelope mentality. So much for change…..

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:08 AM

Disappointing but expected we have the usual bots and cheerleaders on. Same every time.
    You messed it up for 100 years and you policies are pie in the sky.
    Here is a horrible thought, why not have a national government and not be playing party politics with our lives.
    Find common ground.
    As log as politicians play play party politics and particularly local politics we are constantly going to be in the situating we find ourselves in.
    Where a small party pulls all the strings and gets what it wants.
    Just like now.

Mute Eamonn Martin
    Favourite Eamonn Martin
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:37 AM

A part of me will be terrified if SF get into power but the current shower are an embarrassment so something has to change.

Mute Thomas Linehan
    Favourite Thomas Linehan
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:48 PM

Big business afraid of the shiners that’s why FF and FG joined up big business told them.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:25 AM

It’s no use forming coalitions because they are ineffective. There is much caution to ensure no confrontational disagreement among the partners and the consequences of that are weak administrations … as we see at present. In other words no party has the liathroidi to do something that might cause a rift.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:43 PM

The undeniable sinn fein march to power has begun

Mute Peter Coen
    Favourite Peter Coen
    Feb 13th 2021, 4:34 PM

Hopefully S/F put up enough candidates next time.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:06 PM

Anyone would be better than whats in now

Mute Joeber Wallace
    Favourite Joeber Wallace
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:32 AM

It’s not the party that is in power that is to blame. It’s the system of government that is at fault, out of date, unfit for purpose.

In an age where we don’t have to gather in a town hall, to have a shouting match, to figure out what the people want and then elect the best speaker to represent out collective opinions.

We could just represent ourselves and collectively make decisions about how our country and economy should function instead of voting for people who clearly are more worried about their pensions and kickbacks then they are worried about student nurses putting their health at risk to work 60 hours a week in a covid ward for free.

Mute Justin Dawson
    Favourite Justin Dawson

Fine Gael and Fianna Fail.

Mute Liam Edward Harris
    Favourite Liam Edward Harris
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:05 AM

Have we tried a fine gael led coalition propped up by fianna fail? Look there has to be some combination of FF/FG that will work

Mute Jim Murphy
    Favourite Jim Murphy
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:13 AM

FG/FF no Leo or Martin. Bring on Simon and Jim O C. No greens or SF

Mute Leadóg
    Favourite Leadóg

Do you know that little bit of time between an election and the formation of a government . Maybe that could be extended indefinitely.

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:19 AM

I read that list and just gave a deep sigh of despair, I will vote how I always vote, for the ones who I think will do the least damage, and these days there is very little to choose between any of them in that regard.

Mute Corkonian In Dublin
    Favourite Corkonian In Dublin
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:42 PM

The problem with a Sinn Féin government is that if they enact their “economic policies” then there will be mass unemployment and Ireland as a whole will be back to the 1950’s.
    Some of their policies are sensible, unfortunately just not enough of them.
    I would hope that Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael will drop the Civil War and childish snips at Sinn Féin in the next election cycle and take them on on their merit. Sinn Féin are a legitimate political party and while I disagree with their policies it is time for Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael to respect them as such.

Mute brendan o connell
    Favourite brendan o connell
    Feb 13th 2021, 5:24 PM

The shimmers / people before profit and the greens don’t like people who get up early and go to work…. down with that sort of thing.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:51 AM

I want a coalition of what people vote (I might not agree with whose in but that’s the system)

Mute IP.Man
    Favourite IP.Man
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:56 PM

I don’t think it makes any difference which party I leading as long as this extraordinary earnings for politicians will not reduced. The lobby politic and nepotism has to be more transparent too.

Mute #1 Fifthwheel
    Favourite #1 Fifthwheel
    Feb 13th 2021, 1:50 PM

Nothing will change, no matter who gets voted in. The working class will be screwed as always.

Mute Donal Hogan
    Favourite Donal Hogan
    Feb 13th 2021, 7:30 PM

Their first order of business will be to get rid of the special criminal court. All their criminal buddies will be delighted with that.

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Feb 13th 2021, 7:20 PM
    Mute Marjory Proops-Tinklebottom
    Favourite Marjory Proops-Tinklebottom
    Feb 13th 2021, 10:27 AM

Vote NP!!!

Mute Tim Cookson
    Favourite Tim Cookson
    Feb 13th 2021, 6:35 PM

A Green majority government.

Mute Ainm
    Favourite Ainm
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:38 PM

Fine Gael-Aontu-Independents would be my hope. Realistically I think all parties involved in the current government are in for a hammering. Fine Gael are the only ones who might survive. Shinners look set to take over.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:18 PM

@Ainm: a cluster of independents in government is a recioe for instability and inertia. As we’ve seen in very recent times.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Feb 13th 2021, 4:56 PM

Farcical, Meaningless Poll, SFingerpushers going rampant as usual. JOURNAL Please cop on to this type of useless Poll.

Mute Jim O Brien Tech
    Favourite Jim O Brien Tech
    Feb 13th 2021, 12:30 PM

Oul government retainer poll

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Feb 13th 2021, 1:49 PM

There are way too many parties. No one will get the majority. Maybe we could have a right wing party and a left wing party and create a presidency, a House and Senate and a Supreme Court. Oh wait that already exists and that doesn’t work either. Maybe an absolute monarchy LOLOL

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Feb 13th 2021, 11:24 AM

None of the above. Vote PBP so none of the bigger parties represent my views. Probably end up with another centre right coalition whether it is with ff/fg/sf. depresing but thats the way it is

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 13th 2021, 3:16 PM

@alan: they will always be a fringe minority. Thankfully.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Feb 13th 2021, 4:15 PM

@John Mulligan: only if people consistently vote centre right /nationalist politics. the reason sf get votes isnt because they are different from ff/fg, its because they are the same, just with different faces.

Mute Lager Lout
    Favourite Lager Lout
    Feb 14th 2021, 1:33 AM

sinn fein, with their suspected links to ANTIFA – no bloody way

Mute JJ FILM & DOC. MAKER & AUDIO AND SOUND RECORDER.
    Favourite JJ FILM & DOC. MAKER & AUDIO AND SOUND RECORDER.
    Feb 14th 2021, 2:15 AM

The korrupt Rich, can’t stand the thought of S F in Government… You will need four parties to keep them out next . Thought I’d remind people of .https://www.soldiersofdestiny.org/thestardustcoverup.htm

Mute JJ FILM & DOC. MAKER & AUDIO AND SOUND RECORDER.
    Favourite JJ FILM & DOC. MAKER & AUDIO AND SOUND RECORDER.
    Feb 14th 2021, 2:08 AM

The Traitors been messing up for a 100 years, not fair only giving SF 5 years to mess it up.