You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Leah Farrell
The Daily Poll
Poll: What Government coalition do you want next time around?
Fianna Fáil TDs appear to be softening their opinion of going in with Sinn Fein – is it a runner?
9.01am, 13 Feb 2021
DESPITE ANOTHER ELECTION probably being a long way off for now, there’s been chatter about what the next government might look like recently.
Fianna Fáil’s Jim O’Callaghan when asked about potential coalition talks with Sinn Féin this week said: “Fianna Fáil should neither rule in, nor rule out, any other party in respect of coalition, in advance of the next General Election.”
His comments come after The Irish Times reported this week that almost 20 Fianna Fáil TDs have said they would not rule out holding coalition talks with Sinn Féin in the future.
With the polls continually on the up for Sinn Féin, it is likely the next general election will be a three-horse race.
So, today we’re asking: What Government coalition do you want next time around?
Poll Results:
Sinn Féin-led coalition with smaller parties (6139)
Fine Gael-led coalition with smaller parties (3807)
None of the above (2992)
Same again. Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael-Greens (1469)
Sinn Féin-Fianna Fáil coalition with smaller parties (1207)
Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael with some other smaller parties (1058)
Fianna Fáil-led coalition with smaller parties (818)
Fine Gael-Sinn Fein with smaller parties (671)
(We’re probably not going to get a one-party government, so we left that option out, but if you have other fantasy coalition governments, let us know in the comments below)
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
I buried my grandfather the exact day this occurred. We were unable to gather after the burial due to the restrictions as a family complete because of the new restrictions and did so believing it the right thing to do. Not once have I heard remorse from the judge for his actions quite the opposite blaming others the media the politicians for the storm. I personally believe his actions and his complete lack of understanding of his failures has brought the judiciary into complete disrupt and his inability to see that alone demands the actions of the Government to show nobody is above the regulations needed to navigate the pandemic safely. As long as he stays it gives the impression that there is an elite who believe the regulations are for the little people.
@brian boru: My deepest sympathy to you and your family, that must have been difficult to say the least. The way I see it is quite simple, Supreme Court Judge Seamus Woulfe was not the only person there that day, he was one of 80 people, and if he’s guilty then he’s not alone.
By extension, if people in high office can be found guilty of offences like this then why not other things, like leaking documents? For reasons like this I imagine a lot of these people are frantically trying to come up with imaginative ways to avoid doing anything to Justice Woulfe that may one day be done to them.
@brian boru: You and your family decided to abide by the regulations despite the grief and natural pain you were going through and in doing so you used your judgement that the rules applied to everybody and used your judgment to guide you that it was for the better of the wider society to abide by the rules.
Now imagine the Judgement that was applied by the people in the hotel in Clifden and imagine you were seeking justice in a court from the people whose judgment allowed them to attend such an event.
I would be very sceptical that I would receive a balanced and legally sound decision.
@brian boru: fully agree with every single word of that BB and condolences for your loss. I cannot understand how a judge can’t use their supposedly better judgement. How does he have any credibility now given how badly he’s handled everything since the golf dinner?
@Vikki Brennan: He is only protecting his quarter of a million euro salary. Nothing else on this earth matters to his kind. It’s all about the cabbage.
@Gerry Ryan: Those are completely different types of judgment you’ve conflated there. Judging criminal cases in court vs judging how many people were on the other side of a partition while off duty.
@Thomas O’ Donnell: No Tom, you’re confusing this issue of judgement with interpretation. You see the unfortunate people who had to bury their loved one interpreted the rule one way which was the correct way so their judgment was sound. The other interpretation of the same rule was an exercise in flawed judgement.
The rule was the same.
In my humble opinion what #LeoTheLeak done was & is far worse than what Judge Woulfe did , yes he was wrong in attending the dinner, but what Leo did when he was Taoiseach was far worse #LeoTheLeak #LeoTheLiar
@Christybhoy67: Everyone makes a balls of things now and agaín. If everyone who broke the guidelines or bent a rule had to resign there would be no one left working.
Yes, golf gate was a fiasco, so was leak gate & so was funeralgate.
We need to cut each other a bit of slack.
@Justin Gillespie: Well said no fan of politicians, but we need to weigh up the impact of the mistake. If anything the most serious mistake was mary lou on the funeral up north as it put people health at risk with the huge gathering that was has socially distant or not, but even that in my opinion is not a resignation offence
@Justin Gillespie: I think his decision to ignore the separation of powers, especially in a role that he was just appointed to, is the issue. It calls his judgement into doubt.
@Justin Gillespie: Seems the slack seems to apply only to FFG who seem to believe they do not have to abide by the rules..No exceptions should be made for any politician which ever party they represent. This government has stumbled from one crisis to another, and criticise any opposition that challenges them. Ministers resigning, Golf gate, leaking of confidential government documents to an unauthorised person, The endorsement by F.F/ Greens that it ok to leak confidential documents, followed by yet another mess concerning the appointment of a former F.F. senator and lobbyist., and you want to cut them slack.
@Oscar Wilde: really? I’ve heard a load about it this week – all the radio stations were talking about it, wheeling out constitutional law experts to explain the issues. The journal have had at least 4 articles on it this week.
TDs have been warned not to talk about it in public in case they prejudice the vote if it happens so there’s not many interviews to get on it but I don’t think the media have been silent by any stretch.
Anybody know why the story “Nomination of ex-FF Senator and NAGP lobbyist to Sipo labelled ‘outrageous’ by opposition” has comments closed after not being up even an hour?
@Úna O Connor Barrett: Woulfe was Varadkar’s Attorney General and was proposed, without ant competition, to fill the vacancy for a Supreme Court by Varadkar. Woulfe was appointed as a Judge to the Supreme Court by Chief Justice Clarke, who was appointed to his position as Chief Justice by Woulfe, when he was Attorney General. And round and round it goes…..
Well this is awkward. They can hardly ask Wolfe to resign as long as Leo the leaky liar remains in place. His crime was far more serious in my view and has tarnished the office of Taoiseach. This is why accountability is so important in public life but their hands are tied in this issue now and will be on many more issues to come.
He should no resign,the poloticians are being used by justice Clarke and the other two supreme court judges in some ” personal ” spat with justice Woulf .Justice Denham was asked to investigate,bright lady,she did and said there was no need to resign,but that obviously was not the result wanted,well too bad ,its not some European treaty that you keep voting on till you get the desired result,she said he should stay and he’s right to stay,and Leinster house should back away,far away from this.
@Gerry Campbell: oh please, you’re clearly a weapons grade blueshirt supporter coming out with that pro Woulfe old guff! There’s nothing personal from the Chief Justice at all. Your pal Woulfe has conducted himself deplorably and needs to go. It’s embarrassing that his wife, a barrister, has not advised him to do so and flagged what damage he has wreaked in terms of the court’s credibility.
@Gerry Campbell: i understand your point but you missed a few very important points that affect this whole saga , there is new Chief Justice on the Supreme Court where Woulfe is due to begin serving on the court with – He is entitled to do his job and steer a path forward – what other walk of life would you say – well the last boss thought I was grand so it doesn’t matter what you think ? – secondly – the judiciary system cannot claim independence and having a clear separation of powers only for Supreme Court Judge to be going to an Oireachtas Golf Dinner to socialise and network with politicians – and finally – the new Chief Justice made it clear that the behaviour of Seamus Woulfe SINCE the debacle – the whole attitude that it was the media fault whipping up a storm and he hadn’t done ‘anything wrong’ which led the Chief Justice and the rest of the colleagues to form the view that he was damaging the public confidence in the Supreme Court – not some personal vendetta as you implied
@Lizzie: oh you are a beaut,use a pseudonym,then bring the mans personal life into the mix,throw out a few insluts but do not go near the point….those weekend seminars are really working,now tiocfaidh off and troll somewhere else,let me be clear …
@Dave Hammond: Fair enough,I didnt imply a personal issue,just suggested it as i can not figure out why we constantly in this country seek reviews by very qualified people,then reject the results,also i agree with the point about fraternising with poloticians,but that one works both ways ,the poloticians should have enough sense to adhere to that also,and just seccond guessing you,none of the resignations by the poloticans were for innapropriate contact with a judge..covid got them…my point really was why overule a hand picked Judges findings ?
@Gerry Campbell: A Supreme Court judge should not be trying to defend wrong actions by arguing legal technicalities- it’s not the behaviour you would expect from a Supreme Court Justice.
The Chief Justice is correct in giving his personal view.
@Dave Hammond: to my mind it looks like if he sticks to his guns regardless of whether you think he should go or not there is not a process in place to remove him without blurring the lines of politicians interferering in judicial affairs,but I think lessons have got to be learned here,in my opinion no attorney general should ever be allowed to be appointed as a supreme Court judge as they are essentially part of the government they served so that is another blurred line when it comes to political influences in judicial appointments,and as much as I hate to agree with Shane Ross on anything he is right to say that we need at the very least more transparency on the appointment of judges who can make judgements on laws passed by democratically elected governments,time for reform is now.
It’s manifestly the case that her own position wasn’t tenable after she attended an IRA show of force in Belfast too, but she didn’t resign then.
And it’s manifestly the case that her own position isn’t tenable now with the scandalous breach of funding rules, where her supposedly all-Ireland party is doggedly holding on to four million pounds that should be returned to the family of the troubled individual who donated it to them.
Mary Lou McDonald and her leaders are in no position to preach to anybody.
@John Mulligan: what has gowing to a funeral of a friend got to do with this, if you were to link it to Martin going to a commeration up north I could understand but not going to a golf do and then claim not to know how many people were there, it is just any excuse to get stuck into sf to deflect from the wrongdoings of your favorite party, but you don’t have to worry Wolfe will be forgiven as was Leo….
@John Mulligan: the Separation of Powers is the main issue. On the funeral issue two things strike me. Firstly, the actual funeral was socially distanced while the crowds afterwards were not.
Secondly the Garda funeral around the same time and attended by the Commissioner and politicians did n’t observe the protocols as could be seen in the photos of Gardai sitting shoulder to shoulder attest.
@Brendan Greene: you’re not seriously comparing the funeral of a member of our police force in our state with the funeral of a convicted terrorist, member of an organisation that has assassinated members of our police force, in another state are you?
@GrumpyAulFella: the issue in both cases is whether the correct protocols were followed. Unless you are saying that they don’t apply to Garda funerals then the merits or otherwise of the deceased are irrelevant.
Supreme Court Judge Seamus Woulfe punishment was loosing three months pay and stop from hearing cases till Feb. 2021. Mr Woulfe decision was to give these three months salary to charity. yet any funds given to charity can be recouped through tax.
Did anyone ask at all why the man was at golf event in the first place,i thought politicians have no input or contact in judicial system??as mr micheal martin said this lunchtime…
Just to be clear again on what this man’s crime against humanity actually was. He attended a dinner attended by 80 others, less than 24hrs after a public health regulation had come into force limiting attendance at such events to 50 people. Instead of cancelling the event or turning 30 of those invited away at the door, the organisers divided the room into two separate divisions of 40 people each thinking this would comply with regulations. If this is the absolute shlte that can bring the country to the edge of a constitutional crisis then we need to take a long, hard look at ourselves. We’ve already hounded a man, unlikable as he may have been, out of a job in the EU parliament and in the process lost the EU trade portfolio that had potential to be hugely beneficial to this country, particularly with Brexit just around the corner. But none of that matters as long as we can sleep soundly and safely in our beds knowing that punishment has been meted out to those who had the audacity to attend a f%#£ing dinner !!
@Tommy Roche: To be honest,I don’t think that attending the dinner was the big problem. His lack of self awareness and arrogance displayed in interviews with Denham was,the fact that he didn’t seem to think he had done anything wrong at all. I think he has severely compromised his credibility by showing how far removed he is from reality. I would have issues with him continuing to serve on the Supreme Court,but I’m not quite sure a judge can be sacked for being pompous and self delusional!
Did anyone ask at all why the man was at golf event in the first place,i thought politicians have no input or contact in judicial system??as mr micheal martin said this lunchtime…
Suspicious
So the Oireachtas Golf Society organised a Golf event and dinner during a pandemic and which was attended by FF&FG and a former Labour Senator,etc.Surely the leaders of FF &FG were aware of this Oireachtas Golf Society event??
Now the Leaders of Coalition ,who themselves saw no consequences for allowing this Oireachtas Golf Society dinner to go ahead,areeting to decide the fate of another attendee of the event??!!The same Coalition who backed the Tanaiste for leaking a Government CONFIDENTIAL NOT FOR CIRCULATION document!
I’m not defending the former AG ,whose advice was never published re Joan Collins’s 2016 Bill re Referendum re Public ownership of water , services which had reached 2nd Stage but then stalled.There should be consequences & sanctions but I don’t think at the moment (I may change my mind)that he should be impeached,that’s a very serious matter.Im unsure as haven’t read enough about correspondence,etc.
@Nuala Mc Namara: The dinner, when organised, was in full compliance with public health regulations at the time with a little over 80 attending and the limit allowed was 100. New regulations came into force 20hrs before this dinner was due to start which limited attendances to 50. The Government and NPHET have themselves seen sense when this kind of situation arises, which is precisely why, when nationwide Level 3 was announced, they allowed weddings and functions organised for that weekend with Level 2 limits in mind to go ahead as planned. If they had had the foresight to do this with previous events that coincided with weekends when regulation changes were announced, we would never have heard about this dinner as it would have been entirely within the guidelines.
@Nuala Mc Namara: it is entirely possible that the leaders of FF and FG were unaware of the event. Afaik neither of them play golf, and the Oireachtas golf society, despite its name, had no formal connection with the Oiireachtas. It is certainly the case that they had no power to prevent the event taking place. While I can understand your reluctance to see Woulfe impeached, you can hardly think that he has an ounce of credibility as a Supreme Court judge
@Lesidees: That golf dinner was to celebrate the 50 year anniversary of the Oireachtas Golf Society which consists of members of Oireachtas.
It’s Honorary Life members included:Phil Hogan.former Taoiseachs Brian Cowen,Ends Kenny and Dick Spring, Charlie Mc Creevey etc
Breaking news article:’#Golfgate:Why the Oireachtas Golf Society event has caused such a stir’
So the Ceann Comhairle told TDs not to make any comment on the controversy in case they have to “adjudicate on the matter”, what does SF leader do? She goes on national radio to discuss the matter!
@Fionn Darland: so your point is that the ceann comphairle can tell democratically elected tds that they cannot comment on issues in the public domain even though he was not elected himself,its called freedom of speech and democracy,you don’t have to agree with their point of view but they have the right to express it and thats refreshing,the alternative is fascism and tow the party line or you are a threat,not a huge sf supporter but when you silence voices you don’t agree with eventually it gets to suppression and for any democracy that is not healthy,ultimately what I am saying is that every healthy democracy needs is opposition no one says you have to agree with it but without it all we have is an echo chamber and that is the opposite of democracy.
@derek hennessy: With free speech comes responsibilities. TDs were asked not to comment so Woulfe can get a fair hearing in any process. Mary Loo going on national airwaves (on a station that her supporters claim is a ‘propaganda machine’), and pre-judging the matter only helps Woulfe. Btw, if you want an sf echo chamber you have come to the right ‘platform’.
@Fionn Darland: as far as I am aware all leaders of the political parties in government have more or less said the same thing on different platforms,listen I am not here to defend sf or say that they are right on every issue because they most certainly are not,my point is merely that we elect politicians to hopefully serve the public good and comment on their views in a revelant way, as far as I can see the process is over because in all fairness what can they do if he refuses to budge,at worst it is bad judgement(pun intended) and that is not illegal,and just in case you are wondering i voted green(shame on me) 1 and soc dems 2,but am not comfortable with this concept of exclusion as it is a dangerous path to follow,you don’t have to agree but at least listen.
Of course she considers his position untenable. It’s not a closely guarded secret that SF do not recognize the courts or the justice system as described in our constitution. If our laws do not apply to them, they are incapable of recognition of his position, whether he did wrong or not. A bit like asking an atheist their opinion God.
@Seosamh Mac Cionnaith: Excellent. that was my lunchtime life. I had forgotten about the SF desire to create a new Socialist Republic. I wonder how many of their young supporters actually read their constitution.
Mary Lou is absolutely right after all he made the decision to leave the jurisdiction and be part of a large crowd attending the funeral of a terrorist. That was him…wasn’t it?
@Henry Porter: shhhus n the 26 million n the forgot to give back 30k
never get a vote again don’t know how to run a country only into the ground reptiles
Well done Mary Lou – now you will be removed from any impeachment process on the grounds you are biased. Ah sure the Ceann Comhairle fella care take jump we in Sinn Fein can do our own thing.
Left wing rant from The Big Loo, as usual. the guy does not deserve to lose his career over this. Sure he broke guidelines, not law. sure it looked bad, but not career ending. Where was the righteous SF when she broke the LAW in Northern Ireland to attend he friends funeral. this petty politics is sickening. nearly 800 people dead on the SFDUP watch in NI. shameful
The stench of hypocrisy from the lady from Rathgar and her comrades is nauseating. It’s perfectly ok to attend the funeral of convicted terrorists in other states with the paramilitary dress code that goes with that and with no social distancing but attending a golf dinner in Clifden apparently ranks above that in terms of crimes against the state. Put your head back down Mary and where it was for the first 6 months of the pandemic while those at the wheel dealt with the crisis unlike your comrades up north.
First he was the only name in the hat for the job .no one ask any questions, then he attends a dinner with banker’s, politicians and so called elite, then goes on a trump like anti media rage. And now hes the man who cannot be removed.. only in Ireland
They don’t recognise the courts as legitimate, they don’t recognise the Constitution as legitimate, they refuse to call the State by its correct legal name.
Why don’t they put down an impeachment motion and force the Government parties to vote confidence in Woulfe?
@Lesidees: so please elberate,I do acknowledge that they have a problem with the central criminal court and to be honest when it comes to gang criminal activity I think that is a wrong position to take but there are issues in other cases where it seems like your right to a fair trial by your peers is taken away and that is worrying,is isis such a presence in Ireland that Lisa smyth cannot receive a jury trial,I don’t think so,not defending her in any way but it seems like the ccc is a conviction before trial with a very rare exception,but otherwise I think that sf support the state and its institutional bodies in every way,maybe if I am wrong you can enlighten me,I am open to correction.
Politicians do what they do…different standards. Susan Denham was asked to do a job and did it. That should have been it. The CJ published correspondence (why?) and disagreed with her decision. Too bad. Then Woulfe started to behave badly and arrogantly. I would agree with her decision but Woulfe’s subsequent behaviour changes the dynamic as to his fitness. As does that of the CJ. This is a full blown constitutional crisis which should not be called ‘golfgate’ it’s about attendance at the dinner and the behaviour of individuals. For the record, it’s hairy that a Supreme Court Judge turns the news off (for 1 day?) on holidays….and leaking an unagreed confidential document when you’re (or acting the fool attending a mass funeral when) seem worse to me
Money Diaries: A laboratory specialist on €70K living in Dublin
33 mins ago
evening fix
Here's what happened today: Sunday
35 mins ago
social welfare changes
If you lose your job and have worked for 5 years you'll get up to €450 a week under new rules
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say