You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Joe Gough

'Remember a few years ago we were told butter was bad for you?'

New guidelines could be issued for red meat consumption.

Updated at 9.18pm

THERE HAVE BEEN warnings to take new research on a link between processed red meat and cancer with a pinch of salt.

The new findings from the World Health Organisation show that 50g of meat a day – which is around two slices of ham – could increase a person’s chances of colorectal cancer by 18%.

However, this is relative to the overall slice of the population that suffer from the condition.

Speaking on the Today with Sean O’Rourke programme, Professor Hugh Mulcahy, consultant gastroenterologist at St Vincent’s Hospital, said:

“You’ve got to start off with the fact that about 5 out of 100 Irish people will get colorectal cancer at some stage in their life. So the risk of getting colorectal cancer is about 5%. This increases the risk by 18%, but it is a risk of the 5% that it is increased by.

So it has increased from around 5% to just under 6%.

Warning 

This follows Irish farmers issuing a warning against a knee-jerk response to yesterday’s World Health Organisation report linking processed red meat to cancer.

The research found the risk of colorectal cancer was higher in people who consume large amounts of these meats. Irish Farmers Association president Eddie Downey said similar reports have ‘come and gone’ before in the past.

“Quite simply, everything is bad for you at this stage,” he told Newstalk Breakfast.

Remember butter, a few years ago, we were told it was bad for you, and butter sales collapsed, milk prices collapsed. Now they tell us that butter is good for us. That’s the same people making the same statements.

Downey believes a controlled response is needed to limit damage to the Irish beef industry “if we manage it right, don’t have an over-reaction to it and let’s see how it runs out”.

If we take a balanced view on these things, have a balanced diet, everything in moderation, I don’t think there’s any difficulty in this.

Changing guidelines 

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, chief specialist in public health nutrition with the Food Safety Authority Dr Mary Flynn said the agency will issue revisions to its current guidelines if necessary following a review of the data.

Flynn noted that the current guidelines recommend that the public vary sources of protein in their diet, and that red meat shouldn’t be consumed more than three times a week.

She added that it would be misleading to say that the study means the risk of cancer from processed meats is the same as that from asbestos or smoking, but rather the amount.

A statement from the HSE read:

As this report is quite detailed and complex, it will require careful consideration by the HSE to determine what action, if any, is needed regarding changes to nutritional plans for public health services.

The Department of Health has also issued advice on eating meat. It said the WHO findings have been sent to an expert group for their consideration.

It said new revised Healthy Eating Guidelines will be issued by the end of 2015.

In the meantime, it said consumers should consult the Food Safety Authority of Ireland which has published guidance following the WHO report. Their guidelines are available here.

The department added:

Meat is an important source of protein, iron and vitamins. Eating healthy food and being physically active will help to improve health. The most important goal is to try to eat a balanced diet.

The World Health Organisation’s International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) analysed 800 studies from around the world and found that processed meats such as sausages, ham, and hot dogs cause bowel cancer, and red meat “probably” does too.

It placed processed meat into its Group 1 category of carcinogens. Other substances in the group include alcohol, asbestos and tobacco.

Australia’s agriculture minister ridiculed the landmark report, saying it was “a farce” to suggest they could be as lethal as cigarettes.

“I don’t think that we should get too excited that if you have a sausage you’re going to die of bowel cancer because you’re not,” Barnaby Joyce said. “You just don’t want to live on sausages.”

- First published 10am 

Additional reporting by Christina Finn, Michael Sheils Mcnamee and AFP.

Poll: Will you eat less processed meat from now on? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 105 comments
105 Comments
    Mute Keith Ledger
    Favourite Keith Ledger
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:08 AM

The rashers I bought last week had cancer in them at one stage, but the package said they were cured now

Mute Shaungoldenthumbs
    Favourite Shaungoldenthumbs
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:13 AM

Bravo Sir

Mute Mark Gannon
    Favourite Mark Gannon
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:04 AM

unsmoked rashers are healthier too . no tar or nicotine

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:28 AM

Beef has more carnitine in it than anything else. Some good science had linked the git bacteria that digests carnitine to a hardening of the arteries due to a chemical they give off digesting carnitine. Look it up you’ll find it.
    Rarely eat beef or sausages, no harm once or twice a month.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:29 PM

but the smoked ones are tastier ;)

Mute Mick Collins
    Favourite Mick Collins
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:04 AM

Too much of anything is generally bad,
    A good balanced diet is all you need

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:11 AM

The problem is that most people don;t understand what a balanced diet is.

The NHS have been recommending that people eat 70g of red meat a day. http://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/Goodfood/Pages/red-meat.aspx

I am fairly sure if you stopped people on the street and asked them what constitutes 70g of meat in their daily diet they would struggle to give you a clear answer.

I certainly didn’t until I looked it up.

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:34 PM

Everyone knows that ALL processed food is not the best food to be eating. This big sudden hullabaloo is nothing more than preparing the public for the big Paris conference in December by the UN – and their agenda 2030 (formally agenda 21) which is the eventual plan to ban meat consumption – as it is not sustainable under green religious ideology. I would encourage people to inform themselves on you tube or wherever about UN agenda 2030 – and see what is being planned for them, and their children and children’s children.
    http://youtu.be/KeE38KBf3mI

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:48 PM

UN 2030 agenda.
    http://youtu.be/zMj6BQ00BbM

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:13 PM

Just wait until TTIP is rammed through and the market is flooded with cheap poisonous crap from american food producers. Their chicken would make our beef look like salad, its pumped so full of hormones and chemicals .Then again these days even vegetables are sprayed with so many pesticides that a diet of veggies alone might kill you too. Maybe this anouncement is to prepare us for the inevitable truth…..eating is gonna kill ya

Oct 27th 2015, 6:55 PM
    Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:02 AM

I think the occurrence of heart disease from eating too many sausages and rashers is far more likely than the risk of cancer.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood

Keep thinking that….

Mute Rory Maguire
    Favourite Rory Maguire
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:46 AM

Where’s your proof Mr.Quill

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:57 AM

The link between eating too many saturated animal fats , too much salt, strokes and heart disease has been well documented, I’m not going to publish a paper here, do your own research.

Mute Rory Maguire
    Favourite Rory Maguire
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:15 PM

Your ideas on saturated fats are outdated. You’re right about the salt though. http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/recipes/healthy-eating/nutrition/good-and-bad-fats/

Mute Mick Stafford
    Favourite Mick Stafford
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:00 AM

Next thing they’ll tell us is the air we breath isn’t good for us… Oh wait!

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:03 AM

wait?

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:05 AM

yep, 400 000 premature deaths in Europe each year are caused by air pollution.

http://www.eea.europa.eu/themes/air/intro

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:26 AM

It wasn’t that long ago when the scientific community first warned about the danger of smoking, then the warning that smoking ’caused’ cancer. It remains the number 1 cancer killer in Ireland – and number 2? Bowel cancer.

I’m a cancer survivor – bowel cancer that spread to my liver. I’m doing good now, but I must say for most of my life I devoured processed meats. I’m not a one man cancer study but I know I contributed by lifestyle choices to getting cancer.

Have a laff – but I can only hope there are those that take it serious. Remember the cigarette makers fought for years claiming there was no link between smoking and cancer.

Mute arlene
    Favourite arlene
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:40 AM

Glad to read your comment John. I’m quite surprised by the publics reaction to this report. I think many people have not read the actual findings, otherwise they would realise it’s quite a landmark report based on over 800 studies some of which spanned 20 years.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:32 PM

Totally agree with you John, if anyone commenting negatively here had first hand experience or cared for anyone who suffered this type of cancer their tune would certainly change and they would sit up and take heed of the warnings, the studies are not there to scare and they are not saying hey if you eat this you will get cancer and die, all they are doing is informing the public of their findings, the rest is up to the individual whether they listen or not. I am so pleased you conquered that cancer, unfortunately my mam wasn’t so lucky, she passed away one year ago next month. Never smoked or drank alcohol, but God, did she love her fry ups and bacon and cabbage and ham in her sambos. She had three forms of cancer each unrelated to either of the others, none of which were hereditary, it can’t be just bad luck, in my mind diet had to have played a major role. I for one have taken notice and I hope others do too. Best of luck for the future John.

Oct 27th 2015, 7:02 PM

Cigarette companies make billions as does the meat industry but with animals it depends on what they are fed on, exposed to and treated for. These chemicals can be in the meat then before those poisonous preservatives are added to them even high levels of salt have been linked now to stomach cancer and even diabetes.
    Then if you fry it on the pan the C8 used to make Teflon is cancer causing… Then burning the meat is cancer causing, a high protein diet is cancer causing etc etc…
    The plastic that the meat is in is linked to hormone imbalances and also to cancer etc etc, so all these stages might just add to each other in a bad way?

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:13 PM

People are pissed off with this because everywhere you look there is some story telling you that this is bad, and will kill you – then later its all good again.
    I blame the media with poorly researched health supplements/pieces in talk shows etc and stories which are much more about selling newspapers etc than any real health advice.
    This of course does not mean that this story is not true (though i suspect the same hysterical media has beat up the story to a large degree) but it makes it harder for people to believe or accept anything they say

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:18 PM

Never a truer word spoken Michael. I ate true organic meat and veg as a kid on holiday here in Ireland, had a friend whose father was the local butcher who as a small holder farmer/butcher killed his own (I bore witness to one) tastes completely different to what the supermarkets claim organic to be these days. Takes over 25 years (or so I’ve learned) to make the earth that the cattle graze upon and that the veg is grown in truly organic.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:27 PM

*Takes over 25 years of pesticide free, damn.

Oct 28th 2015, 2:34 AM

Pesticides, plastics and preservatives… now. And C8 used to make Teflon, and that is the cancer causing C8… from pans?

Oct 28th 2015, 2:39 AM

It is a packed consumer led world Molly…

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:04 AM

Red meat “probably” does too!
    Make up your mind, some people are told to eat more red meat but now they are saying it might cause cancer?!
    Everything in moderation.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:38 AM

I’d say it’s more to do with the massive amount of chemicals used in the production of certain foods today.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:09 AM

Epidemiological and experimental research is pointing to “heme iron” being one of the important factors.

Heme is a type of Iron in meat and that is unrelated to chemicals added to food.

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:48 AM

The catch all of “those damn chemicals” does not appear relevant here.

There is an interesting anthropological theory that red meat, particularly beef, has always been carcinogenic despite the fact that it has played a huge role in the development of the human species. The ability to hunt for and eat red meat is seen as a key element of the development of our greater brain power, however the cancer was never really an issue because most people did not live long enough to develop it anyway.

Oct 27th 2015, 6:47 PM

Meat industry is as big as the cig industry or even bigger, so you never know as they always said a high protein diet was bad for you?
    Then there is the dangerous risks from burned Teflon?
    http://www.seattleorganicrestaurants.com/vegan-whole-food/duPont-chemical-C8-non-stick-Teflon-cookware-cancer-causing-chemicals.php

Mute Margaret Donohoe
    Favourite Margaret Donohoe

Of course it’s the food we eat. Everything these days is forced to grow. It’s the sprays the fertilisers on the food. This has all a knock on affect to the food we eat each day. That’s why more and more people has cancer compared to years ago.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:40 AM

And yet life expectancy has doubled it the last 200 years. How long do these feckers want to live? Should we eat dust?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane

True Kevin. And are we not carnivores? We’re built to eat meat.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 27th 2015, 6:09 PM

We are not carnivores. Look up the definition of carnivore

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:03 AM

On behalf of vegetarians everywhere I just want to say:
    WHO’S LAUGHING NOW?

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:06 AM

who?

Mute Andy Nevin
    Favourite Andy Nevin

On behalf of all non vegetarians everywhere I just want to say: We are laughing….at you!

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:07 AM

On behalf of meat eaters everywhere let me be the first to remind you that our food shits on your food!

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:07 AM

is that rhetorical? a pompous vegetarian, well I never!!!!!

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes

Textured vegetable protein?

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:12 AM

Yup, I’m still laughing at vegetarians. I may die younger, but at least I lived. Enjoy your celery, I’ll enjoy my bacon sandwiches.

Mute Lou Tennant
    Favourite Lou Tennant
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:13 AM

I’ve never seen a vegetarian laugh, they always seem so miserable in themselves. A good rasher sambo could change all that

Mute Marty Borgnine
    Favourite Marty Borgnine
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:25 AM

Well done on the display of smugness and self righteousness in vegetarians that the majority of the population I’m sure are only too familiar with.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:30 AM

Marty – vegetarians have a 20% higher life expectancy than carnivores (human).

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana

Yes I imagine if a human ate a carnivorous diet it would be very bad for them, with the lack for fruit, veg and carbs. Have never heard of any doing so though, so not sure how your statistics were complied.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello

On behalf of meat eaters everywhere, I’d like to point out that I enjoyed my breakfast this morning.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:43 AM

Absolutely true Lou. My daughter was a happy go lucky, divil may care individual until she met and married a vegetarian and became one herself. Now she’s a miserable, dour, ultra PC party pooper who is totally out of tune with the rest of the family. Now her kids are following the same path, absolutely devoid of a sense of play. The one common factor is vegetarianism.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:52 AM

@Martin crap, I don’t like the way they wouldn’t let their children decide whether or not they’d like to eat me. As it is a personal choice, I dunno why they’d enforce it on their kids.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:53 AM

haha, what a fookin typo!

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:56 AM

there were many, man

Mute Noel Griffith
    Favourite Noel Griffith
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:00 AM

Seriously?you think that’s funny?…you smug pr#ck!…glad you enjoyed the laugh,now consider all the people that have cancer,including me who found that comment in sickeningly bad taste..

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:05 AM

It’s like a religion Who’s Yer Man, we even have separate pans and grills just in case anything might be contaminated with animal fat. Has to be seen to be properly appreciated.

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:08 AM

I have to say I do know many non-preachy vegetarians too. A relative of mine when eating out told us order a pizza with meat if we wanted, she’d just pick it off. These people are just less visible.

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:00 PM

@ she’s not that strict so. Any vegetarians I know wouldn’t touch it if parts of an animal did

Mute Sinéad Cronin
    Favourite Sinéad Cronin
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:03 PM

If your daughter really is miserable it’s probably not down to vegetarianism. Is she upset all the time or just when you are passing judgement on her diet & parenting choices? If we all lived as the previous generation did there would be no progress- try being a little open minded?

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:18 AM

It’s not the meat itself that causes the cancer it is the additives used in processing, the ‘salts’ ie; the nitrites and nitrates, these have been shown to be seriously carcinogenic, on a par with tobacco and asbestos. Over 95% of all processed meats, ham sausages bacon salami cured chicken slices etc contain these additives, and probably many more processed meats. They are used in the curing process, and they do really cause cancer.

Mute Chuck Eastwood
    Favourite Chuck Eastwood
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:50 AM

I think you are wrong there. The tests were carried out on untreated meats and from one of the reports I was reading last night it stated that it had something to do with the natural colouring in the meats. I haven’t seen a single article saying it had anything to do with additives. of course all the extra salt etc isn’t good for you but it’s not what this study was based on

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:31 AM
    Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes

I can’t remember ever being told butter was good for us, what I can remember is being told that compared to the processes used to make some spreads, it may not be as bad as them.

Mute Permo Dermo
    Favourite Permo Dermo
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:23 AM

The chemical processing aids used for preserving meat such as sodium nitrate and sodium nitrite ignite cancer cells growth. Maybe time to eat healthier, less processed meat but we will have to accept a higher production cost

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:00 AM

Don’t believe all the rubbish you read about nitrates being the devils work! There’s more nitrates in your saliva than in your breakfast rasher!

Stay safe by buying local, from your butcher rather than the big supermarkets like Tesco, Aldi, Dunnes etc..

If Irish farmers want to protect there business, let them open up more farm shops selling meats and veg without over processing that you find in mass production..

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:15 AM

The Heme Iron in unprocessed meat is one of the factors that may be contributing to colorectal cancer.

http://cancerpreventionresearch.aacrjournals.org/content/4/2/177.full

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23983135

etc.

Mute Eileen Charters
    Favourite Eileen Charters
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:12 AM

Ah if you were to stop eating everything they scare you over we’d all be anorexic. Sure even the water isn’t safe according to some

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:18 AM

No, we wouldn’t “all be anorexic”.

Sigh….

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo

@ Eileen if by the real meaning of the term anorexic you mean underweight or malnourished, possibly but very unlikely. Don’t insult those who battle with anorexia nervosa however. It’s a psychological disorder and not as a result of research findings on beef and bacon!

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:13 PM

Anorexia doesn’t mean malnourished or underweight; it means without appetite. It comes from the Greek words ‘an’ (meaning without) and ‘orexis’ (meaning appetite).

Anorexia Nervosa, the psychological condition, means nervous lack of appetite and is, as you say, completely different. When you get a cold or ‘flu and can’t face food, you are suffering with anorexia.

Mute Mackmullet
    Favourite Mackmullet
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:44 AM

tis a rasher not bacon..we’re fuping Irish. Christ above

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:51 AM

We? Mullet – type for yourself m8…

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

where does the WHO say butter is now good for us?

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:25 PM

Third line in the second verse of ‘Won’t get fooled again’.

Mute TheLawd
    Favourite TheLawd
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:50 AM

“Everything in moderation” is not the answer, it’s about fresh unpolluted products, that were not shipped half way across the globe.

Mute Damien Browne
    Favourite Damien Browne
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:29 AM

Messing around with any food to increase margins is not going to be good for you, if you can, stay sway from processed or tinned foods. Even clean your veg and fruit before eating, they are pre-sprayed to increase the shine

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:16 AM

Everything is not bad for you and ignorance isn’t an excuse to prevent bettering our diet. Fruit, Vegetables, fresh chicken and fish are all very good for you.

Mute Hipster Enda
    Favourite Hipster Enda
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:53 AM

Fruit is bad for your teeth. Roasted vegetables can be carcinogenic. Fish, depends on where it is from, I’d personally steer well clear of any North Pacific fish after Fukushima. Chicken, I’ve seen more horror stories about chicken processing than any other meatstuff.

Again, everything in moderation. Or grow your own.

Mute Noel Griffith
    Favourite Noel Griffith
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:56 AM

Next time you buy a lettuce,check where its grown,most are shipped from Kenya and are sprayed with a chemical preservative to keep them “crispy and fresh”..same for most vegetables imported…funnily enough the Chernobyl radiation cloud that swept in over Scotland,Northern Ireland,and the west coast of Ireland never gets a mention,even though the sale of mountain lamb was eventually taken of the market for three years because they had soaked up so much radiation from the grass,all these areas have a much higher rate of cancer,mainly prostrate cancer,than areas not affected..

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:17 AM

What the article fails to mention in its bid for sensationalism is that the most at risk sector of the community only has a 0.6% chance of developing bowel cancer over a ten year period. The excessive consumption of processed meat increases that to 0.7%.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:42 AM

“sensationalism”? How ’bout increasing awareness — the basis of the claims are hard facts. Do your own study — share the results …

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:22 PM

The figures I quoted are the WHO’s own, who am I to argue with them?I love the typically unrealistic demands for the layman to “do his own study”. Why not share the results of your own independent survey for debate.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:26 PM

I did …. see above….

Mute KevinMunster
    Favourite KevinMunster
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:52 AM

If your not eating it everyday your fine, don’t see the big deal

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:23 AM

Best way to have long and fruitful life is don’t eat anything! Oh wait…..

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:31 AM

wait…!

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:41 PM

Barack Obama banned Trans Fats, used in processed foods, from 2018 for all 350 million US citizens. Suspect they know something! EU thinking about it. Irish food Safety Authority ….silent.

Avoiding Trans Fats can completely reverse Diabetes Type 2 in about 7 months.

This research suggests that Trans Fats (engineered fat German patent 141029), used in processed foods, could be the root cause of Alzheimer’s Disease. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3347702/

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:01 PM

According to the report nearly ten times as many people died as a result of cancer caused by alcohol, didn’t hear of a single person giving up the booze.

Mute Paul Connolly
    Favourite Paul Connolly

I’d wonder about the impartiality of the WHO and indeed the lobbyists for the Meat Industry. It would be amazing if there was not some ‘bias’ in this WHO report

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Oct 27th 2015, 11:32 AM

This a is a recent modus operandi – rather than attack a food sector directly, tell consumers that they risk death by eating the products and I’ve seen this work effectively in the fishing sector where they shut down an entire fishing community using chemical content to dissuade buyers . The issue of global warming and methane from cattle certainly was brought up in recent years so it is no surprise that academics would certainly overplay risks on meat consumption in some shape or form.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:08 PM

I’m wondering whether there findings tally in any way with countries that eat a lot of processed meat.. As in Mediterranean countries and their cured hams and sausages. Now we need a good ole veg scare. We know that the likes of our airmiles Brocolli and cauliflower etc are not the same thing as those eaten 50 years ago when it comes to nutrients and chemicals, so bring it on. I’m also heartened by the fact that the chance of dying by rasher cancer is less than basically every other common demise you can think of. Next it will be food grown in polytunnels killing us as industries fight back. I prefer to just enjoy the remains of the day.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:45 PM

Hot dog ingredients:
    Ear holes
    Eye holes
    Arse holes

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:51 PM

it’s the cheap processed meats like hot dogs sausages that cause cancer retail and consumers are not willing to pay for quality locally produced food form the butcher or farmers market

Mute Phyllis O'Meara
    Favourite Phyllis O'Meara
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:48 PM

We knew that more than 20 years ago- why the surprise now?

Mute Paddy Whack
    Favourite Paddy Whack
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:22 PM

I bet the supermarkets will have some great offers on sausages and bacon over the next few weeks. I remember during the BSE days I was able to get a couple of T-bones for cheap. This media hysteria is usually created by an arts graduate writing about stuff they can’t understand.

Mute Jean Calgues
    Favourite Jean Calgues
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:05 PM

I wouldn’t worry. At the current rate of immigration Ireland will be 60% muslim in a few years.
    A future government will simply ban ham and pork products due to religious reasons.
    Problem solved.

Mute Noel Falkhall
    Favourite Noel Falkhall
    Oct 27th 2015, 2:43 PM

Some of the comments, where’s Trigger when you need him?

Mute THE BIG LAD
    Favourite THE BIG LAD
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:02 PM

fruit and water are as bad !!!

Mute Tom Callaghan
    Favourite Tom Callaghan
    Oct 27th 2015, 12:30 PM

Journal is so Crap, really two of the most viral things to Hit Ireland today and they don’t have a sniff of them,

the moose White lodge and Vipers Adele’s calling me

So the rest of the world is enjoying this Irish Humour and the journal is writing about a Goat working for Australia
    bomb squad.

A shake up of staff is needed

Mute Farty Towels
    Favourite Farty Towels
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:08 PM

I’m just glad that Doner meat hasn’t been mentioned, I know lamb has, but lets face it, by the time it appears in front of you at two in the morning, tis a long time since it said baaa . Long live the kebab

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Oct 27th 2015, 8:54 PM

My Great Grandmother used to eat chips from Fusco’s on Thomas street almost every day, the days when she didn’t get them out of Leo Burdocks! She had a fried egg for her breakfast every morning, full fat milk in her tea. She lived in place that had possibly the worst air quality in Ireland, lived near a glue factory and a brewery, she lived to 100, her neighbours lived to be ripe old ages too, most well into their nineties!

People to day are just too soft!

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:39 PM

I don’t know about all that but jaysus, that picture of those sausages is making me hungry.

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Oct 27th 2015, 4:08 PM

Don’t you just hate this half arsed reports of reports!

“For an individual, the risk of developing colorectal cancer because of their consumption of processed
    meat remains small, but this risk increases with the amount of meat consumed.. The experts concluded that each 50 gram portion of processed meat eaten daily increases the risk of colorectal cancer by 18%”

‘ “These findings further support current public health recommendations to limit intake of meat,”says Dr
    Christopher Wild, Director of IARC.’(WHO)

So people, no need to worry yourselves further if you have been heeding the warnings about meat.

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Oct 27th 2015, 1:30 PM

No mention of horse meat!

Mute Ian Drohan
    Favourite Ian Drohan
    Oct 27th 2015, 10:01 PM

What does Jim Corr have to say about this?